Over 1.8 million nonprofits and charities for donors, volunteers and funders

2014 Top-Rated Nonprofit

Dogs Deserve Better, Inc.

9,848 pageviews

Claim This Nonprofit

More Info

Add to Favorites

Share this Nonprofit

Donate

Volunteering Oportunities

Nonprofit Overview

Causes: Animal Protection & Welfare, Animals, Citizen Participation, Civil Rights, Education

Mission: To bring dogs into the home and family from a chained or penned existence. Three aspects of societal needs are addressed to accomplish this mission: Education, Legislation, and Rescue and Rehabilitation.Through education, we elevate individual standards for animal treatment through direct one-on-one and group contact.Through Legislation, we work towards passage of more humane laws to protect dogs from living at the end of a chain for life or enclosed in a small space with little to no human contact.Through rescue and rehabilitation we create better lives for individual dogs by fencing yards, helping with housetraining and fostering, spay / neuter and finding the dog a new inside home and family.

Target demographics: dogs living chained or penned for life.

Direct beneficiaries per year: thousands of chained and penned dogs.

Geographic areas served: the U.S. and abroad

Programs: rescue and rehabilitation of chained dogs, educational programs to include a Have a Heart for Chained Dogs campaign, mailing campaigns to households that have dogs outside, grassroots legislative efforts, activist campaigns such as Chain Off and protests of hoarding situations, and Hero Fund Vet Care Grants for rescuers and the chained dogs they help.

Community Stories

35 Stories from Volunteers, Donors & Supporters

Client Served

Rating: 5

Dogs Deserve Better helped my newly rescued dog finally have the life he deserves! With their contribution, we were able to have treatment done to get rid of my dogs's heartworm. Now, he has the opportunity to live a much longer, healthier life with us! Thank you so much for your generosity and your huge hearts. These animals and families are so blessed to have your help!

1 puppydawg

Client Served

Rating: 5

I can not express my gratitude for a program as great as dogs deserve better, because of assistance programs like ddb My rescued dogs have a chance at a happy healthy life.. I will forever be grateful for you all as well as deuce and dazzle... again thank you so much

1

Client Served

Rating: 5

When I was planning to help a penned neighborhood dog, the local rep from DDB was incredibly helpful in advising me and a friend on how to handle the situation. She also alerted me to the Hero Grant, on the chance that I was able to rescue the dog. Well, I got the dog and the Hero Grant which covered a nice portion of the pup's vet bill for tests and de-worming. Not sure how I would've paid those expenses otherwise. Thanks, DDB!!!

Client Served

Rating: 5

I am the co-founder of a small rescue in Delaware. We are always getting requests to accept dogs. While we'd like to take them all we can't because we wouldn't be able to afford to give them all the care they deserve. This past week we were contacted about two dog desperately needing rescue. Both were forced to live outside and temperatures have recently dropped to freezing. We agreed to take them and because of Dogs Deserve Better, have been able to fully vet both of them. They are now both available for adoption, this wouldn't have been possible without this wonderful organization.
Thank you so much!!!

Client Served

Rating: 5

Dogs Deserve Better is a non-profit that helps rescue chained and penned dogs. We found Gracie on November 8th 2014. She was starving and had the end of a tie out cable still attached to her collar. Gracie has a long road to recovery ahead of her. She is in need of many veterinary services including treatment for parasites, heartworms and a full mouth extraction to remove her broken and rotting teeth. Providing this level of care for Gracie requires a substantial financial commitment; Dogs Deserve Better has been instrumental in providing financial assistance in order to get Grace the care she needs. We submitted our grant request to Dogs Deserve Better on November 16, 2014 and within a day, Dogs Deserve Better approved the request and had the grant amount credited to Gracie’s veterinary account. Dogs Deserve Better in an organization truly dedicated to its mission of dog rescue, this is an organization everyone should support!

Client Served

Rating: 5

It was brought to our (Legacy Dog Rescue) attention of a dog tied outside, 24/7 with minimal human interaction and his dog "house" was a dog carrier, which was always in two parts. In no way, could we leave him out there. We asked the owner to surrender and she claimed to love him, but that we was 'bad' in the house. We continued to ask her if we could help, we had the authorities out to check on him and see if he was licensed. She then contacted us and agreed to relinquish him. Sadly he was purchased at a puppy store a couple years ago, and has lived outside, with no vet care. He was extremely nervous at first, but has since calmed down is loving life in his foster home, playing with the other dog and enjoying rolling around on the bed! Dogs Deserve Better granted us the Hero grant to fully vet Dodger - what an amazing group, helping the dogs out there with no voice. Thank you!

Client Served

Rating: 5

They are an amazing group!! I adopted an american bulldog/border collie mix who had been abused and tied to a tree for months. He has some health isssues and needs to be fixed, and with the help of dogs deserve better I can take him to the vets without worrying. THANK YOU DOGS DESERVE BETTER!!!!

Client Served

Rating: 5

What an incredible organization! DDB paid for the vet bills for a dog I rescued off a chain. I can only imagine how many dogs they've saved because of these services! Thank you, DDB and the Hero fund!

Client Served

Rating: 5

Thank you to DDB for helping assist my family with financial assistance for our new family member, Charlie. He was rescued from a chain and is living in a much better home now, where he is loved and spoiled! Process was very easy and we appreciate the support!

Wendy89

Client Served

Rating: 5

My two awesome dogs were DDB rescues. The representatives I worked with for each adoption displayed levels of compassion and professionalism that we should all strive for. This world is a kinder and better place for our canine companions because of the efforts of exceptional folks like Tami, Sheila, and Robin. My pooches and I woof them very much for bringing us together! DDB ROCKS!

Kitty6

Client Served

Rating: 5

Dogs Deserve Better rescued 2 abandoned and neglected dogs when other rescues wouldn't even return an email, text, or phone call. Not only did they rescue the animals, but gave them both the highest quality of vet care which included a very expensive Cardiologist and prescription food. I've never witnessed a more generous and organized rescue than Dogs Deserve Better. Robin Budin was in contact constantly assuring that the details were all going as scheduled until the dogs were delivered to their foster dogs. A truly amazing and heartwarming experience .
Kitty Downs
Hoover, Alabama

Barbara169

Client Served

Rating: 5

I have had to ask for help from DDB many times in the last several years, and I am constantly impressed with their dedication and follow through. Their representatives are unrelenting in their efforts to help dogs in trouble. They are immediately available when a crisis happens and do an amazing job of outreach to draw attention to dogs being neglected. Their biggest challenge, frankly, is the limitations in the laws which allow people to mistreat their animals. But DDB uses every resource available to get animals out of unhealthy situations. They are an incredible resource for the rescue community.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

DogsDeserveBetter 05/29/2014

Thank you, we do try very hard for them. You are right in that the law is often not on the side of the dogs, but we believe with continued effort this is changing.

Gayla Frances E.

Client Served

Rating: 5

I have known Tami for over 12 years, I volunteered for DDB also becoming a Dogs Deserve Better Rep for many years, I also ran a rescue and was Animal Cruelty Investigator for Delaware County. I had to step down and just work on my own rescue as I couldn't focus on one thing and the stress factor became to much. Working with Tami was uplifting, fair, firm and but most of all Tami always had your back. Last year I had 4 dogs that needed Major help, Tami helped them all with the Hero fund. One female Rott that was in deplorable shape, tied to a truck I could not get because it was out of state and we had to get her quick. Tami jumped in with both feet and got her vetting, back in shape and adopted to a wonderful home. One in particular I rescued was Teddy who lived on a chain for 14 years and now lives on my couch. I contacted Tami and without hesitation she sent my vet $300 from the Hero fund, that really helped with not only Teddy's expense but helps with the stress factor. Without the Hero fund many dogs would not be saved but mainly have all the proper vet care they need as usually the ones we get are hot messes anyway. Tami is the most driven, determined person I know and point blank... she is just about the dogs period. I think about not only all the dogs she has saved but the people she has help along the way through the Hero Fund. Tami and I have always had a great relationship but the trust we have for each other I have earned and proud to be her friend. Even though I do not work for Tami anymore in her yearly calendars she always puts a dog our organization rescues in which really makes me feel pretty damn special. I recently rescued a rott tied to a tree, with an embedded collar, 40 pounds underweight, HW positive, full of worms, ear mites and just a hot mess and Tami was right there for me. Tami doesn't forget the good you do and I have nothing but admiration and respect for her and for that.... I will always have her back.
Sincerely, Gayla Frances Evans---President and Founder of Ohio Rottweiler Rescue

Comments ( 1 )

profile

DogsDeserveBetter 05/29/2014

Thank you, Gayla, we continue to be awed by your hard work on behalf of the rotties of Ohio and elsewhere. We are grateful we could help you and the dogs you serve.

Client Served

Rating: 5

My journey with Tami and DDB started about 2 1/2 years ago when I first met Liesa Collier who is a volunteer rescue worker. She rescued 2 dogs that were left without food, water and shelter in a slum area in my town after being abandoned by their owner. One was a terrier mix chained under a trailer and the other a Pit Bull chained to a picnic table. Liesa made daily 40 mile round trips for about 2 weeks until the Pit Bull finally trusted her enough to allow her to take them both into her care. However, there were other dogs in the same area that were chained without proper shelter and lacking food and water. None of them had ever been to a vet for vaccine shots, let alone to be spayed or neutered. Over the next several winter months, I helped Liesa by taking food and straw to the dogs every 3-4 days. Two families moved and gladly signed over the dogs to DDB. Without the monetary help of DDB those dogs would not have been vetted, spayed and neutered and re-homed into loving families.

Since that time I have come across many pathetic cases of dogs on 3-5 foot chains, many in full sun with little to no shelters - again no food or water. I call Liesa and she always gets to my location as soon as possible to help. She tries to educate the owner but mostly the owners are glad to sign over the dogs to DDB just to get rid of them. This is how I came across Duke, a mini Beagle, with a cherry eye chained to a dog house. His chain was so short he barely got into his dog house. The owners said they could not afford the vet bills, so gladly signed him over to DDB and I became his foster mom and then his adopted mom which would not have been a possibility without the financial help of DDB. About 5 months after Duke became a part of my family, I was driving along a local street on a very hot summer evening when I noticed a large dog with his head being pulled to the ground. I stopped my car and saw he was on a tow chain that had become so short from being kinked and twisted that he could not lift his head more than 6 inches off the ground and actually could not move. Even if he had been able to reach his water bowl - it was dry. I immediately called Liesa who lives about 20 miles away. She said she was on her way to my location. She arrived just before dark. By then the owner arrived. The dog, Max, is a German Shepard/Lab mix - all 75 pounds of him. During the next several weeks I checked on him almost daily. One day I noticed his right eye was watery and got permission from the owner to take him to my vet. My vet said it appeared he had sustained severe trauma to that eye and referred me to an eye specialist. At this time I talked to the owner and told him without treatment Max would loose his eye. He signed Max over to DDB. The specialist started Max on a series of tests, medications and routine visits trying to prevent glaucoma and the loss/removal of the right eye. That all started in August 2013. Max had his latest eye appointment in Feb 2014 and does not have to return for 6 mos unless there is a problem. He is slowly being weaned off his steroid medications but will need lifelong eye drops and eye vitamins to keep his eye stable. Max has also been fully vetted and neutered. I am going to adopt Max. His treatment costs to date has been over one thousand dollars. All paid for from DONATIONS paid to DDB on behalf of Max.

Bottom line................in the past 2 1/2 years, I alone, have been witness to over thirty dogs being taken off chains, given shelter, food, water, fully vetted, spayed or neutered and re-homed ALL due to donations made to DDB on behalf of all God's creatures that rely on us for help.


LINDA C.
UNIONTOWN, PA

Comments ( 1 )

profile

DogsDeserveBetter 05/29/2014

Thank you, Linda, Liesa and the many volunteers who have helped in PA have been a godsend to the dogs there. We appreciate your work on their behalf.

Client Served

Rating: 4

We love working with DDB. We're a small non-profit with the same mission of educating owners on the dangers of perpetual chaining/penning. They helped us out last year with $300 for vetting a Golden Retriever that we got off the chain and into rescue.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

DogsDeserveBetter 05/29/2014

You are very welcome and thanks for your mission of caring for chained and penned dogs.

Client Served

Rating: 5

I am the director of Southwest PA. Retriever Rescue Org, and also run the Shades Of Grey Sanctuary for senior and special needs dogs. We incorporated in 2000 and came into existance at just about the same time as Dogs Deserve Better. I have worked closely with DDB and promoted them over the years and have nothing but the deepest respect for their mission and their staff. While I have not made the long trip to the new rehab center in VA. yet, I have been to the former Tipton PA. location dozens of times. I can tell you from personal experience that the dogs in need are the center or DDB's focus just as it is for us.

Not only are we supporters of Dogs Deserve Better, we are also the recipient of a Hero Fund grant from them. We rescued a very senior black lab named Max who had lived his entire life at the end of a chain in Mt. Pleasant PA. He was thin, arthritic and and had a tumor growing in his right eye. DDB was kind enough to cover the cost of the tumor removal and made it possible for Max to live his last year and a half indoors in the comfort of our home, and to be able to see without the pain of the tumor he had lived with.

DDB and Tamira Thayne have supported us since our beginning by featuring our dogs in need in their flyers, including stories of our dogs in their books and publications and even featured our Maggie as the model for their lead dog in the book A New Name For Worthless. It has been our honor and pleasure to work with them for the past 14+ years and we intend to continue.

THANK YOU Tami and DDB for the wonderful work you do, don't let anyone tell you that you and not doing a great job!

Comments ( 1 )

profile

DogsDeserveBetter 05/29/2014

Thank you, Joe, you know we have nothing but the greatest respect and admiration for you as well. It has been a pleasure to be associated with your organization.

DoraP.

Client Served

Rating: 5

If you see a chained dog or know of an owner with one that needs assistance, please contact Dogs Deserve Better. They're a magnificent organization that will assist to get a yard dog off a chain and into a home to live a better life and as the name says - Dogs Deserve Better!

Vetting assistance is available through the Hero Fund which can make the difference for a dog to be helped by an individual or a rescue group. If it wasn't for this organization many dogs would still be living a life of unutterable misery outside in the elements.

Since first finding out about them a few years ago I've had a growing appreciation for this organization and what they do nationally to advocate for changes of chained dogs. I can attest to the wonderful work they do as they've assisted with dogs I've been involved in rescuing. If it hadn't been for their support then the change for the dogs to have a new life would've been slow going or never changed at all but Dogs Deserve Better expeditiously made that change!

I steadfastly support them so they can continue to help others help more dogs in the future! If you're unable to rescue then please support Dogs Deserve Better as the Hero Fund is a life changer for many dogs to 'break the chain' and you'll be a part of changing the lives of many dogs!

Please follow the link below and support the next dog that 'deserves better' and awaiting a new life!
Be a part of breaking a chain!
http://www.dogsdeservebetter.org/hero.html

1

Client Served

Rating: 5

I am in awe of the Dogs Deserve Better organization!!! I was expecting to call DDB and have to leave a message that probably wouldn't be returned for a few weeks. To the contrary, each and every time I've called DDB, Julie has answered the phone and been very helpful. I expected to wait for the decision about the grants for months. No, I received the deposited veterinary care funds after only three days. Their Hero Grant helped us to rescue a dog who had been living outdoors for 11 years and on a chair for the past five. Their grant relieved a huge financial burden by getting our new, awesome dog fully vetted and ready to enjoy life!

All non-profits, rescue organizations, and social justice advocacy groups should take advice from Dogs Deserve Better!!!! They're doing it right!! Their love for animals and wish for them to have better lives is still at the forefront of their mission. I hope they never, ever change!! Thank you from the bottom of my heart, Dogs Deserve Better and Tamira!!!!!

1

Client Served

Rating: 5

As the Co-Founder and Executive Director of a dog rescue group in Phoenix, AZ that has special focus on helping chained dogs, we are strong supporters of DDB specifically the Hero Fund they provide. DDB is doing amazing work in saving dogs, promoting anti-chaining laws and educating the general public. Not to mention, the amazing support they provide to other rescues that rescue chained dogs~ There is no other group doing what DDB is doing. DDB fully has our support and appreciation.

1

Client Served

Rating: 5

Words can not express the thoughts deep within my heart about DDB! They have saved so many helpless animals. They do not give up, go to extreme measures and get ur done immediately! I can not
tell you how much this organization means to me and so many people that have had no clue of what goes on out there. Those people in turn have joined DDB forces and focus on what is important...the helpless, voiceless animals! Thank you for helping me and so many others.