Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
8 Reviews
1234.755
Previous | Next
Write A Review
October 10, 2014

more

October 10, 2014

This is my son's third year participating in the programs provided by Youth Odyssey. The team building skills and follow-up discussions are great. The staff does an awesome job really getting to know our children so that they get the most out of the program. Working on relationships and building on problem solving has helped my son with resiliency. Youth Odyssey is an asset to the community by reaching out to our youth for a better tomorrow.
July 7, 2014

more

July 7, 2014

I was very impressed with the passion of the staff at Youth Odyssey. Our group participated in an all day Team Building experience. Beginning with low level exercise and moving to the more difficult with a process group after each event was the perfect pace to allow the clients the confidence they needed to complete each level.

Looking forward to taking the next group there in July.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 28, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
August 28, 2013

Youth Odyssey, is a outstanding organization that helps 100's of young people each year reach their full potential and equipped with the living skills necessary to become a positive productive member in society. As president of the Moore foundation I have no hesitation recommending Youth Odyssey to any young person seeking to improve there lives. For those individuals,Corporation and Foundation thinking about making a contribution .I want to personal assure you that Youth Odyssey is worthy of your support and is by far one of the most cost effective no-profit the Moore Foundation is supporting.
If you should have any question are would like additional information why the Moore Foundation is supporting this organization on a on-going Base ,please feel free to call me 361 814-6700

Gary Leach
President
Blanche Davis Moore Foundation

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 28, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
August 28, 2013

My overall appreciation to Youth Odyssey has elevated during the course of this year. The staff is wonderful to work with and they share a passion to improve the lives of youth today. Youth Odyssey has been very beneficial to the Corpus Christi Housing Authority. The children there are always awaiting the arrival of Youth Odyssey. I would highly recommend this program to anyone!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 27, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
August 27, 2013

Youth Odyssey, a group of dedicated young people and leaders, have been working at Blucher Park for several years. I began volunteering about two years ago. My group, the Audubon Outdoor Club of CC has helped the city take care of this park since 1990. My job is to work as a link between the city, AOC and the Odyssey group to help facilitate their workdays for maximum benefit. The kids and leaders are very enthusiastic, braving the heat and bugs to improve the park. Their job list includes trash pickup, tree and shrub planting, spreading mulch and trimming trees. I have enjoyed working with this group. It is fun to get to know the kids and hear their stories and watch them work with very little complaining! Great organization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

My only suggestion would be to figure out a way to get MORE kids involved!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 27, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
August 27, 2013

My wife and I volunteered at youth odyssey a few years ago. They do a great job at building excellent programs that teach and encourage the youth of the coastal bend. I was impressed how they were able to have team building activities and leadership exercises while out on the camping trips. I highly recommend youth odyssey!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

N/a

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

August 27, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
August 27, 2013

I have been working with Youth Odyssey for the past seven months and in this time, I have been very impressed with what they are able to do with the resources they have.

I have typically worked with organizations that have a staff of 20 to 100 people, have a large facility, and have the
youth come to them.

Youth Odyssey is able to work with over 900 youth a year with just two full time staff, they are able to go to where the youth are with all of their program gear, and can take the youth on both weekend camping trips and day trips to their ropes course. Simply amazing.

They have also been cultivating future leaders by encouraging some of their youth to become mentors, which gives the youth further opportunities and trainings.

A very well run organization, committed to working with youth in Corpus Chrisit, and has made a difference in the lives of thousands of youth over the past 16 years.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 27, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
August 27, 2013

My involvement with Youth Odyssey goes back about 12 years as a board member and volunteer. I have had the pleasure of meeting the kids in the program and watching their growth as they return to the program year after year. Youth Odyssey presents kids with challenges that can be difficult and experiences that many of the participants may never have had to opportunity to enjoy. Many of us in my "generation" grew up enjoying the outdoors and things like hiking and camping. Overcoming the challenges builds each participants confidence and feelings of self worth. The sense of accomplishment when these youth complete the program is huge.

Youth odysseys owns and operates it's own ropes course. Graduates of the program can come back as "Youth Mentors" and continue to work in the program and share their experiences.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers