Over 1.8 million nonprofits and charities for donors, volunteers and funders

2017 Top-Rated Nonprofit

Activated Ministries

Claim This Nonprofit

More Info

Add to Favorites

Share this Nonprofit

Donate

Nonprofit Overview

Causes: Christianity, Education, Elementary & Secondary Schools, International, International Development, Literacy, Religion, Religion-Related

Mission: Activated Ministries is a California 501(c)(3) non-profit established in 1999. Our focus is supporting humanitarian and mission-based programs, producing and distributing educational and inspirational materials, and providing post-secondary education scholarships for the children of those who have engaged in charitable service.

Programs: Activated Ministries provides support for missionary outreach in the US & Canada by providing teaching materials and Christian magazines, books and other resources for use in their ministries. These resources include the monthly Activated! magazine which includes Bible studies and lessons on faith, prayer, witnessing and other principals relating to our spiritual life and service; inspirational and instructional books to help readers develop their personal relationship with God; and video and audio tapes designed to inspire faith and promote the principals of a Christ-based life. Our Food and Raiment Program provides weekly food distribution to needy individuals, families and local non-profits to supplement their ministries. Shoes and clothes are also shipped to missionary outreach programs overseas.

Community Stories

21 Stories from Volunteers, Donors & Supporters

Volunteer

Rating: 5

Activated Ministries was a great help to the many people in Baja California who need dental work, by donating a large RV which will be used as a traveling dental office. Their generous donation made this project possible!

Volunteer

Rating: 5

A very active charity that helps others hands on, on the ground, in whatever way they can. When Hurricane Harvey hit Houston, Activated Ministries, donated vehicles and materials to missions whose housing and vehicles were under water from the flooding.
This charity also supports missions abroad such as Project Gulu in Africa that serves and educates children and their families in Uganda. I’ve had the opportunity to work up close with these folks and have seen them in action.

Volunteer

Rating: 5

In 2011 I worked with Patrocina Un Libro, a Mexico City-based organization sponsored by Activated Ministries. The organization’s mission is to provide educational material to underfunded schools, orphanages, and shelters for children. It was so wonderful to see the children’s faces light up as they received the books—and none of it would have been possible without Activated Ministries. We held weekly workshops with the children’s mothers and offered guidance and counsel. I will always remember this experience as it was life changing.
“Let us remember: One book, one pen, one child, and one teacher can change the world.” Malala Yousafzai

1 Mex M.

Volunteer

Rating: 5

We are very grateful to Activated Ministries for helping us over the years in our different projects here in Mexico. Through donating educational and inspirational materials as well as other goods needed by our mission center we have been able to further our outreach programs to the poor and needy.
Thank you so much for all your help!

Comments ( 1 )

profile

thack 06/20/2013

We're happy to be of service! God bless you for all your efforts and hard work.

1

Volunteer

Rating: 5

Our first experience with Activated Ministries was in 2008, when we first started a project in Lima, Peru with a small group of volunteers. We cannot emphasize more the help and support that they gave us. They were crucial in starting the humanitarian project. It was a tremendous blessing to have the backing of such a professional organization to sponsor educational materials the first year of our humanitarian work. For the last five years, because of the help of Activated Ministries, we were able to organize our annual "Sponsor a Book Program", donating books, audio and video materials, and other educational aids to hospitals, schools, kindergartens, and poor families. The individuals and institutions that received these products would not be able to afford these materials otherwise. That makes us even more grateful to Activated Ministries for making all this possible. Just recently, one of the directors of the schools that received these educational products commented to us on how much they enjoyed them and used them on a daily basis. We would like to thank you and commend you for your professionalism and dedication.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

thack 06/20/2013

That's wonderful! We're happy to help!

1

Volunteer

Rating: 5

I would like to personally thank Activated Ministries for the enormous part you play in making our projects in Thailand possible. Whether it's being able to give needed educational materials for a school in financial crises, or being able to help a remote school which is often overlooked with an educational pack. - Whether it's finding that the products from Activated Ministries are the perfect foundation for motivational classes at a center for abused children, or that the motivational children's books from Activated Ministries are the ideal thing to leave with a bed-ridden child, to give him happiness and a positive attitude. The point is, in our many projects we organize to help children throughout Thailand, having Activated Ministries as our partner gives us the confidence that each project will be a success, because we know we have amazing products to give that have the ability to change lives. Activated Ministries, the smiles we see when we give your products and the stories we hear about the impact they have, never cease to inspire us.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

thack 06/20/2013

Thanks for the updates! We love keeping up with everything going on over there! Keep up the good work!

2 Susan213

Volunteer

Rating: 5

In my over 40 years as a volunteer Christian missionary, the greatest aid to my outreach to a variety of peoples has been through the beautiful Aurora Products from Activated Ministries, which I am able to distribute & gift on a personal level.
From mothers in need of counsel & help with homeschooling their children of many ages, to those individuals of all ages who I meet, diagnosed with cancer (or some other disease) in need of encouragement in their final days… From teenagers who crave someone to just listen, & give them simple unbiased answers & directional sound bytes… to those entering & experiencing the vast changes in their lives with the onset of the golden years, I have used the versatile products provided at Activated Ministries to reach hearts & help to heal in the lives of hundreds.
Thank you, Activated, for also being so personally available & constantly gracious in our interactions & partnering to reach out to so many! God bless you! Susan Weiler, Austin, Texas


Comments ( 1 )

profile

thack 06/18/2013

Keep up the good work, Susan!

2

Volunteer

Rating: 5

Activated Ministries has lent their support to our volunteer efforts in Northern Japan after the earthquake and tsunami in 2011. Since then, they have helped to sponsor four relief trips and a summer camp for the children and parents who lost their homes in the disaster.
We could not have accomplished so much without their help.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

thack 06/18/2013

And thank you for all time and effort you have put into helping the Tsunami refugees as well. We, at Activated Ministries, are proud to be a part of your efforts!

Previous Stories
3

Volunteer

Rating: 5

After the Earthquake and Tsunami that occurred in 2011 here in Japan, Activated Ministries helped to sponsor the distribution of clothing, food, books for children, and other items that were not covered by government organized relief programs. Our team of volunteer workers were sponsored by Activated Ministries and were able to make 6 trips to villages such as Higashimatsushima, Satohama, and many other hard-hit areas. Without the Activated Ministries' sponsorship, we would not have been able to reach so many. -Yoko Matsuoka for the Phoenix Project http://inorinotomoen.wordpress.com/

2

Volunteer

Rating: 5

Good day everyone. My name is Michael Fogarty and I am a professional musician in Japan. Christmas 2011 I was asked to put together a band for a Christmas Party at the Kanyo Hotel in Minamisanriku Japan. Minamisanriku is where the tsunami had the most devastating effects, leaving thousands dead and the whole town was destroyed except this one luxury hotel in the mountains. I said yes, and then went searching for other professionals who would be willing to help make the 1000km trip by car. This was already enough to ask to do all this without payment, but we had to pay our own expenses. I then found out that not only were our expenses not to be covered, but we would also have to pay for two nights in the hotel with meals. Adding all these expenses up for a 5 piece band was around $2000! (If you've never lived in Japan, tolls and gas are-Ouch-)
I had heard about Activated and Tom Hack (director) and the work they were doing and thought, well it never hurts to ask. I was going through the expenses list trying to see what I should pay such as preparing my car for the snow, meals there and back etc. I then sent a mail to Activated and Tom mentioned they had a budget for the tsunami relief and that if I sent a detailed list of the expenses they would be happy to pay in full!!! And that they did. We had a great Christmas party with over 350 guests, 80% of which had lost either their houses, loved ones, or livelihood. Thanks to you all at Activated. You rock.
I pray for your success and would so much love to call on you again.
The world is needy. May we together continue to reach out.
Michael Fogarty
owner, director infiniti studios
Japan

Comments ( 1 )

profile

thack 06/17/2013

Happy to be of service!

1

Volunteer

Rating: 5

Without the sponsorship and efficiency of Activated Ministries, our non-profit could not have made the impact and needed changes in the remote villages and schools near Santana, Peru. "World Famiiy Missions" 501-(c)3, from Texas, has been volunteering in Santana the last five years, to build a mission center that provides job and vocational skills training for adults. Mothers were always primarily concerned for the education of their disadvantaged children, so to win the hearts and confidence of these remote and needy people, we distributed character-building materials from Activated for every school in the surrounding area. It was the generous help of these life-changing materials from Activated that won the entire area. The children's books are absolutely the best. We have never found better. Now we are well-known for these beautiful materials and welcomed back every year. Thus a huge Thank You to Activated Ministries for the production, sponsorship and mailing of their publications to Peru the last three years.

1 Matt31

Volunteer

Rating: 5

When the need is so great and the amount of kids many --that fill the hall at a program in a remote area in Africa, --its great to have a mission that dedicates their time to support you. I have had the privilege of donating thousands of teaching aids and school materials sponsored by Activated Ministries in the last years, and it has made a bigger impact on the volunteer projects I have partaken in... Keep up the good work, the next project is just around the corner!

Previous Stories
1

Volunteer

Rating: 5

My experience with Activated Ministries has been very positive. For over ten years our volunteers have been active in Warn Torn countries in Africa. Our hope has been to support children in crisis with character building products and motivational teaching aids. Activated played a big role in sponsoring a large amount of books/teaching aids with value that have been viewed by thousands of children. Most of these kids never had a book of their own---now they do. We hope that Activated Ministries will continue to receive in abundance and thus continue to support us in our mission. Once again, a heartfelt thank you!

Comments ( 1 )

profile

thack 01/25/2013

We are happy to help! God bless and keep up the good work, Matt.

1

Volunteer

Rating: 5

I have been a missionary for years and now that I am studying to become a teacher IROS Scholarship program has made a big difference in financing my studies. I was able to get a loan for the first courses, then IROS Scholarship helped me cover the costs for the next course and I am able to continue my studies . My goal is to graduate as a teacher so I can help underprivileged children in their studies and thus have a better future. I want to give children at risk the chance to overcome the obstacles they face for a better life

Comments ( 1 )

profile

thack 01/25/2013

Sounds like you've got a great goal, Gloria, and we are happy we can be a part of making that happen.

Volunteer

Rating: 3

Hi my name is Daniella Bergner and I was born in Hungary. We have been doing volunteer work my whole life and I have travelled and helped in different countries alongside my parents as I was growing up. I am very, very thankful to Activated Ministries for helping me with my university tuition. Thank you so much for paying the first semester! You make it all possible for me to keep studying languages on a higher level and I know it will be a help to others as well in the long run! Thank You!

Volunteer

Rating: 5

My name is Krisztián Buncic, I'm 18 years old and grew up in Hungary, Eastern Europe. My parents have raised me while doing volunteer work throughout my whole life. I just finished high school and received my diploma. I would like to express my gratitude to all those working on this project! I'm so thankful that I got this sponsorship opportunity from the Activated Ministries. It is a tremendous help that they made it possible for me to continue studying - at the University of Medicine in Budapest. Winning the scholarship with AM has enabled me to continue my dreams and do what I have been doing my whole life, helping others. Thank you AM for Your help, and paying for my first Semester! I know it will pay off one day! :)

1

Volunteer

Rating: 5

I am so grateful to have been a beneficiary of Activated Ministries projects -- their educational grants. With their assistance I was able to work through three semesters worth of university study and earned a place on the Deans List of my college. Thank you for making my dream a reality.

1

Volunteer

Rating: 5

My name is Mark Hanson, I have been living in India for the last 16 years and have been involved in a great deal of humanitarian work. Activated has come forward to partner my wife and I on a very exciting project called Values in Education. We have been able to reach over 10,000 children with educational books due to their patronage. I feel this charity is making a great impact and affecting a lot of positive change.

1 Milusha

Volunteer

Rating: 5

By Govorukha Nataliya, Ukraine.

I want to thank the Activated Ministries hundreds of times!
They make such a difference in the people’s lives!
I know it, because they helped me (by paying for my studies in 2011 - 2013).
With the scholarship from Activated Ministries I got an opportunity to
continue my studies for two years. I will receive my Bachelor’s Degree
in Russian. I am studying Philology and it is fascinating.
Now I know Russian, English and Bosnian. After I get the Diploma I
could teach Russian on any level: private lessons, in kindergartens,
in schools, in high schools, in even in colleges. Studying at Kharkov
National University is a privilege for me that I wouldn’t have without
Activated Ministry support.
Also being a student of the University I got invited to lead the
English speaking club, where I teach motivational classes, to remind
people of life’s true values, to uplift the moral principals, to
encourage youth to have right goals in life.
Also I have numerous possibilities to meet variety of students who
could volunteer in different projects that I participate in or
organize. There is Art-therapy for orphan teenagers and Drama therapy
for the handicapped children.
I am grateful for all this events that happened and doors that opened
because of my studies at the University. I am also very thankful for
all the new people I met and new friends I made, because of the
finances that was sent by Activated Ministries to cover my 2 years
studies.
I believe that Activated Ministry’s acts of kindness help to change
the World for the better.

1

Volunteer

Rating: 5

My name is Daniel McNally and I been serving as a missionary in Taiwan for 25 years. Thank you Activated Ministries for your generous support to our ministry here for the last 8 years by donating literally thousands of "Activated" magazines, Gospel CDs, Books and Christian literature for our regular Hospital visitation projects. AM has also sponsored books and educational materials to a local orphanage here, which was extremely appreciative. Each time we requested assistance, they were very efficient, even expediting requests speedily in order to supply the materials on time for our events.

3

Volunteer

Rating: 5

Great group of people, very knowledgeable and just really nice Christians to talk to. I bought a magazine as a recommendation from a friend and really enjoyed it. When I have some money saved I want to support their scholarship program. As far as the question: "did they use my time wisely", I think the question should be "did I use their time wisely" lol! They were kind enough to take their time and answer all my questions. Blessings.

Review from CharityNavigator