Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
44 Reviews
1234.977275
| 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
April 25, 2013

more

April 25, 2013

Until I discovered YouthCare, I was naive about the adversity that so many homeless youth face. It was eye opening to consider the obstacles of feeding yourself and also struggling with housing, hygiene, or even your gender identity. YouthCare made it easy for me to learn more about these youth in my community and to understand their goals, obstacles and dreams - I felt compelled to be involved.

My husband and I have been involved with Youth Care in a variety of capacities. Most recently as our schedules have gotten busier, our involvement has shifted from volunteer to financial contributions. We have only just begun our exploration into more charitable giving and continue to come back to YouthCare as a primary organization to support.

We are confident that the funds or goods that we donate are going directly to the source in need. They welcome our support with open arms and are happy to discuss suggestions, ideas and upcoming events.

I support their focus on teaching basic life skills and preparing youth for life in a straight forward, attainable approach. The first step is building trust, and to do that you have to be trustworthy. I trust in YouthCare and am happy to support their efforts in whatever capacity I can.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 25, 2013

more

April 25, 2013

My wife and I serve dinner one night a week to the Catalyst residents. We have greatly enjoyed watching these young adults working hard to improve their situation and we are glad to know that they have a warm, safe home as they make their way. The young adults delight us with their insights and impress us with their bravery. We look forward to Tuesday nights and hope that our meals nourish the residents in more ways than one. It certainly does for us.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I love volunteering at youth care and organizing our teams at champions foundation to volunteer. We love the staff and youth as well so enjoy serving dinner twice a month. If you are looking for a great place to volunteer where you can make a difference this is your place.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 29, 2012

more

November 29, 2012

I Ron Brooks begin voluneteer a year ago, and found out early how much love the staff helping the youth. This orgainzation is ran very professional which shows it is built on good foundation. The big thing is how much you see the youth lives are improven daily. youth care displayu true love to help the homelessness. I was inspired by the way joy came upon the kids face cause they felt at home, i started my own non profit to help others. Five star is what youth care gives you.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 21, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 21, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a donor, cheerleader, and volunteer for YouthCare for well over 30 years. Why? Because it provides useful comprehensive services to homeless youth. From a hot meal, and a place to sleep, to counseling, education, and job training, YouthCare works with homeless youth, not at them or for them. I have seen for myself the many youth who have been "saved" from the streets. Homeless youth do not have a voice of their own. YouthCare provides a most well respected voice for them in the greater community.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Homeless and at risk youth have a unique set of needs and vulnerabilities. Youthcare provides various tiers of service to help this population, which is sizable in Seattle. Having an organization for youth specifically is important, as older homeless populations face a different set of problems and youth are also sometimes very wary of adults due to their life experiences. I have volunteered at Orion Center several times and it has always been a great experience. It serves as a one-stop shop for youth: five days a week it provides 3 meals a day, laundry service, a rec room, counseling, schooling, job training and much more. It recently has opened a shelter for youth with a few beds. I like that it helps from the most basic level (food, clothing, shelter) all the way to social services that get kids off the streets for those that are ready.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

I started volunteering with YouthCare thinking that I could make a difference in a simple and practical way in their Orion shelter for homeless young adults. Expectations fully met. But it was through volunteering with the organization and learning more and more about their programs and holistic approach to youth homeless that is super impressive. Yes - immediate needs are met (meals, shelter, etc.) But more than only this, YouthCare provides skills training programs (only in Seattle would we have a barista training program in partnership with Starbucks!), bike repair, computer hardware, GED, etc. A super impressive organization and dedicated staff. Although my schedule has changed and I can no longer physically volunteer, I've shifted my focus to supporting them financially and spreading the word. Keep up the great work!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My co-workers and I volunteered to serve lunch at YouthCare. It was a great experience! YouthCare is filling such a vital need in our community and meets youth where they're at. I'm looking forward to volunteering again and would encourage anyone who wants to be inspired to lend a hand at YouthCare.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

What an honor and pleasure it has always been to volunteer with the clients and staff at YouthCare! The youth being helped by this organization give back as much if not more than they get. Can't say enough about how much I respect what this organization is doing and how confident I am that any time and moeny I can give them is always well invested.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

I was drawn to YouthCare by a friend who volunteered there. My first exposure to YouthCare was a volunteer project of painting one of the houses. The staff was very organized and really optimized their volunteer resources and constantly expressed their gratitude for everyone's efforts. I have since started working with some of the kids with financial education and it is gratifying and inspiring to see these kids engaged, motivated and interested in making their lives better. There is no culture of dependency that I can see. I can see any investment of time or money in YouthCare paying off in a huge way by creating an environment and support for these kids to thrive later on in life.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

prepare lunch for 60 homeless youth at the James W. Ray Orion Center, YouthCare's drop-in center. Volunteer