Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
460 Reviews
1234.85875
| 1 ... 3 4 5...45 |
Write A Review
April 24, 2014

more

April 24, 2014

I have been involved with youthlinc in many capacities. As a volunteer fundraiser for the first few years and as donor and supporter for the past few years and I have nothing but good to say about this organization. It is difficult to rely mainly on volunteers for your support as you run and maintain a wonderful program that benefits all involved. I have seen lives changed by the programs Youthlinc provides. When a youth comes home from a trip, their life is greatly impacted by the experience. I wish every youth had the opportunity to experience what Youthlinc provides and I hope the program continues to grow so that more do have the opportunity to begin their path as humanitarians for life. Teaching our children the importance of giving is almost more important than teaching them how to continually try to accumulate in this life. Thank you Youthlinc for all the good you do in the world.
March 6, 2014

more

March 6, 2014

The original idea for Youthlinc was great, however, that has been lost either due to personal or financial pressures. The organization spends more time drilling the volunteers to raise money and worry about their reputation (Executive Director) than treating the volunteers with respect and honoring their sincerity about helping make a better life for the underprivileged. Many volunteers are communicating the same level of disappointment receiving threatening emails and verbal abuse mostly from the "Executive Director" or is it "Exclusive Director"? It's an unacceptable way to run a volunteer "humanitarian organization". Sadly out of control, manic personality who is a grown up bully!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Change Directors

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 1, 2013

more

November 1, 2013

My husband and I have been involved with the Youthlinc organization since he and our oldest daughter participated in one of their service trips to Mexico in 2007. Since then we have sponsored many other students on their service trips and have sent both our daughters on a service trip to Thailand. I am greatly impressed with this organization and with it's focus on creating lifetime humanitarians by getting young people involved in giving service. In addition to the well organized and meaningful service projects that they do on the international level the participants are required to give local service in their own communities to earn their sponsorship for the international project they are participating in. I know with both of my daughters this service requirement resulted in them having to step out of their comfort zones and was a eye opening and life changing experience which made them realize how fortunate they are and helped them see the needs and the opportunities available around them every day. I have friends whose children have participated in international service projects with other groups and though these experiences were very meaningful they did not have the same impact on their children because the focus of the project participants was raising funds for the project rather than getting involved in giving service. I appreciate this major difference. For me it is far more important to teach my children to give service rather than to teach then how to raise money to donate for service. Though raising money is essential to fund service projects it is detached from the people who need our service and does not require us to give of our time and ourselves in the same way as giving actual service does. I love this organization and have nothing but praise for the impact it has on the lives of those who participate with it.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

I am a donor as well as a Youthlink parent. Last year my teenager was in a group that went to Cambodia. I was impressed with the Youthlink leaders and how they kept everyone involved, including parents in the planning and preparation for the trip. The effort included local volunteer service, planning for the activities in Cambodia, as well as getting shots, packing and medical exams. The leaders patiently answered all questions and helped provide solutions for problems and concerns. The result was a life changing experience for my teenager and others which reinforced the importance of service and provided confidence to do difficult things. Thank you Youthlink.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 27, 2013

more

October 27, 2013

Rebecca T. wrote:
Hello I am a Youthlinc parent. My daughter who went to Guatemala this year was able to participate in service even before she left because of the service hours that are required before leaving on the humanitarian trip. I thought this was a great way to get youth involved in
their community and to educate them of the many service opportunities right in their own state. The trip to Guatemala was the perfect way to reinforce what she had learned from serving in her community. She had a wonderful experience. Learning about different cultures and being a part of a group working to make a difference was a powerful tool in her growth toward becoming a life long humanitarian. Thank you Youthlinc!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

I volunteered with Youthlinc as a mentor for two years. It was such an amazing experience that I would recommend it without hesitation. The first time I went with my daughter and she had a wonderful experience as well. The programs are well organized with meetings each month which helped us to get to know each other and be really prepared to serve when we left the country. Service is emphasized, not only abroad, but in our own communities as well. Once we were in our chosen country, it was astounding how much we were able to accomplish to help the people. It was hard work, but very rewarding, and we were able to improve the lives of so many people. I feel it also improved the lives of the youth that went and they had experiences that they will remember for the rest of their lives. I know for me it was also an unforgettable experience that I will always cherish.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

I went as a volunteer to Cambodia in the summer of 2012. Youthlinc made this trip the most amazing experience because I got to really know and help the locals while also seeing all the cool things in there country!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 22, 2013

more

October 22, 2013

YouthLinc has been in my life for the past 4 years. I first heard about YouthLinc through my best friend who was going on a trip. I watched her do service in the community, and she loved it. When she finally went on her trip she came home and talked about it for weeks. Hearing about how life changing her experience was i new that I wanted to be apart of it. That following summer I was on the Peru 2011 service team. Peru was the most humbling and amazing experience. It showed that people who have close to nothing can give you more then you could ever give back to them. When I returned I was so eager to go back that I went on the two following Friends & Family trips to Cambodia and Vietnam. Which were just as amazing as my first trip. YouthLinc is a great way to make new friends, and teaches you so many life lessons that you could not learn any other way. I could not thank this organization enough.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

have more international sites.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 21, 2013

more

October 21, 2013

My daughter went as a volunteer to Kenya in 2012, and will return to work with Youthlinc in the summer of 2014 as an alumni leader. As she became involved with Youthlinc, I also was drawn in to not only be a donor but to volunteer my services with the group. Youthlinc is an outstanding organization, combining the molding of young people into lifetime volunteers and providing much-needed help in countries around the globe.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make more openings available for more young people to experience this wonderful experience.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 21, 2013

more

October 21, 2013

I went on a service trip with Youthlinc to Thailand, during the summer of 2012. This was a life changing experience for me. The importance of giving back and selflessness in this organization is unreal. The whole year we had to prepare by giving back and doing service in our local community. This gives a sense of how important local service is. We had monthly meetings where we figured out what was going to be scheduled while we were at the school in Thailand. I was apart of the Vocational committee and we focused on education for the students so they can start a career with a focus in tourism. Our stay in Thailand was unforgettable. The connections I made with the students of the elementary school we taught and worked at are long-lasting. Although we couldn't communicate directly with them, they changed my life. To see the struggles they persistently go through, but always have a smile on their face, taught me to be resilient and put my life in perspective. This experience is life-changing and this organization creates a family of life-long volunteers.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers