Over 1.8 million nonprofits and charities for donors, volunteers and funders

2017 Top-Rated Nonprofit

GREY2K USA Education Fund

Claim This Nonprofit

More Info

Add to Favorites

Share this Nonprofit

Donate

Volunteering Oportunities

Nonprofit Overview

Causes: Animal Protection & Welfare, Animal-Related, Animals

Mission: The GREY2K USA Education Fund is an all-volunteer 501(c)3 organization dedicated to helping greyhounds. We work to sponsor the release of greyhounds from closing dog tracks and also to educate the public about the history and lives of greyhounds, from their origins as royal companions to their exploitation today at commercial racetracks. Our mission is to spread the word about these gentle dogs and promote adoption efforts worldwide.

Results: The GREY2K USA Education Fund has conducted groundbreaking research into the dog racing industry. This research has helped close 30 dog tracks in the US and helped to prevent the expansion of dog racing to countries such as Jamaica, the Philippines and South Africa. Our work has been reported by mainstream news organizations all over the world. We directly support greyhound adoption groups and promote adoption generally through the international rescue page on our web site.

Target demographics: save greyhounds

Direct beneficiaries per year: to sponsor the rescue of dozens of greyhounds from one dog track alond and by offering free programs to kids all across the United States, focusing in the state of Florida, this nation's biggest dog racing state. 8,000 greyhounds are used for racing there every year, and many discarded once they slow down. Our programs encourage and show kids how to help save these dogs.

Geographic areas served: worldwide

Programs: We sponsor the release of greyhounds from closing dog tracks through our "Second Chance for Greyhounds" Fund. We also offer free presentations on adoption and advocacy to schools through our signature Greyhounds in the Classroom and Greyhounds in the Library programs, and perform ongoing research into the dog racing industry to promote an understanding of the cruelty of dog racing. Participating children are given free age-appropriate materials including a coloring book for younger kids, a hard cover book for older kids to read, "Save the Greyhounds" wristbands, adoption posters to hang, greyhound magnets and more.

Community Stories

39 Stories from Volunteers, Donors & Supporters

1

Donor

Rating: 5

This organization and their staff are open, honest, accountable, and informational. During two previous military advisor assignments in Iraq and Afghanistan, this organization provided me with information and moral support that greatly assisted my efforts in rescuing eight dogs to forever safe and happy homes in the United States.

Comments ( 1 )

christine It is a pleasure to work with dedicated service people like you! Thanks for your kind words!

Volunteer

Rating: 5

I once helped video a session of Grey2K USA in the classroom - the instructor was very inspiring and the kids were totally engaged throughout. The management of this organization is very dedicated and sophisticated about spreading the message of how greyhounds are to be treasured as a species and individuals. I can't speak highly enough about this nonprofit!

Comments ( 1 )

profile

christine 07/15/2017

Thank you for your help in spreading the word to young people that greyhounds deserve to be loved!

Volunteer

Rating: 5

Difensore dei diritti degli animali e salvataggio dei levrieri dalla morte

Volunteer

Rating: 5

I levrieri devono essere animali da compagnia, non esseri da sfruttare e poi sopprimere! Al fianco di chi combatte per loro, sempre!

Volunteer

Rating: 5

They do wonderful charity
They help greyhounds worldwide

Comments ( 1 )

profile

christine 07/15/2017

Thank you for being a part of our team!

Volunteer

Rating: 5

wonderful charity
They help greyhounds worldwide

Comments ( 1 )

profile

christine 07/11/2017

Thank you for your kind words! Christine Dorchak, Esq. President, GREY2K USA Education Fund

Volunteer

Rating: 5

Big people that save much greyhound and advocades the animal rigjts

Comments ( 1 )

profile

christine 07/11/2017

Thank you for being a part of this "greyt" team to save the greyhounds far and wide! Christine Dorchak, Esq. President, GREY2K USA Education Fund

Volunteer

Rating: 5

Education is the beginning of the change. Thank you for the great work

Comments ( 1 )

profile

christine 07/11/2017

Education is the key, you are so right! Once a person knows how these poor dogs are treated, they come to the side of the angels (the greyhounds)! Christine Dorchak, Esq. President, GREY2K USA Education Fund

Volunteer

Rating: 5

A great charity that does fantastic work raising awareness of the poor treatment of greyhounds worldwide.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

christine 07/11/2017

Thank you for supporting our work with your gifts of t-shirts and greyhound-themed accessories! Christine Dorchak, Esq. President, GREY2K USA Education Fund

Connie53

Volunteer

Rating: 5

I have volunteered with GREY2K USA Education Fund. I have nothing but wonderful experiences with them. I have never seen such hard working folks. I would never hesitate to donate to this group. They are doing amazing things.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

christine 07/11/2017

Thank you for inspiring this work, Connie! Christine Dorchak, Esq. President, GREY2K USA Education Fund

Previous Stories
3

Volunteer

Rating: 5

GREY2K USA is a highly ethical, greatly successful and wonderfully managed non-profit. The director and executive director work very hard and it shows. I have donated before and would again, knowing my hard earned money would go to help race dogs, nothing else. I highly recommend them!

Comments ( 1 )

profile

christine 07/11/2017

Thank you for your support! Christine Dorchak, Esq. President, GREY2K USA Education Fund

3

Volunteer

Rating: 5

Grey2K USA's Education Fund has helped change minds across the state of Florida. Greyhound racing has a long history in the state and it is not uncommon to find individuals and families that hold dear the practice as a favorite pastime. But the tide has been changing thanks very much in part to the Education Fund's work to expose the abuses that occur at these tracks and reach the communities where these tracks still operate.

Grey2K USA's Education Fund wisely uses resources to organize support and spread awareness throughout the state. Their High Stakes report was a game changer - putting the horrors of greyhound racing into easily consumable facts and figures, making every greyhound lover an effective greyhound advocate.

2

Volunteer

Rating: 5

The help the Grey2K USA Education fund provided when Tucson Greyhound Park in Arizona closed was a god send. There are many happy hounds tonight as a result. Great Work!

4 HPlainsD

Volunteer

Rating: 5

This organization has lead the fight for greyhounds and to stop the cruel world of racing!

Comments ( 1 )

profile

carey2 07/12/2016

Thank you for your commitment to this cause.

1 Delilah P.

Volunteer

Rating: 5

5 stars for this one!!! Thanks for speaking up for greyhounds :-)

1

Volunteer

Rating: 5

Great cause, caring people. Please help if you can.....Thanks!

2 Terry79

Volunteer

Rating: 5

you are doing a great job thank you . I rate you a five star for sure

2

Volunteer

Rating: 5

I have followed/ volunteered for this group for years and seen them grow and accomplish so very much. Amazing people with boundless compassion for the Greyhounds. The Greyhounds still need their help and ours.

2

Volunteer

Rating: 5

Nothing but glowing praise for a Group who works solely for the safety and well being of Greyhounds. They move mountains to protect, this being exactly what you hope to achieve in donations and volunteer work.

5

Volunteer

Rating: 5

Grey2kusa are friends of mine in greyhound rescue we know each other as there is a worldwide rescue of greyhounds going on. We hear of greyhounds in Australia,New Zealand,England,Ireland Scotland,USA,South Africa and other remote places. Greyhounds are in need everywhere we look and personally I think that an organisation such as Grey2kusa deserve all the praise they get as well as a glowing review for the important work they do for the greyhounds alerting as many as possibel to their plight. Don´t bet on the greyhounds don´t go to the tracks and when you need a companion look no futher let a greyhound melt into your heart. I did and have no regrets.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

christine 09/09/2014

Thank you so much for loving greyhounds as much as we do! Christine Dorchak, President GREY2K USA Education Fund

6 Chuck10

Volunteer

Rating: 5

My wife and I became aware of Grey2K and their mission to end the cruel and inhumane "sport" of greyhound racing back in 2004. We became volunteers and donors when Carey visited Florida to advocate for the defeat of Amendment 4 which was going to help pave the way for slot machines and help the tracks recoup profits that were being lost while maintaining their dog racing (unfortunately it passed). As ardent dog lovers and animal advocates we believed in their mission and in the sincerity and passion they showed towards achieving it. We realize what amazing and gentle creatures these greyhounds are and continue to sympathize with their plight. We don't believe that any animal should be used for entertainment and that no one should be able to profit from their exploitation. There's a reason that greyhound racing is illegal, or was never made legal, in 38 states.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

carey2 06/04/2014

Thanks for your review Chuck!

Previous Stories
9

Volunteer

Rating: 5

I have worked as a volunteer with Grey2k for almost nine years now, down here in Florida, trying to put an end to the cruel and abusive industry of greyhound racing. Civilized people are not amused and entertained by the exploitation of animals. Apparently some of the reviewers on this page never got the memo. What is wrong with wanting to treat an animal that has been used and abused for centuries, like a companion pet? No animal, Greyhounds included, should be exploited for entertainment. When will these misinformed detracters of Grey2k wake up and realize that Greyhound Racing is a dying industry? I think that what Christine Dorchak and Carey Theil of Grey2k and those of like compassion have done for the Greyhounds of Massachusetts and Rhode Island is nothing short of fantastic. They speak for those who have no voice of their own. I can only hope now, that the people of Florida, with the help of Grey2k, can fight this cruel and abusive industry with the same passion that those in Massachusetts and Rhode Island did. "If we see cruelty or wrong that we have the power to stop, and do nothing, we make ourselves sharers in the guilt." (Black Beauty by Anna Sewell)

Comments ( 1 )

profile

carey2 11/08/2012

Thanks for this review Chuck.

2

Volunteer

Rating: 5

The GREY2K USA Education Fund does an amazing job sharing with the public how wonderful greyhounds can be as companions, instead of disposable commodities for the racing industry. I am proud to be a part of their efforts to protect this sweet breed from those who want to exploit them.