Over 1.8 million nonprofits and charities for donors, volunteers and funders

2017 Top-Rated Nonprofit

GREY2K USA Education Fund

Claim This Nonprofit

More Info

Add to Favorites

Share this Nonprofit

Donate

Volunteering Oportunities

Nonprofit Overview

Causes: Animal Protection & Welfare, Animal-Related, Animals

Mission: The GREY2K USA Education Fund is an all-volunteer 501(c)3 organization dedicated to helping greyhounds. We work to sponsor the release of greyhounds from closing dog tracks and also to educate the public about the history and lives of greyhounds, from their origins as royal companions to their exploitation today at commercial racetracks. Our mission is to spread the word about these gentle dogs and promote adoption efforts worldwide.

Results: The GREY2K USA Education Fund has conducted groundbreaking research into the dog racing industry. This research has helped close 30 dog tracks in the US and helped to prevent the expansion of dog racing to countries such as Jamaica, the Philippines and South Africa. Our work has been reported by mainstream news organizations all over the world. We directly support greyhound adoption groups and promote adoption generally through the international rescue page on our web site.

Target demographics: save greyhounds

Direct beneficiaries per year: to sponsor the rescue of dozens of greyhounds from one dog track alond and by offering free programs to kids all across the United States, focusing in the state of Florida, this nation's biggest dog racing state. 8,000 greyhounds are used for racing there every year, and many discarded once they slow down. Our programs encourage and show kids how to help save these dogs.

Geographic areas served: worldwide

Programs: We sponsor the release of greyhounds from closing dog tracks through our "Second Chance for Greyhounds" Fund. We also offer free presentations on adoption and advocacy to schools through our signature Greyhounds in the Classroom and Greyhounds in the Library programs, and perform ongoing research into the dog racing industry to promote an understanding of the cruelty of dog racing. Participating children are given free age-appropriate materials including a coloring book for younger kids, a hard cover book for older kids to read, "Save the Greyhounds" wristbands, adoption posters to hang, greyhound magnets and more.

Community Stories

32 Stories from Volunteers, Donors & Supporters

1

Donor

Rating: 5

This organization and their staff are open, honest, accountable, and informational. During two previous military advisor assignments in Iraq and Afghanistan, this organization provided me with information and moral support that greatly assisted my efforts in rescuing eight dogs to forever safe and happy homes in the United States.

Comments ( 1 )

christine It is a pleasure to work with dedicated service people like you! Thanks for your kind words!

General Member of the Public

Rating: 4

thank You for everything you do for Greyhounds worldwide!

Comments ( 1 )

profile

christine 07/15/2017

It is a team effort, thanks for being with us every step of the way!

General Member of the Public

Rating: 5

When it is necessary,
They help greyhounds worldwide

Comments ( 1 )

profile

christine 07/11/2017

Thank you! Christine Dorchak, Esq. President, GREY2K USA Education Fund

General Member of the Public

Rating: 5

It is so important to have a group like the GREY2K USA Education Fund in existence. They are teaching the younger generation to care for animals, not use them for profit.

Comments ( 2 )

profile

christine 07/11/2017

Young people are on the side of the dogs, that is for sure! Christine Dorchak, Esq. President, GREY2K USA Education Fund

profile

christine 07/11/2017

Young people and new thinking are the key to ending this terrible cruelty on dogs, we agree! Christine Dorchak, Esq. President, GREY2K USA Education Fund

Lorraine N.

Donor

Rating: 5

They are hard working and relentless! They do great work at stopping a cruel and stupid industry.

Previous Stories
4

General Member of the Public

Rating: 5

These guys are relentless in their pursuit to stop the awful "sport" of greyhound racing. I'm glad they are here, otherwise so many other dogs would be doomed to a life of misery.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

christine 08/20/2014

Thanks Lorraine, for being with us from day one! Christine Dorchak, President GREY2K USA Education Fund

Read more
1

General Member of the Public

Rating: 5

GREY2K USA’s tireless dedication to put an end to dog racing throughout the United States and abroad should not go unnoticed. GREY2K USA’s various educational efforts have helped bring countless numbers of innocent racing greyhounds from their dismal lives on race tracks, where they are just a commodity, off the track and into adoption groups. The adoption groups are then able to place the dogs into forever homes where they can be cared for by loving adopters. My hat is off to anyone who helps to spread the word about the plight of racing greyhounds with the ultimate goal of ending dog racing. GREY2K USA has played a big role in doing just that!

Over the years, Christine Dorchak has always been more than willing to provide GREY2K USA educational materials to the adoption groups I have been affiliated with. I learned recently that GREY2K USA provided funding to adoption groups for greyhounds transitioning from the now defunct race track in Arizona into adoption groups. On behalf of the greyhounds…Thank you GREY2K USA!!! Keep up the good work!

1

General Member of the Public

Rating: 5

I have been aware of the GREY 2K USA organization for many years and donate to this honorable, very trustworthy organization whenever I can.
They are truly amazing in the work that they do; helping innocent greyhounds find freedom and happie , healthier lives after the horrible time the dogs endured while being forced to race at the greyhound tracks that still exist.
I am so amazed at the work the staff has done in helping to terminate greyhound racing in many states, and their mission to keep the fight up to continue to help these innocent animals and bring them to safety.
The Grey 2k USA Education Fund is a great fund where students can learn about greyhounds and how important it is to treat them with kindness, as they would treat their own dog or animal at home, whatever breed.
This positive Fund helps educate the youth of today to try to help prevent greyhound dog racing from occurring in future generations, and I think that message of reaching out to young people is very important.
I applaud Grey2kUSA for making this effort.
I think GREY 2K USA is doing a great job and is one of the most comprehensive, honest, and conscientious non-profits I have ever known. I am a BIG fan!
They are just wonderful and are doing an outstanding job. Keep up the good work.

4

General Member of the Public

Rating: 5

I find Grey2KUSA Worldwide to be a focused, reliable, responsible group of advocates who care about the welfare of the dogs they are trying to protect. They have to put up with unrelenting abuse and falsehoods levied against them by those who make money from the dog racing industry and those who have been sadly convinced that there is nothing wrong with making money from the dog racing business. Yet through all of the abuse they must tolerate, they continue to turn the other cheek and just keep doing their good works, never ever letting themselves be tempted to drop to the level of those who try to tear them down. They have my greatest respect and gratitude.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

carey2 07/12/2016

We really appreciate your review, thank you!

2 David316

General Member of the Public

Rating: 5

STOPING THE SUFFERING OF THOSE DOGS IS A VERY NOBLE THING

2

General Member of the Public

Rating: 5

They work hard for their cause!
They go all over the world to try to stop greyhound racing/abuse.

5 Melissa276

General Member of the Public

Rating: 5

I find that Grey2K USA does a fabulous job of bringing awareness about the dismal plight of racing greyhounds to the general public who would otherwise be unaware of the ugly truth of greyhound racing. As a volunteer with greyhound rescue groups in Australia, and a greyhound adopter and foster carer, I believe we desperately need organisations like Grey2K that work with rescue groups to help end the cause of all the wastage (unwanted greyhounds) from the industry, as well as educating people on how fabulous it is to save a greyhound and give them a far better life than what they had. If it weren't for Grey2K there would be more greyhound racing, more on and off track carnage, more over-breeding of dogs, more wastage and less adoptions. Coming from the advertising industry I know full well the work and costs involved to bring information into the public eye. May they continue their great work to end greyhound racing worldwide.

5

Donor

Rating: 5

The real story of the history of greyhounds and how they've come to be used now as expendable commodities in dog racing needs to be told, and Grey2K USA Education Fund is one of the primary information outlets to disseminate the facts. Not "the facts" as the racing industry would have one believe, but the real facts. Facts lead to action and to activists and they, in turn, lead to results. And every bit of light shed on this appalling institutionalized animal abuse will help bring about its end. I have supported them for years and will continue to do so...proudly.

