Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
429 Reviews
1234.860145
Previous | 1 2 3...32 |
Write A Review
March 6, 2014

more

March 6, 2014

The original idea for Youthlinc was great, however, that has been lost either due to personal or financial pressures. The organization spends more time drilling the volunteers to raise money and worry about their reputation (Executive Director) than treating the volunteers with respect and honoring their sincerity about helping make a better life for the underprivileged. Many volunteers are communicating the same level of disappointment receiving threatening emails and verbal abuse mostly from the "Executive Director" or is it "Exclusive Director"? It's an unacceptable way to run a volunteer "humanitarian organization". Sadly out of control, manic personality who is a grown up bully!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Change Directors

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 27, 2013

more

October 27, 2013

Rebecca T. wrote:
Hello I am a Youthlinc parent. My daughter who went to Guatemala this year was able to participate in service even before she left because of the service hours that are required before leaving on the humanitarian trip. I thought this was a great way to get youth involved in
their community and to educate them of the many service opportunities right in their own state. The trip to Guatemala was the perfect way to reinforce what she had learned from serving in her community. She had a wonderful experience. Learning about different cultures and being a part of a group working to make a difference was a powerful tool in her growth toward becoming a life long humanitarian. Thank you Youthlinc!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

I volunteered with Youthlinc as a mentor for two years. It was such an amazing experience that I would recommend it without hesitation. The first time I went with my daughter and she had a wonderful experience as well. The programs are well organized with meetings each month which helped us to get to know each other and be really prepared to serve when we left the country. Service is emphasized, not only abroad, but in our own communities as well. Once we were in our chosen country, it was astounding how much we were able to accomplish to help the people. It was hard work, but very rewarding, and we were able to improve the lives of so many people. I feel it also improved the lives of the youth that went and they had experiences that they will remember for the rest of their lives. I know for me it was also an unforgettable experience that I will always cherish.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

I went as a volunteer to Cambodia in the summer of 2012. Youthlinc made this trip the most amazing experience because I got to really know and help the locals while also seeing all the cool things in there country!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 22, 2013

more

October 22, 2013

YouthLinc has been in my life for the past 4 years. I first heard about YouthLinc through my best friend who was going on a trip. I watched her do service in the community, and she loved it. When she finally went on her trip she came home and talked about it for weeks. Hearing about how life changing her experience was i new that I wanted to be apart of it. That following summer I was on the Peru 2011 service team. Peru was the most humbling and amazing experience. It showed that people who have close to nothing can give you more then you could ever give back to them. When I returned I was so eager to go back that I went on the two following Friends & Family trips to Cambodia and Vietnam. Which were just as amazing as my first trip. YouthLinc is a great way to make new friends, and teaches you so many life lessons that you could not learn any other way. I could not thank this organization enough.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

have more international sites.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 21, 2013

more

October 21, 2013

I went on a service trip with Youthlinc to Thailand, during the summer of 2012. This was a life changing experience for me. The importance of giving back and selflessness in this organization is unreal. The whole year we had to prepare by giving back and doing service in our local community. This gives a sense of how important local service is. We had monthly meetings where we figured out what was going to be scheduled while we were at the school in Thailand. I was apart of the Vocational committee and we focused on education for the students so they can start a career with a focus in tourism. Our stay in Thailand was unforgettable. The connections I made with the students of the elementary school we taught and worked at are long-lasting. Although we couldn't communicate directly with them, they changed my life. To see the struggles they persistently go through, but always have a smile on their face, taught me to be resilient and put my life in perspective. This experience is life-changing and this organization creates a family of life-long volunteers.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 21, 2013

more

October 21, 2013

I have been volunteering with Youthlinc off and on for 10 years and loved every experience. They take the extra step to make projects sustainable and not a band aid. The focus on local and international volunteer work extends the scope beyond most NPO groups.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 21, 2013

more

October 21, 2013

Youthlinc is an incredible organization that helps students become world leaders. I had an amazing experience as a mentor for the students of the Youtlinc Cambodia team 2 years ago, and I can't wait to participate in a service year experience again. The students spent many many hours serving the local community and learning to organize events, interact with those in need, and plan for the future. Youthlinc is a life-changing organization!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Offer more teams so more students can participate!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 20, 2013

more

October 20, 2013

Youthlinc is a fantastic organization that I have spent countless hours working with out the past 3 years. They care about the people they serve, their volunteers, and most importantly making the largest impact they possibly can. I have never seen a group of people so happy and grateful as I did on my trips with Youthlinc. My life and perspective has been changed because of Youthlinc and I am so grateful for it.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 20, 2013

more

October 20, 2013

Two years ago I embarked on a journey with the humanitarian organization Youthlinc, which connects high school and college students to the world of service. I did a year of in-country service at an after school program for teen refugees and the summer after traveled to the Peruvian Amazon to work alongside villagers and other students to better the small community of Yanamono. Alongside the villagers we constructed concrete walk ways and bridges that could withstand the annual rising and flooding of the amazon that destroys their paths, painted the community center/school and constructed a restroom for the village center. Beside my fellow peers I organized and led English lessons for the children and cultural immersion projects for both villagers and volunteers. I translated soap making lessons for the women of the village and home visits with villagers to see what other needs we could help them with when the next Youthlinc group came to the village next year. I was truly inspired by these humble people and their dedication to their village and their desire to be a part of its improvement. More than anything, they helped me. Because of the empathy, compassion, productivity, change, and unfiltered love I was encompassed by, I told myself I would see the village again.
That's how life changing the youthlinc experience is. In fact, I'll be participaating as an Alum Leader this year, so I can go back to Peru and work with this wonderful organization again.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...32 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers