Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
59 Reviews
1234.983055
Write A Review
November 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Homeless and at risk youth have a unique set of needs and vulnerabilities. Youthcare provides various tiers of service to help this population, which is sizable in Seattle. Having an organization for youth specifically is important, as older homeless populations face a different set of problems and youth are also sometimes very wary of adults due to their life experiences. I have volunteered at Orion Center several times and it has always been a great experience. It serves as a one-stop shop for youth: five days a week it provides 3 meals a day, laundry service, a rec room, counseling, schooling, job training and much more. It recently has opened a shelter for youth with a few beds. I like that it helps from the most basic level (food, clothing, shelter) all the way to social services that get kids off the streets for those that are ready.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

I started volunteering with YouthCare thinking that I could make a difference in a simple and practical way in their Orion shelter for homeless young adults. Expectations fully met. But it was through volunteering with the organization and learning more and more about their programs and holistic approach to youth homeless that is super impressive. Yes - immediate needs are met (meals, shelter, etc.) But more than only this, YouthCare provides skills training programs (only in Seattle would we have a barista training program in partnership with Starbucks!), bike repair, computer hardware, GED, etc. A super impressive organization and dedicated staff. Although my schedule has changed and I can no longer physically volunteer, I've shifted my focus to supporting them financially and spreading the word. Keep up the great work!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My co-workers and I volunteered to serve lunch at YouthCare. It was a great experience! YouthCare is filling such a vital need in our community and meets youth where they're at. I'm looking forward to volunteering again and would encourage anyone who wants to be inspired to lend a hand at YouthCare.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

What an honor and pleasure it has always been to volunteer with the clients and staff at YouthCare! The youth being helped by this organization give back as much if not more than they get. Can't say enough about how much I respect what this organization is doing and how confident I am that any time and moeny I can give them is always well invested.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

I have been volunteering with Youthcare for almost two years. Their organization is doing such a great job with the homeless youth in Seattle. They meet these kids where they are at and show them things can change. They involve the local community business and churches to connect with these kids. I really feel like my time volunteering made a difference in my community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

As one who received services from YouthCare years ago, I will speak for this organization. The services provided to youth by YouthCare are life-changing. The atmosphere in any of their buildings was pure acceptance and love. There is a constant drive to not just provide for the most basic of needs. Young people who reach for assistance will find, in addition to the necessities, the tools that are needed to be both successful and happy in life. They will find a group of people who genuinely care about the struggles faced by children, teens, and young adults and are actually able to help you pick yourself up from the bottom.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

1999

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

YouthCare works well with the issues of challenged youth on so many levels. I volunteer as a GED tutor. These kids have daunting obstacles but they are working hard to improve their lives. I started last January 2012 and tutor once a week for two hours. It has been fabulous to see several of the kids that I have tutored plus many others succeed and get their GED's (high school equivalency). This success plus counseling and other programs offered really make a difference in these young adults lives.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

I think that Youth Care is the best non-profit organization out there that provides a critical transition path/opportunity to youth and young adults that are at extreme risk. They do not give hand-outs, instead they give their clients the opportunity/skills to make them self sufficient. There are a ton of different ways that these kids can learn these life long skills through the various programs that they offer. They have excellent staff that supports its volunteers with many ways to contribute and the organization uses the funds wisely and does not send me wasted mailings (I am also a financial contributor as well). I am thankful that YouthCare is out there to take care of our kids.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

Recently moved to Seattle. Walking by the Orion Center on Denny & Stewart caught my attention "What is that big Green Building" Well I soon found out. Volunteering in helping prepare meals lead me to working with staff who give 110%, dedicated in providing a human connection with individuals who for one reason or another have found themselves on the streets. I also attended an Open House where various YouthCare staff spoke to their roles and the many other programs, be it a GED, General Education classes or Vocational Training. A place where individuals who need a supportive community get a chance at redirecting their life onto a positive road.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

This is an amazing agency focused on getting their young people the skills they need to launch themselves in a new direction. It has been gratifying to work with these kids as a tutor, and watch as their confidence grows, their sense of identity evolves, and they feel more hopeful about their futures. Hats off to the dedicated staff who has created a welcoming, and nurturing environment that provides concrete help as well as that less tangible.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

prepare lunch for 60 homeless youth at the James W. Ray Orion Center, YouthCare's drop-in center. Volunteer