Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
18 Reviews
1234.944445
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
February 13, 2013

more

February 13, 2013

Zuma's Rescue Ranch is the ideal example of a non-profit dedicated to its cause. Its focus on horses and kids is true and honest and they really do put the cause above all else. The horses are taken care of in the best conditions I've ever seen and the programs are for the benefit of all. If you are looking for a place to donate your time or money, definitely check out Zuma's!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 16, 2013

more

May 16, 2013

I came to Zuma's in the fall of 2012 looking for an equine partner! I saw Spice Girl an fell in love! The adoption process was thorough to make sure we were a match and I couldn't be more pleased with the friendly and helpful staff!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
January 25, 2012

I was a student at a Horsemanship clinic taught by world renowned horse whisperer and trainer, Anna Twinney of Reach Out to Horses. We used the horses at Zuma's Rescue Ranch for many of the weekends o... more

October 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Zuma's Rescue Ranch is nothing short of magical! It is a horse rescue, haven for children, healing place for adolescents, training ground for young riders, and a supurb facility for outside professional's to teach natural horsemanship. I was in the the last category as I was a student of a visiting instructor, Anna Twinney of Reach Out To Horses. My training lasted 7 months last year and an additional 7 months this year. We were so very fortunate to have access to this wonderful facility with both indoor and outdoor areans and so many wonderful horses to work with. I am always super impressed by the condition of the horses at Zuma'a and by their training program and riding programs. Jodi is a super star with an awesome talent for running a hugely successful operation. Her vision is HUGE and she is well on her way to creating everything she has dreamed. It is a well organized and well funded program where volunteers, students, donors and employees are treated like family. There is a lot of Zuma Love being spread around this spectacular ranch and there are always many people buzzing about either taking care of the horses or taking lessons or going through a volunteer training. It is a "feel good" place for both horses and humans. I especially like the fact that the "rescue" horses at Zumas are all given a job once they are evaluated and brought up to speed with their needs. They not only get all of the nutrition and medical attention they need but they are placed in one of the programs at the ranch and are made to feel like an appriciated and respected individual who contributes to the good of the whole by being an intrical part of society and in particular Zuma's Rescue Ranch. Well done, Jodi and Paul and all of the staff, volunteers, animals and friends...keep up the good work!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 25, 2012

I was a student at a Horsemanship clinic taught by world renowned horse whisperer and trainer, Anna Twinney of Reach Out to Horses. We used the horses at Zuma's Rescue Ranch for many of the weekends of our training. Not only are the horses of superior quality, the care of them is exceptional, the people, Jodi and Paul and all of the volunteers and staff are awesome and the setting is breathtaking. Paul and Jodi do an amazing job not only rehabilitating and rehoming unwanted horses but also rehabilitating children and adults from the community by bringing them together with these equine beauty. When a horse shares it's heart with a human, the human is transformed...thank you Zuma's!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 16, 2012

more


2 previous reviews - show all
January 24, 2012

I came to know Zuma's Rescue Ranch when I embarked on a quest for horse manure for my garden. Zuma's was the only place which responded to my request with a simple, "We have lots." and their address.... more

October 16, 2012

Jodi at Zuma's is caring, sincere and professional. The mission she has taken upon herself to tackle is one of compassion for animals and foster children. I've seen the positive results of her work with horses and children first hand. Jodi has brought together the important professionals to work with the horses and children enabling both to trust again. She has accepted responsibility for the care, training and overall well being of many types of animals: horses, goats, pigs, chickens, ducks, geese, dogs and cats. And each animal is given the opportunity to connect with a child to help both learn to trust again.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 24, 2012

I came to know Zuma's Rescue Ranch when I embarked on a quest for horse manure for my garden. Zuma's was the only place which responded to my request with a simple, "We have lots." and their address. Since that time in 2009, I have come to understand the dedication, determination and professionalism of both Paul and Jodi Messinech. They give their whole selves to the cause of saving, reaching and teaching children and horses - one at a time - that there is someone who cares about them. I have seen Paul and Jodi work countless hours to keep a horse with colic comfortable. I have witnessed each of them putting their lives, honor, fortune and family on the line for the cause that they believe in - turning "throw away" kids and horses into partners and productive citizens.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Their kindness and friendship knows no bounds. The organization that Paul and Jodi have created is amazing in the good that they do for animals and people.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I'd duplicate their passion and spread it thickly over the hurting places in this world in order to change the world in a positive way.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

I wish that I lived closer to their ranch.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Yes, the impact was the knowledge that I had found genuine and incredible people when I first moved to the state of CO. I knew so few people of quality, honest, genuine and sincere. Paul and Jodi are amazing. They attract amazing people to their organization and they give hope to many who have given up hope. God Bless them.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

I feel that I am valued, honored and respected whenever I go to Zuma's Rescue Ranch.

January 2, 2010
1 person found this review helpful

When looking for something to enrich the soil in my garden, I came upon an oasis in Littleton CO run by two extraordinary people who have given so much of their time, talents and personal finances!! Their ability to reach out to both horses and humans is a wonderful story and testament to the caring, natural link between "throw away" horses and "throw away" kids. When Jodi and Paul tell the Zuma story, it takes your breath away.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

the caring, passionate people who come to the ranch to help, regardless of the weather. These people have a passion for giving of themselves to care for and reach out to the emotionally and physically battered humans and animals.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

make a difference in the lives of many kids in the foster care program of Colorado and other states. The equine assisted psychotherapy program is ground breaking in its results and could be replicated elsewhere causing a ripple effect to reduce violence.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every month

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

October 16, 2012

more

October 16, 2012

I have been a part of the Zuma family for 3 years and I was the volunteer coordinator for a year. I have seen the kiddos that come to the ranch transform from a shy, sheltered sometimes reserved person to a outgoing kiddo. All because they were paired up with a four legged friend and taught how to take care of these rescued animals. They form relationships that take them into adulthood. The pair begin their healing process together. This is an amazing organization and deserves all rave reviews!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Zuma's Rescue Ranch is a sanctuary of hope and healing for horses and humans alike. Upon entering the 146 acre Ranch though the distinctive iron gates, guests are immediately impacted by the visual beauty of the place: gently rolling hills, white fencing, beautiful vistas and perhaps more important, a happy and healthy animal herd consisting of more than 40 horses, three goats, a gaggle of chickens and ducks and Daisy, the pot-belly pig. The secret behind the success of Zuma's is the dedicated staff and cadre of volunteers who care so much about creating an organization of excellence from the care of the animals to the compassion shown to the children and adults who come here seeking a deeper connection to themselves through equine assisted experiential learning. To keep the Ranch going, much is required: volunteers to provide invaluable support to the small but hard-working staff, donors to fund the hay that feeds the animals and medicine to keep them healthy, event participants to visit the Ranch and spread the word about its mission. At a very young age, I lost my father to an untimely death. My horse gave me comfort and an outlet to escape the emotional pain. I found Zuma's 40 years later because I want to support and honor a place that can do the same for others who have experienced personal heartbreak be it physical, emotional or spiritual.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 29, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

August 29, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

My first contact with Jodi M. was through facebook. We were friends because we have a common interest, rescuing horses or any animals in distress. I remember when she first posted on my page. We were attempting to save a horse from one of the auction houses, and the horse was already in the kill pens. We were attempting to raise the bail, and transportation money. Before, I even knew that Jodi M. herself, had a rescue, Jodi M. steps up with the full bail money, knowing that the horse would not be coming to her rescue, because a home had already been found... I only found out later, that she had a rescue and plenty of other mouths to feed, and she was still willing to pay for the bail money, and was willing to help with the transportation fee's if they had been needed... My impression of this lady, is of pure respect, for her selflessness that she displayed, and a willingness to help others' out.. My hat is off to Jodi M. and her rescue, for what they have choosen to take on, with no financial gains to speak of. A genuine good hearted person.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 28, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

August 28, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I mentored students for three sessions at Zuma's. Additionally I took riding lessons and have my daughter in riding lessons at Zuma's. The fundamental principles of love and respect are everywhere at this magical place. This is a place where heartbroken, traumatized souls can find love and healing by making life-changing connections in a beautiful setting. The people who run this program have committed everything they have to a cause they believe in, and our world is so much better for it. Anyone can be a part of the Zuma's community- and everyone who does will come away transformed...

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 23, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 23, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Zuma's advocates for those who need a voice in this world. This wonderful organization serves humans and horses, which allows it to make a difference in multiple ways. It has been my pleasure and honor to be a volunteer with the children and to adopt one of the rescue horses. I see how countless children, adults, and horses are healed at Zuma's everyday.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 24, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 24, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I was looking for a place to learn to ride horses when I stumbled upon a list of lesson places! I printed out the list and the only name that was there was Zuma's! I started riding and fell in love with the horses and so that summer I decided to become a working student! I made so many friends and developed a stronger love for horses. Every day i was so excited to work and couldnt wait until I arrived! After 2 years of being at zumas I still love it and never want to leave! It has been a life changing experience that has taught me fun can go along with responsiblity.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help feed the Equine Therapy Horse, saving the organization money on staff costs.
Help organize a fundraiser to being in much needed funds.
Repair fencing on the ranch to keep the horses safe and the veterinary bills low.
File and organize the business office.
Decorate Zuma's Horse Shoes for the Zuma's Luck program.

Volunteer