Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
120 Reviews
1234.5755
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
July 31, 2012

more

July 31, 2012

The professional production values and talent of this show reached far beyond my expectations. The set design, choreography and music were creative and well rehearsed and again very professional. I would encourage all teens interested in Musical Theater in the SF Bay Area to audition for this incredible company. They would have a very rich and diverse experience working with their peers who share a vision and love of musical theater and dance.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 31, 2012

more

July 31, 2012

This last season I saw YMTC's production of Ragtime as was blown away. I had seen their other shows and had really enjoyed them, but this was far different. I see many plays and I am a very harsh critic, but Ragtime was among the best shows I had seen from any company, including top equity companies, in years. So I was so delighted to join the cast of YMTC's West Side Story this summer. It was the best experience I have had as an actor in over ten years. As a professional actor with over over thirty-five years in the business, and having been in over one hundred plays, I can honestly say these guys have it. The leadership, the student actors, the quality of the production were all above board and just amazing. I have never been more proud to have shared the stage with any group of actors. These "kids" taught me and reminded me what a joy it is to act on stage. I'm sure that in fifty years, when I am in my nineties, I will remember the summer of 2012 and the wonderful young actors I learned from at YMTC.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 31, 2012

more

July 31, 2012

As a teacher and director of theatre productions I am always encouraging my students to seek out quality training and education beyond what I provide. YMTC provides high-level, solid professional training beacause students have the opportunity to work with professional directors, musicians and choreographers. It has been thrilling for me to observe several of my students over the last several years perform challenging roles in a supportive and inspiring environment. While the productions are entertaining, there is a depth and emotion to these student performers characterizations that is remarkable.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 31, 2012

more

July 31, 2012

It sadden me to see so many positive notes on this company. Some folks need to be more honest and objective about this teen theatre company that fosters only students and families that can afford this camp. Then casting kids based on their willingness to pay the hefty fee's/ At the same time the producers pay "ringers" to be in the cast, leaving many kids who can't afford the program out of the loop. The producers have huge ego's as they read all these glowing reviews that are not worthy of this youth camp. Do not award this company any honors - there are so many other non profits who meet your standards better that this group - Thanks

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 31, 2012

more

July 31, 2012

It seems to me and many others that the student actors who audition for this company basically pay to be in their productions. Leaving out many theatre students who can't afford to pay to be in a play. Yes they do offer scholarships.. But bottom line the students pay to be on stage while the producers make money from the Kids and their parents. The company is also busy casting "ringers" - who they pad their productions with. These ringers don't pay to be in the shows and at times are paid to be part of the production. Consider these thoughts before awarding this company any honors.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Somewhat badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 31, 2012

more

July 31, 2012

I saw this group's work for the first time this month when I attended their production of West Side Story. This age group is the future, which is of course an overused phrase, but I was truly thrilled for the future of Music Theatre. I had two friends involved with the show so while I was visiting from LA, my family and I wanted to be supportive. I'm a Music Theatre actress/singer with Broadway credits, my husband is a composer and my daughter attends a performing arts high school in LA. We were all so impressed and so pleased that we happened to be in town during the run of the show. We had a delightful evening and were so taken with the attention to details and the acting commitment of the company. We cared about the characters and felt a true cohesiveness in the company as actors and as characters. What a lucky group of young adults to be a part of this company with what is undoubtably a group of dedicated professionals calling the shots. If I lived in the area I would love to be a part of what is going on in this company. Seeing talented kids like this is invigorating and reminds me of why I got into this business in the first place. It's exciting to see them at this stage with so much ahead of them. Bravo to all involved!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I've been watching the work of YMTC for 3 or 4 years and love the committed and honest performances that Jennifer and her crew constantly get from her casts. The students are engaged with tough issues and tough musical material and the struggle to grapple with this type of content and difficulty (musically, emotionally, and conscientiously) is what makes this work a valuable and exciting night of live theater.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 18, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

July 18, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

YMTC is successful because the expectations on the young performers are not lowered just because they're younger than most professionals. This not only allows the performers to grow artistically and personally depending on the demands of the particular material, but allows it choose challenging repertoire that is not even tackled by local professional companies. They've performed several Bay Area and world premiere performances in the last few seasons, and they only get better and better. They have a rigorous rehearsal process focused on the performers (equally on acting, singing and dancing), and they always come through with very high quality productions. There is a term they use sometimes that gets to the heart of what they do "Excellent training through excellent productions." It has a real impact on the youth they teach (they avoid the term "kids" when referring to their young performers), and audiences are completely astounded not just by the production value, but by the passion and genuineness of the performers.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 17, 2012

more

July 17, 2012

YMTC has incredible energy, and is inspirational for youth and adults. Their productions are first rate, and the talent seen in the youth is exceptional. I came in as a lighting designer for their production of "Ragtime" earlier this year, and was impressed by the professionalism and dedication of everyone, including the youth, involved. There is a great element of enthusiasm for their craft and sharing it with others, and an educational element as well in the subject matter, with a talkback of questions and answers after the performance between a few of the performers, directors and interested audience members after the show. Am truly impressed by this exceptional organization.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

YMTC! Hooray! I have been voted best teacher in the San Francisco East Bay Area. So I know a thing or 2 about what's out there for youth theatre. At my first YMTC show I was expecting to be bored and was actually stunned! This was a musical I'd seen on Broadway and admired but the YMTC production had a vitality and spirit that illuminated the show in a way I had not experienced. I was first an audience member at YMTC, thanks to one of my former students Alix Feinsod who was in the shows. YMTC's choices of shows with themes such as a coal mining massacre, racism and lynching seem a bit much. So perhaps you understand my concern. As an African-American much of this touches on my own socio-emotional well being.This is not only a powerful lesson for its' young performers but for its' audience members as well. The director and cast handle the challenges inherent brilliantly. Don't get me wrong it isn't always serious. There is also much joy and exuberance in every YMTC show. Like a mirror in real life as we view ourselves we laugh and we cry. Parents often ask me what is the next step for my child, the budding young performer. I recommend YMTC time and time again. It is simply the best.---Russell Wright

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers