Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
91 Reviews
1234.989015
Write A Review
July 8, 2013

more

July 8, 2013

This is the first year my 9 yr old daughter attended the YSC camp. One of our friends, an engineer, recommended our daughter attend the camp. My daughter participated in three weeks of full time classes. She loved every minute and most importantly was exposed to various genres of science ie physics, engineering, math, biology, etc. The teachers were able to inspire her and every day she explained in great detail the things she learned. One particular episode stands out; In her rocketry class there were 2 girls and 9 boys and they had a contest, boys against girls on whose rocket could fly the farthest. Each team had 4 attempts and my daughter's rocket won every time. She told me she felt the pressure as the other girls rocket didn't fly very far but she said "I can do this" and she did. Never in the 30 years of classes had a girls team won all four attempts! It taught her to not be afraid and to believe in oneself. As a professional in the science field, I am very pleased with the program, recommended it to several of my girl scout troop girls. We will participate in the program next year.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Offer program the entire summer.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Some

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 8, 2014

more

October 8, 2014

The Youth Science Center is an amazing resource and program located in the San Gabriel Valley, specifically Hacienda Heights. My daughters have been attending YSC for five (5) years and they enjoy the courses and instructors. Participation in YSC each Summer has increased their confidence and love of STEM related subjects. My eldest daughter has taken the rocket course every Summer and it did not fit our schedule this year and she was disappointed until she discovered the 3D printing class. My younger daughter jumped on board and they both loved creating various 3D objects for themselves and others as gifts. In the past they have studied astronomy, chemistry, math, art, rockets, energy, crime scenes, and many other fun and fascinating subjects. I am deeply appreciative of YSC and the impact they have had on STEM learning and access for students throughout the San Gabriel Valley.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 23, 2014

more

August 23, 2014

Youth Science Center is a fabulous place for children to learn science. The teachers are competent, compassionate, and creative. The administrators are accessible and excellent problem-solvers. The courses are interesting, entertaining, and cutting edge. Definitely worth the investment!
August 20, 2014

more


1 previous review
August 3, 2010

I am so grateful for the Youth Science Center, without their dedication and hard work to provide classes that are not only educational but FUN! My kids have learned so much and they were bummed when t... more

August 20, 2014

My kids have been coming to YSC for years, My son has been coming since kindergarten (now he is in 4th grade), and my daughter has been coming since first grade. She volunteers now as an 8th grader and takes the older kids classes. I would not consider our summer complete without YSC. It is a great environment for not just learning but FUN learning. I dream and wish that everyday classrooms at school could be like this but thank God for summers at YSC. I wish all parents knew about YSC. They have great teachers who love to teach and my kids have done everything from art, dissecting frogs, using 3-D printers, CSI techniques, to gooey slime, to learning about reptiles, building rockets, etc. They love YSC and love the teachers there. I love listening to their stories from YSC cause I love to watch their faces light up as they passionately talk about much they enjoy learning. As a parent, you can't ask for better than that. I would give them 10 stars if I could!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would make it a program that had classes for students in high school too.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 3, 2010

I am so grateful for the Youth Science Center, without their dedication and hard work to provide classes that are not only educational but FUN! My kids have learned so much and they were bummed when the classes ended. My four year old, Sawyer, told me that lizards can grow back their tails and that cats eat them. I want my kids to learn and know things that I can't provide ( I don't know anything about rockets) my daughter, Saylor got so much out of her Rocketeer class. Every mom I know who have brought their children here have always walked away saying they love the Youth Science Center. If I was wealthy, I would be one of the biggest donors to YSC. Ron and Judy and all the volunteers and the teachers are so great!!! Again, I say, I am so thankful for them.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

My kids learned about art, science, technology, sharing, discussing things that they learned and an exposure to things that I cannot provide. I am not an insect person, and a reptile mom and my son took a class where they learned about these things.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would make it bigger and better, more funding, more classes. More great teachers, more students.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

I love very aspect about the Youth Science Center. They have hard working staff, I hate to sound so 80's but they have awesome teachers. My children learn in a safe, positive, learning environment that is also so much FUN!

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

Wonderful, dedicated, hard working and genuine individuals that love what they do. The teachers that teach these classes have a true love for the subject they teach. The classes are hands on and it's such a great place. I love it! I love them!

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

be one of the best science centers for children. It truly is a wonderful place and I know moms that joined this year by bringing their children will return next year. I think the only time people leave is because their children are too old for the classes

Ways to make it better...

I had more money to provide more classes for my children. My children get so much out of the classes. My children are exposed to subjects that I would love to teach them about but are unable to.

In my opinion, the biggest challenges facing this organization are...

Funding, I think people are not aware of the Youth Science Center and so because of that there is lack of funding.

One thing I'd also say is that...

To hear my children talk about things that they have learned that stay with them because the class was so much fun makes me so much more appreciative of the wonderful teachers and staff at YSC for their hard work. I love Youth Science Center!

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About once a year

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

August 19, 2014

more

August 19, 2014

Every year I have enrolled my 2 children in different summer programs for enrichment. This year, a friend of ours recommended YSC and it was amazing! There are 3 sessions per day. Each session last only 1 week. The camp runs for 5 weeks, and parents are able to create their own schedule depending on interest and/or budget. We signed up our kids for 4 weeks for a full day of classes and they LOVED IT! After very session they could not wait to tell me what they did, what they learned and how cool it was.

At first, it was difficult to choose the classes to take because there is such a huge variety of classes. There are classes for all ages and interests. My 9 yr. old daughter loved all of her classes, but her favorite ones were her dissection class, robotics class and a class called "my body". My 8 yr. old son loved "the living ocean" , "motor mania " and his astronomy class. They learned so much in the 4 weeks and are super excited about science that I can't wait to sign them up again next year.

Since the kids were going to be taking classes all day, I decided to volunteer some of my time to help in a classroom. It was a truly rewarding experience. I got to participate and see first hand how knowledgeable the instructors were and how each student produces, experiences, investigates and re-creates the lesson at hand. This is NOT a "fill out this handout" experience. I can attest to the fact that during my time there, I never saw any student staring off into space or bored. All children were engaged and participating.

YSC promotes creativity, innovation, critical thinking and a deeper understanding of concepts because students "experience" science. Be prepared when you pick up you student at the end of their day for them to be full of paint and glue, hands full with everything they made that day and bubbling over with wonderful stories of how their day went. We will be definitely be back next year!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Offer classes after school during the school year( maybe once a week), christmas break, thanksgiving week, spring break or on Saturdays.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 18, 2014

more

August 18, 2014

I had the good fortune to enroll my children (summer of 2014) for the first time with the Youth Science Center program. My children enjoyed the program and learned while having fun! I am looking forward to enrolling my children in this program again next year. Thank you for the opportunity to be part of this amazing program.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Keep up the good work. No changes needed.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 12, 2014

more

August 12, 2014

My 9 year participated for the 2nd year in a row and she loves all the classes that involve science. What was more surprising is that my 5 year loved all the classes he was involved. My kids were the first to wake up early in the morning to get ready to attend the science camp as opposed to trying to get them ready for the day. The learning is unique and inspiring and I will continue to let my kids participate this great program.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wish lived closer to the science camp.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 7, 2014

more

August 7, 2014

My 7 yr old daughter attended the YSC summer Science camp last year and she likes it so much that she requested to go back this year. We did 2 classes this summer again and she brought home fantastic work and she enjoyed the camp a lot. We will continue to support YSC!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 6, 2014

more

August 6, 2014

Our family has been with ysc since 2007. My son was completely inspired by the teachers and the materials they teach there. Within a week, he learns more Science in one single class than he Would in a whole school year with the public school. After seven years later, ysc continues to offer new classes for him to take.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

NOTHING. Keep up the great work and hope this hidden gem can be passed down to generation to come.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 20, 2013

more

August 20, 2013

Jes and Ches Mom,

YSC is a magical place, it is the place to be for all ages because there are so many exciting programmes such as the tour to 3D printing, Museum in a college, RoseBowl, Flying, tour to a pharmaceutical company, visit to model airplace manufacturer.......I believe most of
you do not know what I am talking because all these trips are so exclusive and specially arranged by the dedicated volunteers.

We bought a very special chemist from Japan to one of the trip to the La Puente Waste Management Plant and he was impressed. Though Japan has the very advanced wastage management system and they also organised trips for the school students for visit but the scope is very limited. Visitors are only allowed to sit in the meeting area and listen to some talk and see the models. As for our trip, we were allowed to get out to the waste pool and guided through the whole sterilization process by an engineer from the plant. At the end,m the kids were guided to see the pure and clean water going back to the creek!

A very success alumni from YSC also claimed that YSC is the best programme for him when he was young and he will send his son to this programme in the future as well!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

donate more money and time!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers