Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
44 Reviews
1234.977275
Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
November 20, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

November 20, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

I was on the streets for 8 years. I always had a job, always. But even with $3600 in a bank account, no one would lease me an apartment. There was one scary week-by-week rental place on cap hill with shared bathrooms and kitchens, but theft and drugs were common there and I couldn't bring myself to risk it. After a couple years, I got into STRALEY HOUSE thru YouthCare. I had been going to Orion Center for food and to hang out on days off from work and when I finally got into Straley House, everything started changing. I got 18 months of rental history with them. I was able to save up even more money and have safe place to keep my things with an actual lock on my bedroom door. Laundry. A KITCHEN with FOOD. Absolutely amazing. Straley House got me off the street, YOUTHCARE got me off the street. And now? I make 6 figures working as an FTE with Microsoft. Yessir. They believed in me and I'm happy to say I am paying them back through matched donations and volunteer service. PLEASE believe in this organization. They are true and real.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2006

October 7, 2013

more

October 7, 2013

YouthCare uses funds and donations wisely. They get donations of clothing, care supplies, household goods to the homeless/high risk youth and young adults on the streets. They work with the clients others would turn away. I have seen how donations that are unrestricted can make the greatest difference - often foundations/donors provide money for specific programs or services - but having unrestricted dollars will allow staff to really address the needs of clients who don't fit nicely into a box. For example one client needed transportation across the state to go into drug and alcohol treatment, another needed money to pay for an RX co-pay for important medications that had run out. It was great to see how my donation was put to use by staff who really knew the young people in ways that really supported their success!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 7, 2013

more

October 7, 2013

Decades ago, I was on the streets having ran away from an abusive home, and the foster care system. Were it not for YouthCare I would likely not even be alive today. They provided food, clothing, and many other services, but the most important service they gave to me was teaching me that there were good people in the world. My faith in adults and in people had been shattered by my experiences, and YouthCare helped to establish some trust in good healthy people.

They treated as a valuable person. I had never felt that way before, because the ones who were supposed to love me and take care of me had thrown me away. YouthCare taught me that I am valuable and worthy.

Today I am a happy and healthy and thriving individual. I might have died on the streets, but thanks to YouthCare and all the help they gave me, I get to live a life I could never have imagined as a hungry, cold, homeless little girl on the streets of Seattle.

I am grateful that they are still here to help kids who now must live as I did. I am still in touch with staff from long ago. YouthCare has remained a part of my life.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make them a national organization so that homeless kids everywhere might benefit from YouthCare.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 7, 2013

more

October 7, 2013

They do great work for homeless teens! They were helpful with donation information and their website/facebook/mailings are awesome! I hope they get more recognition for their wonderul contribution to helping homeless youth!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 1, 2013

more

October 1, 2013

I have really enjoyed volunteering preparing and serving meals at YouthCare's Orion Center. The staff are wonderful and welcoming, and the space they create for the youth they serve and for volunteers is dynamic yet relaxed, integrous yet flexible. I love being involved with this organization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them millions of dollars in funding so they could help all the youth who need their services!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 20, 2013

more

September 20, 2013

Hola, I became involved w/ Youthcare by volunteering in the kitchen for a couple of tuesdays.
The people involved at the Orion center really had a possitive impact on me.So i am pursuing more volunteer opportunities w/ this organization.Mui gradesco jovenes cuidado!
Anthony

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 20, 2013

more

September 20, 2013

This is an outstanding non-profit that has an extraordinary track record of tapping into the potential of some amazing people. It has a strong mission, is well-managed, and produces results. Youthcare is my kind of investment!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

increase my donations... I only wish I could do more!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 20, 2013

more

September 20, 2013

I learned of Youthcare through my wife and her team of committed volunteers at her church and also her place of employment. The program is outstanding and provides food and resources to those that are in a difficult place. I have had the chance to volunteer with the team to cook on multiple occasions and have found the experience to be positive and humbling at the same time. The young people that come in for dinner have always been courteous and respectful. They really appreciate the effort put forth to assist them and that is due to the Youthcare staff how they operate the Orion center. My wife and I have also donated to the various programs and did a fundraising drive to help with hygiene products.

For those of you out there in the business world, looking for a way to give back to the community as well as conduct teambuilding for your employees, cooking a meal at Youthcare is a fantastic opportunity to do both.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None that I see today.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 9, 2013

more

September 9, 2013

My friend and I volunteered for dinner, it was an excellent experience. Preparing and serving meals for homeless youth is not only fun, but also meaningful. Staff at YouthCare are awesome, they are very enthusiastic and patient toward the youth. I had a great conversation with Jack, the Community Outreach Meal Coordinator. I believe that far beyond providing meals and shelters, this program is also teaching those youth about love and responsibility.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Offer various and more nutritious foods for the youth.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 4, 2013

more

September 4, 2013

YouthCare I have accesed a number of there resources including there youth shelter and there drop in center. Any youthcare program offers a safe place with amazing staff. At 16 and being on the streets it gets kinda tough, without youthcare I most likely would be hooked on meth or something. They provide 3 meals a day a snack, showers, and just a place to chill and be safe... if you been on the streets you know that priceless. I do not have one complaint about any of the services I have accesed at youthcare. YOUTHCARE IS ABOSOULUTELY AMAZING!!!!!!!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

There programs are pretty solid very minimal to no complaints!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

prepare lunch for 60 homeless youth at the James W. Ray Orion Center, YouthCare's drop-in center. Volunteer