Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
48 Reviews
1234.979175
| 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
September 20, 2013

more

September 20, 2013

I learned of Youthcare through my wife and her team of committed volunteers at her church and also her place of employment. The program is outstanding and provides food and resources to those that are in a difficult place. I have had the chance to volunteer with the team to cook on multiple occasions and have found the experience to be positive and humbling at the same time. The young people that come in for dinner have always been courteous and respectful. They really appreciate the effort put forth to assist them and that is due to the Youthcare staff how they operate the Orion center. My wife and I have also donated to the various programs and did a fundraising drive to help with hygiene products.

For those of you out there in the business world, looking for a way to give back to the community as well as conduct teambuilding for your employees, cooking a meal at Youthcare is a fantastic opportunity to do both.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None that I see today.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 9, 2013

more

September 9, 2013

My friend and I volunteered for dinner, it was an excellent experience. Preparing and serving meals for homeless youth is not only fun, but also meaningful. Staff at YouthCare are awesome, they are very enthusiastic and patient toward the youth. I had a great conversation with Jack, the Community Outreach Meal Coordinator. I believe that far beyond providing meals and shelters, this program is also teaching those youth about love and responsibility.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Offer various and more nutritious foods for the youth.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 4, 2013

more

September 4, 2013

YouthCare I have accesed a number of there resources including there youth shelter and there drop in center. Any youthcare program offers a safe place with amazing staff. At 16 and being on the streets it gets kinda tough, without youthcare I most likely would be hooked on meth or something. They provide 3 meals a day a snack, showers, and just a place to chill and be safe... if you been on the streets you know that priceless. I do not have one complaint about any of the services I have accesed at youthcare. YOUTHCARE IS ABOSOULUTELY AMAZING!!!!!!!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

There programs are pretty solid very minimal to no complaints!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 25, 2013

more

April 25, 2013

Until I discovered YouthCare, I was naive about the adversity that so many homeless youth face. It was eye opening to consider the obstacles of feeding yourself and also struggling with housing, hygiene, or even your gender identity. YouthCare made it easy for me to learn more about these youth in my community and to understand their goals, obstacles and dreams - I felt compelled to be involved.

My husband and I have been involved with Youth Care in a variety of capacities. Most recently as our schedules have gotten busier, our involvement has shifted from volunteer to financial contributions. We have only just begun our exploration into more charitable giving and continue to come back to YouthCare as a primary organization to support.

We are confident that the funds or goods that we donate are going directly to the source in need. They welcome our support with open arms and are happy to discuss suggestions, ideas and upcoming events.

I support their focus on teaching basic life skills and preparing youth for life in a straight forward, attainable approach. The first step is building trust, and to do that you have to be trustworthy. I trust in YouthCare and am happy to support their efforts in whatever capacity I can.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 25, 2013

more

April 25, 2013

My wife and I serve dinner one night a week to the Catalyst residents. We have greatly enjoyed watching these young adults working hard to improve their situation and we are glad to know that they have a warm, safe home as they make their way. The young adults delight us with their insights and impress us with their bravery. We look forward to Tuesday nights and hope that our meals nourish the residents in more ways than one. It certainly does for us.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I love volunteering at youth care and organizing our teams at champions foundation to volunteer. We love the staff and youth as well so enjoy serving dinner twice a month. If you are looking for a great place to volunteer where you can make a difference this is your place.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 29, 2012

more

November 29, 2012

I Ron Brooks begin voluneteer a year ago, and found out early how much love the staff helping the youth. This orgainzation is ran very professional which shows it is built on good foundation. The big thing is how much you see the youth lives are improven daily. youth care displayu true love to help the homelessness. I was inspired by the way joy came upon the kids face cause they felt at home, i started my own non profit to help others. Five star is what youth care gives you.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 21, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 21, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a donor, cheerleader, and volunteer for YouthCare for well over 30 years. Why? Because it provides useful comprehensive services to homeless youth. From a hot meal, and a place to sleep, to counseling, education, and job training, YouthCare works with homeless youth, not at them or for them. I have seen for myself the many youth who have been "saved" from the streets. Homeless youth do not have a voice of their own. YouthCare provides a most well respected voice for them in the greater community.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 20, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

November 20, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

I was on the streets for 8 years. I always had a job, always. But even with $3600 in a bank account, no one would lease me an apartment. There was one scary week-by-week rental place on cap hill with shared bathrooms and kitchens, but theft and drugs were common there and I couldn't bring myself to risk it. After a couple years, I got into STRALEY HOUSE thru YouthCare. I had been going to Orion Center for food and to hang out on days off from work and when I finally got into Straley House, everything started changing. I got 18 months of rental history with them. I was able to save up even more money and have safe place to keep my things with an actual lock on my bedroom door. Laundry. A KITCHEN with FOOD. Absolutely amazing. Straley House got me off the street, YOUTHCARE got me off the street. And now? I make 6 figures working as an FTE with Microsoft. Yessir. They believed in me and I'm happy to say I am paying them back through matched donations and volunteer service. PLEASE believe in this organization. They are true and real.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2006

November 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Homeless and at risk youth have a unique set of needs and vulnerabilities. Youthcare provides various tiers of service to help this population, which is sizable in Seattle. Having an organization for youth specifically is important, as older homeless populations face a different set of problems and youth are also sometimes very wary of adults due to their life experiences. I have volunteered at Orion Center several times and it has always been a great experience. It serves as a one-stop shop for youth: five days a week it provides 3 meals a day, laundry service, a rec room, counseling, schooling, job training and much more. It recently has opened a shelter for youth with a few beds. I like that it helps from the most basic level (food, clothing, shelter) all the way to social services that get kids off the streets for those that are ready.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

prepare lunch for 60 homeless youth at the James W. Ray Orion Center, YouthCare's drop-in center. Volunteer