Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
429 Reviews
1234.860145
| 1 2 3 4...32 |
Write A Review
October 17, 2013

more


1 previous review
July 11, 2013

Youthlinc is an amazing program that really brings youth together to make a difference in the world. The way that I found out about it was from one of my friends who had went to Kenya last year and po... more

October 17, 2013

I did Youthlinc last summer of 2013 and I absolutely LOVED IT! I went to Guatemala and we made bunk beds for the boys' dorms, we painted the boys' dorms, we made book shelves for the library, eco-benches for the soccer field, made macro-tunnels for the agricultural class so that they could make their own food, and painted a mural for all the people there. I met lots of great people that truly changed my life, some of which I am Facebook friends with! This organization is just amazing and I don't know what where I would be at this moment if had not gone. Youthlinc is incredible and if I was rich I would just do it every year! Youthlinc has changed my life and I don't regret anything about it!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would make sure that the volunteers know the run down of everything. I was a little lost and wasn't sure quite how to handle things for my committee that I was in, but my mentor was hardly there. So I would just make sure that mentors know that they should try their best to never miss the meetings!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 11, 2013

Youthlinc is an amazing program that really brings youth together to make a difference in the world. The way that I found out about it was from one of my friends who had went to Kenya last year and posted lots of her pictures on Facebook. I immediately was amazed at how involved she got in the program and I wanted to see what it was about too! So I looked it up, applied and got accepted! This program taught me how to become a true humanitarian. When I went to Guatemala, I learned that everyone is human and that you can't judge a book by its cover. Guatemalans are like my friends and I love them so very much. They aren't just a lost cause, but people who are content with their life. I also learned to not judge my teammates as well, because honestly they are the best people that I have ever met in my life! I love Youthlinc! The two weeks in Guatemala and the preparation before, is just so great and connecting that it really made my experience in Guatemala that much amazing! I thank this program for all it has done to enhance my life!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would just help people understand exactly how the program runs. Just so that people can understand the things that they need to do before they get accepted like scholarships (that was my only real problem). Also, if the leaders come be more insightful on how to better prepare for our trip, that would be really nice.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 15, 2013

more

October 15, 2013

Youthlinc is a non-profit organization, which is great because when i went on my trip we had to fund raise all the money that we wanted to spend or give to the villagers. This way we know that every cent is going to the people who you are going to serve. This program has changed my perspective on life and i have realized the most important things in life. I came to a conclusion that i want to serve people the rest of my life and because its one of the best things i know how to do. Where much is given, much is expected and i know that this is a fact and makes me work even harder in my life so that i can give back! this is a great program and i would recommend this to anyone.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Advertise more to let more students and people know how they can contribute and make a difference.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 15, 2013

more

October 15, 2013

I was a student volunteer for Youthlinc, in which I participant in the Guatemala 2013 team in the medical group. This trip allowed me to put my education to work. I first found out what the village and school felt was an educational need, which was reproductive health. I then discussed with others, culture barriers that I should be aware of such as condoms. It was then suggested to research a more natural means of birth control, known as cycle beads. Through research and some creativity, I created my own version of cycle beads. Then in Guatemala I presented my lesson to the 7th-9th graders, as well as a group of women from a nearby village. Feedback on the project was very positive and the women were fascinated to learn about their own bodies. After the lessons and projects were completed, it touched my heart to see so many of the girls still wearing their bracelets days later. I felt empowered while on the Youthlinc trip to Guatemala in teaching my lessons, as well as being an example and a leader to the other students that were much younger.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wish Youthlinc could expand into more countries, but seven countries is amazing!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 14, 2013

more


1 previous review
July 17, 2013

I stumbled upon the Youthlinc program and I'm pretty sure it was fate! I absolutely LOVED LOVED it! I went to Peru for just over two weeks and fell in love with everything about it! I The Youthlinc pr... more

October 14, 2013

I absolutely loved my youthlinc experience! I would do this over again in a heartbeat. I love the environment created by the youthlinc group and not just in country. Before we even left for our two week excursion to Peru I had already fallen in love with Youthlinc. It is a great way to learn how to really incorporate service into your life, and not just when you are in another country. I felt completely safe the entire time and would recommend this to everyone and anyone!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 17, 2013

I stumbled upon the Youthlinc program and I'm pretty sure it was fate! I absolutely LOVED LOVED it! I went to Peru for just over two weeks and fell in love with everything about it! I The Youthlinc program provides an experience that you can't have anywhere else. You work hands on with the locals in all sorts of projects and you actually make a difference in their life and yours. I love how Youthlinc incorporates service at a local level as well. I had an amazing experience in Peru, but I also had an amazing experience here in Utah. I worked with and met amazing people and still volunteer because I want to. The Youthlinc organization has helped me realize the true value of service and what it really means to serve. I would definitely recommend it to anyone and everyone!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 14, 2013

more

October 14, 2013

Youthlinc is an extraordinary way to engage the youth of Salt Lake in volunteering in your community and internationally. The preparation you go through before your international service takes up time and thought, but also builds strength, confidence, and passion for helping others. I have become exposed to so many great service and learning opportunities because of Youthlinc, and I've had the chance to meet so many new people in my community, and also in my international service site. Sign up for Youthlinc if you want to become engaged in service in your community and around the world!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The only advice I have for Youthlinc is to have better contact with the international country you're going to beforehand, so you know exactly what the communities need before you travel to your in-country service site.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 14, 2013

more

October 14, 2013

Youthlinc was such an incredible experience for me. I was a participant in the humanitarian group that went to Kenya. And It changed my life in more than one way. Youthlinc encourages groups of all different ages to serve not only globally, but also in their own community. If anyone asks me about my trip I show them our team video and always recommend applying to the program!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 14, 2013

more

October 14, 2013

I was a participant in a humanitarian trip to Peru with YouthLinc during the summer right after I graduated from high school. YouthLinc made sure all the participants were committed to serving their community by only letting those who completed all their community service hours come on the trip, so during my senior year instead of only being caught up in all the fun (but selfish) things a normal senior in high school would get caught up in, I was able to realize all the different places right around my home that needed volunteer work and to learn what real happiness was as I was serving and making a difference in my community.

After spending an entire school year doing service in my community, I spent 2 weeks in Peru the following summer. I was introduced first hand to true poverty and saw that the people there were happier and more grateful than most of the people I knew back home. I saw the difference we were able to make to them and decided right then, as an 18 year old, that I would try to serve people my whole life and also try to show my gratitude for the things I am blessed with.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2007

October 14, 2013

more


1 previous review
July 29, 2013

Youthlinc is such a great organization for youth. What I really liked about it was that I was required to do so many service hours leading up to my trip which really taught me how important service is... more

October 14, 2013

Youthlinc was an amazing experience for me and taught me so much about service. The service year program made me realize how important service is in our community and abroad. I am always looking for ways to serve now because I know the wonderful feeling it brings.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

change nothing. Everything about it was amazing and I wouldn't want it any other way!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 29, 2013

Youthlinc is such a great organization for youth. What I really liked about it was that I was required to do so many service hours leading up to my trip which really taught me how important service is in my life. My leaders and mentors were so wonderful. They were always prepared and made a strong effort to get to know each team member individually.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I don't think I would change anything.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 13, 2013

more

October 13, 2013

Youthlinc has helped me to be motivated to go out and look for service opportunities in my own community. Through all the hard work that was required of me in order to go on my service trip to Cambodia, I got to meet a variety of new people and I got to learn about each of them as I served them. The trip itself was amazing! I met people with different background and I learned to love them despite the slight barrier between our languages. I have been able to be a part of changing someone's life for the better, and working with others who have the same goal and expectations made it all the more enjoyable.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Unsure

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 13, 2013

more

October 13, 2013

I loved my experience with Youthlinc, whenever someone asks me about my trip, I automatically pull out my phone and show them all the pictures I took while serving with my team members. Team leaders do an amazing job to prepare everyone mentally and physically and the opportunity to go on these trips is once in a lifetime.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make sure that all members of the team are there to serve, often you'd get team members that were there only to go on an international trip without their parents, or just because their parents had signed them up and they had the money. Sometimes that's not fair to those who do have a passion for international service and really do want to make a difference.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers