Over 1.8 million nonprofits and charities for donors, volunteers and funders

2017 Top-Rated Nonprofit

Baptist World Alliance

Claim This Nonprofit

More Info

Add to Favorites

Share this Nonprofit

Donate

Nonprofit Overview

Causes: Christianity, Economic Development, International, International Development, Religion

Mission: Networking the Baptist family to impact the world for Christ.

Results: The Baptist World Alliance (BWA) mission is expressed in broad ministries and distilled into effective programs. The BWA promotes Baptist unity throughout the world such as at Annual Gatherings, evangelism and training conferences, and in Congresses, held every five years. (BWA's Baptist Family Celebration 2020 will be in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil.) The BWA resources churches in evangelism training around the world through conferences providing resources for each local organization that participates. The BWA remains faithful to Baptist principles regarding human rights and religious freedom by helping people who suffer from injustice. Our consultative status before the United Nations gives us a voice for the oppressed of all races and religions. The BWA responds to people in need through its relief and development arm, working to prevent hunger and sickness through support of ongoing educational, agricultural and medical programs. The BWA has ongoing development programs in dozens of countries. The BWA promotes relevant theological reflection through study groups, exchanges with other expressions of the Christian faith, and meetings of scholars and theologians who collaborate to address the issues of today and express Baptist perspectives on those matters.

Target demographics: the wider communities where our 238 member conventions, churches and institutions reside, and to equip them in their desire to faithfully participate in God's purpose to reconcile all things to God's self in Christ Jesus.

Geographic areas served: 124 countries and territories in Africa, Asia-Pacific, Caribbean, Europe, Latin America, North America

Programs: evangelism, relief and development, human rights and religious freedom, theological reflection and worldwide fellowship.

Community Stories

13 Stories from Volunteers, Donors & Supporters

1

Donor

Rating: 5

The Baptist World Alliance is a strong voice for the love of Jesus Christ around the world, and I know of no other organization that does what it does. In times of crisis, it helps the local church reach out to its neighbors. In times of oppression, it speaks out strongly for those who are persecuted. Its worldwide meetings are evidence that we can all get along in our diversity because we belong to God before we belong to tribe or country. They have made me aware that we are one family - Baptists in the larger Christian church - all around the world. Baptists in Israel, in Ghana, in Argentina and in Vietnam - we are all God's. I gladly send my support to an organization so trustworthy. Thank you BWA!

1

Professional with expertise in this field

Rating: 4

I was blessed to share time with members of the BWA at their Gathering in Thailand. I found them to be a welcoming collection of people. Through various conversations throughout the week I experienced their passion and commitment for connecting people across the globe through a common goal of sharing Christ and serving others. As a Methodist, I also experienced their hospitality and willingness to overlook theological differences in exchange for a common love of Jesus.

1

Volunteer

Rating: 5

The BWA is a wonderful place for global Baptists to connect, collaborate and support one another. The unity in our diversity is to honor the triune God.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

kathe 09/14/2016

Grateful for your support!

Previous Stories
5

Professional with expertise in this field

Rating: 5

The Baptist World Alliance is cause for Baptists across the globe to celebrate our unity within our diversity. As a denominational staff-leader, I appreciate how the BWA is able to connect our regional body with others around the world as co-servants with Christ. We are grateful for this network to the world, linking us hand-in-hand for the Good News.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

kathe 05/07/2015

We are blessed to be your network to the world!

2

Professional with expertise in this field

Rating: 5

The Baptist World Alliance advocates for human rights, especially religious freedom, for all people around the world. This network of Baptists from all nations provides important opportunities for interchange and for idea-sharing as those who follow Christ and seek to live out Baptist principles such as the need for all persons to know Jesus Christ personally and to be born again into a relationship with God, freedom of conscience, the Lordship of Christ, the importance of a believer's church, and the separation of church and state.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

kathe 09/14/2016

Thanks for these kind comments, Bob! We appreciate your support and collaboration.

3

Professional with expertise in this field

Rating: 5

Though I am a journalist but not a Baptist, I have seen, in many counties across the world, the results of courageous and competent outreach of Baptist missionaries as patient and loving teachers of literacy, health care and agriculture amongst primitive peoples, over decades of devotion. The results are increasingly apparent in remote regions of the 'developing world where Baptist missionaries have respected the distinct language and indigenous culture of tribal peoples. They have also been courageous defenders of human rights in defending and protecting such peoples from corporate and/or corrupt exploitation. They deserve our respect, informed admiration and support.
WAYNE KINES

3 Morten K.

Professional with expertise in this field

Rating: 5

Fast in assisting member entities financially when disasters strikes!

Comments ( 1 )

profile

kathe 05/07/2015

It is a blessing to be able to work with people in times of their greatest need!

5

Professional with expertise in this field

Rating: 5

The great thing about the Baptist World Alliance is that intentionally it is inclusive: of women and men, people from every part of the world, and continually seeking opportunities for dialogue with people of different faiths. The BWA has a really strong focus on human rights, freedom of conscience and active (that means real dollars, boots on the ground) aid in situations of crisis and need, together with the long-term work of building up local communities and leaders. It's a community that exists for service: not just of its own, but for the world. In short, it really does follow the way of Jesus Christ.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

kathe 05/07/2015

Thank you for your comment! We feel blessed to take part in this global work with our global Baptist family! You mean the world to us:)

4 DrJBJII

Volunteer

Rating: 5

The Baptist World Alliance is the best of the best. Truly a quality staff and army of passionate volunteers making a monumental difference in the world.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

kathe 05/07/2015

We are grateful to be partners in this kingdom work! You mean the world to us!

Previous Stories
4

Professional with expertise in this field

Rating: 5

The Baptist World Alliance has:

Provided introduction to the most dynamic, remarkable, faithful people I've ever known;
Allowed an intimate window on the world of what God can do, even in difficult circumstances; and,
Taught me that the ultimate, essential Gospel of Jesus Christ goes anywhere and everywhere.

In short, they make me happy and proud to be a part of the Baptist Christian family!

Jim Johnson, Senior Pastor, the Church at Clarendon

Comments ( 1 )

profile

kathe 05/13/2014

Jim, thanks for the privilege of partnering with us to equip the global Baptist family for the work. We are so grateful for Clarendon's leadership.

6 Connie62

Professional with expertise in this field

Rating: 5

I have been well acquainted with the work of the Baptist World Alliance since my teen years in the 70's when I became fascinated with the report of an older church member who attended a BWA world conference at that time. She returned to our church in the Midwest a changed person, and her enthusiasm made a strong impression on me, decades younger than this traveler.
Since then, I have seen firsthand the impact the BWA has on lives from developing countries. I have witnessed the dedication of its staff and volunteer officers. I have learned that the faith of those different than I can strengthen and expand my faith. Perhaps most importantly, I have seen an organization from the inside that is transparent, effective, and able to reach corners of this globe that no other global organization has managed to do. I commend this nonprofit organization as one that needs to be increasingly noticed, championed, and used by those within and beyond Baptist arenas.
My church in Maryland sends all of its disaster relief support through Baptist World Aid with the confidence that it will be well used by those who need it most in the most desperate areas around the world.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

kathe 05/07/2015

Connie, we are grateful for the joy you bring and our continued partnership with you in doing this amazing work.

4

Professional with expertise in this field

Rating: 5

BWA is an organization that makes a tremendous difference in our world. It provides relief in emergency and tragedies. It promotes debate and dialogue among different religious groups. It trains e enables leadership development in developing countries. It challenges Baptist Churches and Christians to live the Christian faith blessing their neighbors.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

kathe 05/07/2015

We are blessed to be a place where these global conversations can happen!

6

Professional with expertise in this field

Rating: 5

BWA is has been working for a Holistic Development which is according to the Lord God's command and mission that everyone will has abundant life even during in this world. May the good Lord continue to bless BWA.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

kathe 05/07/2015

We are blessed to be a part of this global Baptist family and for your continued support!

2

Professional with expertise in this field

Rating: 5

The Baptist World Alliance makes me proud to be Baptist (which doesn't happen all that often). When I see Baptists from around the world getting together, and working together, to provide relief for the hungry, disaster victims, and the poor, I feel my heart swell with pride. God is working through the Baptist World Alliance, and finding millions of willing and able helpers.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

kathe 05/15/2014

Wow. Thanks so much for being part of this dynamic organization. You make US proud! And we can't do the work without you.

3

Professional with expertise in this field

Rating: 5

The Baptist World Alliance is a wonderful organization doing the incredibly important work of building bridges and networks among the global body of Baptist believers. The resources they provide and relationships they foster strengthens the work of so many other groups.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

kathe 05/07/2014

Thanks for your partnership with us in the work!

3

Professional with expertise in this field

Rating: 4

Effectively and passionately connects people to the global nature of Church.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

kathe 05/07/2014

Thanks for your review, April!