Over 1.8 million nonprofits and charities for donors, volunteers and funders

2017 Top-Rated Nonprofit

Frisky Ferrets, Fuzzies, & Feathered Friends Rescue & Sanctuary (F5RS)

Claim This Nonprofit

More Info

Add to Favorites

Share this Nonprofit

Donate

Nonprofit Overview

Causes: Animal-Related, Animal Services, Animals

Mission: F5RS (Frisky Ferrets, Fuzzies, & Feathered Friends Rescue & Sanctuary) is dedicated to the practice and promotion of the idea that life is guaranteed to all healthy, sick, injured, or behaviorally unsound animals where medical and/or behavioral intervention can provide quality of life. At our facility, each animal receives individual consideration, regardless of health, age, prior abuse or trauma, or feral status. We provide care and treatment for all animals as needed, including veterinary care, appropriate nutrition, exercise, clicker training, and socialization with people and other animals.

Results: We have been able to find forever loving homes for many small mammals & rabbits and have been able to maintain and start new educational programs. We have also been able to exand our Bunnies in Baskets (Therapy Rabbits) program to be able to visit more people and start our SomeBunny to Read To children's reading program.

Target demographics: the educate on house rabbits and the care and health of small animals & parrots, and our therapy rabbits help the elderly in nursing homes, adult disabled, & children with autism.

Direct beneficiaries per year: Park Vista nursing home, Autism Society of Ohio, Mahoning Chapter, Beyond Expectations Speech Center, Fairhaven workshops, Gateways to Better Living

Geographic areas served: Ohio

Programs: Bunnies in Baskets (Therapy Rabbits) SomeBunny to Read To program Flat Jefe Adventures Be Bold for Bunnies Book Educational Hands-On Visits You and Your Bun Pet Classes Bunny Care Pet Classes Bunny Care the Sequel Pet Classes Grooming and Message for the Healthy Bun Pet Classes Bad Bunny? Pet Classes Bunny Athletes Pet Classes Parrot Nutrition and How to Provide it Pet Classes Clicker Training for Parrots Pet Classes Parrots of the Jungle Birthday Parties Bunnies are Best Birthday Parties Birds and Buns Combo Program Birthday Parties

Community Stories

22 Stories from Volunteers, Donors & Supporters

Client Served

Rating: 5

Many years ago we adopted our darling Chestnut the rabbit from F5RS and he was a joy and delight. We are so grateful for the sanctuary for making him possible in our lives! The sanctuary staff were so helpful in every way, especially in setting up a meet and greet with our bachelorette Britannia to see if she and Chestnut were a good match. Thankfully they were and were a happy couple for many years.

Comments ( 1 )

f5rescue We loved Chestnut and were so happy he got to fall in love with Britannia and be a part of such a loving home! I remember their meet & greet clearly and how happy we were to meet his future family.

Barb Ricker

Client Served

Rating: 5

Adopted again from F5RS this year! We welcomed our new guinea pig, Judy. She has been a fun and loving new family member. We are always supported with advice and any help we need. F5RS is our pet sitter when we are out of town and I never have to worry while we are gone. Our pets are so spoiled and probably become disappointed when we come home!

Comments ( 1 )

profile

f5rescue 08/02/2017

Thank you very much for your kind comments!

Previous Stories
1

Client Served

Rating: 5

I am a volunteer, board member and the treasurer but as of Jan 2015 I became an adopter from F5RS! I adopted two guinea pigs. I was a first time guinea pig momma but felt totally prepared. Sassy provided me with books and sources for other info to learn more about guinea pigs. I was able to help take care of them and handle them which helped me decide which two were the perfect ones for me! I was able to ask questions about what supplies I needed. The rescue has helped me with pet sitting when I'm gone and help with grooming needs. I have bought treats and toys for them from F5RS's own store. It has the been a very positive adopting experience and the pigs are very spoiled!

Comments ( 1 )

profile

f5rescue 03/16/2016

Thank you so much for your review and kind words!

Read more

Client Served

Rating: 5

They are absolutely amazing! They do so much for the community and spend countless hours working to find loving homes for their animals.

Client Served

Rating: 5

We boarded our bunnies at F5RS while on a week vacation. They went above and beyond taking care of them! Sassy even bonded our bunnies (which we all thought the female was unboandable from not getting along with other bunnies). We were amazed and so impressed they were bonded and even groomed before being picked up. Sassy goes above and beyond taking care of all the animals as well as doing the BIB program! Our son loves visiting the bunnies in the library and reading to them. I highly recommend F5RS.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

f5rescue 08/02/2017

Thank you so much for your kind comments!

Client Served

Rating: 5

This organization is seriously one of the best I've ever encountered. As an animal lover, I've been in contact with many local rescues and shelters and F5RS are like family and have went above and beyond allcthw time every time, no matter WHAT. I am beyond thankful for them.

Stacy Z.

Client Served

Rating: 5

This group was there for me when I needed a safe place for my girls. My one girl had health problems and she was with them when she crossed the bridge. My Lilly was with someone who loves her as much as me.

Chloe S.

Client Served

Rating: 5

This rescue is absolutely the best rescue I've ever had any experience with. They are loving, kind, and giving. Not only do they rescue animals, they educate the public, they have wonderful therapy rabbits, but they also sell many many wonderful and reasonably priced items! From toys to scentsy candles, they've got it all!

Previous Stories

Volunteer

Rating: 5

These guys are absolutely amazing! They care so much about their rescues and volunteers: way more than any other rescue I've ever seen! I love them and their organization. I always look forward to my volunteer days with them and their buns!

Comments ( 1 )

profile

f5rescue 03/16/2016

Thank you so much for your review and kind words!

Patricia152

Client Served

Rating: 5

I answered a craigslist ad for a "bunny that bites" thinking she didn't have much of a chance. I brought her home and, yes she was aggressive. One of my Facebook friends told me to message Sassy at F5RS as she was accomplished with these rabbits. This dear lady spent many hours with me online teaching me how to modify the behaviors. Later I found out the bunny was blind. I decided to get her a mate to be her sight. Again Sassy spent hours with me helping me bond the two. Holly now has Koko and he is the best seeing eye bunny ever! Sassy never asked for a thing in return other than a happy ending. That is how these people are. They are totally committed to the animals and giving to the community. They help the elderly through therapy; they help disabled children through therapy and reading programs; and they collect items for the homeless. Though I have never actually met them (I would love to) I think they are among the most beautiful souls that I have ever had the privelage to call friends.

1

Client Served

Rating: 5

This is a wonderful rescue and was very helpful and knowledgeable. I had found a bunny thrown out on the stress in pouring down rain, took it home and this wonderful rescue took him in, got him neutered and will find the perfect home for him. I was very impressed when I brought him to the rescue and met with Sara, she was extremely knowledgeable about the animals she takes in. It is a great place

Client Served

Rating: 5

I went to F5RS looking for rabbit to adopt and bond with my rabbit who had lost his mate. I found that and so much more. They are great people and they do great work. I frequently drove an hour to go and volunteer with them. They work tirelessly to save animals and to promote proper care and knowledge of small animals. As a nonprofit rescue, they struggle with funding every single day, but they never hesitate to give back to the community. They volunteer, they visit, they donate and help spread awareness of other organizations that also serve the community. They are much more than a rescue saving animals, they are making an impact far beyond the animals they save.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

f5rescue 03/16/2016

Thank you so much for your review and kind words!

Client Served

Rating: 5

F5RS staff are the most caring, loving, genuine, and knowledgable small group I've ever met!! They have helped me so much, have a wonderful online store which proceeds go 100% to their nonprofit needs like vet bills, and have offered endless assistance and information to me about my two fur children!!!

Comments ( 1 )

profile

f5rescue 03/16/2016

Thank you so much for your review and kind words!

1

Client Served

Rating: 5

I cannot even begin to say how great this non-profit is! They do such amazing work by touching the lives of all types of individuals from older adults to children with autism. The team is knowledgeable, professional and courteous. They have such a big heart to not only rescue rabbits and other animals in need but to also use those animals to help and heal others. If I could give them more then five stars I would because they are one organization that sure deserves the recognition! Cheers to you in helping to make the world a better place.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

f5rescue 03/16/2016

Thank you so much for your review and kind words!

1 Elizabeth181

Client Served

Rating: 5

F5RS is an amazing small animal rescue and sanctuary run by an amazing group of people. There is no better place to adopt your new small and furry or feathered family member from. They are very knowledgable and willing to share their knowledge to help adopters better care for their new pets. They also do a ton of community outreach and education projects. Just a great group!!

Comments ( 1 )

profile

f5rescue 03/16/2016

Thank you so much for your review and kind words!

1

Client Served

Rating: 5

We adopted an adorable bunny from F5RS as a companion for my bunny. They made the process so easy and I knew every step of the way that they just wanted what was best for the animals. They took hours to do meet and greets until we found the perfect bunny. Not only that but now they tirelessly groom both bunnies (one has an extremely difficult coat). They are so dedicated. A truly amazing rescue!

Comments ( 1 )

profile

f5rescue 03/16/2016

Thank you so much for your review and kind words!

Client Served

Rating: 5

Very helpful an knowledgable. More than willing to answer Any questions I have. Animals are well taken care of and you can tell they enjoy what they do. Wonderful job!

Comments ( 1 )

profile

f5rescue 03/16/2016

Thank you so much for your review and kind words!

Client Served

Rating: 5

I was first introduced to F5RS several years ago at a business expo. It was the first time I had heard of certified therapy rabbits! Since I own a therapy practice with a variety of therapies, I asked them if they would like to join us for an upcoming family event. They did and have been volunteering their time and expertise on numerous other occasions--our annual Halloween party, story times, and our summer reading program, Some Bunny To Read To. The volunteers know and care so much about their animals, and the kids just love interacting with the bunnies!
Andrea Moore
Owner, Beyond Expectations Speech Therapy

Comments ( 1 )

profile

f5rescue 03/16/2016

Thank you so much for your review and kind words!

Tammy70

Client Served

Rating: 5

These people are utterly devoted to the well being of the animals in their care, and yours. The most knowledgeable I have come across in behavior, training, grooming, diet, bonding etc. And their homemade treat products are awesome too! I don't think you will find people that devote more time to the cause then they do! Sassy is the best!

Comments ( 1 )

profile

f5rescue 03/16/2016

Thank you so much for your review and kind words!

Client Served

Rating: 5

The name of this site says it all.... Great Nonprofit. The director and volunteers do everything they possibly can for the animals they take in. The crew goes above and beyond what others do. I’ve adopted two bunnies from them and have directed friends to F5RS as well. All of my communication with this rescue has been pleasant and professional. I would highly recommend others to look into this group for their adoption needs. Truly a valuable resource to all animal welfare. Keep up the great work and thanks for your commitment…

Comments ( 1 )

profile

f5rescue 03/16/2016

Thank you so much for your review and kind words!

1 Mike111

Client Served

Rating: 5

We can't say enough! They are so dedicated to the bunnies. Everything they do revolves around the animals. They truly love all of them. We adopted our lop from F5 to bond with our Netherland dwarf and it wasn't going very well. Sassy said she thought she could bond them. Well 3 weeks later we had bonded bunnies! We never thought it could of happened. She is the Bunny Whisperer!

Comments ( 1 )

profile

f5rescue 03/16/2016

Thank you so much for your review and kind words!

1 Ann_49

Client Served

Rating: 5

I have turned to this rescue many many times for advice for my 9 rescue rabbits and every time they have been generous with their time and help and resources. I can't say enough good things about these wonderful caring knowledgeable people. They are angels to the animals in their care and the entire bunny community.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

f5rescue 03/16/2016

Thank you so much for your review and kind words!