Over 1.8 million nonprofits and charities for donors, volunteers and funders

2010 Top-Rated Nonprofit

Bill Memorial Foundation

Claim This Nonprofit

More Info

Add to Favorites

Share this Nonprofit

Donate

Nonprofit Overview

Causes: Animal Protection & Welfare, Animal-Related, Animals

Mission: Bill Foundation (The Bill Memorial Foundation) was created after the founders, Jo and Peter Forman lost their beloved golden lab Bill to cancer. They have to date saved over 2000 dogs from being destroyed and placed them in loving homes. All donations go directly to rescuing and caring for the dogs.

Results: On average, Bill Foundation places a dog into a permanent loving home every other day. We have rescued, cared for and placed thousands of dogs. Once we rescue a dog, we are committed to that dog's welfare for life.

Target demographics: pet orphans

Direct beneficiaries per year: 135 dogs and hundreds of families in their search for a rescued animal

Geographic areas served: Southern California

Programs: rescue and care of animals at risk of euthanasia and their placement into permanent safe homes as companion animals to loving families.

Community Stories

41 Stories from Volunteers, Donors & Supporters

Client Served

Rating: 5

Annie Hart changed my life! I recently applied to adopt a dog through Bill Foundation. Annie called me right after receiving my application and she spoke with me for more than an hour. The dog I was interested in wasn't the right fit for me but she had ideas of who might be. She was completely right in her assessment and she helped match me with my new best friend.

Annie was was there to support me every step of the way and provided great tips on how to set up my house to be safe, training, great vets. The list goes on. I would have been lost without all the advice she gave me.

After I adopted, I started following Bill Foundation on Facebook and the stories/videos Annie posts have me in tears daily. Usually they are happy tears and she has restored my faith in humanity. She's inspired me so much that I have now begun to volunteer with my local shelter.

My family and friends are amazed by the change they have seen in me over the past 8 months and I sincerely have Annie Hart to thank for it. From reading everyone's comments on the facebook page, it seems there are many others that feel the same as I do about Annie Hart and Bill Foundation.

Client Served

Rating: 5

My experience with the Bill Memorial Foundation was fabulous. I have a new family member and I owe it all to Ms. Annie Hart. I had never adopted a pet before (our cat had adopted us when he showed up on thanksgiving) but this was something new and special. We wanted a dog in our home and Annie guided us throughout the entire process. She explained the reasons why we had to fill out an application (it is about MATCHMAKING not about judging)

We arrived at the adoption day to meet the dog we had hoped to adopt. We were very excited. He was very hyper and Annie sat us down and told us that this dog required a lot of walks and was a young excitable dog. My husband is a senior citizen and I have struggled with sciatica. Annie then introduced us to an older sweet girl who just wanted to snuggle in our laps.

We were and are still in love. Don't get me wrong, we do have play time and take short walks but we don't do hikes. Our family is complete with our new "daughter" She is our princess.

Thank you Annie and Bill Foundation. We feel blessed.

C.B.

Review from Guidestar

nickig

Client Served

Rating: 5

These people have hearts of gold - they rescue dogs that were surely scheduled to be euthanized - the little gitl I got from them had been beaten and abused - starved (weighed in at less that 7 pounds) was not a year old and had a litter a already. The Bill Foundation KNEW that in her condition she was surely going to be put dsoiwn. I saw the potential - she is a wonderful loving dog with long beautiful hair (she really was bald) ... we adore her. The last dog we adopted from them only made it to 7 years old as he had a heart condition - I'm telling you - these are wonderful people - please give them some money so they can save more lives. Thank you!

Previous Stories

Client Served

Rating: 5

I know I shared my story last year but I wanted to add to it by saying that although we are not looking to adopt another 'baby' at this time (our Florrie keeps us plenty busy) we recommend the Bill Foundation all the time and stop by their adoption events quite often. Whenever a friend loses a well loved pet it has become our custom to make a donation to the Bill Foundation in their memory. Of all the pet adoption groups I am familair with - there are many - I find few to be as caring and conscientious as this group. I wish I hac a million dollars to give them to confinue thier amazing work!!

Read more
1 Kanishka B.

Client Served

Rating: 5

We adopted our dog Spencer from the Bill Foundation in March 2008. We had recently suffered the sudden loss of one our dogs and our remaining dog was becoming very lonely without her companion. The Bill Foundation was great about helping find a dog that would fit into our home with our existing dog and lifestyle. They have kept in touch with annual anniversary cards. After attending a couple of their adoption fairs I know they do great work for the dogs and dogs lovers of LA.

Review from Guidestar

Client Served

Rating: 5

Bill Foundation does--in my opinion--some of the world's most important work: looking out for the welfare of LA's abandoned, forgotten, misbegotten and forsaken dogs. One dog at a time, Bill Foundation saves animals from the shelter without prejudice, often pulling the animals with little time left or a lower chance of adoption.

Their truly selfless founders and volunteers take great care in placing dogs in loving, safe homes--they don't compromise standards to rush placement. I cannot praise this organization highly enough, nor stress the importance and need to support it.

Previous Stories
3

Client Served

Rating: 5

I contacted Bill Foundation about a tiny six-pound Chihuahua they had listed online named Andrew. When I went to meet him, they told me he was a little disabled. They had taken great care of him and rehabilitated him after he had languished without proper care for his injuries in another shelter. Now we've been best friends for two-and-a-half years, and Andrew can even run up stairs. I am so grateful to this organization for giving Andrew a chance at a good life and giving me a chance to adopt him.

Review from Guidestar

Client Served

Rating: 5

I am a return client, we found two of our dogs at The Bill Foundation. The most striking thing, when you spend time with the founders, or any of the other volunteers, you are struck that they all "walk the walk". Not only did we find our new family members, we were also inspired to do more ourselves to help homeless animals.
I strongly recommend both adopting from TBF and supporting them in any way you can.

Review from Guidestar

Client Served

Rating: 5

How shall I begin to tell you all about Gallagher. We adopted him 5 years ago Feb. 23, because we recieve a card every year on his adoption date. We are not really sure of his age. I saw him on line after losing our dog (Teddi) after 18 years. It took a long time to even look on line for another dog. I couldn't bear going to a shelter. I saw another dog that we wanted to adopt so we went to where the adoption was being held. We looked for the dog we had seen on line and also looked at others.
As we walked by one of the cages we say a precious, adorable , quiet
little guy sitting straight up looking straight at us out of his cage. Love at first sight. We were told he had been adopted out 3 times and was returned because he was kind of grumpy,and sometimes snapped at people( Alpha Male) He was not to good with kids. We took him home and gave him lots of love and very little decipline. He could not have turned out to be a more loving little boy. By the way he loves our grandkids 6 and 10. Gosh you would think I was writing a novel.
Bill Foundation is the best. We all know money is tight but I know they would appreciate any help.
Thank you for Gallagher,his real name!!!!

Review from Guidestar

Client Served

Rating: 5

4 years ago, we were healed enough from the loss of our previous dog to finally look for another one. The Bill Foundation has a website with photos and profiles of each dog. We saw Hudson there, looking very sharp in his red harness. The profile turned out to be extremely accurate. Hudson was described as lovable once you got to know him, possessive of his toys, and needing special care at first. He had been abandoned in a backyard after the owners moved away. We went in to get Hudson during an Open House and happened to find Ruby there too. She is a friendly doxie who stuck her paws through the bars to say hello. We couldn't resist her, so we took both of them. They were healthy, loving, adaptable, friendly characters who have enhanced our lives. The Bill Foundation is committed to finding good safe homes and we didn't mind the home visit before the adoption was final. They recommended crating which we don't believe in, but things quickly worked out very well. Thanks for our wonderful family members!

Review from Guidestar

Client Served

Rating: 5

We adopted Taryn 8 years ago. We adopted Chester 5 years ago. They are the best of friends and love each other. They continue to bring unending joy to me, my husband and our chuildren. Working with the Bill Foundation has only been a positive experience. They were insturmnetal in helping us settle the dogs in our home. We even fostered a dog for them, Bootsie (who we called Bernie). We would have adopted him too, but he was too aggressive for Taryn, who getting on in age. The profiles on their dogs are accurate and truthful. The volunteers are loving and really advocate for successful matches. The owners were very helpful when we needed some guidance 8 years ago. I have recommended teh BIll Foundation to countless people. They are the only foundation I would go to if I ever wanted to adopt again.

Review from Guidestar

Client Served

Rating: 5

We adopted our dog through the Bill Foundation 8 years ago and have been tremendously impressed by the work they do matching rescued dogs with loving homes. They also follow up on a regular basis and make sure the dog has a microchip and an ID that would notify the Bill Foundation if the dog was lost. We believe they are a tremendous organization and are happy to make ongoing donations to support them and recommend that others do as well.

Review from Guidestar

8

Client Served

Rating: 5

We adopted our precious cocker spaniels Buddy (Parker) and Phoebe (Evelyn) 5 yrs ago (8/05)from the Bill Foundation. They were heaven sent after we lost our beloved Freckles to cancer. Jo Forman and all we worked with at BF are the best! They hard to make sure that the dogs are placed in the right homes~~the first time~~so that there is less trauma/stress for the dogs and less expense in the long run. The adoption process from beginning to end was done professionally, with compassion and always with the best interests of the dogs. Our rescues came w/some heath issues which BF took care of prior to turning them over & we handled some necessary surgeries later. Today they are healthy, happy, well-adjusted dogs who have welcomed a third rescued cocker spaniel mix, Minnie, into our home. We recommend BF to our many animal-loving friends & acquaintances.

Review from Guidestar

6

Client Served

Rating: 5

Three years ago I adopted my wonderful dog, "Franklin" from the Bill Foundation. I have worked with other animal rescue groups to adopt other dogs over the years. I found the BF to be the most professional organization and one that really cared about protecting the dogs. Their screening process is top notch and they asked me to bring my other dog to meet Franklin before they would consider his placement with me. They then brought him for a home visit as well and checked out my home to make sure it was suitable for him. They are the BEST and I thank them every day for "Franklin"

Review from Guidestar

3

Client Served

Rating: 5

The Bill Foundation helped me adopt an incredible dog that fulfills my life. She is the happiest and most wonderful addition to our family that we could ever imagine.

Review from Guidestar

2

Client Served

Rating: 5

We have adopted two dogs from the Bill Foundation. Both dogs are beloved members of our family. Our first dog, Serena, is really a wonderful story about how much The Bill Foundation does. They rescued Serena from a pound ... she was skin and bones and quite miserable when we met her. This dog had been abused and abandoned, and it was clear all she wanted was to love and be loved. She has filled our lives with love and she is a very special and beautiful dog. Our second dog, Marvin, was sent to the pound when his owner was deported ... Marvin is a dachshund ... and everyone who meets him falls in love with his big sad eyes and his sweet demeanor. We are extremely grateful to the Bill Foundation for the work they do. They save dogs...and then they find the perfect homes for them.

Review from Guidestar

4

Client Served

Rating: 5

I rescued my dog Fred from the Bill Foundation. He is the love of my life and I am so proud when someone asks what type of dog he is because I can tell them I don't know but he is a rescue and I adopted him from the Bill Foundation. I then sing the praises of the good work they do and all the amazing animals that need to be rescued. They operate out of love and the best interest for each animal. Thank you Bill Foundation.

Review from Guidestar

4

Client Served

Rating: 5

We adopted our terrier mix from the Bill Foundation a little over 2 years ago.. They were very professional and easy to deal with. They did put us through a rigorous screening process, but they wanted to make sure their dogs were going to good homes. My heart goes out to all the dogs (and cats) that lose their homes in southern California and we are SO grateful for organizations like the Bill Foundation that helps these poor animals find loving, forever homes. We have strongly recommended them to our friends who are looking to adopt.

Review from Guidestar

4

Client Served

Rating: 5

The Bill Foundation to me is one of the most important causes to donate to. Jo Forman does an incredible job of partnering up the perfect dog with a caring guardian...she saved my life after I lost my last dog, by letting me adopt the sweetest Rottweiler on earth, Bear. Can't thank her enough for her tireless efforts to rescue dogs

Review from Guidestar

4

Client Served

Rating: 5

I was fortunate enough to come across the Bill Foundation 8 years ago and have the pleasure and insanity of my South and North Central Shelter rescues Woodrow & Wilson. Thank you for all the GREAT and AMAZING work that you do. My life has been so incredibly fulfilled since that day. Thank you for your commitment to those dogs that would likely not have another chance at a forever home without your good work. Andrea Serafin (Woodrow & Wilson's Forever Canine mom)

Review from Guidestar

3

Client Served

Rating: 5

My husband and I adopted Tessa almost 8 years ago through the Bill Foundation (they had named her Gemma and we renamed her after the incredible foster 'Mom' we received her from). She was 1 week post-cardiac surgery when we got her! Thanks to the Bill Foundation, Tessa had been rescued from an L.A. County shelter and had received an open-heart surgery to correct an AVM of her heart--a genetic malformation that most puppies would be allowed to die from. Tessa (a small mixed breed--probably Border Collie or Sheltie mixed with long hair Chihuahua--yes, she looks like a Gremlin!) was already active and running, jumping, playing inspite of her post-op instructions to take it easy. She had a lot of love to share but only on her terms--that's the Chihuahua in her! Not much has changed since then, although she's a little slower these days and she had a few teeth pulled because she wouldn't let anybody near enough to her mouth to be effective for so many years. She has been my right hand girl--first, in keeping our Sheltie from being too neurotically shy and then when we adopted another Chihuahua/Eskimo mix little guy almost 2 years ago, she took on the responsibility of watching over him and keeping me advised of his wild and reckless "Houdini" ways, probably saving him from himself more times than she would like to count! The Bill Foundation saved her life and she has saved his as much as we have(i.e. the little guy climbs treehouse ladders when nobody is looking!)!

Review from Guidestar

3

Client Served

Rating: 5

I adopted a dog from the Bill Foundation. I was especially struck by the fact that this particular dog had a very bad case of Mange and was taken out of a shelter and was receiving treatment at a local Vet.....all funded by Bill Foundation. I adopted him partially hairless. His name is Percy and he is now 6 years old and is my constant loving companion! The people who run Bill F. are the most passionate and tireless workers for the placement of dogs in their forever homes !!!!!!

Review from Guidestar