Over 1.8 million nonprofits and charities for donors, volunteers and funders

2017 Top-Rated Nonprofit

Big Cat Rescue, Corp.

Claim This Nonprofit

More Info

Add to Favorites

Share this Nonprofit

Donate

Volunteering Oportunities

Nonprofit Overview

Causes: Animals, Children & Youth, Children & Youth Services, Education, Protection of Endangered Species, Wildlife Sanctuaries

Mission: Caring for cats - Ending the trade Care of our cats. The narrow mission of Big Cat Rescue is to provide the best permanent home we can for the abused, abandoned and retired cats in our care. We do this by building enclosures in a very natural habitat with foliage and shelter on our 67 acre site, by providing the best nutritional and medical care possible, and by having active operant conditioning and enrichment programs to provide for their physical and psychological well being. Education. The broader mission of the sanctuary is to reduce the number of cats that suffer the fate of abandonment and/or abuse and to encourage preservation of habitat and wildlife.  We urge people to behave in a way that will support these goals by teaching people about the plight of the cats, both in the wild and in captivity. We accomplish this through educational guided tours, educational programs for young people, and by maintaining a website that is the world’s largest and best resource for information about exotic cats.

Results: See our annual report at https://bigcatrescue.org/2016-annual-report/

Target demographics: cats of all stripes

Direct beneficiaries per year: 60+ big cats

Geographic areas served: Planet Earth

Programs: Rescuing and providing permanent care for big cats. Saving cats in the wild.

Community Stories

343 Stories from Volunteers, Donors & Supporters

14

General Member of the Public

Rating: 5

Big Cat Rescue provides an awesome service for big cats that, sadly, is more necessary now than ever. Big cats deserve to live in the wild, but there are so many in the hands of private citizens that are abused and neglected. BCR helps these animals and gives them a home for the rest of their lives, complete with plenty of food, enrichment, vet care, and love. BCR also plays an important role in advocacy for big cats, trying to help them in all areas. The world would be a much worse place without the staff and volunteers at Big Cat Rescue. I visited them in November 2014, and I wish I lived closer so I could visit over and over. To see these amazing animals is a rare treat, and to see them healthy and happy after what many of them have been through is nothing short of a miracle.

Geno A.

General Member of the Public

Rating: 5

After a long overdue tour of Big Cat Rescue I was left with a nagging thought. If Big Cat Rescue didn't do what they do, then what would be the fate of these magnificent creatures? I think we all know the answer to that. As I looked into the eyes of a black Leopard, and heard his story I could almost see the pain in those big beautiful eyes. But all I saw was the gentle calm of peace and contentment. To him this was the second best place to live out his days. The story doesn't change from cat to cat. They were all rescued from a miserable existence and given a second chance. Big Cat Rescue is NOT a zoo or a side show, but a facility where humans come second. It is very clear that the Cats come first. Evident by the fact that the tour route will only include Cats that are comfortable and not stressed out by the crowd. There are areas, large areas, that the public will never see because the residents are highly stressed out by humans so they are off limits, and rightly so. I am so proud to have this facility in my neighborhood and proud of the work they do on behalf of the voiceless. Our tour guide stated that BCR someday hopes to be out of business, because it is no longer needed, and that was, to me a reminder that until that happens, we all need to support this facility for the work they do and their mission. Therefore, I strongly recommend Big Cat rescue for an award.

Kelly54

General Member of the Public

Rating: 5

Wonderful charity that performs essential services in public education and awareness. Great people doing important work for big cat advocacy and rescue.

General Member of the Public

Rating: 5

My husband and I are both interested in the rehabilitation of big cats. We have been to several cat rescues, but Big Cat Rescue is by far the most thorough of these places and the one that we felt needs to be acknowledged for its great work. One stroll around the grounds of Big Cat Rescue and you'll see the best effort to keep these cats in good condition in the country. Hands down, our favorite charitable organization.

General Member of the Public

Rating: 5

I've been to Big Cat Rescue several times, starting when they were called Cats on Easy Street. Every time I go, I am more impressed with their dedication to the cats they rescue and their ongoing attempts to educate the public to the plight of these magnificent animals.

Ginny L.

General Member of the Public

Rating: 5

My boyfriend and I visited the Big Cat Rescue last year and were amazed by the work they have done; and they are still growing! Who knew there were so many "Big Cats" that have been neglected and many more are still out there :(. We went on a tour of the facility and got to meet a lot of interesting animals, some that smell like popcorn and I didn't even know existed (Bearcat!). My favorite though is the Lynx. It's such a beautiful animal! The tour was really educational and we had a great time with our guide. I haven't been able to revisit, but I love receiving updates through their facebook page. This is a great organization and I can't wait to have a chance to revisit!

1

General Member of the Public

Rating: 5

Big Cat Rescue's efforts on behalf of big cats is amazing. Not only the work with the sanctuary itself, which is fabulous, but also the work they do to change legislation and educate people about the peril of these magnificent creatures.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

BigCatRescue 10/17/2012

So glad that you mentioned the legislation we are working on to save big cats from being exploited as photo props and ego props. We keep the most current bills up at BigCatLaws.com

2

General Member of the Public

Rating: 5

"Big Cat Rescue is an animal sanctuary in Tampa, Florida devoted to rescuing wild cats, as well as sheltering animals unfit to return to the wild. It is home to more than 100 wild cats. The sanctuary is located on 55 acres in Citrus Park, Florida." -Wikipedia
5 STARS - ALL THE WAY

Comments ( 1 )

profile

BigCatRescue 10/17/2012

Wow, we made Wikipedia? Thanks Vvapplevvv!

1 Randy O.

General Member of the Public

Rating: 5

I am constantly reading great things for this organization and how they are helping several breeds of big cats. Many of these cats they have rescued were most likely to die if it was not for this group. Cats that were kept in some cases many years in very unhealthy environments, abused and neglected and just all around mistreated for no good reason. This organization rescues these beautiful animals and cares for them until they healthy enough to live as nature intended. They have interfered with businesses using these animals in promotional events where the cats would have sat for hours in small cages in the heat. I have never had the opportunity to volunteer for this group as I do not believe it is in my area however if I had the chance to I feel as though I would find it very rewarding.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

BigCatRescue 10/17/2012

If you ever come to Tampa we would love to have you become a Big Cat Rescuer, Randy!

1 Angelina L.

General Member of the Public

Rating: 5

I learned about Big Cat Rescue this year, though they have been around since the late 90's. They do an excellent job rescuing exotic cats that would otherwise be abandoned, languish in squalid conditions, or be slaughterer for their hides. They actively campaign against the public owning exotic animals, and are always sending me important updates on laws and ways for the public to take action. I really appreciate their efforts to not only rescue the animals, but their striving to do away with laws that make rescues necessary in the first place. I hope they win this award, they truly deserve the recognition.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

BigCatRescue 10/17/2012

Thank you Angelina. It was especially important to us to hear that you appreciate the work we are doing to end the trade, as that can save the most animals.

1 Becky16

General Member of the Public

Rating: 5

I have been following Big Cat Rescue and their efforts to save cats. I feel that what they do is something that deserves more than 5 stars! And if I lived in their area, I would love to volunteer at their facility.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

BigCatRescue 10/17/2012

Thanks Becky. Whenever you decide to move here, we would love to have you become a Big Cat Rescuer.

1 Karen100

General Member of the Public

Rating: 5

Big Cat Rescue provides a home for exotic cats, including lions and tigers, that were kept as pets and then abandoned. .They also treat and save big cats, including bobcat and lynx, that were injured by cars or farm equipment. These cats can't return to the wild or live in zoos, so the only option absent BCR is for them to be destroyed. No other charity has the same mission or capacity. Please recommend BCR for your clients.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

BigCatRescue 10/17/2012

Thank you Karen, for mentioning our rehab program. Giving bobcats a second chance at freedom is one of our happiest moments.

1 Lisa139

General Member of the Public

Rating: 5

What Big Cat Rescue is doing is life changing. They are able to educate so many people and help so many animals who would other wise be put down or be in horrible conditions. I would recommend this organization to anyone!

Comments ( 1 )

profile

BigCatRescue 10/17/2012

Thank you Lisa. Our tag line is "An Educational Sanctuary" so you let us know that we are walking our talk.

1 Christine45

General Member of the Public

Rating: 5

We went to BCR by chance when our shuttle launch was delayed. My husband had found the site when looking for other things to do while on vacation. Knowing how much I love animals, we decided to go here. What an amazing experience it is! Not only do you get to see beautiful cats up close, but you get an education as well. I never knew some of the things I learned that day... like white tigers are a man-made creature created by cross-breeding, or that so many exotic cats are kept as pets. Visiting BCR has changed my view on so many things and I thank them immensely for what they are doing and what they stand for. I have since gone back twice and will be going again soon. Please visit!

Comments ( 1 )

profile

BigCatRescue 10/17/2012

The one comment we hear more than any other from guests is, "I had no idea!" Thanks for letting others know that white tigers and white lions are just the result of inbreeding. Little by little the truth is getting out thanks to people like you.

1 Melissa85

General Member of the Public

Rating: 5

Such an amazing place allowing animals in need to flourish in a happy and healthy environment while spreading knowledge and awareness to the community. Plus, who can argue with cute internet videos of fluffy kitties?

Comments ( 1 )

profile

BigCatRescue 10/17/2012

We are really working to corner the big cat video market so that more people can learn about the plight of the cats. Thanks for rating and sharing!

1 Jessica70

General Member of the Public

Rating: 5

I wake up in the morning- and see BCR ( Big Cat Rescue ) and I am SO THANKFUL- this organization is possible. SO MANY Big Cats are in bad situations- and I see or hear stories- about horrible things- that happen- and the 1st thing that pops into my mind- is I wonder if 'they' BCR- can do anything about- this horrible situation. Now I even have my children and their friends learning about the Big Cats and Big Cat Rescue- and the educational VALUE- there is - involving ALL of it. And they are amazed- and can't get enough. So at night- now I have them all watching National Geographic and learning as much as they can and they know it is NOT okay to own exotic animals or to mistreat them or what to do- if they see one- that is mistreated or injured. An AMAZING sanctuary and place for healing and recovery and such hard work to all the workers and a nice home for the cats. Now this is what America can be proud of are places like these out here and that's what this country needs more of is love genorosity and caring. So Thanks Big Cat Rescue ! For All That You Do Out There and The Cats Need You !!

Comments ( 1 )

profile

BigCatRescue 10/17/2012

Thanks Jessica! We wish we could help them all, but resources are limited, so that is why we are working so hard to change the laws so that people don't abuse big cats in the first place. I hope that you will continue to share their message and how people cat help at BigCatLaws.com

1 AjaxRose

General Member of the Public

Rating: 5

Big Cat Rescue is genuinely helping these beautiful creatures that they rescue. Some of these large cats had never even been outside and others were abused. There have been free roaming bobcats injured and suffering that they've helped to recover and, when possible, release back into the wild where they belong. Their dedication to the well-being of these innocent animals is inspiring to hundreds of thousands of people. They are truly educating the public (and even the government) about big cats and other exotic animals and why they should NOT be pets nor exploited to make a quick buck. I'm more than happy to give them a FIVE STAR rating, not just because I feel exactly as they do, but because they're true advocates, caregivers, and RESCUERS.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

BigCatRescue 10/17/2012

We are glad you mentioned that we are educating the government. They are the hardest ones to reach because the bureaucracy is layered deep with people who have little understanding of wild animals and the fact that they shouldn't be kept in cages for our amusement. We won't give up though. Thanks AjaxRose!

1 Marcus A.

General Member of the Public

Rating: 5

i love seeing the daily posts of what this organization is doing for these cats. i firmly believe that the animals would have far less of a survival chance without them around to protect them. keep up the good work!

Comments ( 1 )

profile

BigCatRescue 10/17/2012

Thank you for checking in on our daily posts Marcus! That tells us you care!

1 Lisa138

General Member of the Public

Rating: 5

Big Cat Rescue truly cares about the animals it saves. Hundreds of exotic cats are abandoned each year because their owners are over whelmed with the amount of work it takes to take care of them properly. Big Cat Rescue NEVER turns away an exotic cat and gives it the highest treatment of care to rehabilitate it and care for it for the rest of its natural life. Big Cat Rescue truly understands the needs and wants of the cats.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

BigCatRescue 10/17/2012

We always try to find some alternative for the cat and are working hard for laws that would end the trade in them as pets, props and for their parts at BigCatLaws.com

1 Geneva P.

General Member of the Public

Rating: 5

Big Cat Rescue is doing such a great job. The recent rescue of 5 servals who had been kept in a basement for 13 years is amazing. You should really look into the work the are doing. Thanks, Carl Spunde.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

BigCatRescue 10/17/2012

Thank YOU, Carl!

3 Kitty C.

General Member of the Public

Rating: 5

Wow! We took a tour today at The Big Cat Rescue in Tampa. There were so many tours, that the founder was our tour guide. We lucked out and got on an adult only tour. There were at least 5 tours of 17 - 20 people in each tour. BCR is a hidden little treasure right in our own back yard. It is not like a zoo, where you just show up and see the animals. You can only go by appointment. I saw a FB special for $19 per person for the holiday. Normal price is $29 per person. It was so easy to get too, right off the Veterans Highway and Gunn Highway. I would like to eventually go back for a feeding tour or an night time tour!