Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
44 Reviews
1234.977275
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
October 1, 2013

more

October 1, 2013

I have really enjoyed volunteering preparing and serving meals at YouthCare's Orion Center. The staff are wonderful and welcoming, and the space they create for the youth they serve and for volunteers is dynamic yet relaxed, integrous yet flexible. I love being involved with this organization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them millions of dollars in funding so they could help all the youth who need their services!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 20, 2013

more

September 20, 2013

Hola, I became involved w/ Youthcare by volunteering in the kitchen for a couple of tuesdays.
The people involved at the Orion center really had a possitive impact on me.So i am pursuing more volunteer opportunities w/ this organization.Mui gradesco jovenes cuidado!
Anthony

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 20, 2013

more

September 20, 2013

I learned of Youthcare through my wife and her team of committed volunteers at her church and also her place of employment. The program is outstanding and provides food and resources to those that are in a difficult place. I have had the chance to volunteer with the team to cook on multiple occasions and have found the experience to be positive and humbling at the same time. The young people that come in for dinner have always been courteous and respectful. They really appreciate the effort put forth to assist them and that is due to the Youthcare staff how they operate the Orion center. My wife and I have also donated to the various programs and did a fundraising drive to help with hygiene products.

For those of you out there in the business world, looking for a way to give back to the community as well as conduct teambuilding for your employees, cooking a meal at Youthcare is a fantastic opportunity to do both.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None that I see today.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 9, 2013

more

September 9, 2013

My friend and I volunteered for dinner, it was an excellent experience. Preparing and serving meals for homeless youth is not only fun, but also meaningful. Staff at YouthCare are awesome, they are very enthusiastic and patient toward the youth. I had a great conversation with Jack, the Community Outreach Meal Coordinator. I believe that far beyond providing meals and shelters, this program is also teaching those youth about love and responsibility.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Offer various and more nutritious foods for the youth.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 25, 2013

more

April 25, 2013

My wife and I serve dinner one night a week to the Catalyst residents. We have greatly enjoyed watching these young adults working hard to improve their situation and we are glad to know that they have a warm, safe home as they make their way. The young adults delight us with their insights and impress us with their bravery. We look forward to Tuesday nights and hope that our meals nourish the residents in more ways than one. It certainly does for us.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I love volunteering at youth care and organizing our teams at champions foundation to volunteer. We love the staff and youth as well so enjoy serving dinner twice a month. If you are looking for a great place to volunteer where you can make a difference this is your place.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 29, 2012

more

November 29, 2012

I Ron Brooks begin voluneteer a year ago, and found out early how much love the staff helping the youth. This orgainzation is ran very professional which shows it is built on good foundation. The big thing is how much you see the youth lives are improven daily. youth care displayu true love to help the homelessness. I was inspired by the way joy came upon the kids face cause they felt at home, i started my own non profit to help others. Five star is what youth care gives you.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Homeless and at risk youth have a unique set of needs and vulnerabilities. Youthcare provides various tiers of service to help this population, which is sizable in Seattle. Having an organization for youth specifically is important, as older homeless populations face a different set of problems and youth are also sometimes very wary of adults due to their life experiences. I have volunteered at Orion Center several times and it has always been a great experience. It serves as a one-stop shop for youth: five days a week it provides 3 meals a day, laundry service, a rec room, counseling, schooling, job training and much more. It recently has opened a shelter for youth with a few beds. I like that it helps from the most basic level (food, clothing, shelter) all the way to social services that get kids off the streets for those that are ready.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

I started volunteering with YouthCare thinking that I could make a difference in a simple and practical way in their Orion shelter for homeless young adults. Expectations fully met. But it was through volunteering with the organization and learning more and more about their programs and holistic approach to youth homeless that is super impressive. Yes - immediate needs are met (meals, shelter, etc.) But more than only this, YouthCare provides skills training programs (only in Seattle would we have a barista training program in partnership with Starbucks!), bike repair, computer hardware, GED, etc. A super impressive organization and dedicated staff. Although my schedule has changed and I can no longer physically volunteer, I've shifted my focus to supporting them financially and spreading the word. Keep up the great work!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My co-workers and I volunteered to serve lunch at YouthCare. It was a great experience! YouthCare is filling such a vital need in our community and meets youth where they're at. I'm looking forward to volunteering again and would encourage anyone who wants to be inspired to lend a hand at YouthCare.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

prepare lunch for 60 homeless youth at the James W. Ray Orion Center, YouthCare's drop-in center. Volunteer