Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
461 Reviews
1234.856835
| 1 2 3 4...34 |
Write A Review
June 29, 2014

more

June 29, 2014

This was the most amazing experience of my life. I loved my group, the people of Peru. I felt that we were actually useful in the village. We built a school house, garden, bridge, and sidewalks. I knew we were helpful because the people were so grateful for us and loved us. I would recommend this to anyone this was a life changing experience.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would change the organization of the projects. I had no idea what was happening most of the time in out in country meetings.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 15, 2014

more


1 previous review
February 13, 2011

I am so impressed with Youthlinc. They're not just about doing having volunteers do one time service on trips - they are about cultivating life long humanitarians. I am so excited to be a volunteer fo... more

May 15, 2014

Miriam, I just wanted to express my gratitude to you for all you’ve done to help the Mondo Art Project integrate into your programming and really thrive. You are awesome!

Ellie, thank you for the excellent job you did on the art binders - they look great!

Carolyn, Kenzie, and
Mallory - thanks for all your help with Real Life when we did our two Mondo Art Project days with the students. Your assistance and feedback helps us make it better and better every year.

Julia, you been just amazing to work with over the years and I’ll miss seeing you around Youthlinc and Real Life. Best of luck to you with your new endeavors!

Judy, I’d like to specifically thank you as well for believing in the Mondo Art Project and seeing it’s value to connect kids around the world and create a cultural exchange opportunity for students on your trips. I hope you feel it has added value to your programming. I am so impressed with Youthlinc, it’s programs, and it’s people. You really make a huge difference in this world and I’m really proud to be partnered with you and am excited to see how this partnership continues to evolve.

Thanks again for everything!

Mikell

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 13, 2011

I am so impressed with Youthlinc. They're not just about doing having volunteers do one time service on trips - they are about cultivating life long humanitarians. I am so excited to be a volunteer for this organization, and look forward to doing some good work in Kenya with our amazing team!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

see above

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I really can't think of anything I would suggest to change.

May 1, 2014

more

May 1, 2014

Youthlinc is such a beautiful organization. I have now been on 2 Youthlinc trips and will be going on my 3rd as an Alum Leader to Thailand. Over the last three years, Youthlinc has changed the way that I look at this world. There is so much good to be done and whether at home or abroad, I know I can make a difference. My team leaders, the Youthlinc employee's, and most importantly my dear friends that I have made over the years through Youthlinc, have made this a lasting impact on my life that I will cherish forever. I love Youthlinc!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 30, 2014

more

April 30, 2014

My daughter visited Thailand in 2010 after an extraordinary year of experience with local service. That year, I had the pleasure of volunteering in the planning of the Annual Benefit. It was a collaboration of effort and resources that resulted in a meaningful event for all those behind the scenes, as well as those in attendance. My daughter is wrapping up her third year in college working on her degree of Community and International Development, and two minors that will work together in her charge for bringing about humanitarian change that matters. Youthlinc played a pivotal role in carving out her path for the future.
April 28, 2014

more

April 28, 2014

I first started with Youthlinc in 2008 and haven't looked back since. I visited Kenya for both of my services trips where we did everything from water projects, to sewing, to micro-loans. The impact and mission Youthlinc brings to these communities can't be matched. The heart and development that go into the meetings and local service volunteering is what makes Youthlinc a special and unique program. The volunteers have to prove that they are willing to help in their local community and put forth the efforts in do so before they are eligible to help make the difference abroad. Youthlinc has shaped my future (literally) in a way I would have never thought possible. My full time job, passion and dream were all sparked because of Youthlinc. I am forever grateful and indebted to Youthlinc and the wonderful work they do.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More trips!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 26, 2014

more


1 previous review
July 19, 2013

I happened upon Youthlinc because my daughter was involved with the Kenya 2013 team and found out that they needed a mentor with my particular expertise for the trip. I was hesitant at first, but deci... more

April 26, 2014

I've worked with Youthlic in several capacities, and am very pleased with what Youthlinc offers. 1) As a parent of a Youthlinc participant (my daughter went to Kenya in June 2013), I feel grateful that she (a college freshman) was so touched that she changed her career path based on an amazing experience that she had with the team in Kenya. It is true that she had to work hard to raise the funds to go, but one of the goals of Youthlinc is to ingrain in these relatively young participants the motivation to "own it". As a parent, I couldn't ask for anything more than what I got. 2) As a mentor on the 2013 Kenya trip, I had a fabulous time, and experienced the team-building spirit as I've rarely felt it before. We all were asked to do things that got us out of our comfort zone (teaching preschool kids for me, building a vocational school, working in the sun, etc for others), all done in the spirit of service. Everyone I worked with served with a smile. 3) As a board member for the past several months, I've seen the inner workings of Youthlinc. I've heard all about budget, goals, programs, internal office personnel changes, etc, and I have never once heard any comments other then "how can we help these kids to be lifetime humanitarians?" I feel quite qualified to say that this program truly does put it's mission first: "Creating Lifetime Humanitarians". I look forward to a long time of service with Youthlinc.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help EVERY individual get the experience they want. I recognize that no organization can please every single person it touches. Having said that, 95% of the comments that I've read all gave 5 star ratings, and a few gave 4 stars. Only one gave a lower rating. If I could change one thing, it would be to be able to address and fulfill the needs of that one person.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 19, 2013

I happened upon Youthlinc because my daughter was involved with the Kenya 2013 team and found out that they needed a mentor with my particular expertise for the trip. I was hesitant at first, but decided that no matter what it would be worth it to be able to hang out with my daughter for about 3 weeks. From the moment I signed up (and especially when I left SLC to go to Kenya), I was impressed with the organization. My team leader (Scott) was fabulous, and never let a moment go by where he didn't have a constructive suggestion for how we should use our time to the max. He kept us moving when it might otherwise have been easy to waste time, and made it fun every minute of every day. Our team was superb, and we got along very well, even all cramped together on bunkbeds in a single 40-person dorm. The kids there were amazing, and our site was overseen by the incredible Father Franklin, who was always cognizant of the students under his care.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have more former volunteers share their experiences in formal team meetings before the trip.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 6, 2014

more

March 6, 2014

The original idea for Youthlinc was great, however, that has been lost either due to personal or financial pressures. The organization spends more time drilling the volunteers to raise money and worry about their reputation (Executive Director) than treating the volunteers with respect and honoring their sincerity about helping make a better life for the underprivileged. Many volunteers are communicating the same level of disappointment receiving threatening emails and verbal abuse mostly from the "Executive Director" or is it "Exclusive Director"? It's an unacceptable way to run a volunteer "humanitarian organization". Sadly out of control, manic personality who is a grown up bully!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Change Directors

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 27, 2013

more

October 27, 2013

Rebecca T. wrote:
Hello I am a Youthlinc parent. My daughter who went to Guatemala this year was able to participate in service even before she left because of the service hours that are required before leaving on the humanitarian trip. I thought this was a great way to get youth involved in
their community and to educate them of the many service opportunities right in their own state. The trip to Guatemala was the perfect way to reinforce what she had learned from serving in her community. She had a wonderful experience. Learning about different cultures and being a part of a group working to make a difference was a powerful tool in her growth toward becoming a life long humanitarian. Thank you Youthlinc!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

I volunteered with Youthlinc as a mentor for two years. It was such an amazing experience that I would recommend it without hesitation. The first time I went with my daughter and she had a wonderful experience as well. The programs are well organized with meetings each month which helped us to get to know each other and be really prepared to serve when we left the country. Service is emphasized, not only abroad, but in our own communities as well. Once we were in our chosen country, it was astounding how much we were able to accomplish to help the people. It was hard work, but very rewarding, and we were able to improve the lives of so many people. I feel it also improved the lives of the youth that went and they had experiences that they will remember for the rest of their lives. I know for me it was also an unforgettable experience that I will always cherish.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

I went as a volunteer to Cambodia in the summer of 2012. Youthlinc made this trip the most amazing experience because I got to really know and help the locals while also seeing all the cool things in there country!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers