Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
120 Reviews
1234.5755
| 1 ... 3 4 5 | Next
Write A Review
July 17, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

July 17, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

YMTC shows are beautiful--full live orchestras accompany fabulous singers and dancers (guys too!) who are compelling actors as well. Most importantly, participants in YMTC productions are challenged to grapple with the diverse perspectives of the characters, discuss the themes and conflicts in the play, and think about the context in which a show was written. YMTC is not afraid to move outside of the box. In West Side Story the dream sequence, danced to the song most known for the words "There's a place for us," ends with mixed and same gender couples holding hands in a procession. YMTC is a place where so many students realize their potential, while building a supportive and thoughtful community of young people.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have seen two YMTC performances and been completely impressed by both Ragtime and Westside Story. The singing, acting, choreography and direction are first rate. I was also impressed by the wonderful 30+ piece orchestra. This has truly changed the lives of several of the actors I know. I am watching them through these performances grow, mature and become professionals before my eyes. I am looking forward to the next production.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I've been attending YMTC shows for many years, and after seeing (and being amazed by) the first show I saw 8 or 9 years ago, I started bringing friends with me. I am sure they were expecting your typical "high school musical," but without exception, every friend was blown away by the talent and professional production quality (and they have all become regular attendees also!). Usually a few minutes into the first number, they look at me in amazement, and within 10 minutes they are completely transported. YMTC is a fantastic community asset - great training and experience for the kids, and wonderful entertainment for the audience. What is really impressive is the depth of engagement the kids have with really challenging material - both technically and in terms of content: Parade, Ragtime, West Side Story, Into the Woods - this is not "kid stuff," but the young cast is so adept and well directed that the materials feels new again.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 16, 2012

more

July 16, 2012

I don't have any children participating in YMTC, but the children I have known who are in the productions have all come away from the experience with new confidence, composure, relational skills, and astounding teamwork attitudes - not to mention the performance boosts they get, which have improved kids I have seen over the years by many octane levels - these kids are literally wowing the audience! Learning acting and singing they way YMTC teaches them, promotes empathy, tolerance and opens the hearts of those who are on stage, and those who are watching the stage. I have seen kids get into physical shape, improve their interactions with people, learn about their society, widen their minds ... you name it, it is worked on, in YMTC! I love this organization and on a personal level I believe all who participate in it bring a lot of joy into the world.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

YMTC is a tremendous program, both for the kids that participate and for the general public. For the kids, they get a real opportunity to work hard and be part of creating something incredible. And, in a time when real feedback seems increasingly rare, Jennifer and her staff treat the kids like professionals, giving good, supportive but real critique. And, for the public in general, seeing a YMTC show reminds us that with a lot of work and dedication, we really can create something magical. Bravo YMTC!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 30, 2012

more

May 30, 2012

YMTC offers amazing performance opportunities in musical theater to students who could otherwise not afford the chance. Their productions are top notch!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 30, 2012

more

May 30, 2012

Put it this way. After seeing a number of YMTC productions, I had the opportunity to see "Wicked" at the Orphium in San Francisco. It was about 5% better than any of the YMTC productions, and that might be due to the elaborate big budget props!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

YMTC is the best youth company I have seen anywhere! Their productions are eagerly anticipated by the community and usually sold out. My daughter studied briefly with Jennifer and YMTC and her experience was life changing. She started with a little raw talent but virtually no training and in a short period of time made major breakthroughs in her vocal range and ability. She is now singing light opera in addition to Musical Theatre. We had to move out of state last year and she really misses her friends and teachers at YMTC, and I miss their wonderful productions. Highly recommended.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

May 29, 2012

more

May 29, 2012

The Youth Musical Theater Company is so important in the community. It provides professional level acting experience for youth. I was in the audience for their production of "Ragtime," and I was shocked to learn that the oldest actor was in his early 20's. I was shocked because they were so good, so well rehearsed, and seemed to be so experienced. This production also required singing and dancing, which were also excellent. My 13 year old friend was in the production, and his parents told me that of all his experiences with different companies, this one stood out because the director held very high standards for his cast. We need this company to thrive so that not only cast members can benefit, but also audiences from the community. They are very very inspiring.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 29, 2012

more

May 29, 2012

My intro to this organization was a performance of Les Miserables, which still ranks as one of the best I have ever seen. And these were middle-and high-school performers... Then, my shy daughter participated in several YMTC workshops, where she learned she could indeed sing, dance, and have a stage presence. Which led her to realize she could also speak up in school classes...I have seen numerous performances since, all of exceptional musical quality. YMTC is by far the best youth musical theatre in the SF Bay Area, and its director, Jennifer Boesing, is exceptional for her ability to inspire and educate young singers and performers, and for her own musical gifts.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

| 1 ... 3 4 5 | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers