Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
78 Reviews
1234.987185
| 1 2 3...7 |
Write A Review
August 20, 2013

more

August 20, 2013

Jes and Ches Mom,

YSC is a magical place, it is the place to be for all ages because there are so many exciting programmes such as the tour to 3D printing, Museum in a college, RoseBowl, Flying, tour to a pharmaceutical company, visit to model airplace manufacturer.......I believe most of
you do not know what I am talking because all these trips are so exclusive and specially arranged by the dedicated volunteers.

We bought a very special chemist from Japan to one of the trip to the La Puente Waste Management Plant and he was impressed. Though Japan has the very advanced wastage management system and they also organised trips for the school students for visit but the scope is very limited. Visitors are only allowed to sit in the meeting area and listen to some talk and see the models. As for our trip, we were allowed to get out to the waste pool and guided through the whole sterilization process by an engineer from the plant. At the end,m the kids were guided to see the pure and clean water going back to the creek!

A very success alumni from YSC also claimed that YSC is the best programme for him when he was young and he will send his son to this programme in the future as well!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

donate more money and time!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 8, 2013

more

April 8, 2013

I am a retired teacher from the Youth Science Center. I am getting very excited as my grandchildren are getting older and I can take them to classes at YSC. I have been telling them about the many wonderful experiences such as snakes, spiders, planting and stars. They are getting as excited as I am to finally be old enough to participate. Thank you YSC!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 21, 2012

more

November 21, 2012

My brother and I are from Wedgeworth Elementary and we are members of the Youth Science Center. It is really fun and we always go to the store and checkout the cool exotic rocks and animals. They have snakes, crickets, bugs, cockroaches, and even the rare Madagascar Hissing Cockroaches. My brother Chester had recently won the STEM Essay Contest held by the Youth Science Center and we had a very nice dinner while listening to famous people give speeches. At the end, even Chester got to give a speech!
Without the Youth Science Center, I would not have been able to have that much interest in science and I would not have met so many famous people.
I am 10 and my brother is 9. Youth Science Center is definitely the best place to learn science.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

Every summer my sons attend the Youth Science because they look forward in building things. They are the ones who remind me not to forget to register them in these classes. They classes are not only educational and life changing, they are fun and exciting! We love the Youth Science Center!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 10, 2012

more

November 10, 2012

Taking classes at Youth Science Center is something both my children look forward to every summer. They offer classes on such a wide range of scientific topics, that there is always something to appeal to my children's' interests. The instructors are very knowledgeable in their fields, and work very well with the children. It's great for my kids to be able to learn and have fun at the same time!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

Both my daughters ages 6 and 7 attended a session this summer at the Youth Science Center, to say the least, they loved it. Not only was it educational, but the instructors make it fun. With so many cuts in education, we are fortunate to of found this program that provides hands-on science learning. We look forward to taking more of their classes this coming summer.
November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

The Youth Science Center offers a wide variety of science related classes, activities, etc. for grade school kids. Having participated in the summer classes, I can honestly say that the Youth Science Center provides quality education at a reasonable price.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 6, 2012

more

November 6, 2012

I joined the board of this organization 3 years ago because of its reputation of providing top quality STEM education programs to the youth of the San Gabriel Valley. I have seen with my own eyes that the reputation is accurate. It was founded in 1962 and in the ensuing 50 years has developed an outstanding staff of quality instructors with a passion for science education. The current YSC board has developed a strategic plan to grow the organization so as to increase the availability of a quality science education throughout the valley, especially in the lower income areas.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012

more

October 26, 2012

The Youth Science Center is an outstanding organization. I majored in Biology in College and I am very impressed with the quality and depth of instruction. The teachers who are involved with the summer courses are extremely passionate and knowledgeable about science and their enthusiasm is contagious. My son started taking classes when he was in kindergarten, and we have been invloved with the center for 7 years. I personally volunteered in the classes that my son participated in over the years and I was directly involved with the hands on activities that are made avaialble to students. The courses and activities available to students allow them to scientifically think and expand their creativity in exloration and discovery. I have referred may families to this organization and I fully commend YSC for their excellence in education!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012

more

October 26, 2012

Last summer was the first time I got involved with the Youth Science Center. I was a volunteer and I enjoyed it! The teachers and staff were friendly and provided every chance for the children to learn and encouraged volunteers to see what fields in science they could get into. The Youth Science Center offered various field trips–from aviation to prosthetics! They also offered raffles and contests for students and parents. I am grateful for being given the opportunity to join the STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics) Essay Contest and extremely happy that my essay was the winning entry for the high school division! We should have more organizations like YSC to promote education and form leaders in the science field. Thank you, YSC!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers