Over 1.8 million nonprofits and charities for donors, volunteers and funders

2017 Top-Rated Nonprofit

Edu Designs

Add to Favorites

Share this Nonprofit

Donate

Volunteering Oportunities

Nonprofit Overview

Causes: Arts & Culture, Children & Youth, Printing & Publishing, Youth Development Programs

Mission: "EDU DESIGNS is dedicated to produce and distribute multimedia materials for the education, motivation and character development of children" We are "Building Brains And Hearts Through The ARTS!"

Results: Thousands of children and their parents get a positive impact from our outreach! We donate our time and materials to schools, teachers and students, including my Art Book, SEE WHAT YOU'RE LOOKING AT: http://www.edudesigns.org/booknews.html You can help too, by sharing my inspiring art book with them. To get a complimentary digital copy, please click on "Write a Review" here: https://greatnonprofits.org/reviews/write/edu-designs and tell us how YOU think the arts help kids. Then get a free download of Ruth's Art Book here! http://www.edudesigns.org/blog/give-while-you-get/#ArtBook Thank you so much for helping!

Target demographics: provide media for character development

Direct beneficiaries per year: thousands of students, parents and teachers.

Geographic areas served: Worldwide

Programs: Free Art Presentations, Books and materials and Parenting Tools. Founded by Emmy Award Winning Animation artist & Author Ruth Elliott-Hilsdon, EDU DESIGNS provides tools for positive behavior and character development through the ARTS and through GoMommyGO®, a registered trademark of EDU DESIGNS.

Community Stories

29 Stories from Volunteers, Donors & Supporters

3 Nandita D.

Professional with expertise in this field

Rating: 5

I live and work in Goa in India, running a multidisciplinary child development and family guidance centre called Sethu, for children with developmental, behavioral, educational and emotional difficulties. What I love best about your website and newsletter is that they are filled with practical, realistic and backed-by-experience advice. I can apply your suggestions in resource poor environments. The families I work with often do not have the finances or access to professional services. However with your guidance, they feel empowered to do the best they can. We need more resources like Edu Designs that offer professional help without commercial interests in mind. Thank you for all you do!

Comments ( 2 )

edudesigns.org Thank you SO much, Nandita! You are what makes living here on earth worthwhile to those around you. I know your love and sacrifice are appreciated by all who know you. Blessings and love to you for sharing your kindness with others.

Ruth Elliott THANK YOU, THANK YOU, THANK YOU! Please contact me at director@edudesigns.org to see what more I can do. Bless You, Ruth

1 Debbie Parker K.

General Member of the Public

Rating: 5

EDU Designs have such great works that inspire children to be good citizens, empathetic to others and lift self esteem. They do such wonderful teachings that our children would never ever think of bulling others but stepping out to be friends of the friendless. Thank you for your role in changing lives.

1

General Member of the Public

Rating: 5

I know Ruth Elliot personally to be an individual who is highly creative in the use of materials and different forms of media to teach children good, decent principles, and she is highly enthusiastic and dedicated to reach children with positive messages about themselves and others. Ruth imparts wisdom in what she writes for children and and what she writes to assist parents in their important role of raising their children to become their very best.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

Ruth Elliott 10/29/2017

Thank you for giving to others by your kindness and appreciation of what is most important for the future of all of us, as well as our children!

1

General Member of the Public

Rating: 5

We are a homeschooling family and I met Ms. Ellison in a store one day. She was incredibly kind and engaged the children providing them with some fun moments while running errands. She gave me her card and told me all about the resources the non-profit had available. It was especially helpful since my children are very interested in art. We were able to use a resource that would have been otherwise unavailable to us. Thank you!

Comments ( 1 )

profile

Ruth Elliott 10/28/2017

Thank you, Holli! It was great to meet you and share what we are doing. I am so proud of all you are doing for your kids. If only all parents were so dedicated, the world would be in better shape. And your efforts will make a difference in the future, for sure! :)

1

General Member of the Public

Rating: 5

I found the YouTube video instructions to make a golden rectangle and golden spiral to be one of the most concise illustrations. Thank you.

1 Elissa Mae E.

General Member of the Public

Rating: 5

New parent and grew up in a bad home that took years of therapy as well as going into psychology in college to get help I needed. This site as well as Ruth personally has helped me raise my little human to be smart, kind and creative. Giving her the best chances in life. Forever thankful!

Comments ( 1 )

profile

Ruth Elliott 10/28/2017

How wonderful to hear from you, Elissa Mae - and to see the joy that little one's life has brought to you! She is certainly a lucky girl. :)

2

General Member of the Public

Rating: 5

I love the books and videos from Edu Designs because it is such a positive way of showing my grandchildren how to be thoughtful and kind to other people and also themselves as well. With all the negativity in the world it is so very uplifting to have these resources available. Thank you! Susan Prince

Comments ( 1 )

profile

Ruth Elliott 10/28/2017

THANK YOU, Sue! Your kindness is a blessing to everyone who knows you. Keep smiling! Love and hugs, Ruth

2 Lenore2

General Member of the Public

Rating: 5

The arts are important to my child's schooling because he has special needs and art helps him and gives him an outlet to express himself.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

Ruth Elliott 10/20/2016

This is wonderful to hear, Lenore. Bless you and your son!

2

General Member of the Public

Rating: 4

Ruth has done a great job in helping/inspiring kids - to become better people in society.
This has been through various arts and other cute videos or cartoons for many years.
She deserves a huge commendation for doing, what is many times, a thankless and hard task.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

Ruth Elliott 10/20/2016

Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts! I appreciate you, too! :)

2

General Member of the Public

Rating: 5

EduDesigns has provided free art lessons to schools across the US. And they constantly provide character building tools and stories. What a great non-profit, so lucky they do what they do.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

Ruth Elliott 10/20/2016

Thank you SO much for your support! :)

2

General Member of the Public

Rating: 5

I recently saw a cartoon called “Somebody Needs You” from the talented folks over at Edu Designs, with the characters voiced by the legendary June Foray. It’s an inspiring short film about lending a hand to help out someone in need. I feel this is an important message that often gets lost, more so than ever these days. People forget about doing or looking for good deeds, as all of us tend to our own affairs and situations as we grow up. So it just feels good to be reminded about the kindness of strangers. That one good deed can make all the difference in a person’s day. And how anyone can make a difference. I love the cartoon for those heartwarming lessons. It represents what Edu Designs stands for in its noble goal of teaching children about the wonders of life through the art and power of animation.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

Ruth Elliott 10/20/2016

Awesome of you to share your insights and observations in such depth. You are inspiring me, too!

2 Rishi4

General Member of the Public

Rating: 5

The arts have never been not important. It is that plane where our spiritual, physical and mental selves converge.

EDU Designs has taken great leaps in creating "Somebody Needs Me". Capturing the innocence and true nature of a child helping others.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

Ruth Elliott 10/20/2016

I appreciate this! You must be a true artist to have such great understanding of what happens INSIDE of us when the Arts are involved! THANK YOU!

2

General Member of the Public

Rating: 5

Edu Design is a great non profit producing artwork that is easily accessible to children (of all ages). A valuable use of creative talent and sage advice, it has a series of resources available that you will come back to over and over.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

Ruth Elliott 10/20/2016

Wow! THANK YOU SO MUCH, Riccardo! I appreciate your kindness in sharing this with us!

2

General Member of the Public

Rating: 5

Such a great message and love the voices and the animation! Looking forward to seeing more!
dianneknudsen@comcast.net

Comments ( 1 )

profile

Ruth Elliott 10/20/2016

Thank you so much, Dianne!

2

General Member of the Public

Rating: 5

This charming short video is perfect for young children who want to help others but don't feel empowered. The young character walks past several problems without realizing that she could help. Not until she picked up a fallen fruit from an elderly man's grocery bag and returned it does she realize she can help. Small acts of kindness are so easy to do, and the gratitude given encourages young children to help more often.
The video is just right for a young child- it has no distractions from the theme and the colors and music used are pleasant.
This is, in my opinion, perfect for preschool and younger primary school children.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

Ruth Elliott 10/20/2016

Thanks so much for watching "Somebody NEEDS You!". So happy you feel kids will 'get' the message!

2 Sinead N.

General Member of the Public

Rating: 5

What a wonderful idea and concept. I love the beautiful simple message behind this project. Regardless of you age or ability there is always something you can do to help. This is something I try to instill in my children and I can share this video with them to show them how opportunities can present themselves by just opening their minds and hearts

Comments ( 1 )

profile

Ruth Elliott 10/20/2016

Just what I love to hear! So glad it hit the mark!

4

General Member of the Public

Rating: 5

I read what you posted this morning and feel that it would be perfect to use during one of my 4th grade Leadership Team meetings at my school. Though I am "officially" a kindergarten teacher, I started the team 3 years ago because I felt the need for the diverse student population in my school to be taught leadership skills at a younger age. Thanks for your email!

Comments ( 1 )

profile

edudesigns.org 10/22/2014

Thank you so much for your own leadership skills, which I am sure will be an inspiration to the students you serve! Please contact me personally at: director@edudesigns.org to receive the Art Book download I promised you!

3

General Member of the Public

Rating: 5

Ruth Elliot is amazing, She is the giving Tree. Super mom. To be in her presents is so nice, she makes you feel at ease and pleasant.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

edudesigns.org 10/05/2014

Thank you so much, John. You can tell a tree by it's fruits and it takes one to know one! I appreciate you, too! Ruth

3

General Member of the Public

Rating: 5

Thank-you so much for all the great ideas. When I feel at a loss as to how to handle a situation with my grandchildren your website is invaluable. I have more confidence with the information you provide to help them feel loved by my awareness of their needs and to give them that support.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

edudesigns.org 09/24/2014

Thank you so much, Carri! Your comment means a lot to me! I tried to find an email address to send you your copy of SEE WHAT YOU'RE LOOKING AT! - my Art textbook for children, but it didn't show up when I clicked your name. Please email me here and I will send your free download: rewards@edudesigns.org THANKS AGAIN! Ruth

General Member of the Public

Rating: 3

You gave me copies of the behavior charts for my grandchildren when I was your husbands nurse at St Bernardines. I love the charts for the positive reinforcements! I pray you and your hubby are well. Thanks for the great info! With love..Diana Van Leuven Johnson

General Member of the Public

Rating: 5

My grandchildren live with me in an area where the children aren't very friendly. We are Christians and they have a hard time dealing with our sort of people. When my grandchildren were getting bullied I found EDU DESIGNS... The posters were great!!! We started using what was stated and also looked for other ideas on getting ready for School, and after school. We have shared this web-site with our neigbors, friends and school. It has made a tremendous difference in our area, school and neighborhood. I recommend to ALL!!!