Over 1.8 million nonprofits and charities for donors, volunteers and funders

2015 Top-Rated Nonprofit

Aumazo, Inc.

6,028 pageviews

Claim This Nonprofit

More Info

Add to Favorites

Share this Nonprofit

Donate

Volunteering Oportunities

Nonprofit Overview

Causes: Education, Scholarships, Scholarships & Student Financial Aid, Secondary & High Schools

Mission: Our organization’s mission is to empower girls with high school education by building better school infrastructure and ensure that they are given the opportunities to succeed in life by the time they leave our school. Many rural girls have no access to high school education in Cameroon for a lack of appropriate infrastructure. By building its own school, Aumazo, Inc. will help girls stay in school by providing them with an environment conducive to learning, an environment that nurtures their capacities to make a difference in their lives and in their communities.

Results: Our first school is under construction in the rural village of Bankondji in Cameroon. To date, much progress has been made in promoting the school to the regional community. In 2012, after establishing the ZOMA the construction company which revenue will sustain the operating costs of the school, we completed the library/study building and built concrete slab floors for the entire school building. In 2013, we also benefited from a continued Pro Bono Consulting Service at George Washington University. In 2014 and in collaboration with the RM Sovich Architecture firm based in Baltimore, Maryland, we worked on the new school design that is relevant to the rural environment. The same year, we established an ongoing working partnership with the Barrie School in Silver Spring.

Target demographics: Disadvantaged Rural Girls in Cameroon/Africa

Direct beneficiaries per year: 8 families regain their financial freedom by providing job at our construction site

Geographic areas served: International

Programs: Aumazo is building safe and welcoming boarding schools for girls, with well-equipped classrooms, adequate sanitation facilities, a gymnasium, a library/study and computer room. Access to a better infrastructure and an improved school environment for young women means: increased safety, a reduction in dropouts, improved learning, higher self-esteem, more self-worth, and the development of our future leaders.

Community Stories

41 Stories from Volunteers, Donors & Supporters

Abderrahmane T.

Volunteer

Rating: 5

The progress of this non profit foundation has been exceptional. The founder Jacqueline Audige works tirelessly to bring development and progress to Cameroon and Bakondji. She has a team on the ground constantly coordinating with her efforts. The girls to whom she is building schools are lucky to have her as an example. If you are looking to help and donate then you can not go wrong with Aumazo, Inc.

Previous Stories

General Member of the Public

Rating: 4

Aumazo is the real deal. This organization really does help young girls in Cameroon by building schools one brick at a time. Education is the key to a better life and I approve of this message.

Watch the videos on www.aumazo.org if you don't believe me. ;)

Volunteer

Rating: 5

Aumazo has been keeping its audience informed, in the loop. There have been multiple fundraising efforts in the form of events and sponsor vettings all year long. The team's diligence and efforts reflect the heart that beats and lives inside of Aumazo, Inc. Every day they get one step closer to launching the first boarding school and so many people are invested and counting on it! Go Aumazo!

1

Volunteer

Rating: 5

This organization is ran by a determined CEO with a very aspiring goal to grant education to those who cannot afford it. I worked with the organization more than several times, and I got very invested in helping out and seeing success for everyone out there in the struggling rural areas. Everyone deserves an education, and everyone should come out and support great causes such as this! No passionate voice deserves to be ignored, and this organization is certainly no exception.

1 Jenny86

Volunteer

Rating: 5

AUMAZO est un très bon projet. Les jeunes filles camerounaises qui vont en bénéficier pourront accroître leurs connaissances et étudier dans de très bonnes conditions afin de trouver plus tard un bon emploi qui leur correspond. Ce qui profitera non seulement aux filles du Cameroun mais aussi à toutes les jeunes filles des pays limitrophes.

1 Xtel L.

Volunteer

Rating: 5

This is a very great project that will enable young girls to learn, to develop and reinforce their skills and their knowledge; all this, in the best possible conditions.

1

Volunteer

Rating: 5

AUMAZO, cet organisme dont l'enjeu social des ambitions n'est plus à démontrer, reste l'espoir d'une communauté qui entend faire sa mue complète avec la ferme optique d'être un maillon à l'émergence qu'aspire le pays.
Forte de ses ambitions, AUMAZO participe à l'évolution des habitudes de la population, qui a soif de ce nouveau monde avec ses nouvelles façons.
l'envergure des évènements nous commande de penser que au delà du savoir faire ,nous avons ici tout un système d'instruction qui va ressusciter des vies entières.
Va de l'avant AUMAZO!!!

Previous Stories
1

Volunteer

Rating: 4

This Great non-profits will combat rural exodus and will enable the development of Bankondji. A wonderful Organisation which will also allow young girls from bankondji & areas an education for a profession.Aumazo inc is used to regular events in order to enlarge the impact of it.Sure of the great effects within the community & I really hope the project will achieve its goals.Happy 5th anniversary! wish you success.

1

Volunteer

Rating: 5

Aumazo est un projet excellent pour le développement de l’Afrique en général, nous souhaitons un grand succès au projet et nous vous soutenons.
Salutations distingués.

Christelle D.

Volunteer

Rating: 5

Still a great organization and cause to support. Girl education is extremely important and its great that organizations like Aumazo, Inc. are working towards guaranteeing that every girl gets the opportunity to get a good education. Go Aumazo!!

Comments ( 1 )

profile

gouzendeu 05/24/2015

Continue to share your feedback with us. It helps enhance our work. Thank you. J.A

mr-mark

Volunteer

Rating: 5

Love the work that all that my fellow folks put into and i'm happy to lend a hand as well! Cheers for Aumazo, things're lookin' up for all of them!

Comments ( 1 )

profile

gouzendeu 05/24/2015

Continue to share your feedback with us. It helps enhance our work. Thank you. J.A

Previous Stories
7

Volunteer

Rating: 5

Aumazo Inc. is a nonprofit organization, which it's main purpose is to promote education and equal opportunities for individuals in developing countries. In my opinion, it serves a very good purpose for opening up opportunities for others around the world. I was a volunteer at one of the fundraisers, and I was deeply moved by the presentations of young Cameroonian girls not getting fair and equal education and services. I have done the best I can to support the organization's goal of mainly promoting education and equality. I would recommend checking out the website and make a donation. Any donation made will be greatly appreciated, even if it's only a penny! But don't just donate, try to be a part of the organization and tell others about it to help Aumazo reach it's goal.

Bobolo C.

Volunteer

Rating: 5

I had such a wonderful time volunteering for Aumazo! A very nice organization composed of very humble people who want to help move a new generation forward! Five stars all the way!

Comments ( 1 )

profile

gouzendeu 05/24/2015

Continue to share your feedback with us. It helps enhance our work. Thank you. J.A

Previous Stories

Volunteer

Rating: 5

As a previous administrative assistant for Aumazo, Inc., I can say first hand that this organization is true to their mission and strive to help these girls obtain an education at all cost. Regardless of all obstacles, they still push through and never give up nor look back. It is a great organization and the founder is an inspirational and incredible person. This organization deserves more recognition and support for the work they are doing!

Volunteer

Rating: 5

Great Nonprofit Organization with an ambitious cause! I highly recommend everyone to take a look and donate a little to get one step closer to getting rural girls the education that everyone deserves!

Previous Stories

Volunteer

Rating: 4

I have already made one point about this empowering organiztion elsewhere, but I will make that point again: This organiztions unlocks many opportunuites for the people in the developing countries who have not have had the chance to experience a high-edge education beforehand. I recommend you should at least take a look into it before judging.

1 Marie-Ange A.

Donor

Rating: 5

There are many Great Nonprofits out there, but I have encountered very few transparent organizations in Women's Education in Africa. Aumazo is clear and trustworthy; Ive seen the donations get put to literal good use. That can only happen when the Founder IS the Cause and believes whole heartedly in the work he/she is doing because of personal experience and connectivity to the mission. I urge all that care to support Aumazo by spreading the word at least! It's an org. worth knowing and encouraging. Positivity should always trump pity.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

gouzendeu 05/24/2015

Wonderful! Do not stop reviewing our work. Thank you J.A

Previous Stories

Volunteer

Rating: 5

I have been very close to the founder of Aumazo Inc., Jacqueline, and can attest to the sheer drive and dedication she has invested in the organization and its cause. Jacqueline and her team work tirelessly to collect funds and advance the development of their first all-girls' boarding school in Jacqueline's native village of Bankondji, Cameroon -- a task that is proving to be much more difficult than expected.

The Auamzo team has met many unrelenting obstacles -- from environmental to political and financial setbacks -- on the road to achieving their admirable goals, and they have until now come through. This truly is one of the few honest and purposeful non-profits out there. I will continue to show love and support whenever possible.

Volunteer

Rating: 5

I trust the project That is why I am in; and when finish this will definitely be a dream come thru. It says that you have to dream to see your dream coming thru. This is project is for a good cause and I am happy to be part of it. That is what I call being there for our girls when they need you. Thank you to Jacqueline Audige, CEO and Founder of Aumazo Inc/ZOMA for her action: building a school for Girls in Bankondji, Cameroon, Africa. Please let support her action so her dream, our dream can be extended to more regions. Together Each one Accomplish More. Thank you mother Jacqueline

Comments ( 1 )

profile

gouzendeu 05/24/2015

Continue to share your feedback with us. It helps us enhance our work. Thank you. J.A

1

Volunteer

Rating: 5

I have been working with Jacqueline Audige as an Aumazo volunteer Representative in Cameroon since 2006. Despite all the challenges and the roadblocks we faced over the years, my faith in the project had remained strong.
When I met with Jacqueline in December 2006, the project was still an idea and I got hooked right away. At the time, I was a priest at St Joseph parish of Bankondji. I saw big potentials behind the project because every day I confront girls who cannot continue their education because of financial difficulties of relocation and schools fees. She made it even worthwhile when she told me that she was going to build a school building that includes toilets. I was thrilled at that idea. Although I am a priest, I also teach middle schoolers. Many girls that are young women already, always accumulate a lot of absence during a school year. I never understood why until Jacqueline drew my attention to the need of toilets at a school building to reduce absenteism and high drop out rates among girls.
This is a noble cause and I am glad to be part of it. I urge you who will read this to help us raise the wall of this school and welcome the girls. I admire the courage , determination and passion that Jacqueline Audige has for this project. It takes a soul like hers to hold tight on such dream of giving back to others. I did not and will never let her down. She has be been an inspiration to me as well and I learned a lot from her strength, her honesty and integrity. I have never stopped praying for her and the project. I have faith that things that are giving with love can only bare good fruits.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

gouzendeu 05/24/2015

Your feedback is very important to us. We rely on it to enhance our work. Thank you

Volunteer

Rating: 5

I am a highschool student at the Barrie School in Silver Spring MD. Last year, my French class collaborated with Aumazo, raising over $2,300 for the construction of their first school. It was an amazing experience, both as a French student and as a person. We worked directly with Jaqueline (the founder of Aumazo) while we planned the event and beyond. She was also asked by the senior class to speak at graduation. Jacqueline is also a parent at our school.

Because we were already working together on a long-term project, I proposed a formal partnership between our school and Aumazo. The Aumazo board and the School administration were both interested in the idea, so I worked with them to write and edit the memorandum of understanding, serving as the link between the two organizations. Our efforts culminated in a fundraiser gala, during which the partnership was signed. It was extremely rewarding to work with Aumazo, and I look forward to working with them again in the future. Aumazo has earned my highest praise and deepest respect.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

gouzendeu 05/24/2015

Your feedback is very important to us. We rely on it to enhance our work. Thank you

1 Anna77

Volunteer

Rating: 5

Jacqueline worked closely with students in my French class who were interested in the Aumazo project. She was unfailingly generous with her time and showed herself to be an AMAZING educator. The kids were bowled over by the Aumazo project and took it upon themselves to propose an official partnership between our school (Barrie School) and Aumazo, and then planned and executed a gala fundraiser in the spring. I can't say enough good things about Jacqueline and about Aumazo.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

gouzendeu 05/24/2015

Your feedback is very important to us. It helps us enhance and improve our work . We would like to hear from you often. Thank you J.A

1 Carolyn52

Volunteer

Rating: 5

My visit to Cameroon 2 years ago with the Mount St. Mary's team of faculty and students began my love for Africa....specifically the people of Bankondji. Education is a powerful tool for change; and educating girls extends that positive change to their future families. This project is so worthwhile to support as it will currently build strong women and provide educated citizens in the future. During my visit one of the Sisters at the Daughters of Charity said that “Africa gets into your skin.” I feel that I came home with a piece of Africa in my heart. The land is beautiful. The people are beautiful. My memories are beautiful. I am proud to teach my students at the University about this wonderful project and how to support it with our monies and prayers.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

gouzendeu 05/24/2015

Your feedback is very important to us. It helps us enhance and improve our work . We would like to hear from you often. Thank you J.A

Patrick E.

Volunteer

Rating: 5

The first time I heard about Aumazo was through a close friend of mine. I am from one of the counties with which Cameroon share its frontier (Gabon) so when I heard about Aumazo and the goals that they wanted to reach I was more than exited to be able to volunteer. In addition it’s not every day that you come across a non-profit organization that has the ambition to bring education to Africa for this reason I strongly believe that they do need more recognition and help from anyone for the hard work that they’re doing.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

gouzendeu 05/24/2015

Your feedback is very important to us. It helps us enhance and improve our work . We would like to hear from you often. Thank you J.A

Fatim D.

Volunteer

Rating: 5

Education in Africa, especially for young girls, is a cause that is very dear to my heart. I believe that it is one of the most critical factors to reducing poverty and inequality. So when I heard about Aumazo, its mission and the great work that its founder, Jacqueline Audige, is doing in rural Cameroon, I immediately thought that it was an organization that was worth supporting.

Yannick K.

Volunteer

Rating: 5

I had a great experience working with Aumazo Inc. Mrs Audige did a phenomenal job at getting a team together to work in partnership with the University of Maryland and spending hours taking hundreds of their chairs, chalk boards and several other school materials that were going to be thrown away and that instead we took to put in a container and ship to Cameroon to help build better schools. It was an eye-opening experience and the purpose was real. Great organization, great people. I would recommend them to anyone looking to make an immediate difference in the lives of people who need it.