Over 1.8 million nonprofits and charities for donors, volunteers and funders

2014 Top-Rated Nonprofit

Aphasia Center of West Texas, Inc.

2,364 pageviews

Claim This Nonprofit

More Info

Add to Favorites

Share this Nonprofit

Donate

Nonprofit Overview

Causes: Brain Disorders, Education, Educational Services, Health, Health Support

Mission: The Aphasia Center of West strives to improve the quality of life for individuals and families coping with aphasia by overcoming communication barriers.

Results: Last year, Aphasia Center members re-engaged in life's activities and interactions through over 4,209 visits to the Center's 12 weekly classes.

Target demographics: Individuals coping with a reduction in language (speaking, reading, writing) following brain injury such as stroke.

Direct beneficiaries per year: 78 individuals coping with aphasia

Geographic areas served: There is no geographic restriction, but most travel from within the Permian Basin area of West Texas and eastern New Mexico.

Programs: We provide conversation groups, reading and writing groups, caregiver's training, computer labs, book clubs, fine art, music and exercise classes.

Community Stories

16 Stories from Volunteers, Donors & Supporters

Randy29

Client Served

Rating: 5

They are the real deal. My wife has received their services for over 10 years. They provide outstanding leadership, outstanding staff and outstanding volunteers. ACWT has a deep love for those in need, at every level of their organization. ACWT truly and always, 100% of the time, convey the message "what can we do for you". And, that attitude of caring was started by the founder Kathryn Shelley and resonates through every person involved in making what the ACWT is today. My wife and I thank them all from the bottom of our hearts. Randy and Lisa Reynolds

Client Served

Rating: 4

My name is Paula. I had a stroke 3 year ago. I come to the center because I am around people with the same challenges as me and they understand. I have learned strategies that have helped me improve my communication. I made friènds and they give me hope and comfidence.

Client Served

Rating: 5

My name is Gary Davis. I had a brain aneurysm 13 years ago. The Aphasia center is a place where my voice is heard. I am surrounded by people who understand me and who have become my family.

Client Served

Rating: 5

My stoke happened 6 months ago . I have never heard of Aphasia. We are so lucky the center is in our city. The center is a place to talk and not feel threatened. I would be bored at home. The center is cost effective which is really nice.

Client Served

Rating: 5

My name is Ronnie and I survived a stroke five years ago. After my stroke, I was discharged from all therapy and was left wondering what to do with my life and new communication issues. The Aphasia Center brought me a community of people that understood what I was going through. It is a place where I can have fun and try new things. For example, I participate in the Gavel Club at the Aphasia Center where I work on speaking in front of groups of people, something I NEVER did before I developed aphasia. Ironic I know!

Ronnie D.

Client Served

Rating: 5

Thirteen years ago, my husband, Gary had a brain aneurysm and this drastically changed our lives forever. After the traditional therapy was exhausted, what a Blessing it was to find the Aphasia Center of West Texas. Gary has been a member for over 10 years and everyone involved in the Aphasia Center is family! It gives him a safe place to go and interact with others with Aphasia and have conversation, fun and games. As a caregiver, it gives me much needed time to run errands or free time. It is great to walk into the Aphasia Center and hear laughter and see smiles on everyone's faces.

Previous Stories
1

Client Served

Rating: 5

After my husband suffered a brain aneurysm eleven years ago, we went through all the therapy that was available. When we had exhausted all the traditional therapy from different places, thank goodness the Aphasia Center of West Texas was just starting. The Aphasia Center offered new hope for beginning a new and different kind of life after stroke. The class offerings of art, audio book club, gardening, computer, communication skills, and more have all given my husband a reason to get up in the morning and enjoy his day. He loves the companionship of others going through similar ordeals and of the staff and volunteers taking the time and patience to understand what he is saying. Also, it gives the caregiver time to themselves to leave and know that their loved one is in good hands. We are very fortunate to have the Apahasia Center of West Texas in our community.

Frankie W.

Client Served

Rating: 5

I as Frankie Wickham. 9 1/2 years ago massive Stroke! Three years later, it doesn't matter that the afternoon had difficult location (lil) building, Aphasia Center West Texas!! Whoohoo! I'm HOME!!
Thank you!!

Susan310

Client Served

Rating: 5

In October 2007 I had a AVM which left me with Aphasia I was blessed to live in Midland, Texas. My doctor told me that was the best place to be, because it had the Aphasia Center of West Texas. He was truly right. I have been a member of the center since April 2008 and it gave me back myself. This place is filled with hope, care, learning, fun, love, friends, and most of all Family The Aphasia Center of West Texas is blessed and you can feel it when you walk in the door every time. My family and I are so thankful it is here

Client Served

Rating: 5

My husband had multiple strokes after surgery for a dissected aorta. The strokes left him unable to speak. He was diagnosed with Aphasia. We had no idea what the word meant, but quickly learned. After months of therapy, insurance ran out, we discovered the Aphasia Center of West Texas. The Aphasia Center has been wonderful for Gary because he is around people like himself that struggle to speak. They have discussions about real life and feel like a part of society again. We feel blessed to have professional people and many volunteers to give part of themself to restoring a high quality of life for us!

Client Served

Rating: 5

After my husband suffered a massive stroke a year and a half ago we quickly ran out of all of our therapy resources. It was so hard to see how desperately he still needed so much with really no place to turn. We decided to leave our home in Georgetown and move to Midland to be close to our daughter. What a great blessing it was to discover the Aphasia Center of West Texas. It has been so good for him and has given him a place to be with others that share the same struggles and difficulties that he experiences. With the love, support and guidance that he receives from everyone involved in this program he has really thrived and gained so much confidence not only in his speech but in so many ways. The Aphasia Center also offers great support and resources for the families. We are all so blessed by the Aphasia Center of West Texas!!

Ann_45

Client Served

Rating: 5

My name is Ann Semple and I am 70 years old. I suffered a stroke 12 years ago and have been attending the Aphasia Center since the begining stages of the program. I love it so much! One of the reasons I love it so much is because of the members. We all share the same story. They can relate to me and I do not feel judged. Just excellent people! Love the reading, writing, art, cooking and gardening. Aphasia Center brought me love, understanding, friendships, confidence and encouragement. JUST BROUGHT BACK LIFE!! If I had not come to the center I would be lonely. IT'S JUST AMAZING!!!!!!

Alyson R.

Client Served

Rating: 5

When I was 11 years old, my mother suffered a massive stroke which ended up in getting diagnosed with Aphasia. When she started attending the Aphasia Center of West Texas I tagged along with her as much as possible because not only did I want to be around my mom but the center had such helpful and wonderful staff as well as clients. I was constantly given support, facts, and hope by the many people involved in the center which has ultimately made me consider them apart of my own family! Over the years my mom has been attending I have seen her consistently getting better and better with reading, writing, typing and speaking. But the most important rehabilitation I have seen is that the Aphasia Center of West Texas has helped bring the life back into her smile! She loves going as much as possible because the center is a home away from home for her, she feels comfortable and understood. My moms happiness and safety is most important to me and i known she is well taken care of at the center! I'd say it has been a life changing place for my entire family, and I.

Jeff47

Client Served

Rating: 5

When my father had his stroke, he left the inpatient treatment only able to speak a handful of words and the reality of having to change from being right handed to left handed. The Aphasia Center greatly improved his speech and also helped him to rekindle one of his old hobbies, drawing. He was able to progress on to painting, all using his nondominant hand. He would not have been able to do this without the Aphasia Center's help. But probalby more important, he gained new friends that really became family. So much so, that even after his death almost a year ago, I still keep in touch and try to volunteer whenever I can.

Kathryn10

Client Served

Rating: 5

When my dad had his stroke, his career, his ability to drive, read, write or speak normally all vanished. Insurance ran out so fast as we both faced a dismal and frustrating future. Then the people of West Texas rallied to create a place where my dad could connect with other people coping with aphasia. We both learned new communication strategies. What a relief that the Aphasia Center of West Texas gave BOTH of us a life filled with activity, friendship and purpose.

1

Client Served

Rating: 5

My wife suffered a life changing stroke in June of 2005 that left her with a debilitating affliction known as aphasia, the loss of speech. From the first day that we learned of this problem we were told about the Aphasia Center here in Midland, Texas, one of only a handful in the United States. We, and I say that because it is not only a place for the folks with aphasia to go but also a place for family members to go for support that other agencies cannot offer. The center offers a computer class, art class, book club, conversation group (remember, these are people who have lost the ability to speak, not their intellect), as well as local field trips. A couple of the trips were to see the Titanic exhibit at the Science Spectrum in Lubbock, Texas, another was to the Windmill museum also in Lubbock, Texas. The center offers classes four days a week, my wife attends all four days, has a wheel chair lift van with a driver that picks up clients in the mornings and also takes them back home in the afternoon. The West Texas Aphasia Center also has a speech therapist on staff to help not only with regaining speech but to help clients learn other ways of communication such as drawing, using electronic devises that are aphasia friendly, writing, and even getting up and showing what they are trying to get across. A favorite among the members is the raised garden that was designed by local master gardeners that allows them to work a garden that is wheel chair compatible where there is no bending or kneeling required. They have grown squash, tomatoes, jalapenos, okra, zucchini, just to name a few, along with some of the prettiest flowers in town. On the third Friday of every month the Aphasia Center offers a Friends and Family support group for clients families and care givers. This is a time to discuss the ups and downs we each had during the previous month as well as offer support to each other, especially to families that are new to aphasia. In closing I would like to thank the staff of the West Texas Aphasia Center for the time and effort they give each day to the members and clients they so wonderfully serve. a.pha.sia (uh-fay'-zhuh) n. An impairment of the ability to use or comprehend words, usually acquired as a result of a stroke or other brain injury.