Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
429 Reviews
1234.860145
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
November 1, 2013

more

November 1, 2013

My husband and I have been involved with the Youthlinc organization since he and our oldest daughter participated in one of their service trips to Mexico in 2007. Since then we have sponsored many other students on their service trips and have sent both our daughters on a service trip to Thailand. I am greatly impressed with this organization and with it's focus on creating lifetime humanitarians by getting young people involved in giving service. In addition to the well organized and meaningful service projects that they do on the international level the participants are required to give local service in their own communities to earn their sponsorship for the international project they are participating in. I know with both of my daughters this service requirement resulted in them having to step out of their comfort zones and was a eye opening and life changing experience which made them realize how fortunate they are and helped them see the needs and the opportunities available around them every day. I have friends whose children have participated in international service projects with other groups and though these experiences were very meaningful they did not have the same impact on their children because the focus of the project participants was raising funds for the project rather than getting involved in giving service. I appreciate this major difference. For me it is far more important to teach my children to give service rather than to teach then how to raise money to donate for service. Though raising money is essential to fund service projects it is detached from the people who need our service and does not require us to give of our time and ourselves in the same way as giving actual service does. I love this organization and have nothing but praise for the impact it has on the lives of those who participate with it.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

I am a donor as well as a Youthlink parent. Last year my teenager was in a group that went to Cambodia. I was impressed with the Youthlink leaders and how they kept everyone involved, including parents in the planning and preparation for the trip. The effort included local volunteer service, planning for the activities in Cambodia, as well as getting shots, packing and medical exams. The leaders patiently answered all questions and helped provide solutions for problems and concerns. The result was a life changing experience for my teenager and others which reinforced the importance of service and provided confidence to do difficult things. Thank you Youthlink.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 21, 2013

more

October 21, 2013

My daughter went as a volunteer to Kenya in 2012, and will return to work with Youthlinc in the summer of 2014 as an alumni leader. As she became involved with Youthlinc, I also was drawn in to not only be a donor but to volunteer my services with the group. Youthlinc is an outstanding organization, combining the molding of young people into lifetime volunteers and providing much-needed help in countries around the globe.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make more openings available for more young people to experience this wonderful experience.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 16, 2013

more

October 16, 2013

Youthlinc was a door of opportunity and understanding for our daughter. The experiences she had in Kenya were eye-opening as she served with Youthlinc in a Third World situation. The love she acquired for the people and the enthusiasm she returned with were priceless. I would recommend this organization to anyone wanting a life-changing opportunity for their youth.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would expand this organization's efforts to the students at Sugar-Salem ID High School. These students are geographically isolated in some ways and it would expand their horizons to participate in such endeavors as Youthlinc has to offer.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 14, 2013

more

October 14, 2013

My son travelled to Kenya this past summer with Youthlinc. It was such a great experience. He was able to experience many things he has been sheltered from most of his life. As a parent, of course I was a bit nervous at first, but the Youthlinc staff, mentors and volunteers were extremely prepared and experienced which gave me so much comfort. One of the other really great benefits of this program was the required local service hours he was required to complete prior to leaving for his service trip. We will be sending our teenage daughter next summer, hopefully to her first choice, Thailand!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 14, 2013

more

October 14, 2013

My daughter had an amazing experience with this organization. The life lessons she learned and opportunity to participate with the humanitarian efforts, will impact her throughout her life.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 13, 2013

more

October 13, 2013

Youthlinc provided an excellent opportunity for my daughter to provide service in Guatemala - it was an amazing program with a lot of volunteer work and just plain helping other people both at home and abroad - they were well organized and I was very impressed.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 23, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
February 23, 2011

My daughter came home from school one day and asked if she could apply to the Youthlinc international service program. I am so glad that we let her apply because this has been such an amazing experience for her and us. She has not been on the trip to Thailand yet but she has been volunteering in the community on a weekly basis. She works with local refugee children, planning activities with them and being a constant friend to them. I don't know who benefits more, these refugee children or my daughter. Youthlinc requires that members commit a certain number of hours volunteering in the local community in order to qualify for the international trip. Team members also must fundraise to pay their way. Youthlinc wants to create lifetime humanitarians. The rewarding feeling of helping others is invaluable and by completing these volunteer hours, members get hooked on the way it feels to do something for another human being, one who you may not have encountered before, one who you may not have understood before.The international trip will be eye-opening for the participants as well. It will be an experience that our kids will share for years to come and have such an impact on the people they visit. I cannot recommend Youthlinc highly enough! It is such a good cause and helps so many people.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

watching my child expand her capabilities and learn what it means to serve others. She has become a true humanitarian.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

There is nothing I would do to change this program except to try to expand it so that it's reach could extend to all young people who want to make a difference in the lives of others.

February 22, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
February 22, 2011

My daughter has participated with Youthlinc in many ways for a number of years. She has seen and experienced things that have helped her see the world more clearly, and more importantly, she has more clearly seen her place in that world.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

seeing the growth in my daughter through her participation.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

nothing

February 15, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
February 15, 2011

Simply put, Youthlinc is a stellar non-profit organization, and I will attempt to tell you why, though there is not enough space here to mention everything that makes this organization so great.

I was introduced to Youthlinc several months ago when my 15-year old daughter's membership
application was accepted and she was asked to join. She is one of the youngest students of Youthlinc this year and will be participating in the service mission trip to Mexico this summer. Within just a few short months, she was warmly welcomed with open arms by Youthlinc, and has gotten to know some wonderful fellow members. She is already having a great humanitarian experience and thoroughly enjoys her local service work at the Real Life refugee center in Salt Lake City. Having observed her sister's experience thus far, my 13-year old daughter is 'waiting in the wings' to apply to Youthlinc as soon as she is eligible.

One of the best things that sets Youthlinc apart from other "youth service organizations" is the fact that there is the requirement for students to commit to completing a minimum number of LOCAL hours of community volunteer work, in order to be eligible to serve at an international site in the summer. The exposure to both local and international community needs is a giant step toward Youthlinc's goal of creating LIFETIME HUMANITARIANS, something that few non-profits accomplish, and that more high school and college students should pursue.

Through my daughter's involvement, I have become very fond of Youthlinc and have also gotten to know some of the Youthlinc staff and students. Because of the heart-felt dedication and clearly established goals of this organization, I decided to become a member of their Annual Benefit Planning Committee. Every person I've met at Youthlinc is nothing short of incredible and commited. It is instantly obvious that they truly love what they do. The Director/Founder, Judy Zone, is a contagious force of enthusiasm and passion, which funnels down to the office staff, the international team leaders, the alumni members, and of course the students and volunteers of this organization. Judy and her small, dedicated staff truly keep this organization performing at top-notch levels and continually aim for success. Having volunteered and worked with various other non-profits, I can tell you that Youthlinc is one of the "smartest", most well-run, well-supported and most dedicated organizations there is, that is committed to bettering both our youth AND the needs of local and international communities. I strongly encourage all high school and college students and their parents to take a much closer look at Youthlinc. You will be very impressed.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Various encounters, as mentioned above, have reinforced my support of this passionate organization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would like to see Youthlinc do more to promote their great organization - it's the "best kept secret" for a well-run Youth Service program.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

The outstanding opportunity for my daughter, a sophomore in high school, to begin a serious humanitarian journey at an early age, with a stellar organization.

Why did you make your donation at this time?

To help fund my daughter's international service trip to Mexico this summer, with any leftover money being donated to the Youthlinc organization.

What would you tell others about this organization?

It's one of the most well-run non-profits, and certainly one of the absolute best Youth Service programs in existence, with the profound goal of creating Lifetime Humanitarians. Every high school & college age student should take a serious look at Youthlinc.

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers