Over 1.8 million nonprofits and charities for donors, volunteers and funders

2017 Top-Rated Nonprofit

Baptist World Alliance

Claim This Nonprofit

More Info

Add to Favorites

Share this Nonprofit

Donate

Nonprofit Overview

Causes: Christianity, Economic Development, International, International Development, Religion

Mission: Networking the Baptist family to impact the world for Christ.

Results: The Baptist World Alliance (BWA) mission is expressed in broad ministries and distilled into effective programs. The BWA promotes Baptist unity throughout the world such as at Annual Gatherings, evangelism and training conferences, and in Congresses, held every five years. (BWA's Baptist Family Celebration 2020 will be in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil.) The BWA resources churches in evangelism training around the world through conferences providing resources for each local organization that participates. The BWA remains faithful to Baptist principles regarding human rights and religious freedom by helping people who suffer from injustice. Our consultative status before the United Nations gives us a voice for the oppressed of all races and religions. The BWA responds to people in need through its relief and development arm, working to prevent hunger and sickness through support of ongoing educational, agricultural and medical programs. The BWA has ongoing development programs in dozens of countries. The BWA promotes relevant theological reflection through study groups, exchanges with other expressions of the Christian faith, and meetings of scholars and theologians who collaborate to address the issues of today and express Baptist perspectives on those matters.

Target demographics: the wider communities where our 238 member conventions, churches and institutions reside, and to equip them in their desire to faithfully participate in God's purpose to reconcile all things to God's self in Christ Jesus.

Geographic areas served: 124 countries and territories in Africa, Asia-Pacific, Caribbean, Europe, Latin America, North America

Programs: evangelism, relief and development, human rights and religious freedom, theological reflection and worldwide fellowship.

Community Stories

18 Stories from Volunteers, Donors & Supporters

1

Donor

Rating: 5

The Baptist World Alliance is a strong voice for the love of Jesus Christ around the world, and I know of no other organization that does what it does. In times of crisis, it helps the local church reach out to its neighbors. In times of oppression, it speaks out strongly for those who are persecuted. Its worldwide meetings are evidence that we can all get along in our diversity because we belong to God before we belong to tribe or country. They have made me aware that we are one family - Baptists in the larger Christian church - all around the world. Baptists in Israel, in Ghana, in Argentina and in Vietnam - we are all God's. I gladly send my support to an organization so trustworthy. Thank you BWA!

1

Volunteer

Rating: 5

I have been involved in the Baptist World Alliance for more than a decade. I have personally given and found them to be trustworthy and strong stewards who engage in impactful programs. They have a global mission and the power of their good work is felt from the United States to Brazil, Kenya, Thailand and beyond. They really are an excellent nonprofit that positively impacts the lives of many.

1 Wendell J.

Volunteer

Rating: 5

BWA has helped me a lot to know who i am as a christian and my purpose in God's Kingdom. Going to the difference BWA conferences, I understand that BWA don't just preach the gospel but also implement it in difference love, caring and evangelism outreach. It's encourage me to be a better christian .

Comments ( 1 )

profile

kathe 09/14/2016

Thanks for being part of the Baptist World Alliance's work around the world! Your support is making a difference!

1

Volunteer

Rating: 5

The BWA is a wonderful place for global Baptists to connect, collaborate and support one another. The unity in our diversity is to honor the triune God.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

kathe 09/14/2016

Grateful for your support!

Previous Stories
5

Professional with expertise in this field

Rating: 5

The Baptist World Alliance is cause for Baptists across the globe to celebrate our unity within our diversity. As a denominational staff-leader, I appreciate how the BWA is able to connect our regional body with others around the world as co-servants with Christ. We are grateful for this network to the world, linking us hand-in-hand for the Good News.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

kathe 05/07/2015

We are blessed to be your network to the world!

1

Volunteer

Rating: 5

The BWA does incredible work around the world to advance the cause of Jesus Christ and his Kingdom.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

kathe 09/14/2016

Thanks so much for your prayers and support!

3

Volunteer

Rating: 5

The BWA is the official network of the world's Baptists. It is truly global and spiritually and ethnically diverse.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

kathe 05/07/2015

We are blessed to be able to do this global work with you! You mean the world to us!

3 John332

Volunteer

Rating: 5

A genuine international organization - all member bodies are involved at all levels.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

kathe 05/07/2015

We are grateful for the opportunity to be a part of this kingdom work with you!

5

Volunteer

Rating: 5

BWA acts immediately when it comes to giving aid for eg Nepal, Haiti etc, I am from South Africa and part of committee for the BWA local arrangements for upcoming congress in just over 2 months and will be meeting all you loving wonderful people and feel good to be associated with an organisation such as this.
Ronnie Reddy
GS Baptist Association of SA

Comments ( 1 )

profile

kathe 05/07/2015

We're so grateful for your support! Thanks for uplifting the global Baptist family. We can't wait to worship with you in Durban.

3

Volunteer

Rating: 5

Baptist World Alliance is a great organization that puts together people from all over the world to do good in a world that is tending in the other direction!

Comments ( 1 )

profile

kathe 05/07/2015

We are grateful to take part in this work! Thank you for your comments.

4 DrJBJII

Volunteer

Rating: 5

The Baptist World Alliance is the best of the best. Truly a quality staff and army of passionate volunteers making a monumental difference in the world.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

kathe 05/07/2015

We are grateful to be partners in this kingdom work! You mean the world to us!

Previous Stories
4

Professional with expertise in this field

Rating: 5

The Baptist World Alliance has:

Provided introduction to the most dynamic, remarkable, faithful people I've ever known;
Allowed an intimate window on the world of what God can do, even in difficult circumstances; and,
Taught me that the ultimate, essential Gospel of Jesus Christ goes anywhere and everywhere.

In short, they make me happy and proud to be a part of the Baptist Christian family!

Jim Johnson, Senior Pastor, the Church at Clarendon

Comments ( 1 )

profile

kathe 05/13/2014

Jim, thanks for the privilege of partnering with us to equip the global Baptist family for the work. We are so grateful for Clarendon's leadership.

4

Volunteer

Rating: 5

We are pleased to support the Baptist World Alliance and the global mission this organization pursues. Our church budgets annual mission support for the BWA, and we also support BWA as part of our own monthly giving to Christian causes. The BWA is commended for transparency and faithfulness to the mission of Baptists worldwide.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

kathe 05/07/2015

John, thank you so much for your kind words. it is with partnerships with organization like Campbellsville and individuals like you, that we are able to continue to equip the global Baptist family.

5

Volunteer

Rating: 5

Our church supports the Baptist World Alliance and its humanitarian program, Baptist World Aid, because we trust its leaders and their partners around the world. The BWA is characterized by respect, compassion, effectiveness, accountability, and integrity. Especially for those who feel marginalized or powerless, the BWA offers meaningful connections with a larger family of faith, practical help, and hope.

Previous Stories
5

Donor

Rating: 5

Our church receives an annual offering for world hunger which we send to Baptist World Aid, the relief and development agency of the Baptist World Alliance. Our gifts are used to respond to humanitarian crises following natural disasters, civil unrest, and other situations of great need. We have confidence that our donations are used efficiently and conscientiously to alleviate suffering and provide practical help. Because the Baptist World Alliance has trusted member organizations and partners in over 120 countries around the world, there is a minimum of overhead and a maximum of cooperation.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

kathe 05/07/2014

So honored to work with you to help change the world!

5

Volunteer

Rating: 5

The Baptist World Alliance is my favorite charity and I am happy to help others through them. I know they inspire and uplift people at their meetings, especially their Congress, and I have experienced first-hand what it is like to be in a Baptist worship with people from 10, 20, 30 or more countries, and all of us singing the same hymn in our own language! This is the only organization I trust for relief and development work overseas, because they work through Baptist churches whenever they can. I am happy to continue to support the BWA!

3 Linaldo G.

Volunteer

Rating: 5

ABM tem sido um lugar de trabalho para o Desenvolvimento da pessoa humana, em suas varias capacidades, que está de acordo com o Comando, a Ordem o Ide e a Missão que todos tem a vida abundante no Senhor Jesus. Que o Senhor, o nosso bondoso Deus, continue abençoando a todos que fazem a ABM.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

kathe 05/07/2015

Tenemos la suerte de ser parte de esta familia Bautista global y por su continuo apoyo !

4

Volunteer

Rating: 5

I became acquainted with the BWA a quarter century ago and was recruited for involvement because I am a professional historian. I got to know the organization well and respect it for its global range of activities, open-minded approach to issues, and the uniqus personalities that comprise its leadership. It does not a lot of money, but it uses its funds wisely and has achieved a great deal with the resources it has. It is an exemplary ecumenical religious group.

2 Pastor Trisha

Donor

Rating: 5

The BWA is truly a global organization sharing the Good News,not just espousing to to be "global". It provides opportunities to learn, serve, grow and connect cross-culturally under one Triune Lord. It is a place to call home for many Baptists and Baptistic Christians around the world.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

kathe 05/07/2014

Thanks for making the Baptist World Alliance your "home!"

Previous Stories
3

Volunteer

Rating: 4

The BWA provides opportunities for Christians, mostly Baptists, around the world to unite in ministry of word and deed. Empowered by the Holy Spirit, the member bodies work together for the good of God's Kingdom on earth as we serve in unity through Jesus Christ our Lord. Financial accountability and transparency is a strength. Inclusion of people across culture, age, socioeconomics, and gender is keenly observed. This is truly an organization for global Christians and where I have found a Baptist home!

3

Volunteer

Rating: 5

I strongly admire the involvement of the Baptist World Alliance in issues of freedom and justice around the world. There are many Christians in remote areas of the world who need support and solidarity for their causes, and BWA makes sure to provide that with love and through the empowerment of the local population. The leadership of the BWA has a vision for constantly improving the service to God through the improvement of the service to people in need. Also all the BWA staff works in unison to that purpose, creating and implementing innovative ways of reaching members and supporters globally, so that they can be informed and able to help in a timely manner. I volunteer as an advisor to the freedom and justice committee and know first hand that the mission and goals of BWA are practiced also through the policy and structure of its main office.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

kathe 05/07/2014

We are so grateful for your support. Thanks for all you do!

3

Volunteer

Rating: 5

There's no other international organization designed to draw all Baptists together for sorely-needed encouragement, fellowship, training, theological reflection, and mercy ministries. The Baptist World Alliance presents a most impressive united force of millions of baptized members who influence national leaders and open key doors for evangelism and religious freedom dialogue. The BWA is all of us--in harmony, joy, and mission.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

kathe 05/07/2014

Don, you're the best BWA Ambassador, ever. Thanks for all you do, for all of our ministries, and for the global Baptist family.

Review from Guidestar

3 Tony25

Volunteer

Rating: 5

From when I was a young man growing up in Sydney, Australia, I remember reading about the BWA and being excited to know there was a world-wide body of Baptist people engaged in serving persecuted and needy people all around the world.
When I became a pastor in Australia and later worked in Papua New Guinea\a I became more aware of the worth and value to indigenous people of the BWA.
Later on I had the rare privilege as a more senior church leader of working on the staff of the BWA where I was responsible for the human rights portfolio and was able to sense first hand the powerful influence the BWA was able to exert advocating and assisting dispossessed and marginalised people all around the globe. Being now retired I have utmost respect for and confidence in the great work done by the BWA.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

kathe 05/07/2014

Thanks, Tony, for continuing to do all you can to support the mission of the BWA!

Review from Guidestar