Over 1.8 million nonprofits and charities for donors, volunteers and funders

2014 Top-Rated Nonprofit

Center For Faithjustice

Claim This Nonprofit

More Info

Add to Favorites

Share this Nonprofit

Donate

Volunteering Oportunities

Nonprofit Overview

Causes: Children & Youth, Education, Educational Services, Protestant, Religion, Roman Catholic, Youth Community Service Clubs

Mission: The Center for FaithJustice provides transformative experiences of faith in action, builds community, serves those in need, educates for justice, and empowers people to change the world.

Results: In Summer 2013, 655 middle school, high school and college students, along with their facilitators, contributed more than 16,000 hours of community service and engaged in an equal amount of justice education and faith formation.

Target demographics: teens put faith into action through service and social justice education

Direct beneficiaries per year: 650 teens learn, build community, grow closer to God, and put their faith into action through direct service

Geographic areas served: New Jersey, Pennsylvania, West Virginia

Programs: JusticeworX, ServiceworX, LeaderworX, FaithJustice Xperience

Community Stories

29 Stories from Volunteers, Donors & Supporters

Professional with expertise in this field

Rating: 5

The Center for FaithJustice consistently provides programs that challenge students to rethink what they know about social justice, their faith and how those two things are inseparable. Their programs, especially Justiceworx, have shaped so many students into active, faith-filled stewards of peace, love, and solidarity. Their staff is extremely professional and prepared. They are the quintessential Catholic Social teaching organization in the Mid-Atlantic region and I will always make sure that my students have an opportunity to experience their good work.

Comments ( 1 )

jwilcox Thank you SO much, we appreciate this beautiful review!

1 John273

Volunteer

Rating: 5

The Center for Faith Justice is an outstanding organization which provides opportunities to experience authentic encounters in serving others. This is my third summer working as an adult volunteer. I drove middle school aged students to, and helped them at various work sites. (I have participated for one week each summer.)

Each week we spend our mornings fully engaged in working at one of 4 or 5 different locations serving others. For example, one morning we may go to a nursing home talking, playing games or doing crafts with aged people. Another we serve at a day camp for underprivileged students (K-8), or a pre-K program. Another we might serve at a home for disabled adults, a food bank, or weed a co-op garden which donates to local food banks. As a volunteer, I get to experience the same. Seeing young middle school students getting the feeling of what it is like to help others who are in need is quite satisfying.

In the afternoons, the students learn about the value of their morning experiences through intellectual and kinesthetic learning activities based on well designed lesson plans. As a Christian, I am able to participate in the most important of human endeavors. That is, in helping others.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

jwilcox 09/18/2014

Thanks so much, John! We appreciate all the volunteer time you give, and are blessed to have you as part of our team.

Volunteer

Rating: 5

The Center for FaithJustice continues to inspire young and old to service and social justice. This small organization has profoundly impacted and changed my life. They are more than just a nonprofit organization, but rather, are a community of committed individuals dedicated to making the world a better place. I can't be more proud to be a part of this amazing community.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

jwilcox 09/18/2014

Thanks, Widian, appreciate it so much! We are so proud to have you as part of the community, too!

Volunteer

Rating: 5

The Center for FaithJustice is a caring, passionate, and enjoyable organization and staff. As part of their LeaderWorX staff, I grew closer to God, my fellow staff members, the community, understanding of solidarity and encounter, and was able to meet some incredible teen and middle schoolers. I would highly suggest that if you have an opportunity to go on a retreat, volunteer, or be on the LeaderWorX staff...take it! It was definitely one of the best summers of my life, and there are many times I wished I lived closer to be apart of such a vibrant and amazing community!

Comments ( 1 )

profile

jwilcox 09/18/2014

thanks, Jillian!

Volunteer

Rating: 5

CFJ undertakes a bold task in its mission to educate students about both faith and justice and far exceeded all expectations I had for a summer mission trip.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

jwilcox 09/15/2014

thanks, Stephanie! we were so glad to have you with us, and look forward to next summer!

Andrew70

Volunteer

Rating: 5

The Center for FaithJustice is determined to plant the message of the Gospel by word and action into the hearts, minds, and souls of young people.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

jwilcox 09/12/2014

thank you for this review! we so appreciate it.

Volunteer

Rating: 5

I participated as a volunteer for LeaderworX while in college and had an amazing experience! The CFJ creates amazing opportunities for people to fellowship and engage issues of social justice. They provided me with the tools to educate younger students while learning myself. Everyone should know and recognize this nonprofit organization!

Comments ( 1 )

profile

jwilcox 09/12/2014

thank you so much for this review!

Volunteer

Rating: 5

I was a member of LeaderworX in the summer of 2013 and I came back for a week in the summer of 2014. The sense of community that is built is amazing, that is the only word for it. Every summer, the LeaderworX community is welcomed by CFJ staff members and volunteers and by the end of the summer, no one wants to go home back to real life. We all became very close and I believe that is because CFJ does a great job of providing a fun and safe space to live (the Casa) and also opportunities for us to serve together and build relationships. I want to do LeaderworX every summer.
On the other end, CFJ also does a great job with their programs run by LeaderworX, JusticeworX and ServiceworX. Every week with different kids always has the same result, close-knit groups, inside jokes, loving relationships, and most importantly, an experience based on social justice and service. We give the kids every opportunity to get fired up about social justice and the tools they need to continue service. I also love how many groups come back every year.
In short, CFJ is a unique organization that fills a need in the community for social justice and service opportunities. Secondly, the people they choose to lead these opportunities (LeaderworX) have a great time and build lasting memories and relationships.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

jwilcox 09/12/2014

thanks, Allie! What a beautiful review; we appreciate it!

Volunteer

Rating: 5

I'm a Leaderworx 2014 alum, and the Center for FaithJustice is truly an amazing organization! I cannot put into words how grateful I am for this past summer. I have grown in my own faith, and watched middle school and high school students grow in their faith and love of service. An amazing organization!

Comments ( 1 )

profile

jwilcox 09/12/2014

thanks, Katie!

Tom_13

Volunteer

Rating: 5

The Center for FaithJustice describes its programming as "transformative". After volunteering as an adult chaperone this summer on a week-long service immersion trip to West Virginia I can say that I, the other adults, and the high school students were transformed by the experience. It is one thing to be of service to the poor and marginalized. It is another to be in dialogue with them, to eat with them, to share each other's life experiences. That creates a true sense of solidarity. Yes I was transformed for the better thanks to CFJ!

Comments ( 1 )

profile

jwilcox 09/12/2014

Thanks so much for your review, Tom! So glad to hear it.

Previous Stories
1

Volunteer

Rating: 5

We live in very trying times. So many people around the world are struggling to survive: the poor, the marginalized, the elderly, the disabled, the politically oppressed. These people cry out for justice. Who will hear them?
People of faith are called upon to love one another and serve one another. People of faith are called upon to promote justice in a world where we see injustice all around us.
This is a lesson that we all must learn. Our young people are our hope and our future. We must pass on this legacy to our young people before it is too late; the legacy is a simple but profound truth of all people of faith: there can be no faith without justice; the two are inextricably linked.
The Center for FaithJustice has made it its mission to bring young people to an understanding of this truth by offering young people opportunities to integrate a deeper understanding of their faith as Catholic Christians with experiences of community service and social justice. Whether in hospices, nursing homes, soup kitchens, community construction projects, mentoring other young people, or in countless other service settings, the Center for FaithJustice brings young people to a deeper understanding and desire to embrace the gospel message to love and serve one another. I have seen first-hand the profound impact that these programs have on young people and how the Center is able to change the lives of young people for their good and the good of all.
The Center for FaithJustice has had an impact on my own life and I am blessed to have been touched by their wonderful ministry and am grateful for the opportunity to, in my own modest way, give something back in return. There are so many ways to become involved in the work of the Center for FaithJustice. Learn more about them at: http://www.faithjustice.org. Tom Bartolomei, Hamilton NJ.

Volunteer

Rating: 5

I did the Leaderworx program for the summer of 2012, and it was the best summer of my life!!

Comments ( 1 )

profile

jwilcox 09/12/2014

thanks, Jess!

Volunteer

Rating: 5

This organization educates middle school and high school students about global social justice issues through service-immersion trips. The trips have been life-changing for students (I was once one of them) because their service experiences are rooted in the importance of relationship, social change, and God. I loved working with the Center for Faithjustice! They were organized, spirited, and always looking for new opportunities to grow and evolve.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

jwilcox 09/12/2014

thanks, Caitlin, we appreciate your feedback so much!

Volunteer

Rating: 5

I was first introduced to the Center for FaithJustice as a participant on an alternative spring break trip through my college. I absolutely fell in love with the Center's mission and its dedication to the intersection between faith and social justice. I heard about the LeaderworX program on that spring break trip and returned that summer to be a part of the 2013 LeaderworX Community where I helped to run the JusticeworX and ServiceworX weeks. My experience as a LeaderworX member challenged me in all of the best ways and showed me how much I love service and community. It was that experience that confirmed that I wanted to do a year of service following college and I am currently in my first month as a Lutheran Volunteer Corps (LVC) member. I can honestly say that the Center for FaithJustice changed my life and it will always be an integral part of my faith and service journey. Another aspect of CFJ that really touched me were the middle and high schoolers I got to meet while leading the JusticeworX and ServiceworX trips. It is amazing to see young people so dedicated to faith and service and I learned a lot from their devotion to helping their communities. CFJ is an amazing organization and I am so blessed to be a part of it :)

Comments ( 1 )

profile

jwilcox 09/12/2014

thanks, Mae! We are blessed by you being part of our programs, too!

Volunteer

Rating: 5

2004 was the first time I stepped through the doors of what then was called New Jersey Service Project. That week changed my life and allowed me to find my passion for serving others. I was a participant in JusticeworX for three years before I became a volunteer counselor for a few years, eventually being hired by The Center for FaithJustice to help run the programs. The Center for FaithJustice has shaped me in to who I am today and I am so honored to now watch my students experience the wonderful trips that I was able to go on at their age.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

jwilcox 09/12/2014

thanks so much for your review, Kelly!

Emily90

Volunteer

Rating: 5

The Center For FaithJustice believes strongly in the importance of social justice. It's dedicated staff and volunteers work in a dedicated and constant fashion which allows hundreds of people each year to learn about social justice as well partake in hands on serving experience in a variety of settings. CFJ works to educate and empower people about social justice issues so they may be active and helpful members in their community and this world.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

jwilcox 09/11/2014

thanks, Emily, we very much appreciate your review!

Carla27

Volunteer

Rating: 5

I participated in LeaderworX during the summer of 2010. I was very impressed by their mission and by the programs they offer young people.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

jwilcox 09/11/2014

thanks Carla!

Nonna E.

Volunteer

Rating: 5

I am the Social Action coordinator for a Catholic High School in Central Jersey. I had the privilege this year to participate with my students at a JusticeworX site in West Virigina run by The Center of Faith Justice. The enthusiasm, care and concern of the staff for the volunteers and those who are assisted creates memories for those involved to carry with them forever. Wonderful job every time!

Comments ( 1 )

profile

jwilcox 09/11/2014

thank you so much!

Volunteer

Rating: 5

A great organization that does great work! Their Appalachia experience programs provide a fantastic opportunity for our youth to experience the true feeling of making a difference.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

jwilcox 09/11/2014

thanks so much!

1

Volunteer

Rating: 5

The Center for FaithJustice played a huge role in the development of my faith and my eventual career goals. I attended the ServiceworX Program at St. Charles Borromeo for 3 summers in middle school and participated in JusticeworX New Jersey, Philadelphia and West Virginia. Because of CFJ, I grew up having a worldview wider than my own front door. From each program, I learned something new about my call to service, solidarity, and love as a Catholic. I made lasting memories with friends I will keep for a lifetime and learned invaluable lessons that motivate my life's work of service. From the meals served at the Trenton Area Soup Kitchen to the deck I helped build in Dunlow, West Virginia, each experience helped to make daily service and prayer a part of my life. Now as a college student, I returned to CFJ to work in their office over the summer. My connection to the organization is stronger than ever. CFJ inspired me to live as a disciple of Christ and my hope is that I can inspire others to work for peace and justice as well.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

jwilcox 09/11/2014

this is beautiful, Katie, thanks so much! really appreciate your review!

Volunteer

Rating: 5

Center for Faith Justice has provided my students with an amazing opportunity to bring what I teach in my Religion Classes to life. After our school had one student attend a Justice WorX trip in 2012 and he came back so moved by his experience I needed to go to see what it was all about. I have now volunteered two years with twenty students to make a difference in the lives of others and teamed with another Catholic High School in our area to bring our students a unique Service and Justice experience. I am now scheduling our year three trip and our students are planning to continue the work they started creating their own Justice WorX activity at school. CFJ and the Justice WorX program has transformed my students and myself to bring what we have gained back to our school community.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

jwilcox 09/11/2014

So happy to hear this, Josh, thank you! We are blessed to see the fruits in groups who continue the work after they come home... the real point!

Volunteer

Rating: 5

CFJ is an amazing organization!! Because of my experience with LeaderworX, I discovered my passion for working with adults with developmental disabilities and have been working with them full time for two years now! I can't even begin to describe how much my life has changed in the past three years and it all started with CFJ and LeaderworX. I am so blessed to continue to be a part of the CFJ family.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

jwilcox 09/11/2014

Thanks so much for your review, Mary! We're blessed to have you, too.