Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
461 Reviews
1234.856835
Previous | 1 2 3...45 |
Write A Review
July 26, 2014

more

July 26, 2014

Youthlinc is very good at keeping you well informed and busy the entire time you're in the country. Not only do you get to teach the locals there something new, but you learn things yourself, too, whether it's about yourself or about the people you're helping. There was perfect balance between interacting with those we were helping and getting to know more about them and doing other activities such as construction. I would definitely recommend this organization to a friend!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Let them know first thing exactly how much work will be going into the trip before they even leave. I thought all I had to do was 80 hours of local service and fundraise for my personal funds, but then all of the sudden I was expected to participate in a yard sale that raised funds for the team as a whole and collect money for "Love Youthlinc Day," which was hard because I had already asked everyone I knew to donate to my personal funds, and I didn't want to put pressure on them to donate more.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 24, 2014

more


1 previous review
July 12, 2012

My year with Youthlinc really changed my life. From the moment my team all met for the first time, to the second we boarded the plane to come home from Cambodia. It really helped to have such an amazi... more

July 24, 2014

Youthlinc is absolutely one of the best non profits out there right now. It gives students a chance to travel and make a world wide difference.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would change how we all interact at the beginning. None of us got the chance to really get to know each other.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Unlikely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Unsure

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 12, 2012

My year with Youthlinc really changed my life. From the moment my team all met for the first time, to the second we boarded the plane to come home from Cambodia. It really helped to have such an amazing team along side me, going through the exact same things I was going through. We all got along so well. A lot better than I thought we were going to. We became a family on this trip. We stuck together and never left a single person out. I truly think the Cambodia team was the best team here. We were all so determined to fundraise and help. We all worked so hard to get to out goals. We were even determined to have the best lessons to teach the kids there. We spend so much time thinking of ways to make our lessons even better. We revised them about four times each! Every thing we were going to be doing over there was so important to us. We wanted to make sure everything was perfect. I do think we deserve so recognition for out hard work. My trip with Youthlinc was something I will never forget. Our hard work was greatly appreciated by the villagers. It really touched my heart to see how excited they were with everything we had done. I felt very honored while I was there. I feel so lucky that I got to be a part of it. They were so welcoming from when we arrived, to the day we left. I learned that even the smallest things, can make the greatest impact on a person. We changed their lives as they changed mine. It was truly the experience of a life time. I have made life long friends within the group and also back in Cambodia. I will definitely try to go back and volunteer and help out as much as I can! I hope that next years Cambodia team will live up to our teams standards. I think we really raised the bar this year and I hope it gets raised even higher next year. I want to personally thank Youthlinc for being so incredible. Without it, I don't think I would have been able to have had this amazing, life changing experience. Youthlinc helps change the lives of so many people and with their help, I got to change lives too. I can't even begin to thank Youthlinc enough! I hope it keeps helping people like me, to change the lives of others. Thank you Youthlinc, for making 2012 the greatest year by far for me!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 21, 2014

more

July 21, 2014

My international service trip to Thailand this July was amazing. Our team was extremely hard working and we were able to change the lives of everyone involved in the Burmese learning center. We constructed a back wall for the learning center to prevent burglars from breaking in, assembled a hydroponic garden so the school could be more self sufficient and not only have more food to consume but be able to sell to local restaurants as well. Our team also assembled and cemented an entire playground for the kids, dug multiple six foot holes for a septic tank, made a gutter for proper drainage of water, cleaned and remodeled the cleaning areas so dishes could be sanitary, and much more. Another great experience was bonding with the Burmese children and also having cultural conversations with poor fisherman. These experiences changed my life and will forever make me more grateful of the people i am surrounded by and the things I own.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Try to get mentors to use more positive reinforcement. There were several experiences where the leaders used intimidation rather than making everyone feel like a team. With all the effort every student put in to make this trip possible I believe they deserve to be positively reinforced and treated with respect.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 19, 2014

more

July 19, 2014

I participated in Youthlinc this past year, and it is incredible. Unlike many similar organizations, Youthlinc does not just impose itself in the lives of the people it serves internationally, but instead asks what the community needs and does what it can to give the community that thing. My trip to Guatemala was a life-changing experience, not least because Youthlinc provided an environment for positive interactions and connections with the Guatemalans and the other team members. I will never forget the time I spent with the Guatemalan people. Not only did we work on two construction projects and life skills lessons (English and sewing), but we got to experience the culture of Guatemala, and show them a bit of our own culture. The trip went so smoothly, and preparations were not at all lacking, and it was much more fun than I expected. I was also changed by the local service I did with Youthlinc (the organization's main focus). I loved that I could choose a service site that matched my interests and even experiment with different sites for some of my local service hours. I will not forget this year and I will certainly stay involved with Youthlinc. Its mission to create lifetime humanitarians is being fulfilled from what I can see.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 19, 2014

more


1 previous review
July 11, 2013

This year I was apart of the Guatemala Team with Youthlinc. I was amazed at how involved i was in my community and also in country. I had opportunities to serve all year round with amazing people. Aft... more

July 19, 2014

My Youthlinc experience has been absolutely amazing. Last year I went to Guatemala and the people there changed my life. I fell in love with their culture and their ability to be so happy with so little. Watching someones face after you have served them is priceless. I loved Youthlinc and it's motives so much that I went back this year as an Alum leader on the thailand july team. I fell in love with the Burmese kids from the moment we drove up to the school. The second i got out of the bus, little kids came up to me and were waving, smiling, and giving me high fives. Moments like that make you stop and think about what you are doing. Giving a small child a high five in Thailand is service. Watching kids faces light up at their new playground is service. Digging a 7ft deep hole with a hoe usually isn't what someone would do for fun, but with youthlinc it is fun. The wonderful thing about the international service trips is that the work people do is not temporary, it is designed to help in the future too.
In thailand this year we built a playground for the kids. A playground may not seem like a big deal to an american kid but to a Burmese kid, it is a reason to come to school. I remember our in country coordinator saying that because of that playground, more kids will want to come to school. That playground may be the start of a little kid getting an education and getting out of poverty. That's a big deal.
Another project that we worked on in Thailand is a bathroom/septic tank for the toddlers. The school already has a bathroom so a second bathroom doesn't seem needed, but it really was. The toddlers aren't big enough to use the bathroom already at the school so they usually just do their business on the floor...gross. With the new bathroom the toddlers will be able to use their smaller toilets. Having pee all over the bathroom floor is one really gross and two not healthy. Health is already an issue with the Burmese refugees and they don't need another factor added to the list of health problems. So the bathroom was a needed project that will benefit the kids in the future.
Youthlinc is such a special program. After being involved with it the last 2 years, I don't want to stop! I feel like Youthlinc has inspired me to truly be a lifetime humanitarian.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give the Alum Leaders more responsibility.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 11, 2013

This year I was apart of the Guatemala Team with Youthlinc. I was amazed at how involved i was in my community and also in country. I had opportunities to serve all year round with amazing people. After my Youthlinc experience, I noticed that I was always smiling, happy, and willing to serve. This organization is remarkable and I recommend that everyone should apply to be apart of any Youthlinc team.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would make this program available to more people!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 19, 2014

more

July 19, 2014

My entire family has always been involved with youthlinc and my sister had previously gone on a trip to Guatemala two years before I was selected to go on my service trip. My sister came home and loved her experience so much I knew I would want to have the same experience as her. Once I was old enough I applied right away and luckily was able to be selected to go on the Thailand July team. All of out meeting throughout the year helped build the excitement to the upcoming trip. Having our 80 hours of service was stressful but well worth it in the end and helped you realize that you don't need to go to an international country to make a difference. Finally we were able to leave on our trip and it reached far beyond my expectations. Everything there was wonderful and I loved every aspect of it. The people and the kids and the whole culture was amazing and I fell in love with the beautiful country.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing, I thought everything was very organized and planned wonderfully.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 19, 2014

more

July 19, 2014

On my Youthlinc trip to Guatemala I learned so much more about the world then I ever could have in a classroom. My service year began in 2013, and without the motivation I received from Youthlinc I would not have made the impact that I did in my community. In Guatemala my committee assisted in educating the local youth as well as assisting three families in starting a self sustaining livestock business. Overall I think that Youthlinc far exceeds expectations in it development of the lives of it's volunteers, as well as the development the service creates in communities in need, both foreign and domestic.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 19, 2014

more

July 19, 2014

You will not provide life saving medical treatments nor change the circumstance of these families by giving them money. No, with Youthlinc you give something far more important to the people of other countries: education. The best way to change someone's circumstance is to give them a tool they can use for the rest of their lives, and that is knowledge. You see the value and strength education gives these people and they are so appreciative for your lessons and your help in providing another school. I traveled to Cambodia with Youthlinc to a small village in Pusat and worked to build a preschool and provide health education. I know that the availability of a preschool in the village with truly change the villager's circumstances and ability to learn, and that is something they will always be able to use for generations to come.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

It is definitely more of a trip for youth. As an adult in her 20s, I would of liked to have a bit more freedom to explore but they put restrictions on this which is understandable when traveling with teens.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 15, 2014

more

July 15, 2014

I went with youthlinc on a humanitarian trip for two weeks this June.
We worked with the Burmese refugees in kuraburi, Thailand. Our construction site was the Burmese learning center where all the kids kindergarten through sixth grade attend school. The school was built two years ago, but ran
out of money. There is a team going in July to finish the projects that we started. The school has a front wall, but no back or side walls. We halfway finished the back wall. We planted bushes along the walls that the kids will be able to pick fruit off of to eat. We tiled the floors in their classrooms and kitchen. We patched a hole in the roof so it wouldn't rain in the classroom anymore. We also fixed up and repainted their playground equipment. Construction was hard. It was very hot and humid. If it wasn't sunny, it was pouring rain. A lot of the work we did was hard manual labor and very repetitive. I cannot tell you how many buckets of rocks I carried, or how much bug and maggot infested trash I scraped up and carried out. There was one day toward the end of the trip that I was getting very sick of hauling stupid buckets of rocks, but I just kept on going. I wasn't in a very good mood, I wad just doing what needed to be done. Mike finally sent us on a water break. I was happy just to have a short break. While I was drinking my water Wiasoo came up to me and wanted to play a little hand game with me. We played for a couple of minutes. Then Oolulai came over and played with me too. In those couple of minutes I was rejuvenated and reminded why I came and who I was doing all this work for. If anyone ever got burnt out or sad, all we had to do was spend a couple minutes with one of those happy little burmese kids and we would be ready to work again. Those kids truly amaze me and I miss them so much.

Not only do we do a construction project, but we also go out into the community and teach health lessons, business lessons, a new skill, and have cultural conversations. I was on the vocational committee, which teaches a new skill. I was able to participate in all of the committees as well. We taught a group of women there how to sew. We donated three sewing machines to them an the business committee help them set up a co-op. I have always loved sewing and have taught many kids to sew at sewing camps in the summer, but this was a whole new experience. We had translators because I don't speak Thai or Burmese. These women and girls were all so eager to learn. They picked it up so fast! We only had to tell one or two ladies what to do and then they would proceed to teach each other. It made our job a whole lot easier, but then we had to come up with extra projects for them since they flew through all of our planned projects.

We also taught English lessons at the school. I was kind of nervous about my lesson. I've taught many kids before, but never ones that didn't speak my language. My lesson went really well though. A lot of the kids were really excited to learn, and the older ones already knew some English. The first grade class was definitely the greatest challenge. There were two kids, Pulapi and Nyete, who were the definite class clowns. They were running all over the place and making the other kids want to cause trouble with them. I had helpers in my classroom to quiet them down so that they would sit through the class. Once they calmed down, everyone else was fine and class went smoothly.

Everyday two youthlinc groups went out into the community. Each group would go into one of the people's homes an their neighbors came over. We gave the health lessons--sanitation, cooking food properly, washing your hands, etc--first. They mostly already knew that they were supposed to do these things, so we just reminded then that when they do it it keeps their families healthier and there is less chance of them getting sick. After the health lesson is the cultural conversation. This was definitely my favorite part. And all we did was talk. We asked questions about their lives, they asked questions about ours. These people have all been through so much. They truly amaze me what they put up with everyday, and they opened their homes to us, which are literally one 10 foot by 12 foot room with a squatter and cooking area out the back door. They don't have much, but they shared with it all with us. The most interesting cultural conversation was when a Burmese woman said that she feels like Americas get to "live to live, but we are just living to survive." Erin asked he how we could help change that. She said that's what is so great about the sewing and business lessons. We are teaching them skills so that they can start their own business and be able to make more money to better their situation.
Youthlinc wants to get away from the classic "handouts" that humanitarians give and change that to giving a "hand up." We do give out many donations while we are there, but we also teach useful skills and learn things from them. It was a true cultural exchange.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 14, 2014

more

July 14, 2014

I've absolutely love the mission of Youthlinc and feel the way things are handled on the trips are excellent. It is especially nice peace of mind that on our trip we had a well qualified nurse with us. I saw some really amazing and beautiful places on our end of service year trip to Guatemala. I love that the real focus though is helping students become lifetime humanitarians by serving in their own communities.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Possible change Love Youthlinc Day to be more a community event. Students are fundraising for their own trip, fundraising for their committee, fundraising for love Youthlinc day, and collecting physical donations. While raising funds for the trip and the committe projects are absolutely essential, I would like to see the Love Youthlinc Day not fall onto the students after they have already been selling stuff to or asking donations from everyone they know for their committee projects.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Previous | 1 2 3...45 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers