Over 1.8 million nonprofits and charities for donors, volunteers and funders

2017 Top-Rated Nonprofit

Create Now, Inc.

Claim This Nonprofit

More Info

Add to Favorites

Share this Nonprofit

Donate

Volunteering Oportunities

Nonprofit Overview

Causes: Arts & Culture, Arts Education, Children & Youth, Education, Youth Development

Mission: Create Now is a 501 (c)(3) nonprofit organization that helps youth find their voices through arts mentoring and education.

Results: Create Now has reached over 36,000 of the most troubled youth in Southern California during the last 20 years.

Target demographics: We serve vulnerable kids ages 2-21 who have been abused, neglected, abandoned, orphaned, are left homeless, runaways, teen parents, substance abusers, victims of domestic violence, children of prisoners, gang members or incarcerated. These forgotten children have fallen through the cracks of the system. They live in emergency shelters, rehab centers, detention camps and foster group homes, under the radar of the public eye. In addition, Create Now teaches arts education to disadvantaged at-risk youth in Title 1 schools.

Direct beneficiaries per year: Over 3,000 of the neediest youth in the region

Geographic areas served: All of Southern California - Counties of Los Angeles, Orange, Riverside, San Bernadino, San Diego, Santa Barbara

Programs: Music, Visual Arts, Writing, Fashion, Digital Media, Performing Arts, Cultural Journeys

Community Stories

66 Stories from Volunteers, Donors & Supporters

Volunteer

Rating: 5

I have been volunteering with Create Now since January, and I can say from experience that Create Now goes the extra mile to support their volunteers and others who invest in their cause. As a small nonprofit with limited resources, they still take the time to provide a personal touch and help you understand the impact you are making and the need for that impact in the Los Angeles community. I personally have received extensive training in Salesforce as a part of my volunteer opportunity which not only allowed me to volunteer for the organization, but also provided me personally with important skills development that I'll be able to use in the future. Create Now is one of the best organizations I've ever volunteered for, and if you are here researching organizations you're considering volunteering for, I can tell you that Create Now is the perfect opportunity for making an impact while receiving professional development.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

create-now 03/30/2012

Our Salesforce database is so essential for Create Now's work and we greatly appreciate your support!

1

Volunteer

Rating: 5

Create Now has a really cool program called Artistic Journeys. They provide thousands of kids the opportunity to attend musicals, plays and concerts so that they have the chance to experience live cultural event at premier places like Hollywood Bowl, Disney Concert etc. I've been able to attend these events as a chaperon and the kids are so excited to experience the Ballet or Circus for the first time! Many of us take these opportunities for granted but for these children these events serve as an escape from their lives at shelters and groups homes. The team at Create Now is very dedicated and has a lot of passion for their work.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

create-now 03/30/2012

Thanks for your support. We love our volunteers because without you Create Now wouldn't exist!

Volunteer

Rating: 5

I have seen create now work and the dedicated staff the organization has . I think they do a fantastic work and I congratulate all the persons involved for what they have accomplished.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

create-now 03/29/2012

Thanks Juan. You're a great neighbor and an inspiration for the kids we serve!

Volunteer

Rating: 5

I have gone with groups of at-risk youth (from shelters and group homes) to see plays at the Geffen Playhouse and Cirque du Soliel. The kids have generally never been exposed to theater, and their eyes really light up when they have the chance to participate. Exposing them to the arts gives them a new outlet for their feelings and frustrations, and it's great to be a part of it.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

create-now 03/29/2012

Thanks SO much for your support!

Volunteer

Rating: 5

I'm a new volunteer in the art department and recently helped out at a family housing shelter.
I worked with the kids to create a banner for their upcoming talent show
and it really turned out well. It was a very rewarding experience and I'm so proud to have been a part of the show.
Look forward to helping out more in the future!

Volunteer

Rating: 4

Create Now provides programs for at-risk kids and teenagers. The courses provide both education and inspiration, offering the attendees not only an outlet for their creativity, but also skills in specific areas of the arts. I've had a wonderful experience working with this program as a volunteer. Create Now's support does not stop when a session ends. Attendees are encouraged to stay in touch with the organization and take advantage of additional resources and support as they move forward.

Volunteer

Rating: 5

I worked with Create Now doing an arts & crafts workshop for at risk youth. The kids absolutely loved the class and I was able to see how doing creative projects gave them confidence and self-esteem as well as a great deal of enjoyment. Create Now helps these kids channel their energy in a very positive way, doing a wide array of creative individual and group projects. It opens up all kinds of possibilities for these kids that they may not have ever thought would be available to them. I've seen first hand how beneficial these opportunities are for these great kids.

Volunteer

Rating: 5

I have taught one standup comedy class for Create Now and it was a wonderful experience. Create Now gives at-risk youth the chance to reach artistic potential that they did not know they had. The organization provides youth the opportunity to access skills and creative talents that can increase their resiliency and change their life course.

Volunteer

Rating: 5

Create Now's organization is beyond hands on and inspiring! They make sure that everything and anything that can be done for these kids are done with flying colors! The love and passion is evident! I have volunteered in one of The Transitional Living Homes and they provided such support :) The kids were thrilled and were so empowered! A beautiful thing and a beautiful Non-Profit!

Volunteer

Rating: 5

Create Now is such an amazing organization that is changing the lives of so many people. I have been working on their database for several months now, so I am not in direct contact with the kids, but it's not hard for me to see that Jill and the mentors are very dedicated in helping the kids that are going through hard times. I'm sure that they will all remember the wonderful experiences that they have had with Create Now. It is truly an honor to be able to work with this organization.

Lynda W.

Volunteer

Rating: 5

I've been maintaining Create Now's web site since 2006. As a graphic designer and a singer, I know how arts can inspire and bring out the best in everyone, old or young. I've seen it change lives in both small and large ways, and nobody facilitates this better in the lives of at-risk young people than Create Now. It's a privilege to be part of this dynamic, life-affirming group of people.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

create-now 01/25/2011

Thanks SO much for your hard work in maintaining our website and newsletters, Lynda. We couldn't promote our work without great volunteers like you who dedicate hours of your valuable time to help spread the word about Create Now. We're very grateful for your years of support, including the cash donations you've made. You're an angel!

Volunteer

Rating: 5

Working with at-risk or high-risk youths and sharing creative time with them. I am honored that these kids allow me to share this fragile time of their lives with them. I have so many good memories about being creative and if what we are creating with these kids can be positive memories for them, I would happy to have been a part of that experience. The kids deserve this and so much more. The energy, creativity and curiosity they bring each week and is amazing!

Comments ( 1 )

profile

create-now 01/24/2011

Thanks for your comments Ronda. I'm so glad that the Introduction to Art workshops at Hillsides are going so well! We can't wait to visit and see the cool stuff that you're helping the kids to create. Let us know when you're ready for more materials and projects.

Volunteer

Rating: 5

CREATE NOW is such a valuable resource for both the volunteers who bring their own experience to the youth, and for the youth who experience the give and take of shared creativity, teaching, arts programs, and the discovery of their own talents. I've watched this organization grow from the very beginning, have given presentations for the events, and attended many of the arts events opened to the youth - music, theatre, and other performance arts. It is always amazing to watch the young people and see their eyes light up, their enthusiasms be raised, and their imaginations sparked by their exposure to talented professionals. Even more rewarding is to watch the kids themselves perform their own creative works. Mentoring really does make a difference! The dedication and hard work of the staff and volunteers of Create Now is to be highly commended. It would be great to see them have even more resources to strengthen and expand their current programs.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

create-now 01/22/2011

Thank you so much for all of the many contributions you've made to Create Now for the past 14 years, Pamela. Your presentations have helped our mentors and youth to grow tremendously and we really appreciate your guidance and support!

Volunteer

Rating: 5

It’s been said that when you become a mentor, you are the person who gets the most out of it. It’s true. My time with Create Now and meeting Jill Gurr turned out to be quite beneficial to me. I am the first generation of an openly out of the closet homosexual, and it was important for me to find a group of young GLBT members because I thought that maybe I could be a positive influence to them. Well, the irony to that wish is that they taught me to be more comfortable in my own skin. Of course I taught them the craft of screenwriting, or the basics of how to tell a story, but because we got to share our stories and ideas we discovered our own voice and ways to express these ideas. It was a powerful lesson which also included a lot of fun.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

create-now 01/22/2011

LGBT youth often have to face great challenges, like being thrown out of their homes and/or being abused by others because of their sexual preferences. These kids deserve to follow their dreams. Thanks for leading such a great screenwriting workshop, David, which has given them a positive outlet for expression.

Volunteer

Rating: 5

As a graduate student I had the opportunity to work with Jill and Laura at Create Now to create a showcase event for the talented kids that Create Now works with. It was one of the most heartwrenching, amazing experiences of my life. The work that Create Now does to give these kids a voice in creative expression, especially given the fact that the kids would normally not have these chances due to their circumstances, is absolutely amazing.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

create-now 01/22/2011

You did an amazing job Angelique! The hard work you put into organizing the Talent Showcase for our foster youth was phenomenal. These kids will never forget the experience of performing in front of an audience including their peers and the new friendships they made, and Create Now is very grateful for the money you raised.

Volunteer

Rating: 5

Create Now is an oasis for the willing volunteer. I first worked with Create Now in 2005 and have always been extremely impressed with the dedication and passion of the organization. Jill Gurr is tireless in placing volunteers in situations where both they and their groups can thrive and grow through creative interaction. A bright gem in the crown of Los Angeles.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

create-now 01/22/2011

You're a terrific mentor Lisa. Your passion for helping at-risk youth to learn about costume design is matched by their excitement about learning this wonderful art. You've planted seeds in young minds that will sprout into dreams and goals for them to pursue, which is essential for these vulnerable kids to have.

Volunteer

Rating: 4

Create Now placed me and 2 other volunteers at a Domestic Violence shelter to do art projects with the children. Jill listened to what I wanted to do, and found the perfect match. She also followed up with me regularly, and provided necessary materials for the projects. It was a fantastic experience that I hold dear to my heart.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

create-now 01/21/2011

Thanks Danielle. We really appreciate the great work you did at Haven Hills. Now their staff are hoping we can bring them even more arts projects for the children who are victims of domestic violence since they loved your projects so much!

Volunteer

Rating: 4

I am a weekly volunteer at the Los Angeles Youth Network and I believe that this is the most wonderful experience that I could have been afforded. Jill Gurr cares about and helps children in all facets of their lives and I am glad to be a part of it.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

create-now 01/20/2011

Thanks for your dedication and sticking it out through the hard times, Aaron. You're a wonderful mentor and the Create Now team is here to make your program even better!

Volunteer

Rating: 3

I was a weekly volunteer as a creative writing and comedy performance instructor for a group of teenage girls living in a foster care home environment.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

create-now 01/20/2011

Thanks so much for your dedication to the girls you mentored, Dan and the great job you did!

Volunteer

Rating: 5

Volunteering for Create Now and more specifically for Camp Scott was a very enlightening experience. The need is great for this demographic; I am happy that Create Now had the vision to provide educational programs for these young girls. My hope is that more funding be made available or granted to the organization so that more of our disenfranchised youth can benefit from the gifts each special volunteer has to offer them. Thank you Jill, for your persistence and your vision.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

create-now 09/18/2010

Thanks so much for your wonderful comments, Penny. You're a great "sounding board" for the girls at Camp Scott and know how to reach them. The fantastic newsletter that you helped these girls to create has impacted everyone at the detention camp. It’s something they’ll always treasure, and that will impact them for a long time. I can’t wait to see the next issue! Jill