Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
459 Reviews
1234.862755
| 1 2 3 4...34 |
Write A Review
May 1, 2014

more

May 1, 2014

Youthlinc is such a beautiful organization. I have now been on 2 Youthlinc trips and will be going on my 3rd as an Alum Leader to Thailand. Over the last three years, Youthlinc has changed the way that I look at this world. There is so much good to be done and whether at home or abroad, I know I can make a difference. My team leaders, the Youthlinc employee's, and most importantly my dear friends that I have made over the years through Youthlinc, have made this a lasting impact on my life that I will cherish forever. I love Youthlinc!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 30, 2014

more

April 30, 2014

My daughter visited Thailand in 2010 after an extraordinary year of experience with local service. That year, I had the pleasure of volunteering in the planning of the Annual Benefit. It was a collaboration of effort and resources that resulted in a meaningful event for all those behind the scenes, as well as those in attendance. My daughter is wrapping up her third year in college working on her degree of Community and International Development, and two minors that will work together in her charge for bringing about humanitarian change that matters. Youthlinc played a pivotal role in carving out her path for the future.
April 28, 2014

more

April 28, 2014

I first started with Youthlinc in 2008 and haven't looked back since. I visited Kenya for both of my services trips where we did everything from water projects, to sewing, to micro-loans. The impact and mission Youthlinc brings to these communities can't be matched. The heart and development that go into the meetings and local service volunteering is what makes Youthlinc a special and unique program. The volunteers have to prove that they are willing to help in their local community and put forth the efforts in do so before they are eligible to help make the difference abroad. Youthlinc has shaped my future (literally) in a way I would have never thought possible. My full time job, passion and dream were all sparked because of Youthlinc. I am forever grateful and indebted to Youthlinc and the wonderful work they do.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More trips!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 26, 2014

more


1 previous review
July 19, 2013

I happened upon Youthlinc because my daughter was involved with the Kenya 2013 team and found out that they needed a mentor with my particular expertise for the trip. I was hesitant at first, but deci... more

April 26, 2014

I've worked with Youthlic in several capacities, and am very pleased with what Youthlinc offers. 1) As a parent of a Youthlinc participant (my daughter went to Kenya in June 2013), I feel grateful that she (a college freshman) was so touched that she changed her career path based on an amazing experience that she had with the team in Kenya. It is true that she had to work hard to raise the funds to go, but one of the goals of Youthlinc is to ingrain in these relatively young participants the motivation to "own it". As a parent, I couldn't ask for anything more than what I got. 2) As a mentor on the 2013 Kenya trip, I had a fabulous time, and experienced the team-building spirit as I've rarely felt it before. We all were asked to do things that got us out of our comfort zone (teaching preschool kids for me, building a vocational school, working in the sun, etc for others), all done in the spirit of service. Everyone I worked with served with a smile. 3) As a board member for the past several months, I've seen the inner workings of Youthlinc. I've heard all about budget, goals, programs, internal office personnel changes, etc, and I have never once heard any comments other then "how can we help these kids to be lifetime humanitarians?" I feel quite qualified to say that this program truly does put it's mission first: "Creating Lifetime Humanitarians". I look forward to a long time of service with Youthlinc.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help EVERY individual get the experience they want. I recognize that no organization can please every single person it touches. Having said that, 95% of the comments that I've read all gave 5 star ratings, and a few gave 4 stars. Only one gave a lower rating. If I could change one thing, it would be to be able to address and fulfill the needs of that one person.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 19, 2013

I happened upon Youthlinc because my daughter was involved with the Kenya 2013 team and found out that they needed a mentor with my particular expertise for the trip. I was hesitant at first, but decided that no matter what it would be worth it to be able to hang out with my daughter for about 3 weeks. From the moment I signed up (and especially when I left SLC to go to Kenya), I was impressed with the organization. My team leader (Scott) was fabulous, and never let a moment go by where he didn't have a constructive suggestion for how we should use our time to the max. He kept us moving when it might otherwise have been easy to waste time, and made it fun every minute of every day. Our team was superb, and we got along very well, even all cramped together on bunkbeds in a single 40-person dorm. The kids there were amazing, and our site was overseen by the incredible Father Franklin, who was always cognizant of the students under his care.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have more former volunteers share their experiences in formal team meetings before the trip.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 6, 2014

more

March 6, 2014

The original idea for Youthlinc was great, however, that has been lost either due to personal or financial pressures. The organization spends more time drilling the volunteers to raise money and worry about their reputation (Executive Director) than treating the volunteers with respect and honoring their sincerity about helping make a better life for the underprivileged. Many volunteers are communicating the same level of disappointment receiving threatening emails and verbal abuse mostly from the "Executive Director" or is it "Exclusive Director"? It's an unacceptable way to run a volunteer "humanitarian organization". Sadly out of control, manic personality who is a grown up bully!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Change Directors

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 27, 2013

more

October 27, 2013

Rebecca T. wrote:
Hello I am a Youthlinc parent. My daughter who went to Guatemala this year was able to participate in service even before she left because of the service hours that are required before leaving on the humanitarian trip. I thought this was a great way to get youth involved in
their community and to educate them of the many service opportunities right in their own state. The trip to Guatemala was the perfect way to reinforce what she had learned from serving in her community. She had a wonderful experience. Learning about different cultures and being a part of a group working to make a difference was a powerful tool in her growth toward becoming a life long humanitarian. Thank you Youthlinc!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

I volunteered with Youthlinc as a mentor for two years. It was such an amazing experience that I would recommend it without hesitation. The first time I went with my daughter and she had a wonderful experience as well. The programs are well organized with meetings each month which helped us to get to know each other and be really prepared to serve when we left the country. Service is emphasized, not only abroad, but in our own communities as well. Once we were in our chosen country, it was astounding how much we were able to accomplish to help the people. It was hard work, but very rewarding, and we were able to improve the lives of so many people. I feel it also improved the lives of the youth that went and they had experiences that they will remember for the rest of their lives. I know for me it was also an unforgettable experience that I will always cherish.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

I went as a volunteer to Cambodia in the summer of 2012. Youthlinc made this trip the most amazing experience because I got to really know and help the locals while also seeing all the cool things in there country!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 22, 2013

more

October 22, 2013

YouthLinc has been in my life for the past 4 years. I first heard about YouthLinc through my best friend who was going on a trip. I watched her do service in the community, and she loved it. When she finally went on her trip she came home and talked about it for weeks. Hearing about how life changing her experience was i new that I wanted to be apart of it. That following summer I was on the Peru 2011 service team. Peru was the most humbling and amazing experience. It showed that people who have close to nothing can give you more then you could ever give back to them. When I returned I was so eager to go back that I went on the two following Friends & Family trips to Cambodia and Vietnam. Which were just as amazing as my first trip. YouthLinc is a great way to make new friends, and teaches you so many life lessons that you could not learn any other way. I could not thank this organization enough.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

have more international sites.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 21, 2013

more

October 21, 2013

I went on a service trip with Youthlinc to Thailand, during the summer of 2012. This was a life changing experience for me. The importance of giving back and selflessness in this organization is unreal. The whole year we had to prepare by giving back and doing service in our local community. This gives a sense of how important local service is. We had monthly meetings where we figured out what was going to be scheduled while we were at the school in Thailand. I was apart of the Vocational committee and we focused on education for the students so they can start a career with a focus in tourism. Our stay in Thailand was unforgettable. The connections I made with the students of the elementary school we taught and worked at are long-lasting. Although we couldn't communicate directly with them, they changed my life. To see the struggles they persistently go through, but always have a smile on their face, taught me to be resilient and put my life in perspective. This experience is life-changing and this organization creates a family of life-long volunteers.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers