Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
429 Reviews
1234.860145
| 1 ... 3 4 5...42 |
Write A Review
October 14, 2013

more

October 14, 2013

Youthlinc is an extraordinary way to engage the youth of Salt Lake in volunteering in your community and internationally. The preparation you go through before your international service takes up time and thought, but also builds strength, confidence, and passion for helping others. I have become exposed to so many great service and learning opportunities because of Youthlinc, and I've had the chance to meet so many new people in my community, and also in my international service site. Sign up for Youthlinc if you want to become engaged in service in your community and around the world!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The only advice I have for Youthlinc is to have better contact with the international country you're going to beforehand, so you know exactly what the communities need before you travel to your in-country service site.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 14, 2013

more

October 14, 2013

My son travelled to Kenya this past summer with Youthlinc. It was such a great experience. He was able to experience many things he has been sheltered from most of his life. As a parent, of course I was a bit nervous at first, but the Youthlinc staff, mentors and volunteers were extremely prepared and experienced which gave me so much comfort. One of the other really great benefits of this program was the required local service hours he was required to complete prior to leaving for his service trip. We will be sending our teenage daughter next summer, hopefully to her first choice, Thailand!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 14, 2013

more

October 14, 2013

My 17-year-old son is a great kid, but has been fortunate enough to have been raised in a safe, sheltered community. I wanted him to be able to gain some perspective about our world and the vast number of people who live in dire poverty. So after hearing a rave review from an acquaintance about Youthlinc, I encouraged him to sign up. At first, he didn't believe that it was possible to travel to a foreign country. It took some persuasion and a little bit of pressure to get him to actually apply to the program. But he did and was accepted.

The next nine months were filled with service at a care center, Youthlinc meetings and fundraising. It was great to have him complete 80 hours of service so that he felt like he "earned" the trip. And fundraising was another experience that changed his perspective, because he realized how generous people can be. Finally, all of the preparations were made and Spencer was at the airport going to Peru. Something he hadn't thought possible was about to take place!

The service experience in Peru was priceless. Our son enjoyed connecting with the people. He grew close to most of the kids in the small village and played soccer with them daily. Upon returning home, he said, "Compared to these people, I have everything, so I want to do everything I can to help and serve them." He and the other 30 people from Youthlinc were in tears when they left the village after their two weeks of service. It was definitely a life-changing experience for him. I can't think of a better way to help him shift his paradigm and perspective about world poverty.

Thank you, Youthlinc, for providing this amazing opportunity!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I don't know.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 14, 2013

more

October 14, 2013

My daughter had an amazing experience with this organization. The life lessons she learned and opportunity to participate with the humanitarian efforts, will impact her throughout her life.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 14, 2013

more

October 14, 2013

Youthlinc was such an incredible experience for me. I was a participant in the humanitarian group that went to Kenya. And It changed my life in more than one way. Youthlinc encourages groups of all different ages to serve not only globally, but also in their own community. If anyone asks me about my trip I show them our team video and always recommend applying to the program!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 14, 2013

more

October 14, 2013

I was a participant in a humanitarian trip to Peru with YouthLinc during the summer right after I graduated from high school. YouthLinc made sure all the participants were committed to serving their community by only letting those who completed all their community service hours come on the trip, so during my senior year instead of only being caught up in all the fun (but selfish) things a normal senior in high school would get caught up in, I was able to realize all the different places right around my home that needed volunteer work and to learn what real happiness was as I was serving and making a difference in my community.

After spending an entire school year doing service in my community, I spent 2 weeks in Peru the following summer. I was introduced first hand to true poverty and saw that the people there were happier and more grateful than most of the people I knew back home. I saw the difference we were able to make to them and decided right then, as an 18 year old, that I would try to serve people my whole life and also try to show my gratitude for the things I am blessed with.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2007

October 14, 2013

more

October 14, 2013

Our Son introduced us to Youthlinc last year and was with the group that served the people of Vietnam this past summer. I have never seen a better organized and managed group that truly walks it's talk that of building lifetime humanitarians, our son hopes to go again this next year.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help it continue to grow and open opportunities for more youth to participate.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 14, 2013

more


1 previous review
July 29, 2013

Youthlinc is such a great organization for youth. What I really liked about it was that I was required to do so many service hours leading up to my trip which really taught me how important service is... more

October 14, 2013

Youthlinc was an amazing experience for me and taught me so much about service. The service year program made me realize how important service is in our community and abroad. I am always looking for ways to serve now because I know the wonderful feeling it brings.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

change nothing. Everything about it was amazing and I wouldn't want it any other way!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 29, 2013

Youthlinc is such a great organization for youth. What I really liked about it was that I was required to do so many service hours leading up to my trip which really taught me how important service is in my life. My leaders and mentors were so wonderful. They were always prepared and made a strong effort to get to know each team member individually.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I don't think I would change anything.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 13, 2013

more

October 13, 2013

Youthlinc is a great non-profit organization that builds young humanitarians. The program is great in teaching youth to serve their community and their country. I witnessed a 16 year old go out in the community to solicit help with gaining funds to go to Africa for 17 days doing humanitarian service. She first served her community by volunteering at a local respite nursery for children. She grew to love serving her community and felt she was able to make a difference. She went to make a difference in Africa but Africa made a difference in her.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 13, 2013

more

October 13, 2013

Youthlinc has helped me to be motivated to go out and look for service opportunities in my own community. Through all the hard work that was required of me in order to go on my service trip to Cambodia, I got to meet a variety of new people and I got to learn about each of them as I served them. The trip itself was amazing! I met people with different background and I learned to love them despite the slight barrier between our languages. I have been able to be a part of changing someone's life for the better, and working with others who have the same goal and expectations made it all the more enjoyable.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Unsure

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers