Over 1.8 million nonprofits and charities for donors, volunteers and funders

2014 Top-Rated Nonprofit

ECAD, Educated Canines Assisting with Disabilities

Claim This Nonprofit

More Info

Add to Favorites

Share this Nonprofit

Donate

Volunteering Oportunities

Nonprofit Overview

Causes: Animal Services, Animals, Education, Special Education, Student Services, Vocational & Technical Schools

Mission: Founded in 1995, Our mission is to educate and place Assistance Dogs to help people with disabilities gain independence and mobility.

Results: ECAD has placed over 200 dogs, in over 25 states, which is made possible by more than 750 teens that have participated in our ECADemy Program. There are over 60 dogs in training at one time and over 30 people waiting to receive a dog.

Target demographics: People with physical disabilities, children effected by Autism, wounded Veterans returning from war and the At Risk Youth trainers that educate our dogs.1.  At-Risk IndividualsThe agencies in which ECAD’s PALS programs operate, serve some of society’s most troubled children and their families in both residential and community settings, providing them with therapeutic care as well as support and skills necessary to succeed as adults:• 87% of the residents are referred through New York City’s child welfare, mental health, and juvenile justice systems, and come from the city’s most impoverished and violent neighborhoods.• 68% of the children admitted to these Residential Treatment Centers have suffered neglect.• 36% have been physically or sexually abused.• 43% have had prior psychiatric hospitalizations.• 39% have made suicidal gestures or attempts• 43% have engaged in delinquent behaviors prior to admission.Most of the children come from families with serious emotional or substance abuse problems: • 78% of the children have one or more parents who are substance abusers. • 45% of the children have a parent in prison, • 30% have a parent with serious psychiatric problems.• Approximately 66% of those served are African American, 27% are Latino, 5% are Euro-American and 2% are from other racial/ethnic backgrounds

Direct beneficiaries per year: ECAD averages 15 dogs placed per year with individuals, and rehabilitation facilities.

Geographic areas served: NATIONAL

Programs: Today ECAD’s training program produces a wide variety of Assistance Dogs: Service Dogs assist individuals with physical disabilities by acting as their arms and legs. The dogs are trained to perform a variety of tasks (e.g., retrieve items, activate light switches, open and close doors, assist with balance) specific to the needs of each individual. Specialty Dogs to assist children with Autism spectrum disorders in a variety of areas including emotional bonding, socialization support, cognitive development, and physical safety. Skilled Companion Dogs are placed with individuals who need support but are too young or ill to handle a Service Dog. These dogs are well socialized, trained in basic obedience, and can be trained to perform more advanced tasks based on an individual’s needs. Facility Dogs are placed in nursing homes, hospitals, private practice settings, alternative schools, or anywhere their therapeutic support is needed. These dogs have been well socialized; obedience trained, and can be trained to work in patient therapy programs.

Community Stories

48 Stories from Volunteers, Donors & Supporters

2

Client Served

Rating: 5

Lizzy my Service Dog and I have gone one many adventures since we became a team on Memorial Day, May 2011. My PTSD and service connected disabilities has up and down days. Lizzy is there with me through them all. ECAD teaches their Service Dogs well, they are family to us. I am grateful to Lu and Dale Picard whom started this organization years ago in their garage. Their vision and dreams have become reality for so many of their Service Dog teams. Improving our quality of life is a blessing. Thank you to my ECAD family.

5

Client Served

Rating: 5

as a combat disabled veteran, is an alumni and graduate of project heal. lizzy my service dog and i have been a team for several years and been on many adventures. she is a blessing to me and i am lucky to have her in my life.

Previous Stories
5

Client Served

Rating: 5

I am a retired combat us army soldier. i served a tour of duty in afghanistan in 2003. During my retirement, my case manager suggested a service dog to assist me with my various disabilities including mobility and ptsd. Lizzy and I graduated on the 27th of May, 2011. Since we became a service dog team, I am not afraid to go outside, a fear of unkown, unkown if I would fall or not. Lizzy is by my side making sure all goes smoothly for me. Thank you to ECAD's and Project Heal for all they do.

4 hazelangeleyes4u

Client Served

Rating: 5

I am a client of ECAD and can talk having first hand experience with ECAD. I applied with ECAD 10 years ago and the commitment fee then was $500. I am currently waiting on my second ECAD dog. ECAD commits to all their clients, the instructors are there to help, they return emails and phone calls and treat their graduates like family. ECAD is a hardworking, honest group of people. I would like to clarify a few things in the above review. 1) Yes ECAD has a $500 commitment fee but that is after the face to face meet and greet interview, and only if the person would like to proceed with ECAD. 2) ECAD uses agreements not contracts, having an ECAD service dog is an ongoing relationship with the organization. It is team work and trust on both sides that makes it work. 3) ECAD has a person dedicated to helping with fundraising. And the dogs are amazing I have seen many of them at various ECAD events as well as living with my own ECAD service dog for the past 10 years. Anyone in need of a Service Dog would be lucky to get an ECAD dog and it is well worth the effort and time the clients put in while their dog is being trained.

Previous Stories
1

Client Served

Rating: 5

My name is Donna and I was born with Muscular Dystrophy. I am in a wheelchair and went to ECAD in 2004 to receive a service dog. I have "Haley" since Dec 2004. She is a wonderful Golden Retriever who has changed my life in so many ways. She picks up things I drop, helps open doors, and much more.

Review from Guidestar

Read more
3

Client Served

Rating: 5

Four years ago I became a client of ECAD upon receiving my service dog Garrison. He truly changed my life. ECAD provided me with a highly trained service dog (80+ commands), and the personalized training to take care of him and safely navigate in public. I was fighting the constant battle of trying to remain independent in spite of my disability. He enabled me to maintain my independence and give my family piece of mind, knowing that he is always by my side. This is an extremely high quality dedicated organization that really does help 3 people (the client, the trainer and the dog)!! Since receiving Garrison, my family members have become volunteers to try and help others receive the fantastic gift that I was given. We are proud to be members of the ECAD family.

Previous Stories
3

Client Served

Rating: 5

ECAD is an amazing organization!! Its mission is critical in helping the disabled through the training and placement of service/facility/companion dogs. As a wheelchair bound person, I recognize the expertise, devotion and compassion that goes into ECAD's work. Their unique service of fostering independence greatly empowers the disabled. These dogs become an extension of the person thereby enabling them in many ways. In addition to providing assistance in retrieving objects, opening doors, turning on/off lights, etc; the dogs perform a safety function as well by getting help/a phone in an emergency. However, a service dog's work is not all physical, emotional support is also provided. It is very difficult to be depressed with a dog around! I consider myself very fortunate to have discovered ECAD and its dogs!!

Review from Guidestar

2 Beth7Cam

Client Served

Rating: 5

I have been a client since 2012. This organization has definitely changed my life. With the help of my Service Dog, Somerset, I am able to be more independent. She help me with everyday tasks, but has also helped me do things I could have never imagined possible (such as taking the Amtrak to visit my parents, who live in another state.)
Somerset has also helped me make friends. People who would never speak to me before I had had the dog now go out of their way to talk to us. I have an incredible bond with my ECAD classmates, who I consider friends for life. Before I had Somerset, I was often anxious in social situations. Having her with me constantly helps me to relax.
ECAD is a wonderful organization. I feel lucky & blessed to be a client.

Previous Stories
2

Client Served

Rating: 5

I received my dog in 2012 and life has definitely changed for the better. My dog Somerset ("Somer") is many things: helper, companion and hero, to name just a few. She gives my life meaning & purpose. Together we can do anything.

Read more

Client Served

Rating: 5

ECAD is a wonderful organization that places service dogs with veterans and others with disabilities. I currently have a wonderful dog named Memphis. He is a mobility assistance dog who also began to alert to my diabetes high and low blood sugars. This is my 3rd ECAD dog, all of them have also helped me in my recovery from child sexual abuse.
The Picards and their staff and volunteers are kind and caring people who tailor each service dog to an individual clients needs. I have recommended ECAD to many people and I am giving them a 5 star rating!
Briana B.

Previous Stories

Client Served

Rating: 5

I have known the Picards for 12 years now and I just graduated from their bootcamp with my third service dog. Memphis is a mobility assistance/ PTSD support dog. All the staff are professional, very kind and compassionate. They always know how to match the right dog with the right person and I am very happy with my new dog. Lu Picard is an incredible woman and I admire her tremendously. Because I survived horrendous child abuse, I often feel very fragmented. Having the right dog has turned my life around and I can work and have a good social life. I also have a healing spiritual life and I now have moments of great joy. My name is Briana Bittel and my canine partner is Memphis.

Client Served

Rating: 5

I am a 100% disabled veteran. On Retirees Recognition Day at West Point, I met East Coast Assistance Dogs and asked about their program to help the disabled. We had a short conversation and they went to work immediately on my behalf arranging all the paperwork and then I ran it through my physicians at the Veterans Hospital. After 14 months four of us with similar disabilities were brought to their dormitory and we spent a little over two weeks being trained on dogs, their physiology, psychology , care and grooming, all the commands, and working with them in public. We lived with our dogs 24/7 and after a final exam in public we graduated at a special ceremony in a packed civic center. I call our new lives "the miracle of the dogs" as each of us are better off. I don't consider Iris a Golden Retriever. To me she is Iris and as much a part of me as any person could ever get. Together we have driven across the USA twice and flown to Germany. She is close day and night and I could not imagine where I would be today without her. Lt. Col. Bill Northacker, USA, Retired.

Client Served

Rating: 5

I move to CT from PR looking desperetly medical help for my daughter. Something was going on I didnt understand my own daughter. She was no learning at all, etc and the Medical Providers just blame the age and just acting as a normal Hyper child. But I knew something was wrong.

In an instant my word turned upside down. I had to put a side all my goals and dreams including my profession . I had to decide between my dreams or my daughter health. I had to decide gave a huge step back and started from CERO. So without no much time, I had to plan moving to CT in just two weeks. A Saturday I just decided to buy the flight tickets, Monday I gave the notice of my employer that in two weeks I will not longer can work for the company ( a great company). I had to finish in two weeks an ACCESS program I was building and make an user manual. Last day of work Sept 21 and in time could finish the program and the manual. I depart from PR arrived at CT on Sept 22, 2007 at 11 pm alone with my daughter on sept 2007, no family at all. Just with our luggage, medical documents and some of her favorite toys. And a good family that open their house to live with them for a month. I didnt know them, the only thing I knew that my neighbors already knew them.

My daughter have several mental illness. She was diagnosed on 2007 here in Hartford CT with Bipolar I (with hallucinations), ADHD, Learning Disabilities, Depression. A shocking hard diagnose for a child of 7 years old. Despite of her conditions, both commited to be a team to deal with her conditions and fight the good fight learning more about her condition, therapy and through a lot of medications. Actually she takes 6 strong medications twice a day. One of it is Haldol. this med is given to patients in psychiary ER and in top of that it suppose to be Haldol or Seroquel. So finally she had to take both with the other 4 meds. Her condition is more complex and the medication doesnt do what they suppose to do like disappearing-stop the hallucinations. She is sensitive to the meds (affecting her heart) so two of them cannot be increased.

One day a friend (23 years old) was recently diagnosed with bipolar. So I talked to her to talk to my daughter. Remember one of my daughter words to my friend.... "You know? It is so hard to deal with it". Remember she was seeing starring the sidewalk. My friend and I had to hold the tears. My friend had to wrap up the conversation...

Well since I arrived here on 2007, I havent stop looking for all the help, training we can get. One day I saw a news about a problem with a mother that have 2 autism child and their service dog and Mc Donalds. Of course, the issue was the service dog... Then I realized that I should look for a Service Dog Organization that be specialized on service dog for mental illness patients. Looking for an organization with a good reputation and highly experience in mental illness area. Took me around one month to find the one that fits my daughter needs. It was ECAD. It was like God open the heaven for me and my daughter. During that month I learned about laws, web side central service dog, and the Psychiatry Service Dog Society. Remember right now I found ECAD through the PSD Society.

Since the firt time I started to contact them... They are great!!!! All additional information I needed was given to me. I knew inmediatly that it is a truthful and great organization. When I saw they are partners with Veterans Affairs realized inmediatly it is the kind of Organization have fully acknowledge about Service Dog for Mental Illness patients.

We had been working a year (since 2012) to raised the funds. Because I am alone and my daughter conditions had to set limits who are my friends. And yes, I finished kind isolated and harder to do the raise funding.

Josue "Ace" Acevedo, extraordinaire volunteer of ECAD. He is the one who started to teach me how to do fund raising. For me something that I never thought that I couldnt do it. He have been giving me all the support and guiding me through the whole process on ECAD. I found a good church, my church, Calvary Church in West Hartford have been helping me in organizing fund raising, through the Compation Ministry. Melody Chapman is the person who have been in charge to take this wonderful proyect. The Church is very exhited of the stupendous program that have ECAD for people with Disabilites and spread the word. The church have been committed to my daughter cause. We started recycling 5 cents deposit bottles and they sponsord Karla doing a Pancake Breakfast raising funds. We felt so happy and proud doing this proyect. The idea and the person behind this activity (Pancake Breakfast) and came from his heart was Philip and Kristine Parker. We were so happy because we could raised $1,500 and I was so happy. But I was running out of time. We were so far to the goal and I was getting kind of sad because I thought my daughter couldnt make the Team Training for this summer and have to wait a whole year again. I just praying 24/7 for a miracle from God. Asking to the Lord that move the heart of a Person to sponsor Karla. And I know this person will have a great blessing changing the life of my daughter and her future and every person and the church who had been helping giving a chance of a better, quality of life for my daughter.

My daughter is in really needed of the Service Dog, as a child at risk and my health was getting more affected. Kind of 24/7 taking care of my daughter. Lack of sleep, all the responsability as the only headhouse... Too much to handle but never giving up.

The church and our prayers were listened and the miracle had came all over us. Someone completed the amount of the balance due. Barbara gave me the news on June 4. That day I was so stressed out and with an anxiety attack. Had to return home inmediatly. I always overcome this but this time was a hard one. While I was trying to relax like 30 min later I received the call of Barbara Jenkel. When she asked me if we could do the training for this summer and someone paid the big balance due. I was shoked I had to make sure i was not dreaming when I finished with Barbara by phone. I laughed, I cried of hapiness because the first thing comes to my mind my daughter now will have a future and all the blessing that will come with it. I had to knee and give thanks for the things that God had done and how God direct people to open their heart to help us. Giving a chance of a better life to childs and adults at risk.

ECAD and Josue "Ace" Acevedo are stupendous and fantastics. Doing a great job for all their clients. They are at the Top of any expectation.

Calvary Church and the person who open its heart for this great gift of life.

All together changed our lives and future for good. My daughter is thanksful because she have dreams to be an useful and successfull person for this world. We both have a better look at her future.

I WILL BE THANKSFULL FOR EVER.

Client Served

Rating: 5

My son Troy Roberts has Autism. We went to ECAD 3 years ago for help. We got a beautiful "yellow puppy" named Sierra. Actually, she chose my son. Once you are in ECAD's door, you become family.
They make sure you are trained properly and even answer "dumb" questions. Troy didn't have many words 3 years ago, but now he is trying to command Sierra. It's cute when he plays lay down boy and she will respond to him. When I was trying to get even information about a service dog for Troy, Ohio had nothing for us. When I called ECAD I got fast response! I couldn't believe it. I think it took us 6 - 8 months total time from first phone call until Sierra was home with us. Ecad keeps in touch or you can always call them with questions. If you can make a higher recommendation than 5 stars, it would be infinate. Thank you ECAD !!!

Client Served

Rating: 5

We are currently in the process of getting our dog for our son who has a mitochondrial disease. We will be attending our training camp this summer. Our experience up to this point has been very good. This firm is professional, caring and compassionate. We attended our interview in November 2011 and had a very good experience. The organization keeps us updated and quickly answers any questions we have. It's a top notch firm.

ciccottic

Client Served

Rating: 5

We received a service dog through ECAD and my daughters whole life was changed. He provided balance for her and that gave me peace of mind. The staff and volunteers made our experience so wonderful. we give them 5 stars!

Previous Stories
3

Client Served

Rating: 5

My name is Danielle Ciccotti and I am 16 years old. I have had a service dog since I was 6 yrs old. My 1st dog died in Aug 2009. In Oct I submitted an application to ECAD and they saved my life by allowing me to be in their Nov bootcamp. I left bootcamp with a dog named Rover. He was very different then my 1st dog. He has made me very good at throwing, reading, walking,he helps me break the ice with people and I use to have terrible tummy aches. But now all that has changed. I love Rover so much. He is the best dog in the workd. He goes to High School with me and that is not an easy place to be. ECAD really cares about the client.

1

Client Served

Rating: 5

Last August, I received a service dog from ECAD and he has changed my life! I have a neuromuscular disease and am confined to the use of an electric wheelchair to get around. I was desperate to maintain my independence, and not become dependent on my family or caregivers. My amazing Service Dog has made this possible. I no longer worry about getting around or being safe when he is with me. The ECAD organization empowered me and my Service Dog. Their dedication and expertise is a combination that makes this a very special organization.

2

Client Served

Rating: 5

The entire ECAD team is wonderful! From application to graduation everyone we met wore their heartsontheir sleeves and always had a hand ready to help in every way.

Cayla L.

Client Served

Rating: 5

I received Billy Spezzano this past summer and he has changed my life in so many ways, thanks to ECAD. During Team Training, everyone was so helpful in making sure that we worked well together. Lu is very understanding when it comes to the client's needs and has helped me so much, even after Team Training. I've looked at other Service Dog organizations but I felt that they made it more of a business than an actual place to help people, which is why I chose ECAD. I felt more at home when I was there.

Previous Stories
1

Client Served

Rating: 5

Having Muscular Dystrophy, makes me dependent on a wheelchair and others for help constantly. A Service Dog would help me gain some independence back and would also take a little bit of weight off my family. After visiting a Service Dog facility in November of last year and in a way being scammed to give money without knowing if I could even be matched with a dog, I almost gave up on looking until I found ECAD online. In March of this year, I applied there for a Service Dog and got a response back the next day to plan an interview date. When I visited the Dobbs Ferry, NY facility in June, the staff made me feel extremely comfortable and were great about certain accommodations. I also got to meet some of the dogs and tour the facility. As of right now, I'm fundraising for a dog and will hopefully do Team Training sometime in the Fall of 2012. I'm very excited to be able to have a chance to go through this experience and I'm very glad that it's with ECAD.

1

Client Served

Rating: 5

My handicap daughter needed help with her everyday life and ECAD fulfilled that need with a smart, wonderful companion that far exceeded her needs. He is such a wonderful addition to her life and helps in so many ways, as well as fills her heart with joy. Everyone at ECAD is exceptional and my daughter loved everyone. They are professional, caring, and very knowledgeable in their field. Couldn't have a better experience.

1

Client Served

Rating: 5

We recently received Allen, our handsome, smart and well mannered therapy dog. He is a pleasure and a joy to work with and has done wonders in raising the spirits of not only our patients but our staff as well.

Client Served

Rating: 5

I received Honey last November. Because of her I have considerably improved my life. I was fast becoming more and more trapped in my own house. I have almost completely turned my life around enjoying my family and leading an almost normal life. She is also responsible for just about eliminated my night terrors. There are no words that I can express that can explain here what she has done for me.

Client Served

Rating: 5

I got gigi from ECAD in the winter of 2010. Me and gigi have sure had a journey so far. The journey started the year I got gigi. That spring of 2010 Me and gigi won a scholarship to attend the ADA conference in Denver. It was really cool to see other people with disabilities with there service dogs. We really enjoyed ourselves there that week. I have very bad rheumtoid arthritis and depression, so getting gigi has helped alot when the days are tough to get around. The big challenge was yet to come! In 2011, I was layed off from job in march in 2011, so having gigi helped me with that transistion of not working. Then last fall my world turn upside down. I got very sick at end of october. I thought, I had a touch of the flu. Boy! Was I wrong, The day before Halloween, it SNOWED! I was very sick! I had to call the ambulence, I couldn't walk! The medics came, and I took my gigi with me! There was no way I was going to leave her behind. I was admitted into the hospital and I was hospitalized for two months! Gigi got to stay with me there at the hospital for the first week! Because the snow and ice was so bad upstate! But, a wonderful volunteer from ECAD, helped out and took care of gigi for me well I was in the hospital. It was really hard to have her gone though! I ached so bad for her. But, I knew she was safe, loved, and not that far. My bond for gigi is know even stronger! I want her to grow into an older doggie! She helps me everyday. When I am feeling down, and she knows when I am upset she knows. The people at ECAD are great people! Lu and dale spend so much time with the service dogs, they want you to really have the best service dog for you. Until you are confronted with a life of disabled person, you really don't know until your there, it doesn't mean that your life is over! It just changes and you as that person has to adapt to your new reality. Me and gigi are a team. From Richard J. Cortez & Gigi.

Lee O.

Client Served

Rating: 5

ECAD is a life changing organization. With ECAD and my service dog Brady I have my life back.

Previous Stories
2

Client Served

Rating: 5

As a retired police officer suffering with PTSD ECAD has given me my life back. Housebound and not wanting any contact with the outside world I starting reading articles on service dogs that helped with my disability. When I arrived at ECAD for the first time I was overwhelmed by the warmth of the staff and volunteers.
Now that I have my Dog Brady I am finally able to get on the road to a better life. Lu, Phil and Barbara thank you for all you do, your amazing people.

Kari H.

Client Served

Rating: 5

What can i say about ECAD?? Nutmeg, our therapy dog at Joe DiMaggio Children's Hospital in Hollywood Florida, works daily with our young patients in rehab helping them learn to walk again, learn to balance and to regain muscle strength. Of course, for Nutmeg, this means being pet, brushed and playing fetch or "tug". She is an ever-present joy throughout the hospital; bringing smiles to everyone she meets - children, families and staff. We can't thank ECAD enough for training us and training Nutmeg for our facility. We love them all!
Kari