Over 1.8 million nonprofits and charities for donors, volunteers and funders

2015 Top-Rated Nonprofit

Chicuchas Wasi

Claim This Nonprofit

More Info

Add to Favorites

Share this Nonprofit

Donate

Nonprofit Overview

Causes: Education, Primary & Elementary Schools

Mission: At Chicuchas Wasi School for Girls we promote gender equality, self-esteem, and human dignity for indigenous girls of rural Cusco, Peru, by educating, empowering, and preparing them for economic independence and unlimited opportunity.

Results: Our attendance is 99%, Parent participation is 95% of mothers and a few fathers. We have just completed the construction of our new primary grade school for girls in rural Cusco. Community, parents and girls seeing the value of educating their girls with the success and enthusiasm they students demonstrate. Our students love to learn if given the opportunity.

Target demographics: Educate ignored poor Girls in rural Cusco to provide economic security and prepare leaders to end gender inequality in their community.

Direct beneficiaries per year: We have 110 students this year ending Dec. 31, 2015; The 2014 school year educated 105 students and 9 girls graduating to High School last December. Parent, siblings, mothers and the community benefit. They are watching the progress of our students and sending girl siblings when age ready.

Geographic areas served: Our students come from rural Cusco area and many are farmer, day laborers, or unemployed and take any job if possible-even putting children on the streets to beg.

Programs: We provide at our CW Primary school for undervalued Girls, free primary academic education. Our school stresses personal development by instilling social and personal values,empowerment, self- esteem and integrity. The regular curriculum is augmented with classes on Hygiene, Art, English, and Quechua. The school frequently participates in civic events, which are an integral part of Cusquena life, such as Parades, festivals, holiday celebrations, girl value demonstrations, and most recently Celebration of the International Day of the Girl.We provide hot daily meal (often only meal that day for students), safe transportation to ensure attendance, uniforms, school books and supplies and parent classes to empower and help especially single mothers with resources for economic survival.

Community Stories

21 Stories from Volunteers, Donors & Supporters

1 Alison41

Donor

Rating: 5

We visited the school in May 2015 on a trip to Cusco. The staff were wonderful and the girls so friendly and welcoming. We had a great visit and could really appreciate all the work and cost that goes into running the school and giving an education to these girls who need it most.
We were only too happy to make a donation when we got home.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

gitana 06/10/2016

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the CW school. Also for your donation to support education for these girls. Gracias. Rae Lewis, Founder

1

Donor

Rating: 5

I have been indirectly involved with Chicuchas Wasi for several years, having a close friend who has traveled there and sharing her times there. Through the stories and experiences of her visits, coupled with the material learned from the Chicuchas Wasi web site, I have become aware of the important work this school is carrying out among underprivileged and impoverished girls.
I receive regular communications from the school, and it’s through these e-mails that I am made clear on the effectiveness of its mission. I am learning that there is close interaction of teachers and administrative personnel with the girls. Teachers have the necessary supplies to work with, and the school provides appropriate materials enabling the teachers to do their work. There are course programs, and the topics covered are quite appropriate for the children's age.
It is clear to me that the goal for this school is for the education of its girls. Education will enable them to move out of their impoverished circumstances and have an impact in and on their community. Because these are the goals of learning I personally believe in, I have since become a passionate and enthusiastic supporter of the mission of Chicuchas Wasi.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

gitana 06/10/2016

Thank you for this thoughtful review and accurate account of what our mission is- education for girls unable to go to school otherwise and destined to a life of poverty without knowing how to read, write and do basic math. Thank you

1

Donor

Rating: 5

Chimichanga Wasi is one of 3 charities I donate to monthly. Their start up story is amazing- started by a nurse who saw a need and filled it. And continues to fill it on a daily basis.
Updates at least monthly, immediate acknowledgements, always accessible if I have a question or comment.
I truly am confident my day nation goes straight to the school and the girls, and not swallowed by overhead cost.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

gitana 10/13/2015

Thank you for your review of Chicuchas Wasi School for Girls. Many people have misspelled our name (indigenous dialect of Cusco) and pronouncing it is not much easier. We appreciate your loyal support to educate 110 girls. I am that nurse you refer to :-) and thanks for reading our history too. You matter Skatinrn. -Rae

