Over 1.8 million nonprofits and charities for donors, volunteers and funders

Claim This Nonprofit

More Info

Add to Favorites

Share this Nonprofit

Donate

Volunteering Oportunities

Nonprofit Overview

Causes: Animals, Children & Youth, Children & Youth Services, Education, Protection of Endangered Species, Wildlife Sanctuaries

Mission: Caring for cats - Ending the trade Care of our cats. The narrow mission of Big Cat Rescue is to provide the best permanent home we can for the abused, abandoned and retired cats in our care.  We do this by building enclosures in a very natural habitat with foliage and shelter on our 45 acre site, by providing the best nutritional and medical care possible, and by having active operant conditioning and enrichment programs to provide for their physical and psychological well being.  Education. The broader mission of the sanctuary is to reduce the number of cats that suffer the fate of abandonment and/or abuse and to encourage preservation of habitat and wildlife.  We urge people to behave in a way that will support these goals by teaching people about the plight of the cats, both in the wild and in captivity. We accomplish this through educational guided tours, educational programs for young people, and by maintaining a website that is the world’s largest and best resource for information about exotic cats.

Results: See our annual report at http://bigcatrescue.org/2012/2011-annual-report

Target demographics: cats

Direct beneficiaries per year: 70+ big cats

Programs: Rescuing and providing permanent care for big cats. Saving cats in the wild.

Community Stories

13 Stories from Volunteers, Donors & Supporters

13

General Member of the Public

Rating: 5

Big Cat Rescue provides an awesome service for big cats that, sadly, is more necessary now than ever. Big cats deserve to live in the wild, but there are so many in the hands of private citizens that are abused and neglected. BCR helps these animals and gives them a home for the rest of their lives, complete with plenty of food, enrichment, vet care, and love. BCR also plays an important role in advocacy for big cats, trying to help them in all areas. The world would be a much worse place without the staff and volunteers at Big Cat Rescue. I visited them in November 2014, and I wish I lived closer so I could visit over and over. To see these amazing animals is a rare treat, and to see them healthy and happy after what many of them have been through is nothing short of a miracle.

floridapotter

Professional with expertise in this field

Rating: 5

I have volunteered, visited and supported this true sanctuary for over ten years. A crew of dedicated and carefully trained volunteers and staff make a wonderful life for rescued wild cats. A TEN STAR EXPERIENCE for all!

Previous Stories
3

Volunteer

Rating: 5

I am both a volunteer at and a donor to BCR. It's a wonderful organization focused on the rescue and care of abandoned, abused and/or retired performing wild cats. No breeding is done and every animal has lifetime care in spacious natural habitats, never concrete cages. BCR's bigger mission is to end the private ownership ans abuse of wild animals and the preservation of natural habitats and species in them. The founders take no salaries, expenses are bare bonres and focus on the proper care and feeding of our residents.

Review from Guidestar

10

Professional with expertise in this field

Rating: 1

People have had the wool pulled over their eyes for a very long time and being fooled into donating lots of money to a woman that is essentially a big cat hoarder. Most of the money is going to lobbying political officials and everything else while the facility looks like a abandoned property and unsafe cages. They had 71 violations. (in one inspection). Continues to give false stories of the animals in the horrendous facility stating abuse, malnutrition and other lies. Many were her own animals bred and born there. Some were purchase by Carol herself as a pet and breeder.
She continues to Harass other places with exotic animals and even businesses who hire to have exotics for an event. Even files frivolous lawsuits.
She claims people exploit animals when she is guilty of using her animals to make money too. Everything down to having a wedding at Big Cat Rescue. But if anyone else does that, she claims abuse and exploitation and cruelty.
So, by all means, keep donating your money to the richest cat hoarder alive. (She earned a lot on the mysterious husband that disappeared) the money isn't going to the animals and that is obvious looking at the facility.

Review from Guidestar

3

Professional with expertise in this field

Rating: 1

This "sanctuary" is only that in the owner's eyes. They pocket 80% of the donations. The money certainly doesn't go toward animal caging or care. In November, 2014, Big Cat Rescue, Corp received 77 Violations of the Animal Welfare Act in ONE visit!! Don't believe me, read the report here complete with photos of their deplorable, rusty, weed-choked caging!!
http://www.bigcatrescuewatch.com/uploads/2/6/8/1/26816874/2014_unannounced_inspection_-_big_cat_rescue.pdf

Comments ( 1 )

profile

BigCatRescue 09/29/2015

Clearly this is not a real visitor, but rather someone who hates us for our efforts to end the trade in big cats as pets, props and for their parts. They frequently make up aliases to try and look like a "Member of the Public" but they aren't fooling anyone. "Judge me by the enemies I have made." - Franklin D. Roosevelt

Professional with expertise in this field

Rating: 1

In my opinion, Carole and Howard Baskin, multi-millionaires, have created the biggest scam possible to have people donate to support their 'habitual hoarding habit' of exotic cats. By supporting bans on these animals, they create for themselves a 'roadside zoo' with no competition. What's supposed to be 'sanctuary' is not considered a Florida sanctuary by FFW due to the amount of advertising and heavy traffic; with possibilities for tours anytime night or day.
This facility does not meet standards and thee owners guilty of 26 VIOLATIONS of the Animal Welfare Act. That statement right there demonstrates the biggest reason for such a poor rating.

4 Ashton V.

Professional with expertise in this field

Rating: 5

This charity is amazing! the animals are very well taken care of, and the cages are stunning! i would love to take my children on a vacation here. and dont listen to the one star reveiws, as they ALL DO come from big cat abusers, killers, etc.

Review from CharityNavigator

1 Barbara78

Professional with expertise in this field

Rating: 1

I would never ever recommend this place-NEVER!!! It's a train wreck with an accident waiting to happen. Built on an old land fill and the cages are not secure. No way would I ever recommend this place-NEVER!!! How many animals have to die there before someone investigates this situation?

Comments ( 1 )

profile

BigCatRescue 12/06/2012

This is probably Barbara Hoffmann who was a circus performer who forced big cats into circus lives. More about her here: http://911animalabuse.com/2011/11/09/fred-lulling/ Two weeks after the retired circus performer Barbara Hoffmann moved her 60-animal collection into the rural town on the state’s border with Louisiana, authorities seized them all and placed her and her business partner under arrest on charges of animal cruelty. People like this hate the success that Big Cat Rescue is having in putting an end to the cruel use of big cats as ego props.

2

Professional with expertise in this field

Rating: 5

I am a veterinary technician who adores felines. What an awesome job Big Cat Rescue is doing to protect these beautiful cats... if I ever get the chance to volunteer it will be a dream come true..

4 Leslie O.

Professional with expertise in this field

Rating: 5

Most of the time when big cats are kept as "pets", their fate is often the wrong end of a gun when they get loose or attack their owner. Even if a big cat is lucky enough to be rescued from these abusive and cruel conditions, there is no place for them to go. BCR gives them the best chance of a high quality life with the housing, medical care, diet, and mental stimulation they deserve. Yes, being wild would be better but these cats lost that option the moment someone decided to use them for financial gain and macho stupidity. Exotics should never be pets. At least at BCR, they will die with dignity and love. All states should be lucky enough to have a BCR facility!

1

Professional with expertise in this field

Rating: 1

Why does BCR Torture and Kill Live domestic rabbits in the name of a Sanctuary?

Please stop this barbaric unnecessary cruelty and stop pretending wild predators need taught to hunt when in fact they are born with natural killing instincts. Ethical and respectable rehabs never live feed or take animal life because all animal life is to be respected, please learn compassionate rehab protocols and stop promoting animal cruelty.

BCR Fraud Investigation – Channel 9 News - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3U9lwrzk13c&noredirect=1


BCR Fraud Investigation – Channel 10 News -
http://www.wtsp.com/video/1188619280001/0/10-News-investigates-Big-Cat-Rescue

March 3, 2011 USDA Inspection Report / Repeat – Fencing Violations (unsafe caging)
http://www.rexano.org/BCR/BCR_USDA_Spring2011.pdf

Sept. 29, 2010 / June 7, 2010 Enclosure Violations (unsafe caging)
http://www.rexano.org/BCR/BCR_USDA_2010.pdf

Comments ( 1 )

profile

BigCatRescue 08/09/2012

Animal abusers find that no one will listen to them on their own social channels so they post their fear and hatred of Big Cat Rescue on review sites. It lets us and the world know what a great job we are doing in ending their abusive practices that they resort to these tactics. You will find that Big Cat Rescue has the highest rating given by the real watchdog groups, such as Charity Navigator, whereas the people making these allegations are known for their violations of the animal welfare act.

3 Bigcatslive

Professional with expertise in this field

Rating: 1

BCR received three bobcat kittens from Alabama under a license to exhibit not a rehab license, then told the public they were to rehabbed. Now fast forward a few months later and one by one they are dying off. She writes on her BCR news letter that the first one died of Cardiomyopathy, the second from a ruptured duodenum, and the third was finally diagnosed (by a vet other than her regular one) of Panleukopenia. Pan is feline parvo, and the first two disorder of the deceased cats can be found as a complication of the disease. It was also posted on her wall that the kittens got this from being with puppies. Make no mistake, canine parvo cannot be transferred to cats and Pan cannot be transferred to dogs, besides the point that the incubation period for Pan is 3-9 DAYS not months. She then claims it is not their practice to vaccinate rehab cats for fear the vaccine would shed when in fact, exotic felidae are vaccinated with killed vaccines and she had just vaccinated a bob cat and released it a bit prior to it as well as microchipped.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

BigCatRescue 07/25/2012

It is a testament to our success in ending the abuse and trade in big cats that our opponents use these forums to post lies about us. Come visit to see for yourself, or read the reviews from people who oppose using big cats as pets, props and for their parts and you will see why we hold the highest credentials of any animal sanctuary.