Previous Stories
4

Donor

Rating: 5

This is THE non-profit that harnesses the smarts, resources and tireless dedication to take on the institutionalized cruelty of greyhound racing...first in the Northeast, then throughout the USA, and now throughout the world. These dedicated professionals have brought a powerful skill set to the nuances and logistics required to get the laws passed...get the publicity OUT...get the message across, and then make results happen. I've supported them for years and fully intend to support them until greyhound racing is an anachronism of a less enlightened era. I am proud to be affiliated with their efforts.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

christine 08/29/2014

Dear Joyce, Thanks for being such a valued team member, and for loving greyhounds as much as we do! Christine Dorchak, President

Read more
4

General Member of the Public

Rating: 5

I have reviewed this charity on "Guidestar.org" and Making $41,500/yr is not what I call getting rich. Traveling to "work" to close down other tracks in other states or countries is not fun or glamorous.
I have traveled in my own job, it stinks. This group's Mission is to "end racing", not to adopt out greyhounds, there is an abundance of groups who do that. There is only one group "Grey2k" who
is actually trying to to stop racing so that this vicious cycle of cruelty can end.

I was there in Massachusetts when it ended. Less than 200 dead end ,close to or at minimum wage jobs
were lost and one big corrupt thug got put out of business! That was about 10 tears ago. Think
about how many dogs were not bred for that track and didn't suffer years of abuse at the hands of
those greedy owners since then! Now whose the bad guy? Not Grey2k!

Comments ( 1 )

profile

christine 03/04/2014

Thanks for your support! We will keep working hard to protect the greyhounds.

6

General Member of the Public

Rating: 5

I 100% support this group for it's efforts to stop inhuman treatment of greyhound dogs. They have made a great impact of dog racing in Massachusetts and in doing so have reduced the cruel treatment of dogs in the racing industry.

Comments ( 2 )

profile

carey2 05/06/2013

Thanks for this review!

profile

christine 05/11/2013

Thank you so much for your kind support!

5

General Member of the Public

Rating: 5

GREY2K has worked tirelessly on behalf of the Greyhounds. I am a supporter of their Education Fund which spreads the word through educational outreach and special public events. I, as well as my organization, have learned a great deal about the lives of greyhounds and how they are inhumanely treated in kennels and racetracks nationwide for the pleasure/entertainments of others.

Comments ( 2 )

profile

carey2 05/02/2013

Thank you for this review, and for your support!

profile

christine 05/11/2013

Thank you, Karen, for all the work you do supporting groups like ours with the wonderful Environmental Magazine!

5 Eric_NM

General Member of the Public

Rating: 5

The GREY2K USA Education Fund has done much to spread the word about the realities of greyhound racing. The Education Fund administers a number of programs that directly benefit children by promoting reading and introducing children to greyhounds. As a 501(c)3 non-profit, the Education Fund is under substantial scrutiny and has never had an issue.

There are apparently some reviewers who do not understand that this is a review of the GREY2K USA Education Fund.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

carey2 05/02/2013

Thank you for the review.

5

General Member of the Public

Rating: 1

I find it very interesting that any time someone has a negative review of this group, Carey2 chimes in that the review is not based on facts, and is part of some sort of "conspiracy" by "dog racing supporters". Keep in mind that Carey's two "non-profits" (Grey2k USA Education Fund / Grey2k USA), rake in several hundred thousand dollars per year. Carey and his wife, Christine Dorchak, take a very large percentage of that money as their personal income. Less than 2% of donations benefit greyhounds. If you want to help greyhounds, donate directly to an adoption group (Greyhounds Pets of America is preferred).

Comments ( 2 )

profile

carey2 12/20/2012

Without question, there is a cynical effort underway by greyhound breeders to post negative false reviews on this site. Dog racing supporters like "rxallen" (who has no activity on this site other than this one false review) are coordinating with each other and posting false statements. For example, here is a message posted on Facebook last month, in which a greyhound breeder asked others to post negative information about our work on GreatNonprofits: http://www.grey2kusa.org/images/Cynical_effort_by_greyhound_breeders_to_post_false_reviews.png Like the other messages posted by dog racing supporters, your "review" contains all sorts of false statements. Specifically, the claim that "less than 2%" of donations benefit greyhounds" is nonsense, and the suggestion that our employees receive a percentage of all donations is completely untrue. In reality, the GREY2K USA Education Fund is an all-volunteer organization.

profile

carey2 12/20/2012

Here is the full link again: http://www.grey2kusa.org/images/Cynical_effort_by_greyhound_breeders_to_post_false_reviews.png

5

General Member of the Public

Rating: 4

It is my understanding that the mission of this group is to EDUCATE the public on the Criminality of greyhound racing. The inhumane practices that are bestowed on these beautiful,loving creatures is appalling. Grey2K is doing just that in my area. (SW Folrida). I volunteer with another animal rescue group and I see the Grey2K folks at many animal events doing thier best to educate the publib on this dog's plight. If you can not wrap your head around this , try imagining YOUR OWN PRECIOUS PET in the same situation.That is harnessed,taunted and forced to live in small cages when not on the track.Animal racing is wrong on every level.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

carey2 11/08/2012

Thanks for this review.

10 Wendy41

General Member of the Public

Rating: 1

Not impressed with the organization. Spends more time, money, efforts touting lies and spewing misinformation about greyhound treatment than they do working FOR the Greyhounds. It's like watching Fox News and expecting an unbiased opinion. If you want to know how the dogs are treated, talk to the rescue organizations. The FOUNDERS of those organizations. Talk to them about the treatment of the dogs. And remember - unhappy dogs, beaten dogs, unfed dogs - don't race well. Grey2K goals are disingenuous to the true spirit of what greyhound rescue is all about.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

carey2 11/08/2012

This "review" was posted by a dog racing supporter and is not factually accurate.

11

General Member of the Public

Rating: 1

The Grey2K Education fund is a fund to send the Staff on vacation for research. It is amazing how many trips must be done for research out of this country. England and India just to name 2 and I am sure there are more. A pitiful amount is ever donated to helping greyhounds find new homes after a track closes down and shouldn't that be the focus, the care of the greyhounds, but they don't care. They are only after getting more donations to continue their vacations and support their homes.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

carey2 11/07/2012

This "review" was posted by a supporter of dog racing and is not factually accurate. For example, the claim that the GREY2K USA Education Fund has researched dog racing in India is completely false. Commercial dog racing does not exist in India. Further, the claim that we don't support greyhound adoption is completely false. We support adoption in many ways. We made direct donations to greyhound adoption groups, we give adoption referrals, and we promote greyhound adoption. Finally, the GREY2K USA Education Fund is an all-volunteer organization.

11 Sharyn2

General Member of the Public

Rating: 1

You are so tiresome, Carey2, Carey2 is incorrect. The comment made to my review is not true. I am not part of the racing community. I only do retired racing adoption. We are a small group and run on a shoestring budget. We actually help the dogs. We do not get paid. In fact, we spend much of our own money directly to benefit the greyhounds. What I said is true. I asked for a grant to help with some medical expenses for our greyhounds in fostering. It is true I as immediately 'defriended' by Grey2k for asking for help and asking questions. Carey2 is copy & pasting the same comment to everyone who disagrees with him without checking the facts (as usual). I have a very low tolerance for people who say they are helping greyhounds and then pay themselves huge salaries and take lavish trips abroad. From my original post: I do adoption for retired racing greyhounds. GREY2K does nothing to help any of the organizations that actually deal with the greyhounds. The donations they get never go for the dogs. They pay themselves high salaries and take lavish trips, even trips abroad while the retired racing adoption organizations beg for money to care for the dogs. Grey2k does not deserve accolades. They ban from posting comments anyone who asks for help for the greyhounds or calls into question their incorrect information.

Comments ( 2 )

profile

carey2 11/07/2012

This "review" was posted by someone in the dog racing industry, and is not factually accurate. For example, the GREY2K USA Education Fund is an all-volunteer organization. Also, the claim that we don't support greyhound adoption is false. In reality, we support greyhound adoption in many ways. We make direct donations to local adoption groups, we give adoption referrals to the public and our supporters, and we promote greyhound adoption. Finally, the information we provide on commercial greyhound racing is recent, local, and from credible sources such as mainstream news reports and state records.

profile

carey2 11/07/2012

In posting this review, "Sharyn" was responding to a request by dog race promoters to post false negative reviews here. In part, this request from dog race promoters included the statement that "We need to flood it!!" This is not a genuine review, it is part of a cynical, organized campaign by people who have a direct financial interest in the continuation of commercial greyhound racing.