Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
23 Reviews
1234.826095
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
January 16, 2014

more

January 16, 2014

Zidisha is a single place that a struggling individual can find affordable and dignified financial aid. Zidisha gives everyone a chance to prove his honesty and trustworthy to the world!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

find a way to effectively update ALL members of any changes of the rules at the same time.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 24, 2013

more

September 24, 2013

great staff it will assist the entrepreneurs it is a wonderful experience to connect with zidisha

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 18, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 18, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I was pointed towards microfinance a few years ago as an alternative to charity donation - more sustainable, more interaction, not simply pouring pounds (I am British) down the drain. It was about the time of the shake up in microfinance and people were realising that sites like Kiva took a significant cut along the way.

I came across Zidisha in Jan 2012 via a websearch and it was very well reviewed. I find it very rewarding as it is very explicit about how it works and you decide exactly who you support - it's a direct line to the real people trying to make a living in developing countries. To be honest, I don't worry too much about whether I gain or loose money as I see it as a "leveraged" charity donation. I don't look for a significant return but there is a 2-3% default rate that I loosely try to offset and overall I think I'm up slightly.

This is a great organisation. I check it every now and again but I fully expect to donate through it in the medium to long term.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 13, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

January 13, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

Zidisha is a microfinance organization that allows lenders to loan directly to borrowers at reasonable interest rates, plus a borrower transaction fee. The borrower sets the rate ceiling, not Zidisha or another third party organization or Microfinance Institution (MFI). Actually, a lender has the option of lending at a 0% interest rate, which is a big plus as is the ability of lenders and borrowers to interact directly with each other. The ability to control rates while lending, transparency of Zidisha (e.g. disclosure of rates & fees), and having no intermediaries are the three main factors that attracted me to Zidisha. I intend to keep lending here as long as the three main factors remain.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 27, 2012

more

December 27, 2012

By allowing me to lend directly to recipients, Zidisha ensures there are very few costs involved. This makes the interest rates paid by the recipients low, while encouraging donors to set realistic rates. This isn't a charity so much as a method of sensible economic stimulation. I am happy to make a modest profit on my loans so that money can be lent out again and again. After more than a year, I have had no bad debt and am lending to about 30 recipients with amounts of about $10-20. Charity should be about all of us really, and Zidisha social lending is close to this ideal.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 21, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 21, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Zidisha is the one nonprofit microfinance organization out there that is created to help poor business owners throughout Africa. Zidisha's main strengths our it's transparency which encourages the lowest interest rates possible and full communication with the borrowers themselves! It's a testament to the fact that technology will be able to connect us personally to the poor's business, and allow us to have profound impact on the daily lives of others from the comfort of our PC.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Zidisha offers the unique opportunity to loan directly to African individuals who are seeking small loans in order to start new or expand existing businesses. In addition to the interest paid on money loaned, this peer to peer model also includes the bonus of personal communication. It is a unique life-changing experience for the borrower who receives they funds they need and the lender who gets to experience first hand the effects of the money they lend. I love this concept and look to be lending for many more years to come. Go Zidisha!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 21, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 21, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Zidisha is a peer to peer microloan service, funding loans to small business owners in countries like Kenya and Senegal. On their site, http://zidisha.org, you can view photos of prospective borrowers and brief descriptions of the amount and purpose of the loans requested. When you find one you like, you can see a detailed description of the business, the credit rating of the borrower, and the proposed rate of interest. You can then bid on all or part of the loan. Loans I have made range from $25 to $50 of an average $500 loan. So far, I have received monthly repayments on time, and have simply put the funds into new loans. I like Zidisha because it gives me a connection to the borrowers through email updates, and a feeling that I am making a tangible contribution.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Zidisha is amazing. I am completely addicted to helping people here -- and the best part is, it is a loan. So when the folks are successful with their business and pay you back (with interest) you an take the moneya nd loan to the next entrepreneur!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

Helping other agricultural entrepreneurs -- being one myself, I feel very connected to other like me around the world.

Why did you make your donation at this time?

I just can't say no!

What would you tell others about this organization?

It is such an amazing way to make a difference -- a real hand-up not a hand-out.

August 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The interest rates in many African countries are double digits and they really kills of the private sector. This initiate would be very helpful in the growth of the private sector. We just need to put the word out there because not so many people know about this. I be willing to promote the initiative as much as I can.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers