Over 1.8 million nonprofits and charities for donors, volunteers and funders

2017 Top-Rated Nonprofit

FIV Cat Rescue

Claim This Nonprofit

More Info

Add to Favorites

Share this Nonprofit

Donate

Nonprofit Overview

Causes: Animal Protection & Welfare, Animals

Mission: Stop discriminatory FIV killing, support FIV supporters, and create a healthy, humane, and permanent solution for all cats. • Update the knowledge of decision makers: owners, vets, and shelter managers • Create tools to help those who provide daily aid to disadvantaged cats. • Provide permanent solutions to the two major feline problems: homing and population control.

Results: Saved hundreds of FIV cat lives worldwide; assisted volunteers to get some shelters to accept FIV cats; educated thousands through our educational flyers and websites; helped find fosters and forever homes for hundreds of cats.

Target demographics: save FIV cats.

Direct beneficiaries per year: Hundreds of FIV cats, owners and rescues.

Geographic areas served: the USA and Canada

Programs: Educational resources and materials for owners, rescues and vets. Help find homes via our Facebook page and networking. Provide database of Rescues that accept FIV Cats.

Community Stories

34 Stories from Volunteers, Donors & Supporters

1

Client Served

Rating: 5

I rescued a stray cat that turned out to have FIV. My vet told me he should not be in my home with my other cats due to his FIV status. I contacted all the rescue groups in my area but due to his FIV status they would not take him. I was desperate when I contacted FIV cat rescue. Frankie immediately put me at ease with her invaluable information and kindness. Thanks to Frankie I ended up keeping Henry! She even followed up on her own weeks late to check on us! Five stars is not enough to rate Frankie and Fiv cat rescue.

Comments ( 1 )

fivcat Thank you for your kind words. So happy for Henry and you!

1

Client Served

Rating: 5

They were so helpful in providing me information regarding the adoption of my FIV kitty.
Fast and efficient and very knowledgeable.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

fivcat 08/17/2017

Thank you for your kind review. So glad another FIV kitty has found a loving, forever home!

1

Client Served

Rating: 5

I am from a non profit animal shelter and county pound located in VA. When we were faced with multiple FIV cats, FIV Cat Rescue was always extremely helpful with any questions or concerns we had. They took time out of their day to send us any information that we needed. They seem to be extremely caring and loving to their fur babies and even to the ones they have yet to meet. Thank you for what you do. So many kitties are euthanized just because people get false information on FIV. FIV Cat Rescue is helping to change that.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

fivcat 08/14/2017

Thank you for you note. It is caring people like you who take the time to reach out to learn more about FIV who help save lives. Thank you for all you do for the fur babies!

1

Client Served

Rating: 5

I contacted FIV Cat Rescue for help with trying to find an FIV kitty having a tough life adopted. I am very thankful for Frankie to have offered her help and support through this stressful time. The sense of a community is a tremendous help. FIV kitties need loving homes!!!

Comments ( 1 )

profile

fivcat 08/14/2017

Thank you for your review. Together we can save all FIV kitties!

1

Client Served

Rating: 5

FIV Cat Rescue was an amazing resource for me and my family when King Henry came to our doorstep hungry and thin. We took him to the vet and got him tuned up and fixed. They did the usual blood work and it turned out that King Henry had FIV. We did not know where to turn. I spoke with Frankie at FIV Cat Rescue and she put my mind at ease as to what FIV encompassed and how King Henry could lead a wonderful life. Friends of ours ended up adopted King Henry and he is the love of their lives.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

fivcat 08/14/2017

Thank you for your review and for your big heart in reaching out to save King Henry. I'm so happy he found a loving forever home. What an adorable boy!

1

Client Served

Rating: 5

Very compassionate ppl :) Frankie was very helpful and kind when I was looking to rehome a FIV cat I rescued from a mentally disabled owner..Thanks

Comments ( 1 )

profile

fivcat 08/14/2017

Thank you for your review and for your big heart in helping stepping up and helping this FIV kitty when he was losing his home.

1

Client Served

Rating: 5

I received a lot of help with a cat I found that had the FIV and the calicivirus. They responded back via mail immediately. They gave me a lot of info on both issues and said cat can live fine with FIV. They gave me a rescue support list for my area. It was so nice to have someone's support in getting answers I needed. This is a wonderful group doing their best to help animals.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

fivcat 08/14/2017

Thank you for your nice review. I'm glad we could help. Thank you for your big heart in researching and reaching out to help this kitty.

1

Client Served

Rating: 5

Frankie was a great help and gave me lots of information and help when I found a pregnant cat that was FIV positive. Such a great support!

Comments ( 1 )

profile

fivcat 08/14/2017

Thank you for your review. You are the hero here. Without your big heart and reaching out to find out more about FIV, this pregnant mom and her kittens would have probably lost their lives. Kudos to you!

1 Priscila H.

Client Served

Rating: 5

Just wanted to say again..THANK YOU! Due to the amazing help coming from this organization and from Frankie.. the little Oscar found a great home...for now it might be only foster home..but potentially a permanent home! He found warming "parents" and siblings that also share the stereotype of having FIV....The network power this organization brought us was impressive...from caring people that just wanted Oscar to find a loving home! Thank you so much! Im happy to have organizations like this!

2

Client Served

Rating: 5

After we adopted a kitten who tested positive for FIV, I panicked about the safety our 10 year old cat. Much as I am very happy with our vet, they were not at all informed about FIV. I searched everywhere for information and resources about FIV. The first place I called multiple times, with no response. Then I found FIV cat rescue. I live in PA, but this nonprofit in CA was a lifesaver (literally)! The organization answered all of my emails in detail, and they were so helpful and relevant. We are going to retest our kitten in a few months, but having the information about how to proceed even if she's positive puts my mind at ease - our kitten is already one of the family!

Comments ( 1 )

profile

fivcat 09/18/2016

Thank you for the positive feedback. I am so happy this kitten found you and is now part of your loving family.

3

Client Served

Rating: 5

FIV cat rescue helped my foster kitty while I found him a forever home. When I found Slate outside my apartment he was the only approachable cat of the feral colony that resided there. I took him to the vet to have him looked over where we found he was FIV+. The doctor told me that although not as common, FIV can be transmitted through casual contact so I must strictly quarantine him from my two healthy cats. For several weeks Slate stayed confined in a small spare bedroom, with a few daily interactions from my husband and I and our dog.m, while we searched for him a new home. I knew he must be miserable living life in a small, secluded room, with little attention. I searched for more information on FIV while we fostered him and came across this site. It was here that I learned it is outdated information that FIV can be spread through casual contact and that it must be through bite wounds. At that point I began to allow more freedom for Slate and some interaction with my girls, although he preferred not to be with them and either curl up in a lap or find a good sin spot. After about 3 months we found Slate a forever home where he is thriving with his new mommy and daddy and 3 doggie brothers and sisters! 6 weeks later I brought my girls in to be retested and they are still negative and healthy. If it were not for the information and the help I received through this site, Slates stay with us, although we were trying to help, would have been miserable and cruel. Thank you FIV cat rescue for helping Slate to have a better life, both with us and his new home!

2

Client Served

Rating: 5

FIV cat rescue helped me to understand the disease my rescued cat has. They provided quick and accurate information. I also asked them to find me an FIV positive cat to be a companion for mine. They came through with several sites near me with an FIV cat. They are compassionate and caring.

2

Client Served

Rating: 5

Thank you Frankie Kangas for establishing this site and non-profit organization. I was in extreme dire straits when suddenly my FIV cat "Grandpa Kitty" had to go. My landlord said it was us or him because he wasn't on the lease. Frankie made my emergency hers and took on Grampa until she could place him somewhere. We were hours of putting him down as we had NO options. Two old people with one income don't have many places to live.
If you are looking for information or placement help for FIV kitties, this is the site for you. Frankie doesn't let go until she helps you resolve your worries.

2 dinolover65

Client Served

Rating: 5

I found a stray in my neighborhood and after getting him fixed, I found out he had FIV. I wasn't sure where to go and I was worried about what kind of life he would have. I reached out to FIV Cat Rescue and was in touch with caring and compassionate people who were able to erase my worries. FIV is misunderstood and the perception around it needs to change. Through FIV Cat Rescue, I am able to spread the message and able to speak to others about the misconception about FIV.

3 Kathy224

Client Served

Rating: 5

A couple of years ago, we had a young male cat show up on our doorstep. We took him to the vet and found he was FIV positive. We had other outdoor cats we cared for and weren't sure what to do with him. FIV Cat Rescue recommended fixing him and leaving him with his outdoor family. We have had no problems with him fighting with the others (he is a very gentle cat) and he is healthy. FIV Cat Rescue was very supportive during our decision about his future and I'm glad we followed their advice!

5

Client Served

Rating: 5

A year ago I took in the neighborhood stray cat who tested positive for FIV. I was very scared and confused until I reached out to FIV cat rescue. They responded to my "help" email within minutes and reassured me that my new Kitty would live a perfectly normal life without having to turn out lives upside down. They are amazing and we need more resources out there like them. Thank you!

4

Client Served

Rating: 5

We rescued an FIV kitty Rusty. With the help of FIV Cat Rescue, they have helped us understand FIV, how to help Rusty and how to get our 2 girls Wilma Mae and Tiger Lily to accept Rusty.

3

Client Served

Rating: 5

Terrific organization with such helpful and nice people!

3

Client Served

Rating: 5

Very nice people. They provide you with information in regards to fostering and adopting special needs cats.

2

Client Served

Rating: 5

Wonderful place! Was very responsive and helpful when we picked up a homeless stray, and after taking him to the vet, learned her was FIV positive.

They provided gudance and information to help us decide this young cat would be fine to stay in the home with another cat, and it has been wonderful for both cats!