Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
473 Reviews
1234.856245
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
April 28, 2014

more

April 28, 2014

I became a fan of Youthlinc about six or seven years ago - at the time one of our employees asked me to help sponsor his daughter on a humanitarian trip to Peru. I agreed, not knowing much about Youthlinc at the time. The young woman came into our firm after returning from her Peru experience and gave us a very in-depth report of what she had done and what her team had accomplished. After seeing what the experience had done for her and the good they were able to accomplish, I became a strong advocate. Since then I have sponsored a student every year, and finally had the opportunity to join a team to Guatemala 2 years ago. What an incredible experience! My oldest daughter and I were so grateful to be part of such a wonderful group of people. We loved the experience and learned so much. I think 2 things set Youthlinc apart from so many other groups: 1) The teams are formed in October and begin working together to prepare for their trip the following June/July. You become attached to the team and establish strong bonds that continue for many years. 2) The students are required to commit to giving 80 hours of local community service before going on the international experience. This creates commitment and usually results in building a love of service - both locally and internationally. This organization is top-notch with super-dedicated people who are so committed to Youthlinc's mission - to build lifetime humanitarians.
April 28, 2014

more

April 28, 2014

I was first introduced to Youthlinc while attending a Rotary youth leadership training in 2006. I was immediately interested. Thoughts of traveling overseas ran through my head. Later, as a participate on the Kenya team I quickly learned that Youthlinc is more than just a “service trip” per say. It is a leadership program that requires participants to complete 80 hours of service in their own community before they even step foot on an airplane. I learned how to prepare in-country projects, complete a fundraiser, and network with friends and businesses to gather donations. In short, I became a service leader as I gained the skills I needed to execute my own service incentives. For this, and so much more, I will always be indebted to Youthlinc.
April 26, 2014

more

April 26, 2014

Youthlinc has made such a positive impact not only on my nuclear family, but my extended family, friends, and neighbors as well. The mere fact of my daughter getting involved as a sophmore in high school has created a domino effect. She learned how to serve our local community, setting an example for those around her who continue to serve in many different capacities. Her involvement encouraged countless other high school students to get involved. All of us have made life-long, like-minded friends through Youthlinc who have enriched our lives in a way nothing else could.

Youthlinc teaches its participants how to manage a project from beginning to end, how to work on a committee, and it provides leadership skills to the students. It holds the participants responsible for certain goals they need to reach and offers incredible, supportive resources to help them meet those goals. All the team-building components will stay with my daughter and undoubtedly the other particpants for a life time.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 26, 2014

more

April 26, 2014

As a 5 year board member of Sustainable Cambodia (SC) I was asked by Judy Zone (Youthlinc's Director) 3 years ago to consider our Cambodia projects to be part of YL's international service locations. SC is a very organized NGO with numerous projects ongoing. As a matter of policy SC stays away from youth groups because of the risk of dealing with youth wanting to travel for the primary sake of picture taking & sightseeing. Before making a commitment to YL I went to Asia to witness YL's organization firsthand. I was completely impressed with YL's team leaders and especially the youth. They worked extremely hard in a very uncomfortable sweaty environment. YL has now been to SC's projects in Cambodia for two years with great success. SC will continue to work with YL and Judy Zone in the future. Now as a board member of YL & SC, I've been able to see the ongoing challenges of keeping an effective youth program moving, part of which is to be fiscally sound. I commend all who support YL financially. Countless youth have been fortunate recipients of YL's vision. Judy Zone has been willing to pop her head above the crowd, to raise needed money, not for the need of recognition but for the ultimate sake of developing youth. Not an easy task! The time and effort it takes to run YL is enormous. Someone has to take the leadership and bear the risk. Thank you Judy!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 15, 2013

more

October 15, 2013

My 15-year old daughter introduced me to Youthlinc. She had a friend who had gone through the program, which encouraged Katie to do it. She applied, was accepted, and began her journey. The international trip to perform community service in Kenya at the end of the local community service commitment was initially the carrot, but it was the work through the local community service that impacted her the most.

While she had always enjoyed coummunity service, this took her to another level. She volunteered with cancer patients and a grief counseling center for youth. She saw what an impact her services made with these two organizations; it made her understand that simply keeping someone company through a difficult time was powerful.

When she returned from Kenya, she related her stories of the children who their most prized possessions were their bar of soap or their blanket. It has forever changed the way she looks at material possessions. She has moral struggles every time she admires a piece of clothing she'd like buy but is what she considers expensive. Even though she can afford it, she will rarely buy something she considers a frivolity.

More importantly, she convinced her dad to do a similar trip. Never a community-minded person, the trip changed his life and he now understands why community service, even if it's just a financial donation, is so critical to those in need.

Youthlinc has made an amazing, positive impact on our family one family member by one family member. And our strory is like many others.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find a way to reach more kids with scholarships.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 14, 2013

more

October 14, 2013

The years I have spent involved with Youthlinc have be a highlight in my life. my wife and I have traveled to Kenya, Peru, and Cambodia and seen the impact on the lives of hundreds of young humanitarians as well as on the villages they served in.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 6, 2012

more

August 6, 2012

I just arrived back in the U.S. from two weeks in Kenya with Youthlinc. My wife and I had the pleasure of joining the 41 member team as mentors to 29 teenage kids. The mission of Youthlinc is to create lifetime humanitarians and now I understand how. Our team consisted of amazing people and provided an experience that for most, if that all, will be life changing. We were able to live at a school in Kajuki, Kenya with roughly 250 children (ages 4-12). Our objectives were to complete a number of constructions projects, provide education, establish micro-enterprise loans, and gain an understanding of the needs in the community to help with future Youthlinc trips. I truely believe that the above mission is being met and will continue to support this organization.

Photos

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 3, 2011

more

March 3, 2011

Youthlinc has changed our family's outlook on the world and service. Meeting Judy Zone, Youthlinc's founder, was an experienc unlike any I've ever had. Her energy and personal power aimed at assisting youth in SEEING the world and the impact they can have on it (the lives they can change and save) is breathtaking! I especially like that within Youthlinc, youth are taught that their impact is vital worldwide--both in their local communities and in other nations. And that they learn this hands on, through service. Also powerful is Youthlinc partnering those within the community with youth humanitarians in the form of funds to help with their trips. This brings power in service to everyone involved--as well as energy and awareness to the need we all have to be of worth, and the opportunity we all have to heal our world. I'm honored that this year my daughter, Ashley, is serving refugees, and abused and neglected children within her community--and then is going to Cambodia this summer!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Our family has always served people around us. Our adoption of an American-born Cambodian baby brought us the desire to extend that reach to those outside the US. Youthlinc has given us arms and hands to do just that. Youthlinc is LIMITLESS in their vision and desire to help others.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would wish that the Youthlinc organization could extend beyond Utah, so that other states could experience the change that occurs within youth and the adults supporting them, as they become aware that their lives are POWERFUL and can change the lives of others profoundly.

February 10, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
February 10, 2011

Youthlinc allows young people to have meaningful local and international service experiences that will impact them for a lifetime. It creates a culture of service that amazes me every single day. It's a gift for me to be associated with hundreds of youth and mentoring professionals who care so much about others in need. I'm a better person for being around such positive energy, creativity, compassion, and determination to make this world a better place.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

seeing over a thousand young people make a lifelong commitment to service locally and globally. I've been fortunate to shepard some of them through the experience, and I've been wowed by the mentors who volunteer to shepard the rest.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

raise more money so more youth can be involved in helping in their own communities and in Kenya, Mexico, Peru, Thailand, and Cambodia.

September 30, 2009

more

September 30, 2009

I have been a board member and mentor for an international trip. These are experiences that are life enriching and take individuals out of their usual element. It is an opportunity to role model for the next generation and work with amazing young people. There is a strong mission to create humanitarians for life and they really are successful in fulfilling their goal.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

witnessing my son's enhanced interest in helping others.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

the amazing people that volunteer and work within the organization

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

Make the experience available to young people all over the United States/

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every six months

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers