Over 1.8 million nonprofits and charities for donors, volunteers and funders

2016 Top-Rated Nonprofit

First Chance Foundation

Claim This Nonprofit

More Info

Add to Favorites

Share this Nonprofit

Donate

Nonprofit Overview

Causes: Children & Youth, Children & Youth Services, Human Services, Youth Development, Youth Development Programs

Mission: Our Mission is to financially and physically assist other non-profit organizations with the nurturing and development of disadvantaged children.

Target demographics: abandoned, abused, or neglected children 0-20 years of age

Direct beneficiaries per year: over 30 agencies and hundreds of children

Geographic areas served: the San Antonio area

Programs: our comfort package program. These packages contain age appropriate hygiene products, towel, washcloth, toothpaste, toothbrush, socks, underwear, and a small gift (toy for the elementary and younger children). Our school backpack program supplies students with the necessary items to start the school year, and also include the hygiene products. All items are age and grade level appropriate.

Community Stories

15 Stories from Volunteers, Donors & Supporters

General Member of the Public

Rating: 5

First Chance Foundation is an extraordinary organization! They collect toiletries and school supplies to provide to kids in need. These basic items are so important but often overlooked because they aren't "fun" to donate, but that doesn't stop First Chance! My favorite thing that First Chance Foundation does is throwing birthday parties for kids who otherwise would do without. They even tailor it to the child's (or teen's) taste in food, colors, and cake theme! First Chance Foundation also supports other child-focused nonprofits. They really have a far reach! Anyone who supports First Chance Foundation can be confident that his/her donation will really make a difference!

Volunteer

Rating: 5

First Chance Foundation is a wonderful organization that continually gives back to the community. They provide opportunities for children who are in need, whether it be celebrating a birthday or supplies for a new school year. This organization always ensures every child is taken care of. I am so proud to witness and be a part of their efforts to bring children hope.

Tammy141

Volunteer

Rating: 5

First Chance Foundation is truly an unique organization dedicating 100% of their funds raised through donations and fund raising events through out the year to financially and physically assist other non-profit organizations, who help abandoned, abused, neglected and under privileged children. I have had the privilege to know and work with the founders of this organization. Not only do they give their time and efforts to First Chance Foundation, but I also know them to be involved with the San Antonio Livestock Expedition and Valero Texas Open. All for the Kids... First Chance Foundation invests in Our Future!

Volunteer

Rating: 5

First Chance is an amazing organization dedicated to make a difference in our community and the world. It provides disadvantaged kids with the necessities they need to succeed whether it's toiletries, a backpack with school supplies, or a birthday party. It's making an impact in the lives of every child they encounter. It's true light in the world.

Matt80

Volunteer

Rating: 5

The First Chance Foundation is a real blessing for children in need! Through their programs to provide school backpacks and comfort packages, as well as the annual Hair-a-Thon, they provide much needed support to foster children and other disadvantaged kids in the community. They are right there to lend a hand for any child in need. I am constantly amazed by the uplifting stories that result from the work of this group! I consider it a personal blessing to be able to work with and support First Chance Foundation.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

info4firstchance 11/06/2014

With encouragement and great volunteers we are able to make a difference. Our programs may reach multiple kids, but our best achievements are found in the faces of the individual ones we help. Thanks for your continuing encouragement!

Carisa H.

Volunteer

Rating: 5

In addition to volunteering with this organization, I'm also a donor and professional in this field. They are excellent stewards of the goods and dollars received. Earlier this year I was able to see their hard work and commitment to their mission in action. It was humbling and rewarding. The experience helped me recognize the profound impact they are having on the children in our local community.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

info4firstchance 10/31/2014

Thank you. Your words are very humbling. Our hope is that each child we serve feels the love and dedication that each volunteer, supporter, advisor and donor has given to our organization. We believe they do!

Previous Stories

Volunteer

Rating: 5

I had the opportunity to participate in a volunteer project with the First Chance Foundation. I've volunteered and worked with a variety of non profits and the FCF is first class, top notch and wonderful to work with. From what I observed, they are excellent stewards of the dollars they receive and the volunteer time they are provided with.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

info4firstchance 10/17/2013

To have volunteers and supporters such as yourself an organization has no where to go but UP! So thank you for lifting us up and helping us make a great impact in the lives of so many needy children.

William56

Volunteer

Rating: 5

I got involved with First Chance a few years ago when they put together about 500 bags of personal items for kids of all ages that have been displaced from a normal family life and are in need of there own personal items. I totally support this Foundation and will keep doing so as they fill a need for many kids in a way others don't do.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

info4firstchance 10/31/2014

Your ongoing support is appreciated far more than you'll ever know.

Volunteer

Rating: 5

First Chance Foundation is a true blessing. One only has to visit the FCF website to see what amazing things they are doing for our community and find ways to get personally involved. The hard work of FCF is evident by the smiles, and laughter, of the children benefiting from their tireless efforts.

This Christian organization has been instrumental in helping fill many needs of the under privileged children in our community. I have full confidence and trust in the staff - knowing they are serving with integrity and honesty. It is a privilege, and honor, volunteering on any of their projects or providing financial support when needed.

Congratulations on all you have accomplished- you are very much appreciated!!

Volunteer

Rating: 5

I recently volunteered to help the First Chance Foundation pack over 200 backpacks for kids who needed school supplies for school. What a wonderful feeling it was to see all the smiling faces from the kids when they received there packs full of snacks and supplies. First Chance is doing such a great job for our children in need here in San Antonio. Thank you First Chance Foundation!!

Volunteer

Rating: 5

My eleven year old daughter and I recently had the opportunity of volunteering at First Chance Foundation for the first time. We helped prepare 225 backpacks filled with school supplies and treats, ready to meet the needs and brighten the future of some very special recipients. The event was very well organized and the excitement from the staff and volunteers filled the room. What a wonderful and meaningful organization of caring people who are making a difference to the littlest of souls whose depth of struggles we may never fully know.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

info4firstchance 10/23/2013

Children helping children is such a blessing. And when a parent guides a child to service it is even more so! We thank you for giving your time to First Chance and allowing us to be a part of your example for your daughter. We hope you continue to assist us and that your daughter grows up to be a lifelong volunteer for First Chance. Thanks for being on our team!

Jodie T.

Volunteer

Rating: 5

Through this organization my daughter and I have been able to directly help other children in San Antonio with simple but useful activities. We helped make no sew scarves and hats for when it got cold. We also helped fill backpacks with school supplies for children headed back to school .

Comments ( 1 )

profile

info4firstchance 10/21/2013

We are glad that you involve your daughter in our projects. You are setting a great example for her. :) Many children in this world don't have the pleasure of having a parent like you. We appreciate the kind words and hope that you continue to volunteer and help us provide for the little ones who are in need.

Volunteer

Rating: 5

First Chance Foundation is an exceptional entity vital to children in all aspects that are in need of assistance. The Foundation works year round with different projects for these children.
Just within the last year, I was honored to work with them as a volunteer making scarves and hats for the homeless children in the winter and packing backpacks with school supplies for foster children.
The love, compassion, and drive to help God's little lost lambs is awesome. They are very organized, easy to work with, love what they are doing. They will find a way to help someone going way beyond what's expected to achieve their goals. No child is turned away ... in all my years, I've never seen a non-profit Foundation so dedicated and generous with their time, money and talents. Hundreds of children are blessed by First Chance Foundation. I'm so proud to be such a tiny part of it as a volunteer.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

info4firstchance 10/21/2013

Your words are so very kind and much appreciated. We can't do the things we do without dedicated volunteers such as yourself. You always step up to the plate to offer assistance whenever we ask, and even when we don't ask. Your love for the children shows through all that you do for and with us. Thank you!

Volunteer

Rating: 5

I have volunteered for First Chance Foundation many times. I'm always amazed at the compassion and love they hold for these children. It is evident that their hearts really go into helping all they possibly can.

Comments ( 2 )

profile

info4firstchance 10/17/2013

Can't thank you enough for the positive review. We thank you once again for your continued support!

profile

info4firstchance 10/17/2013

We can't thank you enough for the positive review. We hope you continue to assist us in making an impact in the lives of so many children. Your continued support allows us to spread the love we have to give that so many children are missing in their lives. Thank you from the bottom of our hearts.

Jennifer270

Volunteer

Rating: 5

My most recent experience with the First Chance Foundation was as a volunteer to help gather and distribute back-to-school supplies and backpacks to children in the San Antonio area. The main distribution location was at an event organized by CPS and Aveda where kids got a free haircut and style to start their school off with both practical and personal items to feel ready and inspired to learn and socialize. The kids looked amazing- the stylists took the time to personalize every look- and the smiles on those kids faces finished it off perfectly. Kids and parents were also thrilled with the backpacks. They were surprised by just how many great goodies were packed in there!

Overall, the experience for me as a volunteer was great, Heather runs First Chance with impeccable organizational skills and is such a friendly, caring and warm individual. She is such a dream to work with that volunteering is a pleasure. She respects volunteers' time and truly appreciates all efforts, no matter how big or how small. I highly recommend supporting First Chance Foundation in any and every way possible!

Comments ( 1 )

profile

info4firstchance 10/17/2013

Thank you so very much! Your kind words mean the world to us. We hope they assist someone else make an informed decision about helping us in the future! So thanks for being a great advocate for us.

John198

Volunteer

Rating: 5

I would like to say one word about the First Chance Foundation but one word could not possibly describe the selfless folks involved with this organization. I recently volunteered to assist them with a project and was taken aback by the love and kindness involved in what they do. I know some of those involved in the First Chance Foundation so I really should not have been surprised at all. Five Stars does not nearly reflect the impact this particular group can have on any project they are involved with.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

info4firstchance 10/17/2013

We would like to say one word...WOW! Thank you for being one of our wonderful cheerleaders! Without people like you we would be struggling to share our story and to get others to know about us. So thank you for being on our side.