Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
19 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
November 1, 2013

more

November 1, 2013

The executive director and staff are so committed and awesome, and coupled with great volunteers and board, make it a great organization.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

The YWCA Greater Austin continues to bring cutting-edge continuing education to the counseling community. They are part of making Austin a great community and place for healing, hope, and change. The staff has always been very loving and friendly. I recommended their classes and becoming a member.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

For over 100 years, the YWCA Greater Austin has served the Austin community in so many ways. From providing free breakfast for school children; offering the first out-patient substance abuse programs for women in Texas; engaging in a student "sit-in" at a Rexall Drug Store lunch counter to oppose segregation in the 50s to now providing low cost mental health counseling for women and their families; offering youth groups for middle school girls; honoring women leaders in the community; and, offering professional trainngs for mental health providers, the YWCA has made a big difference in our city. I am proud to be a member and donor of this great organization for over 30 years. I feel that giving to the YWCA Greater Austin is making our community stronger by helping women and their families create better and healthier lives. It is amazing what outstanding and life-changing work can be done with such devoted staff and little money. It goes without saying, but I will say it anyway; The YWCA Greater Austin is the best!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

get it more money for higher salaries. This nonprofit does so much with so little. The staff works on love, not dollars. Would like for the staff to have both!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2013

more

October 22, 2013

The YWCA Greater Austin is an outstanding organization because its staff and volunteers are dedicated to making a profound impact in the lives of Austin women. The YWCA offers great counseling services at very affordable prices.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2013

more

October 22, 2013

The YWCA of Greater Austin helps women who are changing their lives who otherwise might not be served. Culturally sensitive services are offered to women and their families at an affordable cost.
I benefit from referrals to my independent practice and more importantly have taken
continuing
education credits through the YWCA Greater Austin. I am able to receive ethics credits as well as learn new mental health practices from colleagues throughout the Austin area.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them more grant money to serve even more underserved women.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 31, 2013

more

July 31, 2013

In short, the YWCA offers MUCH needed services to women that would otherwise not be able to receive them. There are general health, wellness, mental health, and life skills programs that help women... in turn women are the main driving force within ANY healthy community. Programs that benefit women benefit everyone at large because women are conduits. There are also stellar youth and mentorship programs servicing young people.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 31, 2013

more

July 31, 2013

The YWCA of Greater Austin has a stellar herstory of activating the Y 's mission with integrity and Grace. Their commitment and impact is integral to what makes Austin a great city. I am proud to have served as a Contractor for the YWCA of Greater Austin, and to have been served by it's programs.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More funding for the organization.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 5, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 16, 2012

I worked for the YWCA for about 4 years as their bilingual-therapist. I have worked in many other great non-profits in my experience as an LCSW but my experience at the YWCA Greater Austin was my bes... more

April 5, 2013

The YWCA of Greater Austin provides culturally sensitive services to women and their families at very low cost. Its staff goes above and beyond to provide support and referral services to everyone who comes in contact with them. I highly recommend it to clients and everyone I know might need an agency like the YWCA.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 16, 2012

I worked for the YWCA for about 4 years as their bilingual-therapist. I have worked in many other great non-profits in my experience as an LCSW but my experience at the YWCA Greater Austin was my best of all. Not only I got super clinical supervision from Pam Schott, LCSW; but I also witness first-hand the commitment and dedication of the Executive Director, Diana Gorham and the rest of the non-clinical and clinical staff. The YWCA Greater Austin makes a difference in people's lives by providing meaningful services to children and families at a very low cost. I was honored to be part of this organization as an employee in the past and as a volunteer in the present.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

April 5, 2013

more

April 5, 2013

For over 100 years (a long time for a non-profit!), the YWCA Greater Austin has served women, girls and their families through its counseling and youth services with compassion, sensitivity and professionalism. It’s a great place to work…a great place to receive help as a client…and a great place to support through your donations. The staff is always friendly, kind and welcoming. When you go through the doors of the YWCA Greater Austin, you feel like you have come home.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2012

more

October 23, 2012

I volunteer with the YWCA of Greater Austin as a member of its Board of Directors. In 2011 I had the honor of leading the Board and the organization in advancing the YWCA’s mission of empowering women and eliminating racism. It is truly a fulfilling and inspiring opportunity to be working among a community of women that advocates and supports the empowerment of all women and their families through health and family services, education, and advocacy on a local and national level. I have gained invaluable experience in the non-profit industry through this leadership role, and have a tremendous amount of gratitude for the staff members that truly work in the trenches on a daily basis.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Join one of several committees to help with marketing, fundraising, and much more! Volunteer