Over 1.8 million nonprofits and charities for donors, volunteers and funders

2017 Top-Rated Nonprofit

GREY2K USA Education Fund

Claim This Nonprofit

More Info

Add to Favorites

Share this Nonprofit

Donate

Volunteering Oportunities

Nonprofit Overview

Causes: Animal Protection & Welfare, Animal-Related, Animals

Mission: The GREY2K USA Education Fund is an all-volunteer 501(c)3 organization dedicated to helping greyhounds. We work to sponsor the release of greyhounds from closing dog tracks and also to educate the public about the history and lives of greyhounds, from their origins as royal companions to their exploitation today at commercial racetracks. Our mission is to spread the word about these gentle dogs and promote adoption efforts worldwide.

Results: The GREY2K USA Education Fund has conducted groundbreaking research into the dog racing industry. This research has helped close 30 dog tracks in the US and helped to prevent the expansion of dog racing to countries such as Jamaica, the Philippines and South Africa. Our work has been reported by mainstream news organizations all over the world. We directly support greyhound adoption groups and promote adoption generally through the international rescue page on our web site.

Target demographics: save greyhounds

Direct beneficiaries per year: to sponsor the rescue of dozens of greyhounds from one dog track alond and by offering free programs to kids all across the United States, focusing in the state of Florida, this nation's biggest dog racing state. 8,000 greyhounds are used for racing there every year, and many discarded once they slow down. Our programs encourage and show kids how to help save these dogs.

Geographic areas served: worldwide

Programs: We sponsor the release of greyhounds from closing dog tracks through our "Second Chance for Greyhounds" Fund. We also offer free presentations on adoption and advocacy to schools through our signature Greyhounds in the Classroom and Greyhounds in the Library programs, and perform ongoing research into the dog racing industry to promote an understanding of the cruelty of dog racing. Participating children are given free age-appropriate materials including a coloring book for younger kids, a hard cover book for older kids to read, "Save the Greyhounds" wristbands, adoption posters to hang, greyhound magnets and more.

Community Stories

18 Stories from Volunteers, Donors & Supporters

1

Donor

Rating: 5

This organization and their staff are open, honest, accountable, and informational. During two previous military advisor assignments in Iraq and Afghanistan, this organization provided me with information and moral support that greatly assisted my efforts in rescuing eight dogs to forever safe and happy homes in the United States.

Comments ( 1 )

christine It is a pleasure to work with dedicated service people like you! Thanks for your kind words!

stefaniapetlevrieri2017

Professional with expertise in this field

Rating: 5

The GREY2K USA Education Fund are teaching the younger generation and the people to care for animals, not use them for profit.
Grey2k Usa Worldwide is highly ethical, greatly successful and wonderfully managed non-profit.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

christine 07/11/2017

Grazie! We hope to celebrate the end of dog racing with you someday very soon. Thank you and your association for working so hard to save dogs' lives! Christine Dorchak, Esq. President, GREY2K USA Education Fund

2

Professional with expertise in this field

Rating: 5

This nonprofit works incredibly effective to end the suffering of greyhounds. Through public education and hands-on experience with rescued greyhounds they ensure that the community understands the awful treatment and disrespect these gentle dogs suffer in commercial dog racing.

3

Professional with expertise in this field

Rating: 5

The GREY2K USA Education Fund has been a constant support for our greyhound adoption group, FINGER LAKES ADOPT A GREY(FLAAG). They have provided materials for us to go to libraries for presentations to children as well as adults. Every summer FLAAG is a guest lecturer at the Tompkins County SPCA. GREY 2K USA Education Fund supplies us with written material and "goodies" for the day campers(approx. 100 children). They have been a "greyt" resource for our group and provides us with a sounding board in regards to banning greyhound racing. FLAAG is proud to be associated with this wonderful group!

4

Professional with expertise in this field

Rating: 5

The lived lives of greyhounds in the racing industry is far removed from the public gaze. Shrouded in secrecy not least as a result of the active use of deceptive practices by the industry, public knowledge of the nature of the greyhound and their fate within the closed world of racing is at best superficial and at worse utterly distorted. The GREY2K USA Education Fund has been and is fundamental to a more complete, humane and accurate public understanding of the cruelty of dog racing, the nature of these dogs and what their lives are like within the industry and what their lives could be like when rescued and adopted by caring individuals and families. Not only a five star, but an absolutely essential service.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

carey2 07/12/2016

Thank you Rob for your thoughtful review.

4 Eric J.

Donor

Rating: 5

The GREY2K USA Education Fund has done so much to promote greyhounds as pets, from adoption to supplying materials for classroom presentations, and even supporting literacy programs. The Ed Fund provides books about adopted greyhounds to help young students learn about greyhounds and taking care of pets. Their humane education work includes a number of items like wristbands and buttons. Kids get to take home a memento of their classroom experience. The feedback from students is wonderful. The kids write about how they've committed themselves to being good stewards of animals. It's really heart-warming to see. Great job, Ed Fund.

I am the Vice-President of the Ed Fund's sister organization, GREY2K USA Worldwide. I am not involved in the governance, but I am a donor and supporter of the Education Fund.

Previous Stories
4

Donor

Rating: 5

The GREY2K USA Education Fund has done so much to further public knowledge of greyhound racing. I actively support their mission. The work they have done to promote reading and humane education is exceptional. Great work.

Read more
3 Emily89

Professional with expertise in this field

Rating: 5

These people have worked tirelessly and successfully in the fight to end the abomination that is Greyhound racing.

4 Jeroen v.

Professional with expertise in this field

Rating: 5

The GREY2K USA Education Fund plays an important role in educating the community about the cruelty inflicted on dogs in the greyhound racing industry. Its education programs are professionally developed and have informed thousands across the country about this major animal welfare problem. The Fund also promotes greyhound adoption to directly save the lives of dogs abandoned by the racing industry. I can highly recommend it to anybody that cares about animals.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

christine 08/23/2014

Thank you Jeroen for your kind words of support. Christine Dorchak, President GREY2K USA Education Fund

5 Judy P

Professional with expertise in this field

Rating: 5

Having been involved in greyhound rescue since 1992 and seeing the abuse and neglect so common in the dog racing industry, I was thrilled to see the formation of GREY2K USA in the late nineties. These dogs need advocates to help end their suffering. I knew long ago that we needed to start educating people about the plight of the racing greyhound. The work GREY2K USA Education Fund has so successfully introduced is proving to be one of the most effective programs in teaching children the importance of kindness to animals. Thanks to GREY2K USA Education Fund, children across the country are learning exploitation of animals is the opposite of compassion.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

carey2 05/02/2013

Thank you for this review Judy!

Previous Stories
4

Professional with expertise in this field

Rating: 5

GREY2KUSA has done more to protect racing greyhounds than any organization devoted to the goal of ending the suffering and killing of greyhounds. All animal lovers would be proud of the accomplishments of this esteemed group. I've been rescuing greyhounds since 1992 and have seen the worst of what the shameful dog racing industry can do to a magnificent creature. Without the efforts of GREY2KUSA and others who support their work, abuse and killing would still be the hideous secret of an industry that has no defense for what they do to make a buck.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

carey2 11/07/2012

Thanks for this review Judy.

4

Professional with expertise in this field

Rating: 1

This group is just a front for Grey2K. It only exists because their other group does not qualify as a 501(c)3. Their Vice President, Eric Jackson, refused to answer if donations were tax deductible or not. I would steer clear of these folks. Thy are hate filled and take a quarter of their donations as salaries based on their tax return. They also spent a very large part of their donations on "entertainment"....they even have pictures of lavish "retreats" on their website. They use Greyhounds to collect donations and line their pockets.

If they are so worried about animal cruelty and that the Greyhounds are being abused, why don't they call the police on the abusers??????

There are actually groups that have formed to combat this groups lies....that's pretty serious.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

carey2 02/19/2013

This "review" was posted by a dog racing supporter, as part of an organized campaign to post false reviews here, and is not factually accurate. For example, the GREY2K USA Education Fund is an all-volunteer organization. There are absolutely no "salaries." Greyhound breeders are posting false reviews here because we are effective, and making progress.

3

Professional with expertise in this field

Rating: 1

They masquerade as a 501c3 but are in fact a 501c4 since they carry both designations. Your donations are not spent on what you believe they are spent on, that is helping greyhounds. They are spent on their 501 c4 and its administration. That is where the money actually goes.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

carey2 12/28/2012

"Donny Davis" is a dog racing supporter who is posting here as part of a cynical campaign to post false negative reviews about our work. He is referring to two different organizations: the GREY2K USA Education Fund is a 501(c)3 nonprofit organization and GREY2K USA is a 501(c)4 nonprofit organization. The claim that donations to the GREY2K USA Education Fund are "spent on their 501c4" is completely false.

13

Professional with expertise in this field

Rating: 1

Grey2k USA uses lies and propaganda about the greyhound racing industry to collect donations for their political lobby group. The operators of this "non-profit" (Christine Dorchak and her "husband" Carey Theil) rake in hundreds of thousands of dollars each year. Less than 1.5% of that has been used for greyhound adoption and welfare. The rest is for salary and benefits for themselves, as well as travel, entertainment and 'miscellaneous expenses" incurred throught the year.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

carey2 11/07/2012

This "review" was posted by someone in the dog racing industry and is not factually accurate. For example, the GREY2K USA Education Fund is an all-volunteer organization.

17

Professional with expertise in this field

Rating: 1

Well below expectations. Extreme poor money handling. I have been an active volunteer and board member for various greyhound adoption organizations for well over 10 years.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

carey2 11/06/2012

This "review" was posted by an individual in the greyhound racing industry, and is not factually accurate.

15

Professional with expertise in this field

Rating: 1

They are a lobbyist group that does NOTHING directly for greyhound welfare or adoption.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

carey2 11/06/2012

This "review" was posted by someone in the greyhound racing industry, and is not factually accurate. The GREY2K USA Education Fund makes direct donations to local adoption groups, makes adoption referrals to adoption groups throughout the country, and promotes greyhound adoption.

14

Professional with expertise in this field

Rating: 1

This group does nothing but lie to the public about what they stand for. And what they do stand for is money, money, money, to line their greedy pockets. They take from people who don't know they are being duped into giving money for a cause that isn't there. I and others would like to know how a group can exist legally in America. Lies and deceit is the only thing this poor excuse of a group is about. Sorry Mr. Carey, I'm in greyhound adoption. We educate, and find homes for them when they retire. How many have you placed, or even helped. And we don't lie to get donations like your so called organization does. We've seen the proof of what you do, so you cannot deny it, it's everywhere you don't want the truth to be.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

carey2 11/06/2012

This review was posted by a supporter of the dog racing industry, and is not factually accurate.

4 Dennis20

Professional with expertise in this field

Rating: 5

When I think about GREY 2K USA, the song that comes to mind is "Nobody Does It Better" composed by Marvin Hamlisch with lyrics by Carole Bayer Sager and recorded by Carly Simon. It has been one success after another for Greyhounds because of this organization. So many Greyhounds have been spared injury and death because of GREY 2K USA, and there are thousands of Greyhounds in living rooms tonight that are relaxing with loving human companions instead of living horrible lives and an uncertain fate.

4

Professional with expertise in this field

Rating: 5

This, is an essential service for greyhound advocacy, and every country that has greyhound racing, needs one.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

carey2 05/18/2012

Thanks for this review.

5 Fred10

Professional with expertise in this field

Rating: 5

In the 1950's there were actually articles written by veterinarians explaining why greyhounds would not make good pets. We've come a long way since then and now greyhounds are beloved companions in thousands of homes, therapy dogs, agility dogs, canine assistants, and the list goes on, all because of the efforts of organizations like the Grey 2K Education Fund. This organization works tirelessly to help the public better understand the plight of racing greyhounds, and the joy and love they can bring into adoptive homes. A racing greyhound at the end of its career has three options: death, being sold to medical research, or being adopted. Thanks to the efforts of the Grey 2K Education fund more and more rescued racers are being given a chance to live on as pets.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

carey2 05/16/2012

Thanks for this review.