3

Donor

Rating: 5

I had the opportunity to visit Chicuchas Wasi in April 2015. I was humbled on a number of levels. It was wonderful to see an environment that engendered children that were playful, engaging and curious. They were curious about where I am my trek colleagues where from an about our families and countries. One could see a nurturing environment from teachers and other school staff to allow that thinking and other learnings. The school is clearly providing education that is really building strong future members of Peru society. I wish them great success going forward.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

gitana 10/13/2015

Thank you Angel. You captured the spirit of Chicuchas Wasi on your visit and we hope you will come again some time. Thank you for taking the time to write your review. -Rae

1

Donor

Rating: 5

Chicuchas Wasi is an outstanding educational opportunity for underprivileged girls. This organization not only provides an important education element for their future but a caring, loving environment that nurtures the whole child. The foundations of nutrition, family support and transportation are all components considered by Chicuchas Wasi to make the educational opportunity a success and foster a brighter future. I wish them great future success!

Comments ( 1 )

profile

gitana 10/16/2014

Thank you so much for this glowing review of our Chicuchas Wasi school for girls. Please visit us on FaceBook @chicuchaswasi and also sign up to receive our newsletters at chicuchas_wasi@sonic.net. These really do matter to help us get out to the public :-) Thanks again for taking this time to speak out. - Rae

2 Steve Smith

Donor

Rating: 4

Traveling the world, both in person and with written word, I have experienced the astounding contribution to civilization that 'girl education' is making to the world. One of the best is Chicuchas Wasi in Peru. It is a text book example of how a 'home-grown' organization, ran by dedicated creative people can uplift many lives, and do so by keeping them deeply involved in their culture, but at the same time, making them citizens of the world. You should look into Chicuchas Wasi in Peru.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

gitana 06/27/2013

Thank you Steve for you generous praise of Chicuchas Wasi. We have made a difference in the lives of many many children in our 26 years serving them in Cusco. And we plan to continue forward for many more years and see many indigenous girls educated, prosperous, no longer oppressed and abused in the future. We are preparing future leaders to make the changes necessary in their culture so that gender inequality will end.

1

Donor

Rating: 5

I first met Chicuchas Wasi founder Rae Lewis over 20 years ago. I marveled then at her passion and commitment to bringing healthcare and education to Cusco's street children, and I marvel now at how that vision has grown, embraced others, and been made manifest in the Chicuchas Wasi Alternative School for Girls. I am an enthusiastic supporter of the organization's work--both as a donor and as a new board member--because Chicuchas Wasi honors girls and women, transforms lives, and offers great hope for future generations.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

gitana 06/26/2013

Thanks Francy for your great review of CW and the warm fuzzy for me. I look forward to your deepening relationship with us all at CW, both here and Cusco. Our director Ruth arrives here in California on Sept. 9th and we will have a lot of opportunity to expand our knowledge with her updates.:-)

2

Donor

Rating: 5

My wife and I first learned about Chicuchas Wasi a number of years ago, and finally had a chance to visit in 2011. I arrived already convinced that educating and empowering girls in developing countries is the single most powerful means to a healthier and happier planet. Experiencing Chucuchas Wasi in action showed me a terrifically high-performing example of that craft, and told me that here is a terrific investment!

Comments ( 2 )

profile

gitana 09/22/2013

Thank you Dave for your kind comment. I am pleased that you recognize the value of our work for the children unable to go to school without Chicuchas Wasi. Please come visit again.-Rae

profile

gitana 09/22/2013

Thank you Dave for your kind comment. I am pleased that you recognize the value of our work for the children unable to go to school without Chicuchas Wasi. Please come visit again.-Rae

1 Kristina R.

Donor

Rating: 5

I am glad to support Chicuchas Wasi! My husband and I visited the school at its former location in 2011, and spent a wonderful morning surrounded by young girls so eager to learn! We are so pleased to see that the new school has opened, and that more grades have been added so that more girls can benefit from this wonderful opportunity.

1 Ken McDonald

Donor

Rating: 5

With the new Chicuchas Wasi school now in its second year, I found it a wonderful and moving experience to be able to look back over the last quarter century to see how far CW has come from its humble beginnings. I highly encourage you to visit the Chicuchas Wasi website and peruse their comprehensive photo gallery. I am convinced that you will come away with a profound appreciation for amazing accomplishments of the dedicated CW volunteers. The photos beautifully express the undeniable, life-affirming joy they bring to the girls of Chicuchas Wasi.

Previous Stories
2

Donor

Rating: 5

I have believed in and helped support Chicuchas Wasi since 1989. When you read reviews of this amazing non-profit, you can’t help but be impressed by the life-affirming, life-changing outcomes it has fostered over the last 25 years. What may not be as evident, but is vitally important, is the steadfast, tireless, passionate, and effective work that the Chicuchas Wasi California Board of Directors has performed over that same time period. As a past Executive Director of one non-profit and the Chief Development Officer of another, I know first-hand how critical a board of directors is to the success, or failure, of any non-profit. Many members of the California Board of Chicuchas Wasi have served for the entire life of the organization. Rather than becoming fatigued or blasé about their duties, members of this board are as enthusiastic, dedicated, tireless, energized, and effective with their time, talent, and treasure today as they were at the outset. This solid foundation of leadership guarantees a bright future for all the girls fortunate enough to find themselves at Chicuchas Wasi.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

gitana 05/28/2013

Thank you Ken for your wonderful review. You clearly understand the commitment and passion we all feel as the California Board and supportive team for the outstanding director and staff that make up Chicuchas Wasi Alternative School in Cusco, Peru. We all want to ensure that our rural and forgotten girls will have a future full of opportunity their mothers could never have imagined. Thank you also for your years of support, and please know how much you are appreciated.

3

Donor

Rating: 5

While hiking the Inca Trail to Machu Picchu our guide, Efrain Valles shared with me the meager beginnings of what has become the non profit, Chicuchas Wasi. Efrain was a street kid, saved by founder Rae Lewis and he refers to her as his Mom. He has a college education, a beautiful young family and a successful career. His passion for Chicuchas Wasi is contagious and he pays it forward by working on the school, donating and fundraising. I wanted to see the school when we returned to Cusco, so Efrain arranged for Ruth Uribe, the school director to pick 3 of us up. I was so excited to see the girls! The school was very impressive, well layed out, clean and organized. The small group of younger girls doing art outside the classroom all got up and ran to greet Ruth and you could clearly see how much they love her. We were surprised to find in another outdoor section they had planned a special greeting for us. All the girls looked sharp in their uniforms and they were in rows by grade. We stood before them and they entertained us with songs, dance, a poem and presented us with cards and drawings they made. We were moved to tears! They were so happy, loving and gave us big hugs. Afterward it was lunch and they had a healthy, hot cooked meal in the cafeteria/kitchen, which had a beautiful view of the mountains. I am excited for these girls and the oppurtunity they are provided through the Chichuchas Wasi school. The gift of education by a caring staff will expose their strenghts, self worth and free them to be independent, confident young women with boundless possibilities!!

Comments ( 1 )

profile

gitana 06/25/2013

Thank you Pamela for your sharing your touching experience with the students of Chicuchas Wasi School. You have met our incredible Director Ruth Uribe and can see how she is moving mountains of old beliefs that females have no value and making lasting cultural change. I am so glad you were able to visit and know her and the girls first hand. Thank you for your generous support to educate these girls. They will make you proud.-Rae

2

Donor

Rating: 5

I've chosen to support Chicuchas Wasi because I respect the people behind this organization and trust in their leadership to maintain extremely high standards. Education is a key in improving the lives of all children and when girls are denied this right, the whole community suffers. This nonprofit has grown and changed over the years, and will continue to do so, to meet the needs and enhance the lives of all the girls and young women in its reach.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

gitana 06/23/2013

Thank you for your support to educate our special and forgotten girls. Your review of our Alternative School, created to specifically address the issues of girls held back for too long, is appreciated. Together we are changing lives forever for these girls. It is clear you also appreciate and value the education for girls everywhere. Thank you for being part of our Chicuchas Wasi community. Visit us on FB @ chicuchaswasi and www.chicuchaswasi.org for the latest updates. -Rae

2 Jackie32

Donor

Rating: 5

So glad that these girls can receive an education and can hopefully go on to live full lives and help other girls in their community.

Jackie and Bob Smith

Comments ( 1 )

profile

gitana 06/12/2013

Dear jackie and Bob, Thank you for your review and for your support of education for forgotten indigenous girls. You have made a difference and these reviews help people know more about our work from those who have had personal experience with our organization. I appreciate that you took the time to write this :-)) -Rae

2

Donor

Rating: 5

This is a wonderful educational opportunity for young Andean girls who besides living in poverty are often abandoned due cultural attitudes toward women. This educational opportunity offered by Chicuchas Wasi prepares them to better deal with these issues as adults, improve their individual opportunities, pass the value of education to their children, and ultimately alter social views about women.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

gitana 05/28/2013

Thank you Garith for believing in Chicuchas Wasi School for Girls in Cusco, and especially the students that we serve. You have made it possible for our students to finally go to school and receive the education kept from most poor indigenous girls. You can see they are thriving, alert and hungry to learn as much as they can. Their lives have already been changed and will continue to expand thanks to you.

2 Simone S.

Donor

Rating: 5

No act of charity makes a more profound, long-lasting impact than education. That Chicuchas Wasi offers knowledge and academic training to those who would not otherwise receive any makes it particularly powerful and effective in my eyes.
Many of my options are a donor are "shiny" celebrity-endorsed or time-contingent (e.g. disaster recovery) efforts, which, while very exciting, typically have limited impact and involve a lot of waste in marketing and overhead.
A donation to Chicuchas Wasi is not a hat tip to a flash-in-the-pan charity that will disappear tomorrow; the organization has been around for as long as I have been alive (25 years)! What's more, Chicuchas Wasi is small, targeted, and straightforward. I love that I know exactly where my money is going and what purpose it serves.
I am so glad to have discovered this- what a treasure!

Comments ( 1 )

profile

gitana 05/24/2013

Thank you Simone for your thoughtful and generous review of Chicuchas Wasi. We are glad to have you as part of our CW community, Please visit our CW FB @chicuchas wasi and www.chicuchaswasi.org often to catch any new changes or updates. Please share CW with friends on FB, Twitter and just in conversation.To receive our 1-2 emails a month with important updates and including our annual newsletter please sign up on FB or the Website. I will look for you there :-))

3

Donor

Rating: 5

I've been associated with Chicuchas Wasi since my first visit to Peru in 2008. By the time I visited again in 2012 incredible changes had taken place! Charitable donations had allowed the school to move to a new purpose-built building just outside Cusco. Pupil numbers had risen from just over 30 to more than 90 girls and the excitement and enthusiasm of the Director, Ruth Uribe, the teachers and the pupils was plain to see.

But things at Chicuchas Wasi don't stand still - while there are more girls who need their help to gain an education, no-one sits back and relaxes! In 2013 113 girls were enrolled for the new school year. However, the original source of funding for growth is exhausted and so Chicuchas Wasi took on the month-long Global Giving Challenge in order to join the community of Non Profits.

As always, expectations have been exceeded as they have reached the Challenge target amount within the first 4 days!

This demonstrates, yet again, the enormous commitment of the Board, donors, volunteers, Director, teachers and pupils to this incredibly worthwhile work.

Chicuchas Wasi is changing lives!

Previous Stories
2

Donor

Rating: 5

A charity with a vision of equal educational and life opportunities for poor, indiginous girls in Peru. My first contact was in 2008 when trekking in aid of another charity. The holistic approach at Chicuchas Wasi school struck a chord with me since the pupils are given so much more than an education. They are taught life skills, health and hygiene and are given medical and dental treatment. Practical support is also provided to students' parents, particularly their mothers. The school ethos is that every girl is special and valuable and they are provided with the opportunities to develop into capable and confident young women who will hopefully become leaders in their communities.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

gitana 12/13/2012

Thank you for your support and kind words for the School. Chicuchas Wasi has grown quite a bit in the last few years and with 115 thriving students in the new school we are moving pretty fast. The challenges of a much larger operating budget have kept us busy as well. We are all energized by the intense focus and growth and the unity of all involved: teachers, director, California Board, UK team and students is very exciting. It does take a village to raise these girls, in fact many villages. Your generous support to the students of Chicuchas Wasi school is very appreciated. Rae Lewis, Founder

1

Donor

Rating: 5

Chicuchas Wasi is a non-profit school maintained solely by charitable donations. Here, impoverished girls (who would otherwise receive no education) become equipped for work and independence. Many of them come from families who are illiterate, which means that the girls have additional needs that Chicuchas Wasi strives to meet. They learn basic life skills and receive a free meal each day. The school even funds free dental care for pupils.
Chicuchas Wasi recognises that pupils often have troubled family backgrounds and support is provided by social workers, psychologists and parent-support classes, which are run by the specially trained and highly committed teaching staff.
We all visited Chicuchas Wasi while touring in Peru and were impressed by how much the girls love learning and take pride in their academic achievements. They recognise the importance of education and how it will transform their lives. Each girl realises how fortunate she is to be a pupil at this school, since many needy cases are turned away, due to limitations of funding.
Some of our members first visited the school several years ago, when it was housed in a tiny building in Cusco and taught just 30 pupils. We have witnessed the massive progress and growth made since 2009. Last year Chicuchas Wasi moved to a purpose-built primary school which now accommodates 115 girls including a new 6th grade in enrolled in 2013. The building is of a high standard with classrooms, dining room, bathrooms and playground and the girls and the teaching staff are understandably proud of their school.
This wonderful development work has been funded entirely by charitable donations. However, this source of income is now almost exhausted. The education provided at Chicuchas Wasi, combined with classes run by special counsellors, social workers and psychologists, health and dental care, is extremely expensive to fund. We are very concerned that, without State/Government support, the school will not be able to continue to meet the needs of its pupils.
We sincerely hope that additional funding for can be found for Chicuchas Wasi, which is a tribute to the ambition and hard work of the Peruvian people.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

gitana 03/21/2013

Thank you for this lovely review of your visit to Chicuchas Wasi School in 2009. We have grown a lot since then, so you all must come back again to see the progress. These are our UK Friends of Chicuchas Wasi who have become supporters of the school for undervalued girls in rural Cusco. You have been an enormous help and your donations are educating 115 girls today. We know that when the money is spent, the ripple effect continues for many years to come. Education is life changing and priceless. Thank you to all our friends in the UK

Review from Guidestar

1 Amy_75

Donor

Rating: 5

I have had the privilege of knowing Rae Lewis for over 25 years, and I have watched the evolution of the programs in Cusco and the Sacred Valley as it became the wonderful girls' school that it is today. I have never visited the school, but I know Ruth, Efrain and the other local people who are the heart and soul of the school, which is so much more than that. Chicuchas Wasi is really an inspiring, sorely needed investment in the future of these young girls, their families and their communities. I am very touched to have been a very small part of it all these years.

3

Donor

Rating: 5

Unbelievable achievements against all the odds, delivered in a caring and empowering atmosphere, involving the girl students and the parents, particularly their mothers, who themselves are empowered too.