Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
57 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review
June 20, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 20, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

The amount of support and respect this camp gives to both counselors and campers alike is what makes it stands out from the crowd. And these kids know it. They come out of their shells. They have fun knowing that the adults around them aren't just authority figures giving orders, they're people who want to know about them, who care about what they care about. Who what to listen and console and lift up. These kids can look up at their counselor and see proof that there are people in the world that truly care about them. That's what Camp Horizon is all about.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 10, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 10, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

This yearly camp program offers foster youth the chance to have a one to one interaction with a counselor (could be you) and it allows the youth in foster care to have time away from their normal life circumstances. The types of circumstances these children and young adults go through while they are in care are awful on average but in many cases horrific.

I have been a counselor twice and both were by far some of the most he rewarding experiences of my life. It is almost impossible to put into words the affect you can have in a foster child's life simply by "being there" for a week. During my experience as a counselor, I realized another very important factor... these foster children will change your life just as much as you change theirs.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 25, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 25, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

Camp Horizon is a home away home. I am not sure how many times I can repeat this saying for people to fully understand that it is like walking through the doors at your own home. From the time you walk on camp grounds or at any place your camp family is you can automatically feel this warmth of love take over. I have been apart of this loving family for over 10yrs and it has brought great joy. I love my family with all my heart.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Ask for more loving people to share the experience.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 26, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

April 26, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

A couple years ago, I was walking down the path at camp talking with two other counselors. These guys had been fraternity brothers of mine, and between all of us we definitely have some stories that we will wait to tell our kids. But we were having a conversation that I never would have imagined when we were in college... we were talking about how every year, Camp Horizon changes our lives for the better and unfailingly brings out the best version of ourselves - and it seems like that applies to all the other counselors/staff members too. Everyone cares about everyone else so much, and with zero percent hyperbole or exaggeration, the three of us reached the conclusion that this atmosphere of love and kindness is probably what Heaven is like... and this one week of summer camp is about as close as you can get to it here on Earth.

Sappy and dramatic? Yes. All true? Yes!!

The word "family" has been a common theme across the reviews here, and it is with good reason - if you think of the best qualities a family has to offer, that's exactly what Camp Horizon provides for abused/neglected children: 100% unconditional love, selflessness, generosity, kindness, and constant encouragement.

I've been involved with Camp Horizon since 2006, and as a counselor and board member I have seen over and over again that this is truly a special place where magic happens every day. It is one of my favorite things in the world and I'm very, very lucky to be part of it.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 20, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 20, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I was first made aware of Camp Horizon through my sister who is a volunteer and now a board member. As a former Foster Child I know first hand how important influences outside the home are. A lot of these children don't get to hear that they are smart, beautiful, talented, or even loved. The one on one mentoring, being part of a group where they don't feel different, and getting to go have a really fun week at camp make such positive improvements in these children's lives. I have heard so many amazing stories over the years and am proud to be a supporter of this amazing organization.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 17, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

April 17, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

Camp Horizon is FAMILY!!!

My primary role is a volunteer; I serve as a board member and professional.

I have known about Camp Horizon for 13 years and lived vicariously through my baby sister who was a camper for 10 years. She started going to summer camp when she was 8; she was
an energetic child that I am sure was a hand full. Every summer when she returned from camp, she was always sad; she would sleep with her camp souvenirs for weeks until she adjusted at home. As she got older, she became adjusted to the camp routine and matured into a beautiful, unselfish young lady. When she graduated from high school, I met her Camp FAMILY and instantly I knew why she loved them.

That summer I volunteered as a counselor and I have been a counselor for 3 years. As a counselor, you get to personally make a difference in these children lives, many who do not receive hugs at home and at camp are over showered with a hug. These children are given the opportunity to be kids, with no worries of if they will move to another home, have to go to court, or be abused or neglected. The kids that come to Camp Horizon are special because they are made to feel special because they are; they genuinely make connections with other campers, counselors, and staff. They are given a choice, empowering them for future decisions they will have to make.

If you do not remember anything else Camp Horizon is Family and family is forever.

-Shaquita O

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 17, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

April 17, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

Over the past 15 years I've personally witnessed Camp Horizon be a redemptive force for a forgotten demographic. We hear so much about how children in the state system don't perform as well in school and don't go on to be productive, viable, educated members of society. These children lack a common understanding of the possibilities life offers, due to minimal exposure to success and weak familial influence. You hear people speak so knowingly about the issues that plague OUR CHILDREN - our future - and they tend to speak about them in finite, concrete terms. A sad, detrimental issue that unfortunately simply IS, and cannot be fixed. You can't go around restructuring the way people think, right? Its too hard, and the system is too bureaucratic to be effective.

The only thing is, I AM one of those children, all grown up - a DFCS, Camp Horizon, High School, College graduate. I began to understand what it meant to challenge myself, to feel secure enough to shoot for the things I wanted for myself in life, because of the lessons I learned from those very special volunteers that helped me on my journey. My appreciation now as a volunteer with Camp Horizon is deeply founded in a need to give back to a group that was so important to the way I developed as a man. As I grow in my life and career, I seek to take the lessons I learned from Camp - chiefly those concerning family, humility and love - with me each step of the way.

Camper; 1998-2007.

Volunteer; 2007 - until the work is done.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 16, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 16, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I have attended many Camp Horizon events as a volunteer. There are no words to express the joy on the faces of these children. The interaction between the child and counselor confirms the committment of the counselors to the child, and the appreciation of each child is written all over their smiling faces.

J. ReShae

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 7, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

April 7, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

Camp Horizon is by far the GREATEST week of the year. The magical memories of camp remain with me throughout the year. I started volunteering as a summer camp counselor for Camp Horizon in 2008 and feel every child, counselor, and staff member I have met along the way have truly impacted my life for the better. I've had the honor of working with the same camper for the last three summers, and there isn't a day that goes by that I do think about our time together at camp. Camp Horizon gave her the opportunity to learn how to ride a bike when she was eight, swim across the pool (to earn that coveted green bracelet) when she was nine, and solve conflicts peacefully with peers when she was ten. I'm looking forward to seeing what lessons this summer will bring!

I credit Camp Horizon in guiding me toward my career path as a school social worker. And, even though I now live in Illinois, I make an concerted effort to return to Georgia every summer to see my camp family.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 6, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

April 6, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

Camp Horizon is just great in all that it does. The camp is a week long, and in each of those seven days the 8-11 year old campers gain confidence, try new activities, learn new skills, and make new friends that they will remember for their lifetime. They often come with nothing and leave with so much. All the best to everyone involved with such a wonderful organization!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers