Over 1.8 million nonprofits and charities for donors, volunteers and funders

2017 Top-Rated Nonprofit

Activated Ministries

Claim This Nonprofit

More Info

Add to Favorites

Share this Nonprofit

Donate

Nonprofit Overview

Causes: Christianity, Education, Elementary & Secondary Schools, International, International Development, Literacy, Religion, Religion-Related

Mission: Activated Ministries is a California 501(c)(3) non-profit established in 1999. Our focus is supporting humanitarian and mission-based programs, producing and distributing educational and inspirational materials, and providing post-secondary education scholarships for the children of those who have engaged in charitable service.

Programs: Activated Ministries provides support for missionary outreach in the US & Canada by providing teaching materials and Christian magazines, books and other resources for use in their ministries. These resources include the monthly Activated! magazine which includes Bible studies and lessons on faith, prayer, witnessing and other principals relating to our spiritual life and service; inspirational and instructional books to help readers develop their personal relationship with God; and video and audio tapes designed to inspire faith and promote the principals of a Christ-based life. Our Food and Raiment Program provides weekly food distribution to needy individuals, families and local non-profits to supplement their ministries. Shoes and clothes are also shipped to missionary outreach programs overseas.

Community Stories

35 Stories from Volunteers, Donors & Supporters

Client Served

Rating: 5

I am thrilled to be awarded a scholarship from the Activated Ministries scholarship program. The $1000 scholarship was a great help for my nursing degree. I can't thank them enough for all they've done for me.

Client Served

Rating: 5

My experience with Activated Ministries is that they are the real deal! We experienced first hand their generosity and true giving spirit when our family of 8 most needed help. Time and time again I have seen them reach out to others and give as much as they are able. What they are accomplishing in Uganda, through their scholarship program, their support in disaster relief, just to name a few initiatives, is really incredible to me. They are truly changing lives for the better!

Client Served

Rating: 5

I want to thank Activated Ministries for their generous donation of a vehicle when we needed it most!
My husband, our 4 children and I arrived to a new city to start our lives over and did not have a vehicle to get around.
Although new beginings are tough Activated Ministries helped us not only with physycal help in a vehicle but also the encouragement we needed.
We are forever grateful and will never forget their generosity, and kindness.

1

Client Served

Rating: 5

Thanks to Activated Ministries our project at a rural school was a great success and 120 teenagers now have the opportunity to learn computer basics! The school serves over 600 children and young people from four different villages. We were so thankful for the donation of 4 brand new computers from Activated Ministries. They will make a huge difference to the IT education of these young people who otherwise might not have an opportunity to be exposed to computers and learn even the basics. We are very grateful to Activated Ministries and those who have donated to make these important projects possible.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

thack 07/01/2013

Happy we could help, Maria!

1

Client Served

Rating: 5

I was Project Manager of Family Volunteer Services of Nepal from 1995 til 2008 and Activated Ministries had helped us on that needy mission field many a time with sponsored educational materials, Activated magazines and Christian literature, music CDs, and A/V DVDs--And even donating to us the expensive digital masters so that we could set up a local language studio! I know they have their share of the rewards of our labor, and I'm happy to give them their fair credit due. Thanks Activated Ministries! --James F Smith http://www.familycare.org/network/family-volunteer-services-of-nepal

Comments ( 1 )

profile

thack 06/18/2013

Happy we could be of service!

2

Client Served

Rating: 5

My name is Philip Foy and I have been working with Activated Ministries since 2001. I am very thankful for their support and collaboration in sponsoring a variety of projects I have helped with. Activated Ministries contribution has enabled us to print many thousands of educational booklets and Christian tracts for ministries around the world, notably materials in Portuguese for outreach in Mozambique, Christian materials in French for ministry in French speaking Africa, and materials for ministering to the Saharauis, a group of nearly 200,000 war refugees living in extreme conditions in the Western Sahara desert since 1975. It has been rewarding to hear the response to our efforts in lives changed and hope restored.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

thack 06/18/2013

It's rewarding for us to hear of the lives changed through your ministry. Keep it up, Phillip and team!

1

Client Served

Rating: 5

Each day as I visit the ships I am very thankful to be able to give the crew Christian magazines to encourage their faith and relieve their stress. Many sailors experience long contracts away from home, rough seas and increased piracy threats. Thank you Activated Ministries for your continued support in providing Christian materials. The crew really appreciate the reading materials.
Irene Glase, Melbourne Port Ministry

Comments ( 1 )

profile

thack 06/17/2013

We're happy to help! You've got a great work going, Irene!

2 Mark94

Client Served

Rating: 5

Activated Ministries made it possible for 14,157 underprivileged children in India to receive quality educational books through our unique program called Values in Education. It has empowered 37 institutions with 58 libraries of relatable and effective teaching tools along with curriculums focused on character and holistic based education.

The vision of Activated Ministries made us feel encouraged and supported, like they understood our needs and cared about the cause. The interaction we experienced was a blend of flexibility and professionalism, as they were willing to factor in the realities and limitations we faced on the ground level, while guiding us in best practices and expectations of good quality project building. Values in Education could not have made the impact documented to-date without the sponsorship and encouragement of Activated Ministries.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

thack 06/17/2013

Keep up the good work, Mark! We're proud to be a part of VIE's program.

2 Carina H.

Client Served

Rating: 5

As I complete my 300 hours of field experience in Early Childhood Education and prepare for my final examinations I can’t help but thank God and Activated Ministries for making my educational dream and journey a reality. May my work with children be a testament to their investment. Thank You! -- Carina Hanson, Liberty Hill Texas

Comments ( 1 )

profile

thack 06/17/2013

You are very welcome, Carina! Our investment in your future ministry is our pleasure.

1

Client Served

Rating: 5

Activated Ministries recently donated books, backpacks and school supplies to our preschool that serves low income children in Mexico. They also brought clothing and shoes - many of the kids who come to our day care live in extreme poverty and all of these items are so very appreciated. The Activated Ministries Staff are wonderful, caring individuals - I'm so happy to count them as my friends, and especially grateful for all they have done to change our part of the world.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

thack 06/17/2013

We're happy we can help you make a difference in these children's lives! Keep up the good work!

1 Guetta D.

Client Served

Rating: 5

Activated Ministries Scholarship Tuition program helped me get started studying, it means so much to have the support of organizations like you who make the road a bit lighter.
Thanks to this program I will have a university degree in 2015, most of my first year´s tuition was sponsored by Activated Ministries, not only that but the very helpful volunteers and or secretary with whom I communicated went to extremes in helping me get the needed paperwork and information translated and forward from abroad.
You have made a huge difference in my life, I am eternally grateful to you. I hope to one day be able to help you pass it on to other students.
Sincerely,
David Grupp Mayo

Client Served

Rating: 5

Another successful project completed thanks to Activated Ministries!

Getting books and teaching materials to our staff in troubled East DRC is one of our biggest challenges and the need is so great. Activated Ministries far exceeded our expectations by not only agreeing to sponsor the needed French publications for our 12 month outreach and teaching program, but agreed to sponsor the costs of getting the books there--a greater cost than the materials themselves! Tx guys, couldn't have done it without your generous support!

Previous Stories

Client Served

Rating: 5

Our non-profit has had the priviledge of collaborating with Activated Ministries on outreach projects in South Africa, Zambia, Namibia, Uganda, DRC, Malawi and Zimbabwe. I have always found them prompt, professional, interested and generous in their interactions and support. A few hightlights of our work with Activated Ministries: In 2010 they sponsored the magazines we needed for our country-wide youth outreach program for World Cup 2010. They sent representatives to work along side and report back in order to gain a first-hand perspective of the impact of their grant, as well as future needs here on the ground. Throughout 2011 and 2012 they have enabled us to supply a growing youth ministry in Malawi with thousands of dollars worth of books and Bible study materials for their students. For Christmas 2011 they supported our Give a Book initiative, helping us provide story books and audio books to schools for autistic and impaired learners. We look forward to partnering on other life-changing programs going forward!

1 Jeff38

Client Served

Rating: 5

Our Healing Hearts Balkans charity has had a long-running positive relationship with Activated Ministries. They have twice given generous grants to sponsor our character-building curriculum book printing so we can donate this excellent material free of charge to needy elementary schools and kindergartens in Serbia and Kosovo.

The staff of Activated Ministries have always been very professional in their dealings with our charity, and we appreciate very much all they do in both the printing of top quality children's material themselves, and sponsoring many wonderful charitable organisations around the world.

Previous Stories
3

Client Served

Rating: 5

The folks at Activated Ministries helped us in 2010 with very generous sponsorship towards the cost of printing character-building material for kindergarten and school-aged children which we could distribute freely here in our area of former Yugoslavia that has suffered greatly due to war and sanctions. Then in 2011 they again generously sponsored the follow-up printing of the second set of books. This material has helped literally tens of thousands of needy children, and without the help of Activated Ministries, it would not have been possible. The communications with their staff was friendly and easy, and the grant process and reporting not at all complicated. We consider AM a very professional and beneficial charity.

1

Client Served

Rating: 4

I have been working in Africa since 1995, mainly with underprivileged children's projects. It can be difficult to get support but Activated Ministries has come to the rescue twice now by happily supplying materials & finances to help get out job done. Without organisations such as this one who reach out to help others the world would be a much darker place - A BIG thank you to all at Activated for your selfless efforts to reach out to others.

Previous Stories
3

Client Served

Rating: 5

I would like to thank Activated Ministries for their help towards our Kidz camp in South Africa for underprivileged children, their kindness & consideration made this project really special. They helped us with costs towards transport, activiities as well as some of their wonderful story books to share with the children attending. Every interaction with them was such a sample of concern & patience. THANK YOU & keep up the good work!

Client Served

Rating: 5

I was awarded a scholarship from Activated Ministries last year.
I live in Bogota, Colombia and I'm studying Business Administration at Universidad Militar.
This is just a short write up to say thanks to Activated Ministries, which paid my last tuition, and also to the donors who made it possible.

A heartfelt thanks to all of you.
Victoria Sharp

Review from Guidestar

Previous Stories
2

Client Served

Rating: 5

They helped me out with a scholarship, I applied and a few months later i was granted it, it so cool, specially when you really need it.(My parents were missionaries for more than 20 yrs in south america) It's a scholarship for missionary children.

2 Daniel32

Client Served

Rating: 5

This year I have had the distinct pleasure of being awarded a second IROS Scholarship offered by Activated Ministries. This scholarship is offered to current or former missionaries and their children. My parents have been missionaries in Asia for over 30 years and they now have 3 kids in university, so this scholarship has certainly been a benefit.
As a busy 4+1 student (5-year bachelor and masters program) in a foreign country, funding your own studies can be a bit stressful, so I'm very pleased to have learned of this scholarship, and grateful to have been accepted as a recipient. The process was simple and straightforward and the feedback was timely. From my experience they are a really awesome organization.

Previous Stories
1

Client Served

Rating: 5

In early 2012 I applied for Activated Ministries' IROS scholarship. I was very grateful to have been accepted a couple months later. I grew up in a missionary family and my parents have been doing this work for over 30 years. 3 years ago I started my undergraduate in Journalism and now I am transitioning to a masters in International Relations. This scholarship is going to be a big help as I start a more grueling coursework and will enable me to focus more on my studies and be under less financial pressure. The application process was smooth and easy and the service was excellent. I want to say a big thank you to all those involved in this project. Thank you for all of your help around the world, and thanks for caring enough for students to help lighten their load. I hope one day to be able to pay back your generosity. :)

1

Client Served

Rating: 5

This Christmas 2012, Activated Ministries is providing toys, backpacks, coloring books, art supplies, and reading books for our Day Care center for children from struggling, low income families. We are extremely grateful for their support of our project! I also personally know many of their staff and volunteers and they are extremely dedicated, hard working, caring individuals dedicated to making the world a better place for those less fortunate.

Client Served

Rating: 4

I heard about Activated Ministries about 3 years ago, when I was looking for a sponsor for a project that I've been involved with in Mexico. Every year for Children's Day, I like to travel to Mexico (from my home in Texas), and make Children's Day special for children who live in poverty. Kids are my passion - and I always think that you never know how far an investment in a child will go! Activated Ministries sponsored some really great children's books that we were able to donate to children in 3 public schools in very poor neighborhoods. For many, it was the first time they had a book of their own that they could take home with them! It was very rewarding to see their eyes light up and know how special this moment was for each one.

1 Promesa P.

Client Served

Rating: 5

Thanks to Activated Ministries, I was able to receive my first IROS scholarship towards my nursing degree. With their help, I am now enrolled in my 3rd semester at Orange County Community college (I was also placed on their Spring 2012 Dean's List) and will be entering the nursing program this coming year. I am very grateful for the help and support they have given towards my life's career that will help support my family and many others in the years to come. I highly recommend their non-profit organization to anyone interested in supporting a great work! --Promesa Primus

Comments ( 1 )

profile

thack 01/25/2013

You're welcome, Promesa. Sounds like you've got a great thing going. Keep it up.

Client Served

Rating: 5

I am the founder and general director of a non-profit in Mexico, called "Sponsor a Book". One of our mission goals is the fostering of values through the promotion of reading and the free distribution of educational material in marginalized neighborhoods in Mexico and Central America. A friend who had benefited from Activated Ministries's support suggested that I contact them. The result: over the past 5 years, Activated Ministries has actively supported our work through donating literally tens of thousands of beautiful children's literature and children's activities books. To date, we have distributed, free of charge, to tens of thousands of poor children who, for the most part, had never owned a book, over 130,000 books fostering values. Many of these were sponsored by Activated Ministries. We wouldn't have been able to impact so many needy communities without their help, and are extremely thankful for their support!!! They are a charity well-worth endorsing!