Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
91 Reviews
1234.989015
| 1 2 3 4...8 |
Write A Review
August 21, 2013

more

August 21, 2013

As an elementary science teacher for over twenty years, I know first-hand the positive impact YSC makes on children at all levels, The programs offered provide enriching opportunity for students to develop a real love for exploration and discovery ... exactly what science is! Applying hands-on processes, fostering inquiry, and gaining an understanding of the world around them beyond the everyday classroom...that is the Hacienda Youth Science Center experience!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 20, 2013

more


2 previous reviews - show all
November 6, 2012

The Youth Science Center gives children an opportunity to learn about science while having fun. Hands-on activities allow children to explore scientific principles at a level and pace that is meaningf... more

August 20, 2013

I love working for the Youth Science Center. It is so awesome to see little children experience science by doing their projects. It is great to see the children grow and change over the years as they come back year after year for more classes and sometimes when they are too old to take classes they come back to volunteer for us.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find ways to expand this program to include more students.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 6, 2012

The Youth Science Center gives children an opportunity to learn about science while having fun. Hands-on activities allow children to explore scientific principles at a level and pace that is meaningful for them. I have seen children who are reluctant to come to our classes at the beginning of the summer because they have had difficulties at their regular school. Sometimes these children find that they love science and their attitude about learning in general is transformed. Many of our students and student volunteers go on to major in the sciences in college. They tell us that their interest in science began with the Youth Science Center. One of my own sons is a PHd candidate in bio-physics.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 3, 2010

YSC provides an opportunity for teachers and for students to experience science education as it should be with hands-on activities. Teaching has become so scripted in the past few years that there is little room for creativity. I see teachers who are discouraged in their home school come alive when they can create and then execute a unit in their chosen field of science. The children will never forget building an electric circuit, tending a snake, making a chemistry kit or building a model rocket.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

seeing teachers wanting to return summer after summer to do the "fun stuff" they could never do in their classrooms. I have seen students select science related careers after experiencing our program as young children.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

find a suitable building to house this program. YSC has the use of a classroom in a portable building as its headquarters. It is very crowded with displays, merchandise and desks for the staff. There is no suitable place for staff and board meetings.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

watching students who are less than enthusiastic about school find that they greatly enjoy some of the classes at YSC. One dad was amazed this year that his son told him every day what he had done and what he had learned that day.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

teachers who were wonderful with their students, student volunteers who initially just wanted service hours but who enthusiastically assisted the teachers and parent volunteers who care deeply about the education of their children

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

offer science education to a greater number of students. YSC could build a suitable building near its current site and then expand its program to other communities in Southern California.

Ways to make it better...

there was adequate space to work. There should be more desks and more filing space for the staff. The displays are too crowded. The merchandise is not adequately displayed.

In my opinion, the biggest challenges facing this organization are...

financial and future planning. YSC needs to have long term planning so that it can continue to meet the needs of the community after the current staff has retired. There is not sufficient money to secure more suitable quarters at this time.

One thing I'd also say is that...

I love working at YSC. The parents who enroll their children care deeply about the education of their children. YSC offers scholarships. It is a joy to see students who have had a scholarship to one or two classes come back and ask for more classes.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

August 20, 2013

more

August 20, 2013

Youth Science Center strives for excellence at all levels. They want students to explore science concepts by doing, not just listening. Each hands-on experience moves a child closer to true, discovery learning. Awesome job, YSC!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 20, 2013

more

August 20, 2013

Jes and Ches Mom,

YSC is a magical place, it is the place to be for all ages because there are so many exciting programmes such as the tour to 3D printing, Museum in a college, RoseBowl, Flying, tour to a pharmaceutical company, visit to model airplace manufacturer.......I believe most of
you do not know what I am talking because all these trips are so exclusive and specially arranged by the dedicated volunteers.

We bought a very special chemist from Japan to one of the trip to the La Puente Waste Management Plant and he was impressed. Though Japan has the very advanced wastage management system and they also organised trips for the school students for visit but the scope is very limited. Visitors are only allowed to sit in the meeting area and listen to some talk and see the models. As for our trip, we were allowed to get out to the waste pool and guided through the whole sterilization process by an engineer from the plant. At the end,m the kids were guided to see the pure and clean water going back to the creek!

A very success alumni from YSC also claimed that YSC is the best programme for him when he was young and he will send his son to this programme in the future as well!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

donate more money and time!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 8, 2013

more

April 8, 2013

I am a retired teacher from the Youth Science Center. I am getting very excited as my grandchildren are getting older and I can take them to classes at YSC. I have been telling them about the many wonderful experiences such as snakes, spiders, planting and stars. They are getting as excited as I am to finally be old enough to participate. Thank you YSC!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 21, 2012

more

November 21, 2012

My brother and I are from Wedgeworth Elementary and we are members of the Youth Science Center. It is really fun and we always go to the store and checkout the cool exotic rocks and animals. They have snakes, crickets, bugs, cockroaches, and even the rare Madagascar Hissing Cockroaches. My brother Chester had recently won the STEM Essay Contest held by the Youth Science Center and we had a very nice dinner while listening to famous people give speeches. At the end, even Chester got to give a speech!
Without the Youth Science Center, I would not have been able to have that much interest in science and I would not have met so many famous people.
I am 10 and my brother is 9. Youth Science Center is definitely the best place to learn science.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

Every summer my sons attend the Youth Science because they look forward in building things. They are the ones who remind me not to forget to register them in these classes. They classes are not only educational and life changing, they are fun and exciting! We love the Youth Science Center!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 10, 2012

more

November 10, 2012

Taking classes at Youth Science Center is something both my children look forward to every summer. They offer classes on such a wide range of scientific topics, that there is always something to appeal to my children's' interests. The instructors are very knowledgeable in their fields, and work very well with the children. It's great for my kids to be able to learn and have fun at the same time!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

Both my daughters ages 6 and 7 attended a session this summer at the Youth Science Center, to say the least, they loved it. Not only was it educational, but the instructors make it fun. With so many cuts in education, we are fortunate to of found this program that provides hands-on science learning. We look forward to taking more of their classes this coming summer.
November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

The Youth Science Center offers a wide variety of science related classes, activities, etc. for grade school kids. Having participated in the summer classes, I can honestly say that the Youth Science Center provides quality education at a reasonable price.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers