Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
13 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
May 29, 2013

more

May 29, 2013

Many youth never get a voice to share what they would like to change in their communities. Youth Speak Collective offers youth in the Northeast San Fernando Valley that voice. Their for youth by youth philosophy, really makes them stand out amongst other organizations that offer at - risk youth programs. They are the only organization in this region that offer youth a chance to become engaged in their community and provide them with an outlook to a successful future.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 29, 2012

more

March 29, 2012

Youth Speak is a great organization serving students in the Valley, with a mission not only to educate but empower students to design and implement that best serves their peers.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

March 28, 2012

more

March 28, 2012

Youth Speak Collective is an outstanding organization filled with great staff, innovative programs and resilient youth. I would highly recommend them as a partner, funder and friend. They have been nothing but collaborative and results focused in their work and have great leadership.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

March 23, 2012

more

March 23, 2012

Youth Speak has been a part of my life these last four years including many other youth. At a difficult time of my life, I found an opportunity that shaped who I am today. I am a Youth Speak Collective board member. Youth Speak has one student board member and I am proudly that student. Meeting with councilmen and directors of other schools has really sculptured my personality and influenced my world views. In addition, I work as a Youth Council leader, mentor, and adviser to the freshman class. I've grown and risked failure but in doing so conquered some of my greatest fears, transforming them into strengths. From climbing the rocks of Stony Point, to the Aids Walk of Los Angeles, I've stuck my head out of every door Youth Speak opens to explore new worlds.

Photos

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 22, 2012

more

March 22, 2012

Kids and teens in the North East San Fernando Valley area like Pacoima are often ignored or forgotten by the general public. Most Los Angelinos know of the at-risk youth problem in East LA and South LA and there are initiatives set up to support that need, but in Pacoima there is really only one program directly attacking the problem... Youth Speak Collective. YSC is extremely effective in helping at risk youth do what other kids take for granted.. finishing high school, going to college, or just staying our of gangs and jail. But these are almost everyday issues the youth of the North East San Fernando Valley face daily, and YSC's programs tackle them by responding to what the youth themselves want and need. The youth wanted a Futbolito program. Got it! They wanted a community garden to grow and share actual crops... Got it! They wanted and needed after school programs like SAT aid or tutoring... YSC delivers it everyday! They even got one of the best art and media youth programs... Youth Speak Collective has their finger on the pulse of what these kids need to succeed in some of the worst city areas and YSC does it effectively.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 21, 2012

more

March 21, 2012

YouthSpeak Collective is an amazing organization that strives to make a difference in the lives of hundreds of youth residing in the Northeast San Fernando Valley. A community known for gang life, poverty, high drop out rates and more bad than good, YSC does wonderful work giving the youth a SAFE SPACE to come and evolve into productive members of society. The staff and volunteers do marvelous work engaging and building long lasting relationships with the youth that forever change their lives. I have no doubt in my mind that YSC will continue to grow.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

March 21, 2012

more

March 21, 2012

Wow, Youth speak has honestly changed my life for the better. I thank god for such great people like david, mayra , andrea, jash , kim , melissa just eveyone who has made this organization possible. They've made my life better, I love volunteering. The staff the stories the friends just everything they make it feel like you belong somewhere , youre not an outsider. They make me feel like Im part of a huge family. They give you advice and help you out in any problem you have :) . Plus, They have great programs like youth speak collective where we help our community and our enviroment. Youth Speak Is just a life changing experience

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

March 20, 2012

more

March 20, 2012

Great mission. Strong leadership. Innovative programs. Youth driven. Transforming Los Angeles. What more could you ask for?

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 20, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 20, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Youth Speak Collective embodies the heart and future of Los Angeles. A place where we can come together and create the social change that young people so eloquently convey. Thank you for keeping me inspired.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 20, 2012

more

March 20, 2012

Youth Speak Collective has a model that is very different from other non-profit organizations. Instead of the "adults" coming up with programs that youth need, the youth work on programs they need. This empowers them to take ownership of their lives and their community while truly preparing them for the challenges of life. In working and volunteering with them, I have also grown my professional career.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers