Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
59 Reviews
1234.983055
Write A Review
October 27, 2014

more

October 27, 2014

The government does not support homeless youth in the ways one would hope. Youth Care is an amazing organization and they fill a vital role in the Seattle community. Social workers help homeless kids with everything from the basics of food, shelter, and a shower to tutoring, job hunting, and counseling. The stories the youth tell of their struggles are heartbreaking. This organization needs our support financially and from volunteers who help with things such as preparing meals, tutoring, serving on the board and providing professional services. Please give them your support!
October 25, 2014

more

October 25, 2014

As a mother, it is obvious just how much support young people need to get a good start in life. The obstacles these kids face are enormous and certainly not of their choosing. Youthcare tackles the tough stuff and provides life-changing interventions that put these deserving young people on the path to stability and success. I am proud to be a volunteer and supporter of Youthcare. In my mind it is the best nonprofit in Seattle, period.
October 25, 2014

more

October 25, 2014

I volunteered for youth care by cooking and serving lunches at the Orion center. The center really provides amazing essentials for young people who are really down and out. Giving them an opportunity to be safe, cared for and understood. Allowing many to move into a more stable phase and hope for the future. Really great work and an awesome place to volunteer.
October 24, 2014

more

October 24, 2014

I volunteered as an activity leader in 2013 at youth care orion center. I loved facilitating a dance jam for youth who were eager to engage and express themselves.
I feel so grateful to have been involved with this organization. I was amazed at how down to earth and professional the staff were.
The youth care community for the at risk youth was shaped by respect and empowerment. The resources and opportunities youth care provides are in touch and adaptable to the real world these youth face. Programs like barista training, resume assistance and dressing/ training for an interview, and construction working degrees all centered around empowering youth with tools to become independent. Youth care is a place of compassion and growth building.
October 24, 2014

more

October 24, 2014

My name is Erika and I volunteered at YouthCare in January of 2014. My Washington Conservation Corps crew and I served lunch one day for a couple of hours and collected food donations at the Whole Foods down the street the next day. It was a humbling experience that I will never forget. We were able to restock their shelves with canned goods and other packaged foods. It felt good to give back to my local community, knowing the kids would have hot food.
October 24, 2014

more

October 24, 2014

I've volunteered at YouthCare Orion Center as a kitchen cook and server quite a few times in 2013. The volunteer team who I worked with under Michele from CSL was excellent, and we were always in sync with each other. To see these kids with nowhere to go, come in, dry off, and get a hot, wholesome meal, prepared with love, and be so extremely appreciative was always such a soul-nurturing, extremely rewarding experience.

I'd do it again in a heartbeat, if I'm ever living in Seattle again!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None that I can offer at this time.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2014

more

October 24, 2014

As part of a church group that provides a meal once a month at Youthcare's Orion Center in Seattle, I am always impressed with how organized the center is, and how friendly, helpful and on-track the staff is. Most of all, I love that the center provides the opportunity for volunteers to put nourishing food in the bellies and smiles on the faces of the kids who come in for a hot meal and a taste of community. I'm so glad that Orion Center is here for the young people who come to their door.
September 25, 2014

more


1 previous review
November 13, 2012

I was drawn to YouthCare by a friend who volunteered there. My first exposure to YouthCare was a volunteer project of painting one of the houses. The staff was very organized and really optimized thei... more

September 25, 2014

I am constantly impressed by the staff, kids and volunteers at YouthCare. The staff and volunteers know the mission, and know how to accomplish it. I always overhear some amazing story from the kids. For example, a resident travels 2 hours on the bus just to get to work and another 2 hours back.
The key to it all is giving the kids a safe place. Great job, everyone.
November 13, 2012

I was drawn to YouthCare by a friend who volunteered there. My first exposure to YouthCare was a volunteer project of painting one of the houses. The staff was very organized and really optimized their volunteer resources and constantly expressed their gratitude for everyone's efforts. I have since started working with some of the kids with financial education and it is gratifying and inspiring to see these kids engaged, motivated and interested in making their lives better. There is no culture of dependency that I can see. I can see any investment of time or money in YouthCare paying off in a huge way by creating an environment and support for these kids to thrive later on in life.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 22, 2014

more

September 22, 2014

Thank you, YouthCare, for allowing me to give to you in a way that comes from my heart even though I am not directly involved in the terrific work you do. You are always gracious when I bring in my donation for the Bridge girls--in a way that makes me feel part of the team. Thank you for all you are doing for the youth in the Seattle area. You do us proud!
October 1, 2013

more

October 1, 2013

I have really enjoyed volunteering preparing and serving meals at YouthCare's Orion Center. The staff are wonderful and welcoming, and the space they create for the youth they serve and for volunteers is dynamic yet relaxed, integrous yet flexible. I love being involved with this organization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them millions of dollars in funding so they could help all the youth who need their services!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

prepare lunch for 60 homeless youth at the James W. Ray Orion Center, YouthCare's drop-in center. Volunteer