Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
44 Reviews
1234.977275
| 1 2 3 45 |
Write A Review
November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

I have been volunteering with Youthcare for almost two years. Their organization is doing such a great job with the homeless youth in Seattle. They meet these kids where they are at and show them things can change. They involve the local community business and churches to connect with these kids. I really feel like my time volunteering made a difference in my community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

As one who received services from YouthCare years ago, I will speak for this organization. The services provided to youth by YouthCare are life-changing. The atmosphere in any of their buildings was pure acceptance and love. There is a constant drive to not just provide for the most basic of needs. Young people who reach for assistance will find, in addition to the necessities, the tools that are needed to be both successful and happy in life. They will find a group of people who genuinely care about the struggles faced by children, teens, and young adults and are actually able to help you pick yourself up from the bottom.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

1999

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

YouthCare works well with the issues of challenged youth on so many levels. I volunteer as a GED tutor. These kids have daunting obstacles but they are working hard to improve their lives. I started last January 2012 and tutor once a week for two hours. It has been fabulous to see several of the kids that I have tutored plus many others succeed and get their GED's (high school equivalency). This success plus counseling and other programs offered really make a difference in these young adults lives.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

I think that Youth Care is the best non-profit organization out there that provides a critical transition path/opportunity to youth and young adults that are at extreme risk. They do not give hand-outs, instead they give their clients the opportunity/skills to make them self sufficient. There are a ton of different ways that these kids can learn these life long skills through the various programs that they offer. They have excellent staff that supports its volunteers with many ways to contribute and the organization uses the funds wisely and does not send me wasted mailings (I am also a financial contributor as well). I am thankful that YouthCare is out there to take care of our kids.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

Recently moved to Seattle. Walking by the Orion Center on Denny & Stewart caught my attention "What is that big Green Building" Well I soon found out. Volunteering in helping prepare meals lead me to working with staff who give 110%, dedicated in providing a human connection with individuals who for one reason or another have found themselves on the streets. I also attended an Open House where various YouthCare staff spoke to their roles and the many other programs, be it a GED, General Education classes or Vocational Training. A place where individuals who need a supportive community get a chance at redirecting their life onto a positive road.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

This is an amazing agency focused on getting their young people the skills they need to launch themselves in a new direction. It has been gratifying to work with these kids as a tutor, and watch as their confidence grows, their sense of identity evolves, and they feel more hopeful about their futures. Hats off to the dedicated staff who has created a welcoming, and nurturing environment that provides concrete help as well as that less tangible.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

Why YouthCare? Because the youth they serve matter to us all. These kids often have nowhere to turn. They are provided basic life needs in a warm and caring environment. I have had the privilege of tutoring GED students there for over three years and each kid who tries hard can meet with the necessary success that will lead them forward to self sufficiency. When no one believes in them, YouithCare does. The incredible staff make every effort to guide them to healthy productive lives. Get to know this organization and your life will change.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

I began serving meals at YouthCare's Orion Center, together with my teenage son, almost two years ago. We were immediately drawn to the great vibe there. I have nothing but respect for the leadership of Youthcare. The staff is very kind to the youth who have been through so much and need a safe place to land. In turn, the youth are very eager to interact with our food group and are very sweet under their rough exterior. I began tutoring GED students about a year ago and I just love working with the fantastic teaching staff as well as the neat youth. It is the most meaningful thing I do every week!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

Every person I have encountered who works for YouthCare is selfless and passionate about what they do. It's not just a job, but a calling to serve people in need. I can't say enough to honor how YouthCare steps in and gets its hands dirty to solve a real and tragic problem in our communities. The employees and youths alike are grateful for volunteers. Volunteers help keep the organization running by giving their time, needed items, monetary donations, or other services. YouthCare doesn't just give homeless youth a place to stay, it strives to train teenagers and young adults how to thrive on their own through counselling, education and vocational training.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

YouthCare is a wonderful non-profit to volunteer at. At the administrative office, the staff are incredibly welcoming and it is clear they are dedicated to the work of the agency. As a volunteer there are a broad range of opportunities to get involved with different aspects of the agency. They truly take into account your own personality, strengths and abilities and create a unique volunteer experience accordingly. For example, if someone was a talented artist, they would work to start an art activity night at one of the shelters. The combination of the amazing staff at YouthCare and the variety of volunteer opportunities, distinguishes YouthCare as a non-profit organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

prepare lunch for 60 homeless youth at the James W. Ray Orion Center, YouthCare's drop-in center. Volunteer