Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
75 Reviews
1234.853335
Previous | 1 2 3...7 |
Write A Review
May 25, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
2 previous reviews - show all
December 1, 2012

Working in the Food Pantry, I see first hand the extent to which this organization impacts our local community. While it is there to provide immediate help to those who need it most, it does not act ... more

May 25, 2014

CRRC is an organization that is of vital importance to our local community, providing food & financial assistance, senior programs, meals on wheels, recreational opportunities, thrift store and just so much more. It is impressive to see how much the dedicated staff can do with so little. Community support is evidenced by the number of volunteers that are involved, as well as the donations that are received. Clients are served with dignity and are tutored in the ways to succeed and overcome their current situation. I am very proud to be associated with this amazing organization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find additional funding.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

December 1, 2012

Working in the Food Pantry, I see first hand the extent to which this organization impacts our local community. While it is there to provide immediate help to those who need it most, it does not act as an enabler to people who might "use" the system. Both employees and volunteers treat the clients with respect and compassion, always looking for ways to better help people in the way they need it most. It is an amazing organization run by some amazing people.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 5, 2011

I am proud to serve on this organization which provides such vital services in our community. Crisis programs are made available , along with meals on wheels, the food pantry, durable medical equipment, job search counseling, senior services, as well as a variety of recreational opportunites for young and old alike. All of this is accomplished with a small staff and a corps of willing volunteers who all demonstrate both compassion and respect for those in need. While addressing the immediate needs of their clients, they also try to help them improve the course of their lives. It is a uniquely wonderful organiztion.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

While working in the food pantry I can see the impact this relief has on the lives of the clients. I've heard the counseling that the staff gives to the clients to help them find a better life.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would like to see the organization have more funds available in order to increases their impact in the community. They do more with less than I've ever seen and I know they would wisely use any additional funds.

May 7, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
1 previous review
April 5, 2013

With the current economy, Canyon Lake residents are provided with financial help, food, and financial counseling to help them get on their feet in difficult times. The Thrift Store helps families buy ... more

May 7, 2014

CRRC provides a range of services to Canyon Lake residents to include a food pantry, financial assistance to those who qualify, loan of durable medical equipment, recreational and fitness programs for all ages, Spurs basket ball youth teams, Meals on Wheels, a self-supporting thrift store, minimal number of paid staff , and many, many volunteer opportunities for local residents!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

NA

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 5, 2013

With the current economy, Canyon Lake residents are provided with financial help, food, and financial counseling to help them get on their feet in difficult times. The Thrift Store helps families buy clothing, etc that they would otherwise not be able to afford. This could mean the difference for children to attend school or not. A lot of our senior citizens find themselves raising grandchildren and need this financial assistance and help with groceries b

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 8, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
April 8, 2014

CRRC provides assistance to the Canyon Lake area citizens by meeting their every basic needs- food, clothing and crisis financial assistance. Then it does not stop there. CRRC goes on to provide affordable recreation and events that the whole family can enjoy. I have never seen a non-profit do so much based on the loving donations of others. No political agenda to work through and although Christ is at the center of everything CRRC does, He is presence is never directly spoken of unless asked, but His presence is shown everyday through kind actions, sweet words and loving smiles. This is where I choose to do my 'kingdom work'. Lives are changed, families are made whole and children learn lessons of life through noncompetitive sports programs. My arms are not near big enough to hug CRRC and its continued accomplishments.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 7, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
1 previous review
February 3, 2011

I became involved with the CRRC shortly after my husband passed away; it helped me deal with the sadness and the drastic change in my life. Among the varied services offered to our residen... more

April 7, 2014

I am on the Advisory Board for the CRRC of Canyon Lake, INC. The CRRC consists of a Food Pantry, a Thrift Store, a Recreation Center, and a Senior Center. This organization serves the entire community in so many ways. The clean, well run thrift store provides affordable clothing for our population (and others). The Recreation Center is the hub of the community! It's located in the Hidden Valley Sports Complex. Many social activities are scheduled there by the various clubs, organizations, and churches around the lake. County -wide civic meetings are booked there frequently. There is ample parking, and the facilities are centrally located. The Seniors have their own 'Gathering Place' which sponsors group events, regularly scheduled activities, and special celebrations. The Bridge Group meets there, and enjoys 'showing off' their cooking skills in addition to their Card skills. The Rec. Ctr. allows mingling with like-minded folks and bonding with age appropriate friends. The Athletic offerings serve folks from 3 to 93 or more: Volley Ball, Basket Ball, and also Pickle Ball which is a growing sport, and is gaining fans and participants. The North Pole Village is an annual event, and draws people from as far away as Houston. It's a magical experience for kids and parents/grandparents alike. I have nothing bad to say about this organization. They feed, nurture, entertain and exercise the population around the lake in grand style. We have just added a Pavilion for all types of groups and family functions, and all are looking forward to it's use. Would there could be a place like this in every community!
Our beloved CRRC is Well run, Well used, and Well loved!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Try to get more funding in order to provide affordable trips, or free ones for those in greater need, complete with restaurant meals along the way for all of the seniors. I would also like to see the High School Students get more involved with the Seniors, and interact... Perhaps a class offered at the high to include helping Seniors with yard work, etc.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 3, 2011

I became involved with the CRRC shortly after my husband passed away; it helped me deal with the sadness and the drastic change in my life. Among the varied services offered to our residents, the CRRC also provides a place for meaningful volunteering. Our retirees can continue to feel genuinely needed after their working years draw to a close. Many find themselves with time on their hands, as I did, and the CRRC staff can find a worthy spot for anyone who chooses to volunteer their time (or treasure.)
The four sites of the CRRC welcome Canyon Lake residents and visitors alike. 1) The main office and Crisis Center provide social services, a food pantry and other resources. 2) The Thrift Store is well organized, and offers affordable clothing, electronics, and household goods to all. The bookstore is a favorite stop for many folks.
3) The Recreation Center offers sports and games for young and old alike. and a site for dancing and social gatherings. 4) The Event Center is adjacent to the Rec. Center, and is another site with plenty of parking for meetings, private celebrations, bridge groups, church meetings, etc.
The organization provides for both the physical and emotional needs of our residents.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

The social interactions with many of my neighbors and residents around the lake have been strengthened by the activies sponsored by the CRRC: The North Pole Village, various club meetings, observing the basketball and volleyball games of the kids, and the pickleball games of the adults, etc. Youngsters of various ages, including my grandchildren enjoy the play equipment in the park at the Rec Center. The flu clinics and health screenings serve our citizens well.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

For Seniors: Expand the offerings to the Seniors to include a gathering place where they could share Community Meals, plan trips to areas of interest, encourage more interaction to keep everyone involved and engaged in daily living activies. For Youth: Investigate after school offerings for our young children, providing positive male role models and productive activies. General Public: Offer on-site informational tours to our community members to familiarize them them with our services and needs.

April 5, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
3 previous reviews - show all
October 7, 2013

I volunteer at the CRRC Crisis Food Pantry and find it to be a very rewarding experience knowing that I am supporting the community and helping others less fortunate than I. I am also proud to serve ... more

April 5, 2014

The CRRC of Canyon Lake provides a variety of valuable services to the community including crisis food, and limited financial assistance, meals on wheels, medical equipment loans, senior and youth recreational acitivities, social events, espeically North Pole Village, Thrift Store merchandise, and other forms of community support. The staff and complement of many volunteers are dedicated and giving. Improvements and efficiencies are continuous including a recently added pavillion that can be used for various team and outdoor events and an ongoing effort to automate crisis food pantry records and data.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 7, 2013

I volunteer at the CRRC Crisis Food Pantry and find it to be a very rewarding experience knowing that I am supporting the community and helping others less fortunate than I. I am also proud to serve with such a dedicated group of staff and other volunteers who provide such a vital service on such a limited budget. It has been a treat to see the facilities and activities offered by the CRRC grow over the years while the demand within the community has also increased.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Automate much of the existing paperwork, which is an initiative currently underway. Increase the salaries of CRRC staff.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 24, 2012

I currently volunteer at the Community Resource and Recreation Center (CRRC) Crisis Food Pantry in Canyon Lake, Texas. As such, I have seen, firsthand, how the services provided by the CRRC not only support so many people in need, but offer social and recreational activities to the community that would not otherwise be available. Even the fundraising activities such as the Thrift Store, Market Days, and North Pole Village offer valuable and enjoyable benefits to the local communities. The staff, volunteers, and board members constantly find ways to stretch dollars, improve services, and give freely of their time to make life better in the Canyon Lake area. Their enthusiasm and energy is abundant and obvious at every level and becomes contagious, helping to lift the spirits of everyone who becomes acquainted with, or relies upon the CRRC. The strides made by this organization over the last few years have been extraordinary and ensured a growing need will be met. I am proud to be a member of the CRRC family.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 14, 2011

The CRRC Food Pantry provides a valuable service to the community and spread their resources to many needy families through generous contributions of money, food, donated items, and the personal time of a dedicated staff and several volunteers. Frequently, the support provided to these people is the only thing that stands between them and tragedy. All of Canyon Lake should be proud of this service and facilities.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

At the CRRC food pantry.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Only encourage everyone in the communtiy to be aware of the service and contribute their time and money as they are able.

April 4, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
April 4, 2014

The food is not the only thing we bring to them. For many it may
be the only face they see that week and the only person they
get to speak with . Receiving God's love through another person
Is another food we all need.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 20, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
October 20, 2013

I've given my time (approx. 330 hrs. +/- a year) for over 12 years now (not counting my direction of the Ch. Wld. Service CROPWalks (1/4 of proceeds goes to this and another foodpantry)--$3-4K worth for us). I have watched us go from 6 maximum folk/families helped a week for other than food/ a pantry which JUST had moved out of (literally) closet(suppplied w/ gov't cheese & whatevers plus a few canned goods)into a 10x20 room w/ shallow --think book---shelves to , NOW, that room plus another 10x20, with walk in freezer, 2 mega refrigerators, 3 stand up freezers, one 6-7 ft. chest freezers and incredible rack space for what is donated and what is bought from San Antonio Food Bank. WHAT A BIG TIE GROWTH (sustainable in this very-giving-because-we produce community who "supports us as we support the community" as our logo says.
That's my main passion, but I spend time @ the front desk on Mondays, lending durable medical equipment, helping folk with forms for emergency/crisis help w/ rent, electricity, propane, water bills and some pharmacy costs (we've just started a special new program for special needs that don't fall into those categories, but are sparked by the current econo/political situationS) I answer the phone and refer folk to our Seniors and our all-ages Recreacion Centers and programs, and help our Crises/Emergency Director with calls for information..... I was on the Board for 6+ years a while ago, and am SO glad to see the strength and depth and spread of the talents/gifts/efforts/imagination of the one that's active now! I also do the confidential filing (w/ local newspaper arrest records entries---it helps to know how folks assets are being spent!) since I'm 'bond-able' by background.
I guess you can tell I'm VERY SOLD on this agency...to the point that I've put them in my will, as well as high on my annual charitable gifts agenda.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

work towards getting us a new building to house the administrative/food pantry/medical lending/filing,etc. needs---approximately 150% to 200& of what we've had now for 30 years give or take.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
2 previous reviews - show all
February 13, 2012

working in our food bank over the past few years I have recognized an increase of hundreds of new clients needing our assistance. At the same time I realize the Food Bank is having to stretch its do... more

October 17, 2013

It is a pleasure to Volunteer at our local food pantry. My "co-workers" and I enjoy the friendship and assistance we recieve from our Director. We are frequently asked our opinions and thoughts regarding future development of our Pantry.

Our area has continually brought us more clients
each month. Which has, at times, caused us to need additional personnel to handle the deliveries and disbursements. The Volunteers work together to cover the additional loads.

Our Director assists us whenever we have to make changes in our schedule that affect our assigned work schedule.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

At this time, we could use more space, more for storage, and more for displaying. New refrigeration would be great. Additional office space would be nice to provide privacy for those needing financial assistance. Our A/C is also stressed, especially during the warmer parts of the year.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 13, 2012

working in our food bank over the past few years I have recognized an increase of hundreds of new clients needing our assistance. At the same time I realize the Food Bank is having to stretch its dollar to get the kind of food that was more easily avialable to use two years ago. I feel bad not being able to hand out the fresh produce, milk, eggs, and fruit that we use to have. But, our clients are always greatful. We have added free finance classes for the clients to help them use their resources more wisely. Our directors are ever diligent in providing the best that we can give on our limited budgeta.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 3, 2011

Working at the CRRC Food Bank is a delight. The Volunteer Staff as well as the Directors all join in helping those in our area that need our support and assistance. It is more than giving out food, clothing, and assistance with bills. It is the art of understanding and supporting our community members during difficult time. Our Director is developing a method of "individual Selection" when it comes to the food items. The Client will let us know what items "They do NOT need" allowing us to fill their baskets more appropriately, eleiminating foods they may not eat or want. saves money, time and prevents waste.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Each day I volunteer I see how greatful the client is to be recieving our donations. So many of them could not make it though the month if it were not for the local Food Bank.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

We are currently setting up the food shelves, placing a "white Board" listing the latest item. Allowing the client to tell us what they do not need. The Volunteers and the Directors have a good working relationship and any idea coming from either side is considered with the Client in mind.

October 8, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
October 8, 2013

I went to CRRC to ask if I could volunteer occasionally and talked to Maureen and she acted as if it were an imposition to sit there and give me information. I was very discouraged and left. I am retired with nothing to do, a large nice SUV and was looking forward to helping and left the building with a bad taste in my mouth.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

None

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Unsure

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 7, 2013

more

October 7, 2013

CRRC touches so many people in the Canyon Lake area. We serve through the Food Pantry, Crisis Program, loaning durable medical equipment, financial counseling and providing job search aid. We have a Thrift Shop that allows our community to purchase goods at a very reasonable cost. And if that isn't enough - we have a terrific Community Center utilized by our community groups to play cards and dominoes. We have an Adult Center that caters to seniors who are young at heart, where meals are served, movies are shown, games are played and the seniors have a chance to interact with their neighbors. We sponsor a flu shot clinic. The children of Canyon Lake are certainly not left out - we have non-competitive sports teams, provide location for Scouts. We also have a huge gym that is used for Silver Sneakers and other exercise groups. We are currently building a large pavilion that will be used by the entire community. Our offerings to the community are almost endless and through it all the CRRC staff and volunteers are fantastic. I am very proud to be a volunteer and be associated with CRRC.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...7 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Teach an exercise class (or two); help with food distribution; assist with many various aspects of retail in our thrift store; deliver Meals on Wheels; teach budgeting classes.