Over 1.8 million nonprofits and charities for donors, volunteers and funders

2017 Top-Rated Nonprofit

Education For Successful Parenting

Claim This Nonprofit

More Info

Add to Favorites

Share this Nonprofit

Donate

Volunteering Oportunities

Nonprofit Overview

Causes: Children & Youth, Children & Youth Services, Education, Health, Secondary & High Schools, Youth Development Programs

Mission: ESP is improving the health and well-being of children in our communities by educating adolescents about parenting before they conceive the next generation of children. Our goal is to empower young adults with the information and life-planning skills they need to form a healthy family. ESP is working to reduce rates of teen pregnancy, absent fathers, and child abuse.

Results: Among teens who have attended ESP programs, over 90% report being more willing to wait until adulthood before parenting, and they report feeling more prepared to provide for, protect, and nurture a child.

Target demographics: improve children's well-being

Direct beneficiaries per year: over 1,000 teens.

Geographic areas served: pre-parenting education

Programs: "Healthy Foundations for Future Families" which educates teens about the effect of their choices today on the well-being of their future family.

Community Stories

27 Stories from Volunteers, Donors & Supporters

1

Professional with expertise in this field

Rating: 5

I have had ESP in my classroom and a part of our Relationships Unit for Healthful Living for the past 5 years. It is always enlightening to my students as they gain knowledge and practical understanding of good decision making. They absorb how costly it is to raise a child and they see the frustrating portion that can be a part of rearing a child. In light of this, they set up strategies to make good decisions so that they can meet their goals and have a family when they are ready for that chapter of their life. I appreciate all who support this program so that they can continue reaching our teens with such good guidance

2

Volunteer

Rating: 5

Education for Successful Parenting is an amazing nonprofit organization that works with young adults in local communities to help prepare them for making responsible life decisions that can positively impact them and their future families. I actually had the chance to learn from this program when I was a freshman in high school and I can say with great confidence that it has helped me make smart and mature decisions in various areas of my life. Currently, I am a sophomore at North Carolina State University and Education for Successful Parenting has given me the tremendous opportunity to gain vital experience working directly in the community while offering me insight to how crucial this curriculum is in the lives of high school teens. As a volunteer, I have witnessed how this program has had a great impact on diverse types of students in varying aspects. I have gotten the chance to see how that this program helps raise awareness to young adults about the multiplicity of factors that ideally influence them as they advance to the important stage in their lives in which they decide to start a family. This curriculum contains significant information on child development, healthy interpersonal relationships, and parenting skills; but also challenges the students to consider their life goals and to reflect on how these factors can impact these specific goals. As someone who had taken the course as a young student, I can now reflect on how this program has positively influenced me to make healthy life decisions that have helped me reach personal life goals as well as prepare me for the succeeding stages in my life. That being said, from the perspective of a student and a volunteer I can say without a doubt that Education for Successful Parenting is an excellent nonprofit organization that is working hard to serve the local community of young teens by strengthening their knowledge of how they can build better foundations for their themselves as well as their future families.

1

Volunteer

Rating: 5

I was delighted to have the opportunity to volunteer for a day with Education for Successful Parenting. It was wonderful to see how well the students responded to the information and how engaged they were in the conversations. This information is so important for young people to have as they begin to think about their futures. I wish this program was available in all Wake County high schools!

1

Volunteer

Rating: 5

ESP is a great organzation that has given me the opportunity to work within my community to spread awareness about child saftety throughout my high school career. It has also opened many doors and opportunities for myself and peers , who are now the founders of The Esp teen club.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

rrubenstein 10/14/2016

Having you in our class several years ago was wonderful. And then you took it to a whole new level by joining us in our work and helping to form the ESP Teens Club! We are so proud of your great accomplishments, and know this is just the beginning of your beautifully bright future.

1

Volunteer

Rating: 5

Education for Successful Parenting instructed me in my freshman health class, that impacted the decisions I make for the rest of my life. That summer I began volunteering for ESP and teaching what I learned to the community. Now as a senior in high school, I am interning at ESP.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

rrubenstein 10/14/2016

How lucky were we to have you in one of our classes! And now to have you as an intern is helping ESP accomplish so much more. Your volunteerism over the past 4 years has helped to protect and enhance the lives of so many children. Thank you!

1

Volunteer

Rating: 5

Education for Successful Parenting (ESP) focuses on informing teens the responsibilities of being a parent, before they become a parent. Today's society is often back loaded in that information or action is presented after the fact. ESP's goal is to be proactive in informing teens the requirements of being a parent, to help protect our future generations.

3 Guadalupe V.

Advisor

Rating: 5

My name is Guadalupe Valdivia Perez and I strongly supported ESP from the beginning because of my own personal experience with the foster care system, and my passionate hope that all children can enjoy safe and loving homes.

As a volunteer and former board member of ESP, I have seen the long-term benefits that impact the lives of youth. Not only does ESP empower youth to advocate and take control of their futures, but also prepares youth with the skills to help them make good decisions in becoming parents.

As a researcher who has evaluated many nonprofits that work with at-risk youth, ESP is one of the few organizations that is well-designed and organized. The curriculum is developmentally appropriate for youth, the language is modified for youth to have a better understanding of the material, and the workbook engages youth in critically thinking about how they can apply what they have learned from ESP.

ESP’s programs treat young adults as “active agents” who have a powerful role in changing their own environment and other people’s lives. Giving youth this power not only has long-term benefits for their wellbeing and development, but it also impacts the community they live in. My greatest reward from directly working with ESP is hearing participating youth say, “I have the power to change my family’s cycle of abuse” and “I want to be prepared before I bring a child into the world.”

ESP is the foundation for better preparing youth who have not been exposed to a healthy family model or have not thought about their future parent role. I personally feel when we invest time and money in our future generation we create healthier people who are capable of raising children well.

Previous Stories
2

Volunteer

Rating: 5

I strongly supported ESP from the beginning because of my own personal experience with the foster care system, and my passionate hope that all children can enjoy safe and loving homes.
As a volunteer and former board member of ESP, I have seen the long-term benefits that impact the lives of youth. Not only ESP empowers youth on advocating and taking control of their future, but also prepares youth with the skills to help them make good decisions in become good parents.
As a researcher who has evaluated many non-profits that work with at-risk youth, ESP is one of the few organizations that is well-designed and organized. The curriculum is developmentally appropriate for youth, the language is modified for youth to have a better understanding of the material, and the handbook is a form to engage youth in critically thinking on how they can apply what they have learned from ESP.
ESP is a program that treats youth as an “active agent,” who has a powerful role in changing their own environment and other people’s life. Giving youth the power to take control of their lives, not only has long-term benefits in their well-being and development, but it also impacts youth’s identity and the community they live in.
My greatest reward from directly working with ESP participating youth is hearing them say, “I have the power to change my family cycle of abuse” or “I want to be prepared before I bring a child to the world.”
ESP is the foundation to better prepare youth who have not been exposed to a healthy family model or have not thought about their future parent role. I personally feel that when we invest time and money on our future generation, we create healthier people who are capable of raising children.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

rrubenstein 11/14/2012

Thank you for taking time to share your thoughts about ESP's curriculum design, organizational structure and effectiveness. As we were growing ESP, your insights into fragile families and youth perspectives informed our development. We are so fortunate to have had your participation and support. You inspire us to work harder every day on behalf of children and families.

2 Deborah45

Donor

Rating: 5

I met Randi Rubenstein, founder of Educational for Successful Parenting , shortly after she began this fantastic non-profit. After hearing about the group's goals & reading the curriculum she created all I could think was, "This should be in every middle and high school in our country." She combines an engaging life-skills approach with an education in child development. The result is teens who, for the first time, are realistically considering what life goals they may have and what actions on their part will and will not advance them toward those goals. ESP itself does not preach an agenda. It provides a place and a path for teens to ask themselves these questions, while education them to realities of adulthood and parenthood. ESP provides an invaluable service and I truly wish it was available to all teens in our country.

Previous Stories
1

Volunteer

Rating: 5

I have seen this program in action & it is fantastic. The workbook that Randi Rubenstein wrote for these classes and the discussions that follow should be a must-do for every high school student in the country- seriously. She works with adolescents & teens- before they're pregnant- to get them to visualize their future dreams, plans, wishes. Then she gets them to think about where & when having children would fit in with their dreams. The students are able to make a tangible connection between things they might like to do & the choices necessary now, today, tomorrow to be able to do those things. ESP is not "sex education". It is so much more than that. It actually enables students to imagine their future in a way that is not taught in any regular school classes.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

rrubenstein 11/13/2012

Your ongoing support of ESP means the world to us as we try to reach out and help as many teens as possible. Thank you for sharing the dream, and for taking time to share your experiences with others!

2

Volunteer

Rating: 5

Working with ESP has been such a joy! Not only is the founder, Randi Rubenstein, extremely passionate about what she does, but the entire program is completely amazing. I grew up in a low-income community my from the time I was enrolled in elementary school. I've also grown up in a family where having a child before the age of 20 is the norm. These experiences truly allow me to appreciate what this program does. I remember being in a Parenting and Child Development class during high school copying definitions from a textbook. In fact, one of my fellow classmates, a freshman, was actually pregnant. I feel as if we would have had ESP curriculum incorporated into in the class, it would have made much more of an impact. I have been able to observe what the classroom is like and it has motivated me to continue to spread the word about ESP. The teens are so engaged, attentive, and they genuinely seem interested. I believe that ESP would be beneficial for any high school curriculum, home school student, or even just a program that parents can implement in their child's life. It has been so rewarding to be a part of something that has such an impact on our community!

Comments ( 1 )

profile

rrubenstein 03/14/2015

Thank you for taking time to write about your impressions of our Healthy Foundations for Future Families high school program and our organization. We are so honored you chose ESP for your internship!

4

Volunteer

Rating: 5

I have had the opportunity to intern with ESP and observe high school students participating in the program. ESP teaches teens goal-setting and how to stay on a clear path by making positive choices. Students are provided a workbook that helps them create a personal life plan. The program includes a budgeting component and provides examples of positive discipline strategies for parenting. Students are taught about child development and the responsibilities of protecting children. Through role play students are able to practice making positive choices. I am very impressed by ESP’s unique program and its varied methods. I was able to see first-hand the positive affect it has on teens.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

rrubenstein 11/25/2014

We are so grateful that you chose ESP for your internship! Your assistance and insights have helped strengthen our program and our organization. Thank you for sharing your observations.

2

Volunteer

Rating: 5

Being a volunteer for ESP has helped out not only me but has had a tremendous impact in my community. The teachers are very caring to the children and treat them as their own. I am so grateful for even being associated with such an outstanding non-profit and I look forward to volunteering for ESP again.

1

Volunteer

Rating: 4

Great curriculum for young teens! Randi and her program really touch on real life problems that are facing our youth and her program's angle is very engaging.

As a volunteer I was able to see how to touch some very "adult" topics that are essential to any teenager heading towards adulthood.

Overall, I would recommend this type of seminar for any high school and I believe this type of education is vital to teens out there who may not have access to it.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

rrubenstein 05/14/2014

Thank you for sharing your valuable insights, especially as one of our volunteers who has seen our program in action at a local high school!

1

Volunteer

Rating: 5

It is refreshing to work with someone who is so passionate about her work. By volunteering with ESP I feel that I am playing a small part in the success of our children. Their message is relevant and needed.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

rrubenstein 05/14/2014

We are so grateful for your assistance! With your help, we're able to review all the student feedback comments, and continually improve and grow our programs. You play a very vital role in our success. Thank you for also taking time to post your thoughts.

2 Brenda S.

Volunteer

Rating: 5

I really owe a lot to ESP for helping me attain so much knowledge and life experience.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

rrubenstein 08/26/2013

We are so glad that you have continued to support ESP through the years! You have been a wonderful representative of ESP. We are proud of your academic and career achievements, and you are a wonderful role model for all ESP youth volunteers.

Previous Stories
1

Volunteer

Rating: 5

When I first heard about the ESP youth volunteer group from a friend I didn't know what to think but after going to a meeting I became extremely interested in sharing my thoughts and ideas to help plan events and activites. I had no idea how involved I would become but I actually felt very comfortable doing anything I could to make ESP reach its' full potential. Education for Successful Parenting has helped me to appreciate the family I have. ESP showed me that in order to create a family, one must be prepared to raise a child which is difficult to do in early adulthood. ESP demonstrates the benefits of building a career and a safe environment before bringing a child into the world. ESP has helped me to plan out my life and set goals for myself. I recommend young teens to experience any Education for Successful Parenting event or course as they are all informative and inspiring.

1 Tanisha S.

Volunteer

Rating: 5

I currently volunteer for ESP (and have been for several months). Initially when I looked up ESP online, I was just trying to find some positive way to spend my extra time; however, when I met the founder Randi, her other volunteers, and the ESP students I realized there was a personal connection for me - past and future . Because of my childhood I understood the importance of such a program and also I recently got married and my husband and I plan to bring at least one child in this world. Working with ESP has taught me different ways to be a better future parent especially when it comes to finances and discipline. My husband and I will implement these lessons. With that said, I came looking to help with ESP and ESP actually helped me:) Randi is an absolute joy to work for and I am glad to be on her team... Please come join us!
Alex S.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

rrubenstein 05/22/2013

We're so glad you are part of our team! Volunteers like you make our work possible. Together we're making the world a better place for our next generation of children.

1

Volunteer

Rating: 5

When I started volunteering to do the books for Education for Successful Parenting, I decided to take the workbooks home to have our children to complete them. I really enjoyed the result. We have a blended family of 6 children. My children have attended Johnston County Schools and my husband's children have attended both Harnet & Wake County schools. All of them have had some type of parenting class through the school system, but these workbooks generated a new conscious level that their schools didn't and open the door for extensive conservation with us. Considering normally teenagers do not entertained long term consequences of their decisions but this workbook has motivated our children start doing this.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

rrubenstein 11/14/2012

One of our favorite outcomes of our ESP programs is that we've been able to bring teens and parents closer together and facilitate positive discussion. We love the fact that many teens report a new appreciation for their parents' care. We also cherish our wonderful volunteers, like you, who enable us to keep our operating costs low and channel our resources into reaching more teens. We thank you deeply for helping us build a strong infrastructure for our organization!

1

Volunteer

Rating: 5

ESP is a wonderful program that educates teens and gets them thinking about their future. The program engages the class and is filled with activities that the students enjoy. This program gets the participants to start thinking about how they can reach their goals and have happy, healthy families when they are ready and the time is right. The program covers a vital part of education that is often overlooked or not deeply explored.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

rrubenstein 11/13/2012

We are so grateful that you dedicate your time to our work to learning our programs indepth. Thank you for going one step further to share your experience with others.

1 Natalie33

Volunteer

Rating: 5

Education for Successful Parenting is a great organization. The students walk out of the classroom consciously thinking about parenthood and their future. This program helps them recognize what a precious responsibility a child is, and what they need to do to right now to take care of a child in the future.

1

Volunteer

Rating: 5

As a person who has seen the difficult side of child welfare and had dealings with teens becoming parents before they were ready, ESP is helping teens be proactive about their life instead of reacting to circumstance. By giving the teens the knowledge and tools to make informed decisions about their life choices. While attending an ESP class, it was apparent the teens were not aware of what was involved in having a child. Watching them work through the exercises on goal setting for their future was truly eye opening. Many had not given their future much thought. After watching this class, I truly believe that this program makes a difference in the choices a teen may make. I am thrilled to be a volunteer.

2 Jeff43

Volunteer

Rating: 5

I attended the ESP Teen Creative Expressions Showcase "The Dream of Family" event at Westminster Mall on January 15, 2011, and was impressed to see and hear the voices of the participating youths who were inspired by the ESP program, as well as their feelings of family and community through their artwork, and personal contact with guests of the event.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

rrubenstein 11/05/2012

We are so glad you enjoyed the event. The teens and I thank you so much for your assistance in helping us display their work. We continue to hear from the participants about how much their day in the spotlight meant to them. They have so much pride! And you were so instrumental in helping us share their work with the community.

1

Volunteer

Rating: 5

I came to Education for Successful Parenting first as a volunteer, but ended up interning for my Masters of Social Work program at NC State University. The Executive Director, Randi, opened her doors to me and her wealth of knowledge and served as my field supervisor with short notice. I am forever grateful for her direction and her expertise in public health, education and at-risk youth. After going through ESP's curriculum and workbook "My Life Plan for Parenting", I could only wish that I had this information when I was in ninth grade. The curriculum and workbook work together to help participants develop and plan their life goals through the use of time lines, budgets, surveys and questions. It also helps teenagers see how early parenting and/or pregnancy can get in the way of their goals. Lastly, the curriculum helps participants to see that it takes a lot of patience and diligence to discipline a child and that there are consequences to anger (e.g. shaken baby syndrome). I have seen first-hand the impact that this curriculum has had on local youth. Evaluations from local high school classes show that teenagers are more aware of their decisions and how it can affect their future. ESP's teen program, Generation Next, also has a great group of teen volunteers who are passionate about reaching their own goals and helping their peers reach theirs through the use of the ESP curriculum. I am honored to intern for such a great organization and have grown so much as an up and coming social worker.