Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
48 Reviews
1234.979175
Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
September 26, 2014

more

September 26, 2014

As an adolescent male I found myself rejected from my own family and on the streets of Seattle, back in the 1980's. My very first morning, homeless, at 16 years old, I was introduced to Seattle Youthcare's Orion Center. That was when it was a small little "office" on Terry Avenue. From that day on, Youthcare was the only guiding light for my present and future. They provided housing, sustenance, counseling, education, clothing, medical needs and a safe place to exist off the dangerous streets.

Through the many services at Youthcare, I completed my GED even before I snuck in to the FWHS Class of 1987's graduation ceremony, that I should have been walking in. I then received aid and admission to Cornish College of the Arts, where I studied briefly as a Theater major. Each and everything I was provided by Youthcare, helped shape the person I am today. I am an executive assistant in the Silicon Valley, supporting a top Executive of a large software company. I have also explored acting on stage and screen, encouraged by Orion's theater program. And I am currently studying music production through Berklee College of Music. Thanks to Youthcare, I am a successful, happy, healthy and established man. And I now support Youthcare every opportunity I get with charitable donations, time, anything I can to see this organization flourishes. I hope that others see the value in Youthcare and contribute generously.
September 25, 2014

more


1 previous review
November 13, 2012

I was drawn to YouthCare by a friend who volunteered there. My first exposure to YouthCare was a volunteer project of painting one of the houses. The staff was very organized and really optimized thei... more

September 25, 2014

I am constantly impressed by the staff, kids and volunteers at YouthCare. The staff and volunteers know the mission, and know how to accomplish it. I always overhear some amazing story from the kids. For example, a resident travels 2 hours on the bus just to get to work and another 2 hours back.
The key to it all is giving the kids a safe place. Great job, everyone.
November 13, 2012

I was drawn to YouthCare by a friend who volunteered there. My first exposure to YouthCare was a volunteer project of painting one of the houses. The staff was very organized and really optimized their volunteer resources and constantly expressed their gratitude for everyone's efforts. I have since started working with some of the kids with financial education and it is gratifying and inspiring to see these kids engaged, motivated and interested in making their lives better. There is no culture of dependency that I can see. I can see any investment of time or money in YouthCare paying off in a huge way by creating an environment and support for these kids to thrive later on in life.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 25, 2014

more

September 25, 2014

Over the Summer, I had the privilege of touring YouthCare's Orion Center. I was literally blown away by their warm welcome. Randi, fellow staff and volunteers were not only hospitable, they all seemed really happy to be there.

Aside from shelter and food, YouthCare provides useful
resources for our youth. What impresses me the most is that within these walls, youth are given an opportunity to receive an education which is a gift.

Throughout my life, I've learned that many (material) things can be taken away from you to the point of feeling empty but once you receive an education...NO ONE can ever take that away.

Kudos to everyone at YouthCare!! You're doing amazing work and it's not going unnoticed.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 22, 2014

more

September 22, 2014

Thank you, YouthCare, for allowing me to give to you in a way that comes from my heart even though I am not directly involved in the terrific work you do. You are always gracious when I bring in my donation for the Bridge girls--in a way that makes me feel part of the team. Thank you for all you are doing for the youth in the Seattle area. You do us proud!
October 7, 2013

more

October 7, 2013

YouthCare uses funds and donations wisely. They get donations of clothing, care supplies, household goods to the homeless/high risk youth and young adults on the streets. They work with the clients others would turn away. I have seen how donations that are unrestricted can make the greatest difference - often foundations/donors provide money for specific programs or services - but having unrestricted dollars will allow staff to really address the needs of clients who don't fit nicely into a box. For example one client needed transportation across the state to go into drug and alcohol treatment, another needed money to pay for an RX co-pay for important medications that had run out. It was great to see how my donation was put to use by staff who really knew the young people in ways that really supported their success!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 7, 2013

more

October 7, 2013

Decades ago, I was on the streets having ran away from an abusive home, and the foster care system. Were it not for YouthCare I would likely not even be alive today. They provided food, clothing, and many other services, but the most important service they gave to me was teaching me that there were good people in the world. My faith in adults and in people had been shattered by my experiences, and YouthCare helped to establish some trust in good healthy people.

They treated as a valuable person. I had never felt that way before, because the ones who were supposed to love me and take care of me had thrown me away. YouthCare taught me that I am valuable and worthy.

Today I am a happy and healthy and thriving individual. I might have died on the streets, but thanks to YouthCare and all the help they gave me, I get to live a life I could never have imagined as a hungry, cold, homeless little girl on the streets of Seattle.

I am grateful that they are still here to help kids who now must live as I did. I am still in touch with staff from long ago. YouthCare has remained a part of my life.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make them a national organization so that homeless kids everywhere might benefit from YouthCare.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 7, 2013

more

October 7, 2013

They do great work for homeless teens! They were helpful with donation information and their website/facebook/mailings are awesome! I hope they get more recognition for their wonderul contribution to helping homeless youth!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 1, 2013

more

October 1, 2013

I have really enjoyed volunteering preparing and serving meals at YouthCare's Orion Center. The staff are wonderful and welcoming, and the space they create for the youth they serve and for volunteers is dynamic yet relaxed, integrous yet flexible. I love being involved with this organization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them millions of dollars in funding so they could help all the youth who need their services!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 20, 2013

more

September 20, 2013

Hola, I became involved w/ Youthcare by volunteering in the kitchen for a couple of tuesdays.
The people involved at the Orion center really had a possitive impact on me.So i am pursuing more volunteer opportunities w/ this organization.Mui gradesco jovenes cuidado!
Anthony

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 20, 2013

more

September 20, 2013

This is an outstanding non-profit that has an extraordinary track record of tapping into the potential of some amazing people. It has a strong mission, is well-managed, and produces results. Youthcare is my kind of investment!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

increase my donations... I only wish I could do more!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

prepare lunch for 60 homeless youth at the James W. Ray Orion Center, YouthCare's drop-in center. Volunteer