Over 1.8 million nonprofits and charities for donors, volunteers and funders

In Our Hands Rescue

Claim This Nonprofit

More Info

Add to Favorites

Share this Nonprofit

Donate

Nonprofit Overview

Causes: Animal Protection & Welfare, Animals

Mission: In our hands rescue, inc. Was formed to serve the needs of the community by rescuing shelter animals, strays, others and to help ameliorate pet overpopulation by adhering to strict spay and neuter guidelines, and to place rescued aminals into permanent approved homes.

Programs: Veterinary and animal hospital fees

boarding, training, grooming and transportation

Community Stories

24 Stories from Volunteers, Donors & Supporters

2 Mary323

Client Served

Rating: 5

Thank you for the wonderful rescue dogs that you transported from Missouri and were adopted by us in New York. Each dog was accurately described, well cared for in their journey and absolutely saved from GAS KILL shelters. Without your organization, these dogs would not have had a chance. Two were very elderly, although full of life, and were saved from death row. We will always be grateful to you Jennifer, for your time, selfless caring and genuine wish to save dogs and cats. God Bless You! Dr. Mary Rose Paster

1

General Member of the Public

Rating: 1

My friend fostered a small black lab from In Our Hands Rescue last year. We met them at unleashed pet store in East Village. The puppy did not seem well, was listless and tired. They told us it was tired from the drive from Georgia. We tried to feed the little guy but he wouldn't eat and didn't have energy. Within 24 hours we called the organization to tell them the puppy was not well. They said don't worry and agreed to meet us the next day, Monday morning at Penn Station. The puppy died later that day, had pneumonia. Heartbreaking.

6

Client Served

Rating: 1

After reading the previous reviews here it is incredibly helpful to see we are not alone in the problems we are dealing with with this organization. I want to share my story as well so people looking for a dog/cat can be informed of how In Our Hands operates. I hope they will choose another route and go to a different shelter or organization that cares more for their animals.

My fiancee and I were looking to add another dog to our household and decided to try fostering first from In Our Hands rescue after finding them on instagram. After we were approved to foster we offered to take in a large Saluki mix named Apollo coming over from Dubai (he actually came over with Ben who is mentioned in the review below) in June. We had to meet at a location in Brooklyn to pick him up immediately after he landed from his flight. As we know they are a smaller organization we did not expect much when picking him up but after we arrived, I realized the person I had been in contact with to set everything up was not even present. We were a little confused as some strangers that did not run the organization just handed us the dog without checking any ID or giving us any paperwork etc. I was told to just text the person I had been talking to a picture to confirm I had the dog.

After about a week as he seemed to be fitting in well with our family (my household consists of myself, my fiancee, a 9 year old American Eskimo, a 4 year old Beagle/Lab mix, and a small cat) and since we had been told he was very calm and sweet, was good with people, children, all other dogs, cats, was up to date with all vaccinations, had no previous health problems and was currently healthy/recently vet checked we decided to adopt him. Despite showing some signs of leash aggression (which we informed the rescue of immediately), we agreed that if this was his only issue, it was something that we could work with. We consulted a dog trainer about this who confirmed it was common and workable. After paying the adoption fee ($720 which we were told was due to him coming over from Dubai but we are now noticing they seem to just charge whatever they feel like) and discussing what we noticed in person and going over his information again, we took Apollo to our vet and signed him up for a health plan. It was then that we learned that he was underweight and suffering from a severe ear infection on both ears. We were concerned as we were told he arrived to NY in good health and were not liable for taking on any medical care as fosters so he was not immediately treated until we chose to adopt him. We got him the proper treatment and his condition was quickly alleviated. This was when we first saw the changes in his temperament.

Apollo was previously very friendly with everyone that he met. He was very good with our dogs and cat. He was so great with me and my fiancée and we became attached quickly. He was generally a couch potato and pretty calm inside the house. Unfortunately as he became healthy and more comfortable in our home we started noticing signs of fear/aggression towards certain strangers and he became very dominant and rough with our other pets. He lunged at our vet at his follow up appointment as well as two of our friends who were visiting that he hadn't met previously. Finally he attacked our 25 lb. American Eskimo who is older and not able to easily defend himself. He was injured badly and needed vet care. For reference Apollo is kitchen counter height and weighs 50 lbs. Our dogs have been very on edge since then and have stopped getting along at all. We have to keep Apollo separated to avoid any further altercations. Our vet advised us of his concerns for our other dogs safety due to their size in comparison to his and suggested the environment and his better health could be effecting his behaviors more. We quickly made the realization that we were provided false information regarding his temperament and health. Had we been provided accurate information in advance we would not have considered adopting him.

We quickly reached out to In Our Hands to express our concerns with Apollo after each incident. We were concerned since what we were experiencing was so drastically different than what we were told about him. We wanted to request assistance in returning the dog. Due to the circumstances we did not believe he was in the right household and should be placed somewhere without other small pets/children. We were contractually obligated to return the dog to them if we could not keep him. After some back and forth and us needing to provide proof of what was happening, they finally agreed to take him back in late August. They let us know it would be to euthanize him if we can't keep him as they can't look for a new home for him and will not have his behaviors looked at or provide any additional training for him due to lack of resources. To this day they still have not met the dog or assessed him personally.

This was such heartbreaking news to us and we feel is something that should be considered only as the very last resort for severe issues. We were also shocked as their website claims they are a no-kill organization. We could not believe that a no-kill organization would want to put down a dog as their first option in this situation. Due to our disagreements over his future they have given us permission to try to rehome him ourselves or find another organization willing to work with him first. We ended up talking more with our trusted local shelters regarding this for advice. The general consensus was that the best place for him would be a sanctuary and that normally under these circumstances the rescue would be responsible for arranging that. We then did not hear from In Our Hands for 2 weeks. We were unable to locate a sanctuary that had room for him so we reached back out to them to see if they had come up with anything. They again proposed that we take him to be euthanized and they would reimburse us for it but if we could continue to keep him for an unspecified amount of time they might be able to place him somewhere in Georgia (that was all the info we could get). We stated that as mentioned - we would not put him down due to our personal views but also that we could not keep due to the safety of our other pets without a firm date and sooner rather than later. We further asked if they would pay to have him boarded while they wait to have him moved or if we could drop him back off for them to figure out another place to hold him in. They refused both proposals.

We had been experiencing rude, insulting, and unprofessional comments from Jennifer and her team throughout this entire experience. They did not care what had happened to our dog that was bit and seemed to not even believe us without receiving photos. They did not seem to be taking the situation seriously and we often felt as if we were working harder to rehome him and caring more for his welfare than they were. They did not believe they needed to assume any responsibility for this and blew us off many times. When they did answer us it was always noted that they were not obligated to help us with anything. After we asked for money to assist with boarding him though is when Jennifer took things completely out of control. She not only refused to speak face to face or even on the phone with us, it often took us up to 4 follow up emails to even get a response from her. She refused to take the dog back and threw insults at us trying to guilt us into continuing to keep a dangerous dog in our home so that they did not have to deal with. She was alleging that we were trying to abandon the dog because we told her it was an unsafe environment for him to stay with us and thought boarding was a safer option. She alleged that we gave him a death sentence despite her being the one who proposed to euthanize him, while we put ourselves at risk to look for a better option. She also suggested that instead of boarding him that we can decide to euthanize him "with our own hands at the vet or a high-kill shelter" (verbatim quote from her email). She then threatened to publicly shame us.

This has been such a shocking experience for us as animal lovers with all adopted pets that previously came from abused and neglected homes. We were embarrassed enough to have to give a dog back but ultimately decided that safety of our other pets took priority. They made sure to prey on that and try to make us feel as if we caused him to be this way and made us feel trapped within our own home by not taking him back. They made us feel guilty and stupid for being so honest and transparent about what we were dealing with but we could not bear to withhold any information in case it caused another adopter to be in danger. To see an organization not do their due diligence to provide accurate information about an animal up for adoption and to not take the time to properly assess medical conditions and behavior is appalling and completely negligent. Please beware of this organization, they are no better than a puppy mill. They are more concerned with their image on social media and pulling in excessively high profits from adoption fees than the safety and welfare of these animals.

4

Client Served

Rating: 1

I was charged a $650 fee for an adoption fee from this company for a dog named Ben. After training, the trainer indicated that the age and general medical makeup of this dog on the medical certificate was inaccurate and the dog would be better served for a family (he was recommended for a studio).

When I saw the medical records said Brody, and my receipt said Bailey, I was suspicious. I voiced these concerns, and was asked to return the dog if I'm uncomfortable and told I'd get a refund. When I arrived the dog was pulled from my possession - they grabbed him by the leash, claimed it was their property and my $650 was a donation, not a purchase so that they can resell the dog. I never relinquished ownership of the dog - i came to discuss the matter, not return him and let go of the leash because I didn't want to choke him - I wasn't going to have a tug of war over a dog - who does that?

There were not even any questions about training - signals the dog learned, food preferences, etc., all things that were discovered through 2 weeks of love and training. It was all focused on reselling. As much as they say they care about the dogs, they had no interest in helping the dog get his toys or learning about the dog - it was all about getting possession to resell the dog a second time. Who knows? Maybe they've already resold him 2 or 3 times.

This business is highly unethical, and is using its nonprofit status to perpetuate fraud (at least in my instance) - it builds trust when it's knowingly misleading the public, and essentially stealing possession of the dog when they complain by assuring them they can replace it for a better suited dog or get a refund.

The reality is they just want to resell the dog a second time. They charge whatever they think they could get, state it's a fee, then lie and state it's a donation such that the course of dealings are irrelevant.

They will reply that dog's age are hard to ascertain so even if they're wrong it's not their fault, and I was told to wait to bring him to a vet till they gave the go ahead to fix him (which never came) -- ultimately here's what seems to have happened --

They asked me to return the dog so that I wouldn't go to the vet to get an alternate opinion from an expert on record. They basically used that they're a nonprofit to make me trust them, just to STEAL the dog to resell them. My opinion is they may have been concerned I'd investigate the issue further, and expose what they are doing.

Regardless, my experience was this is a company of poor attitude - i have audio recordings of Jennifer yelling about the age and it being "their dog to resell," and then she went so far as to say that the statement "we'll discuss a refund when you come" meant that we'd discuss the no refund policy. This was after they STOLE, again, STOLE the dog by grabbing him by the leash. I didn't relinquish possession - i let go to avoid harming the animal and was appalled by their dishonesty and conduct.

6

Client Served

Rating: 1

My girlfriend and I adopted a 5 year-old dog at an event on 4/1. Jennifer helped us with the logistics and was VERY clear that the dog had had puppies and needed to be spade. Long story short, we pick up the dog from the OR today and we're told that the dog had been spade previously and they had anesthetized the dog and made the incision before they realized this.

Absolutely unbelievable to me. Jennifer - next time try this phrase: "we are not sure whether or not this dog has been spade, you will need to check with your local vet". See how that is a bit different then saying - "Here's the number to call to set up the appointment to get her spade"? Okay, good.

Never again with these idiots. Don't even take the risk, the ASPCA or any other legitimate adoption group will handle medical needs of the pet before releasing them. The dog is amazing, it is sad that she had to be put through this situation because of the stupidity of their staff.

11

Client Served

Rating: 1

We adopted a puppy from them a few weeks ago. We are now trying to get a vaccination record that is signed by a Vet so our dog doesn't have to be revaccinated. We have called Jennifer (the person listed as the owner) and sent several emails. When we got her on the phone, she was pretty nasty but I am still hoping she will help us out. Her suggestion is to use her recommended vet and other vendors. There is something about her that is not on the up and up. She took $500 cash from me and didn't give me a receipt or anything. I appreciate what they are doing but it does feel like this is more of a "for profit" company than a charity.

If we don't hear from her with the paperwork we need, I am going to call the better business bureau...any other suggestions?

7

Client Served

Rating: 2

I am currently fostering a dog from In Our Hands. First of all, the dog was described to me as a "lab mix" when she is clearly a pit bull mix, but that's fine as she is wonderful and well-natured. When I first came to the event to meet the dog and take her home, they basically just handed her to me and told me good bye. All I got sent with was the dog and her leash. They never checked ID or verified that I had submitted the online application. As this is my first time fostering, I had many questions about her vaccination history, what the next steps were to get her adopted, etc. I was given a quick answer of 'up-to-date' on vaccinations and to check the website for future adoption events. When I asked if I could have a copy of her vaccination records I was told "no" because this was a privilege only of the adopter. I have had this dog for nearly a month in my home, around my family, and around other neighborhood dogs and it makes me very nervous that I can't even see her vaccination records. The dog was also spayed while I was fostering her and again, I was given one choice of date to have this done and basically no information. Luckily everything is going alright so far. The actual dog is absolutely wonderful and while I respect what this organization is trying to do by saving these animals, they really need to get the business side of their effort in order. All dogs vaccination records need to be up-to-date and accessible. And any foster/adoption families should be checked out first. I'm thankful to them for saving these animals but also very worried about the lack of care they are taking with fostering/adopting them out.

5

Client Served

Rating: 4

I went to meet a Pomeranian and was second approved to adopt. They advised to show up anyway at their event saying that sometimes approved potential adopters don't show. When I showed the Pomeranian had already been taken -- they encouraged me to look at the other small dogs but I wasn't interested in these other small breeds. BUT. Then there was an incredibly beautiful elegant dog that totally blindsided me. My husband came to meet us -- and like me he immediately fell in love with her too. They say that dogs choose their owners, you can't tell from a picture of a certain dog - what's it's going to be like in real life, because a picture isn't real life. I had an expectation of getting a small dog, I went in there to pick up a Pomeranian and I came out with a Blue Heeler!! LOL. And I don't regret my decision for one second. We have the best ever in every single way, so for this I am grateful to IOHR. However, I also agree with the reason given for the lower ratings here because: they knew nothing about the dog and they also lied about her age saying she was nearly a year when she was actually only 7 months. Even when I emailed after and said the paperwork said she was 7 months Rachael said she was sure she was beset a year (I'd said I wanted a dog around a year or older) so I believe they will tell you what you want to hear in order to get the dogs adopted. Also, it felt like they made up the price on the spot -- we were planning on spending $200 max and she was just over $500.00. Which is INSANE for a rescue -- I understand this is not tax deductible when other charitable dog adoption organizations fees are --- so I don't know what to make if this. My phone had died though and they let me use their phone to call and talk to the recent foster mother so that was amazing. She'd only had her for a week though, and as these dogs had travelled from the South they must have known our dog was one that gets very car sick -- but this information was not provided and we discovered it after. In a cab. But, to my shame I got out and didn't tell the cab driver. Noones perfect.

Review from Guidestar

13

General Member of the Public

Rating: 1

This organization needs to be stopped. She is all about money. The lies she tells to get animals adopted is unfair to the dog and unfair to the unsuspecting family or person. No complete check of the dog. My dog was placed for adoption with her. I warned her that the dog wasn't house broke, had bad nerves, didn't handle small kids or dogs well. Could be dangerous to them. The dog would also go after cats. Would destroy the house if left alone. I rescued her and sadly couldn't afford the expense of proper training. With food aggression starting I knew it was time to do something or the poor dog would be miserable. When this organization took they advertised her as this problem free sweet house broken puppy. The complete opposite in fact she's a little over a year old. Don't use these people. The ASPCA doesn't even charge $400/500 for a dog. At the most $125 and it will be completely checked over

Comments ( 1 )

profile

inourhandsrescue 09/23/2015

Hi there - Would you mind reaching out to us and letting us know which dog you are talking about? You can email us at inourhandsrescue@gmail.com. In all honesty, we never would have agreed to take a place a dog who had all of those issues. We are very realistic about who we can place, and while we take as many hard cases as we can handle, this sounds like a dog we would not have been able to handle. We are also very upfront with our adopters about any potential behavioral (or medical) issues, because we do take our dogs back if adoptions don't work out, and we don't want them just bouncing back and forth. We want them to be set up for success, and that only comes with honesty. I'm just curious if you might be thinking of the wrong group. Please reach out, I would like to hear from you. Rachael Rescue Coordinator

13 berthamd

Client Served

Rating: 1

Do not adopt from these people. Jennifer is a liar and will say anything to get a dog adopted. I asked for a beagle mix no more than 30 pounds and ended up with an 85 pound hound mix,. Despite paying 400 dollars the dog was very sick, not microchipped or neutered and had not been vetted in foster care. More importantly she let me walk away with the puppy at 7 weeks knowing nothing av
Bout me. No home visit, no references. I have spent thousands of dollars bringing this dog back to health and training a huge dog to live in Manhattan.
This organization needs to be shut down!!! There are so many good, honest rescue groups and In Our Hands are just a bunch of lying, fanatics hellbent on getting dogs out of kill shelters but into God knows where as an alternative

Comments ( 1 )

profile

inourhandsrescue 09/23/2015

Hi Berthamd, Thank you for your review. I would like to point out that in rescue, we never know breeds for sure. If you would like to have a "beagle mix no more than 30 pounds," then you need to go to a breeder. If you want to rescue an animal, you understand that there is some push and pull and you need to leave wiggle room. We very clearly state in our contract that we do not guarantee breed or size. If you are unhappy with your pup, we do take our dogs back as we like to ensure that they are always placed into good homes. I don't appreciate the lies you are spreading - we reference check EVERY application that comes in. We deny something like 2-3 applications for each one we accept. We are very careful about where the dogs go. I would be happy to have a conversation with you anytime and prove to you that I am not a lying fanatic. Rescue is a very hard world to work in, and I wish you would consider just how hard it is for us before you write review like this that are only going to hurt the animals in the end. Rachael Rescue Coordinator

Previous Stories
12

Client Served

Rating: 1

My story is similar to the others. I had just put my 16 year old pug to sleep and went to a Petco adoption event where In Our Hands Rescue had a litter of puppies and some baby pits. Again, I had emailed Jennifer the day before to see what dogs she was bringing. When I got there, grief-struck and irrational from having had to put my dog to sleep 5 days prior, I expressed concern about adopting so soon. I also asked why there was no home visit or references taken. I was told"You wrote you're a doctor so you must be OK."
I could have been using dogs for vivesection for all Jennifer cared. I paid 400 dollars and was told the 7 week puppy was a beagle-lab mix, no more than 30-40lbs as they had seen the mother.He is currently 10 months old and 70 pounds and a German shepherd-coonhound mix
I was told he had his first set of shots and was dewormed. No sooner had I gotten him home he started scratching furiously and had horrible diarrhea. Long story short-2000 dollars later he was diagnosed hookworm, giardia, scabies which went undiagnosed by two vets and then severe behaviour issues. He bit me very badly repeatedly and when I called her she said I could return him but no refund, no other dog. I had to pay for microchip, neutering, animal behaviourists, etc. Puck is a wonderful dog now because he hit the Jackpot. I could afford to hire people for him, pay huge vet bills. DO NOT ADOPT FROM THESE PEOPLE!She does not check the dogs out and as someone wrote she is the equivalent of a puppy mill rescuer. She took advantage of my grief and unstable condition, lied to me about how "easy" raising a puppy would be and basically was unscrupulous and unethical. With so many reputable rescue groups around, this one needs to be closed. I assumed that Petco had vetted her which is why I even adopted from her.Shame on Petco and shame on you Jennifer! She should be shut down and I am filing a complaint with the city.

Comments ( 2 )

profile

inourhandsrescue 11/16/2014

Readers please note that this review is from a woman who adopted in February. We have made many changes to our organization since then, including never adopting an animal out without a reference check or multiple checks. We do vet our animals thoroughly, although if they come from the south as many of our animals do, sometimes they have other issues that arise after they are adopted (particularly if they are adopted right away as this 7 week old must have been), and we always tell people that health is not guaranteed because there is just no way to know of other issues that might come up. In terms of the breed, again we always tell adopters that the breed is a guess, unless we knew the mother. The puppies we adopt out are usually puppies that were abandoned down south, and we know very little about their history (they do see a vet and are given all of the medical treatment they need and all of the shots they can have for their ages). If anyone is concerned about our ethics, please feel free to contact us through our website - www.inourhandsrescue.org. We welcome your thoughts and suggestions, and are more than happy to answer any questions you might have about the adoption process.

profile

inourhandsrescue 11/16/2014

Readers please note that this review is from a woman who adopted in February. We have made many changes to our organization since then, including never adopting an animal out without a reference check or multiple checks. We do vet our animals thoroughly, although if they come from the south as many of our animals do, sometimes they have other issues that arise after they are adopted (particularly if they are adopted right away as this 7 week old must have been), and we always tell people that health is not guaranteed because there is just no way to know of other issues that might come up. In terms of the breed, again we always tell adopters that the breed is a guess, unless we knew the mother. The puppies we adopt out are usually puppies that were abandoned down south, and we know very little about their history (they do see a vet and are given all of the medical treatment they need and all of the shots they can have for their ages). If anyone is concerned about our ethics, please feel free to contact us through our website - www.inourhandsrescue.org. We welcome your thoughts and suggestions, and are more than happy to answer any questions you might have about the adoption process.

2

Client Served

Rating: 5

We've been looking to adopt a dog for months. When considering adopting from a few other New York shelters, we had negative experiences--including out of date available pets pages and poor, slow communication.

Not so with In Our Hands! They immediately reviewed our application, and once approved, we were able to meet and adopt our desired dog within a day! Our vet says that our new pup is one of the most healthy ones he's seen, which he credited to the great care his foster family must have given him through In Our Hands.

I recommend them to anyone who wants to adopt a new furry family member! We love In Our Hands!

1

Client Served

Rating: 5

We adopted a puppy a month ago from In Our Hands Rescue. Having rescued dogs before (young and old), the application and approval process was quick and went seemlessly. The puppy was 6 weeks old and had been rescued by IOHR from a high kill shelter in
Georgia with her 6 siblings and mother.
I commend then for saving these animals, especially at great distances from NY. It takes a lot of dedication and organization to do this as well as have foster families, and adoption sites lined up to take them when they arrive.
As with any shelter rescue, there may be common issues such as kennel cough, parasites, etc. and as a responsible pet owner, you should visit a vet when you get them, to get them off to a healthy start. All these things are very easy to treat.
IOHR was quick to respond to emails and kindly sent us photos of our puppy's mom so we could get a better sense of what she looked like.
We are grateful that organizations such as theirs exist! And IOHR seems to have a knack at saving sweet dogs from terrible situations. All of the adult dogs had amazing personalities, and the puppies of course irresistible.

2

Client Served

Rating: 5

This rescue does AMAZING work!!! I have adopted from them and can say they were professional, fair in their assessment and description of the dog I adopted (who is awesome now, but as the rescue communicated, had likely been abused so needed some understanding at first)!

I'm amazed at some of the negative reviews, people don't seem to understand that when rescuing a dog, the dog rescue organization isn't a breeder who can "pick and breed desirable traits". They take as many dogs as they can, many of whom have been abused and neglected. When taking on a pet, particularly a rescue, you are making a commitment, and should be prepared to honor that. AND if things don't work out this rescue will ALWAYS take the animal back. It's a living creature, not a sweater, you don't get to return it AND get your money back if you decide it's no longer convenient for you.

1 Sarah222

General Member of the Public

Rating: 5

My husband & I adopted our precous Sadie Mae from IOHR this past August - and it was a wonderful experience.
Our application was processed quickly, our references & vet contacted and we were approved for adoption.
Everyone who we were in contact during the process, Jennifer, Rachel & the foster mom Molly were all professional, and extremely helpful and accommodating.
We had originally planned to go into the city to an adoption fair on a Saturday & meet Sadie - but at the last minute, we decided to go in on Friday evening. We contacted Molly & arranged to meet her at her apartment to meet Sadie - it was love at first sight!
Sadie came to us healthy and with full medical records.
I would strongly recommend IOHR to anyone looking to adopt - you won't regreat it for a second.

2

Volunteer

Rating: 5

I've been volunteering as a foster for at least 5 years, all volunteer, no pay!! The payment is the satisfaction when they get that special home. I absolutely love doing this. I have been involved with 3 other rescues who drove me crazy by keeping their dogs at my house for a month or more. Jennifer and IN OUR HANDS RESCUE, does not do that. They care about their dogs. ♡♡♡♡

1

General Member of the Public

Rating: 5

I've had dogs all my life, from breeders & the streets & you never know what you're getting either way. No one can ever guarantee any animals health or temperament. But at IOHR the entire team is committed to matching the correct animal with the correct keeper. Thank you IOHR! We love our new baby! My husband and I adopted a 2 year old chiweenie from IOHR and the entire experience has been amazing. It started over the weekend at a mobile adoption event where we met the volunteers and fosters. I admire and thank all people who foster and open their homes and hearts to animals so they can properly be matched with their forever families. Foster parent Steven was informative and advised us of habits, schedule, temperament, and personality of our new girl, and she fits into our life and pack perfectly. She loves her sister Daisy (dog) and brother Beast (cat). We're so happy with the experience and look forward to all being together forever. I recommend everyone open their homes & hearts and rescue an animal from IOHR!!

Volunteer

Rating: 5

I've fostered 8 dogs for IOHR and will be fostering more dogs for them as long as possible. They do an excellent job finding homes for high-need dogs from kill shelters (usually in the South). They have been super supportive addressing the diverse needs of the puppies and dogs and are well-organized with their adoption events.

My own dog is from IOHR (she was my first foster) and I can't imagine life without her.

Client Served

Rating: 5

I started helping out IOHR as a foster and only ever had positive experiences with the rescue and the people who work with it. I recently just adopted a dog from them and I couldn't be happier. They went over all her medical down to the last detail and gave me advice on trainers and vet care. Whenever I have had questions they have always been extremely helpful. As a foster, I have been around a lot of the adoption events and I've watched what happens at them. I witness Jennifer and her helpers making reference calls and vet checks and taking the care needed to ensure that the dog or cat is going to go to a good home.

I had tried fostering with other rescues and my experience was never as wonderful as it has been with IOHR. Other rescues take weeks to get back to you, whereas IOHR has dedicated volunteers trying to do everything in their power to find animals in need great places to live.

1

Client Served

Rating: 5

I have both fostered and adopted from In Our Hands Rescue and so have had a good chance to see how the organization is run. Jennifer dedicates her life to helping abandoned animals (and does it for NO PAY) - she is basically a saint. She has no outside funding and so ultimately adoption fees (which are pretty standard for city-area rescues) need to go to recoup the costs of medical and transport for the puppies. I couldn't be more impressed!!

Hundreds of dogs and cats every year are saved and brought to loving homes in the tri-state area by the organization. I see updates from prior adopters on their Facebook page all the time with success stories of people who have adopted from them. Of course the organization isn't perfect but they do an amazing job with the resources they have and ultimately if they weren't doing what they do, these animals would have no where else to turn.

Client Served

Rating: 5

Our family adopted our amazing little Sampson from Jen and the wonderful volunteers at In Our Hands Rescue in December 2010. They were so helpful and supportive throughout the whole process. We adopted our poodle Daisy from them about six months later and then highly recommended them to our cousin (among others!). They adopted their dog Ajax just a few months later. We're so blessed to have 3 loving, wonderful dogs in our family thanks to this rescue. The work they do is amazing. Thank you for all that you do!