Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
460 Reviews
1234.85875
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
April 24, 2014

more

April 24, 2014

I have been involved with youthlinc in many capacities. As a volunteer fundraiser for the first few years and as donor and supporter for the past few years and I have nothing but good to say about this organization. It is difficult to rely mainly on volunteers for your support as you run and maintain a wonderful program that benefits all involved. I have seen lives changed by the programs Youthlinc provides. When a youth comes home from a trip, their life is greatly impacted by the experience. I wish every youth had the opportunity to experience what Youthlinc provides and I hope the program continues to grow so that more do have the opportunity to begin their path as humanitarians for life. Teaching our children the importance of giving is almost more important than teaching them how to continually try to accumulate in this life. Thank you Youthlinc for all the good you do in the world.
November 1, 2013

more

November 1, 2013

My husband and I have been involved with the Youthlinc organization since he and our oldest daughter participated in one of their service trips to Mexico in 2007. Since then we have sponsored many other students on their service trips and have sent both our daughters on a service trip to Thailand. I am greatly impressed with this organization and with it's focus on creating lifetime humanitarians by getting young people involved in giving service. In addition to the well organized and meaningful service projects that they do on the international level the participants are required to give local service in their own communities to earn their sponsorship for the international project they are participating in. I know with both of my daughters this service requirement resulted in them having to step out of their comfort zones and was a eye opening and life changing experience which made them realize how fortunate they are and helped them see the needs and the opportunities available around them every day. I have friends whose children have participated in international service projects with other groups and though these experiences were very meaningful they did not have the same impact on their children because the focus of the project participants was raising funds for the project rather than getting involved in giving service. I appreciate this major difference. For me it is far more important to teach my children to give service rather than to teach then how to raise money to donate for service. Though raising money is essential to fund service projects it is detached from the people who need our service and does not require us to give of our time and ourselves in the same way as giving actual service does. I love this organization and have nothing but praise for the impact it has on the lives of those who participate with it.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

I am a donor as well as a Youthlink parent. Last year my teenager was in a group that went to Cambodia. I was impressed with the Youthlink leaders and how they kept everyone involved, including parents in the planning and preparation for the trip. The effort included local volunteer service, planning for the activities in Cambodia, as well as getting shots, packing and medical exams. The leaders patiently answered all questions and helped provide solutions for problems and concerns. The result was a life changing experience for my teenager and others which reinforced the importance of service and provided confidence to do difficult things. Thank you Youthlink.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 21, 2013

more

October 21, 2013

My daughter went as a volunteer to Kenya in 2012, and will return to work with Youthlinc in the summer of 2014 as an alumni leader. As she became involved with Youthlinc, I also was drawn in to not only be a donor but to volunteer my services with the group. Youthlinc is an outstanding organization, combining the molding of young people into lifetime volunteers and providing much-needed help in countries around the globe.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make more openings available for more young people to experience this wonderful experience.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 16, 2013

more

October 16, 2013

Youthlinc was a door of opportunity and understanding for our daughter. The experiences she had in Kenya were eye-opening as she served with Youthlinc in a Third World situation. The love she acquired for the people and the enthusiasm she returned with were priceless. I would recommend this organization to anyone wanting a life-changing opportunity for their youth.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would expand this organization's efforts to the students at Sugar-Salem ID High School. These students are geographically isolated in some ways and it would expand their horizons to participate in such endeavors as Youthlinc has to offer.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 14, 2013

more

October 14, 2013

My son travelled to Kenya this past summer with Youthlinc. It was such a great experience. He was able to experience many things he has been sheltered from most of his life. As a parent, of course I was a bit nervous at first, but the Youthlinc staff, mentors and volunteers were extremely prepared and experienced which gave me so much comfort. One of the other really great benefits of this program was the required local service hours he was required to complete prior to leaving for his service trip. We will be sending our teenage daughter next summer, hopefully to her first choice, Thailand!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 14, 2013

more

October 14, 2013

My daughter had an amazing experience with this organization. The life lessons she learned and opportunity to participate with the humanitarian efforts, will impact her throughout her life.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 13, 2013

more

October 13, 2013

Youthlinc provided an excellent opportunity for my daughter to provide service in Guatemala - it was an amazing program with a lot of volunteer work and just plain helping other people both at home and abroad - they were well organized and I was very impressed.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 23, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
February 23, 2011

My daughter came home from school one day and asked if she could apply to the Youthlinc international service program. I am so glad that we let her apply because this has been such an amazing experience for her and us. She has not been on the trip to Thailand yet but she has been volunteering in the community on a weekly basis. She works with local refugee children, planning activities with them and being a constant friend to them. I don't know who benefits more, these refugee children or my daughter. Youthlinc requires that members commit a certain number of hours volunteering in the local community in order to qualify for the international trip. Team members also must fundraise to pay their way. Youthlinc wants to create lifetime humanitarians. The rewarding feeling of helping others is invaluable and by completing these volunteer hours, members get hooked on the way it feels to do something for another human being, one who you may not have encountered before, one who you may not have understood before.The international trip will be eye-opening for the participants as well. It will be an experience that our kids will share for years to come and have such an impact on the people they visit. I cannot recommend Youthlinc highly enough! It is such a good cause and helps so many people.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

watching my child expand her capabilities and learn what it means to serve others. She has become a true humanitarian.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

There is nothing I would do to change this program except to try to expand it so that it's reach could extend to all young people who want to make a difference in the lives of others.

February 22, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
February 22, 2011

My daughter has participated with Youthlinc in many ways for a number of years. She has seen and experienced things that have helped her see the world more clearly, and more importantly, she has more clearly seen her place in that world.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

seeing the growth in my daughter through her participation.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

nothing

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers