Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
19 Reviews
12345
| 1 2 | Next
Write A Review
October 23, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 23, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The YWCA of Greater Austin stands as a beacon of possibility for women who otherwise might not have the opportunity to gain access to some of the terrific services they provide. I know of three friends who were survivors of sexual abuse and had nowhere to turn to get therapy for their issues, which were deeply affecting their abilities to work and be in relationship with other people. Because of the amazing programs the YWCA provides, these women were able to reclaim their lives and their relationships. I am so glad we have these types of services available in our community. The staff they've assembled is extraordinary in their commitment to women's lives and our community is deeply enriched by this amazing organization.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 20, 2012

more

October 20, 2012

The YW and I go back so far, I don't remember a time when I did not hold it dear. I remember when the YW was affiliated with UT and housed on the "Drag" in Austin. Over the years I have been proud to have been the faculty liaison from the UT School of Social Work to work with social work interns in placement there. I have attended and presented workshops there,and more recently have served on the YW board. Never have I known a more dynamic, dedicated staff or a more competent one. This agency serves women and their families with first class counseling and support programs, after school outreach, day care services and more. Here's to a first class non-profit and leader in our community! Bonnie L. Bain, LCSW

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 18, 2012

more

October 18, 2012

The YWCA is a vibrant part of the Austin community offering services to clients as well as trainings for professionals. I had the privilege of working there twenty years ago, which was life-changing for me as a staffer and I am still a fan and supporter. I continue to be amazed at all of the good work they accomplish with very little money. They have been at the forefront of helping women and their families through crises of all kinds and I hope they receive the recognition they deserve.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 18, 2012

more

October 18, 2012

The YWCA is not only an impatcful, counseling asset to our community, but also a wonderful source of learnign and training to those wanting to make a difference. As a graduate student of psychology, I have had the privelege of taking continuing education seminars in which I am gaining skils I would not have otherwise learned in the classroom. I look forward to interning with the talented YWCA counselors this January and continuing to grow my relationship with this institution.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 17, 2012

more

October 17, 2012

The YWCA of Greater Austin not only does a fantastic job of serving low income women, but also has a ground breaking program for women vets! They support the psychotherapy community by offering outstanding professional trainings on a monthly basis as well as coordinating the Somatic Experiencing trainings. There are not many agencies with the YWCA's level of out reach to both clients and therapists. I am proud to be a supporting member of the YWCA of Greater Austin and have benefited tremendously by participating in their professional programs!

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

attending their professional trainings.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get more funding to be able to offer additional programs.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What is unique about this organization?

From my interactions with staff this is one non-profit that not only talks the supportive self care talk with clients and staff, but they walk the walk as well! It is an outstanding agency with dedicated staff from the very top on down.

October 17, 2012

more

October 17, 2012

The YWCA of Austin is an exceptional institution. They provide an array of effective and targeted interventions to low-income people from all backgrounds. I know this because many of my doctoral students do practicum placements where they get to see the power of clinical interventions out in the community. They also have a powerful, dynamic speaker/workshop series addressing multicultural issues and in this way serve to inform the community. I am enormously impressed by what they accomplish year in and year out.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 17, 2012

more

October 17, 2012

I had the privilege of receiving a year of my clinical practicum training in counseling with the YWCA. Their training program is fantastic, and I was exposed to feminist and relational-cultural counseling approaches that continue to impact the way I approach my work with clients. YWCA offers tremendous resources to the community and fosters an empowerment model for helping women and their families. Above all, the YWCA is an organization with great heart. The commitment and enthusiasm of the staff pervades the organization; they are there because they want to be and they believe in their work. That makes all the difference!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 17, 2012

more

October 17, 2012

The YWCA Greater Austin does a fantastic job of providing counseling services for women, and for counselors who are getting started in their careers. They reach women who may not otherwise be able to get the help that they need. As a volunteer I have enjoyed working with the staff to raise funds to support all of their programs.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers