Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
120 Reviews
1234.5755
Write A Review
September 20, 2012

more

September 20, 2012

This group offers exemplary services to Berkeley's children

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

August 6, 2012

more

August 6, 2012

When it comes to YMTC, I have mixed feelings- as do most of the people I've talked to. Theater as a whole always has three sides to consider: The audience, the stage, and everything outside of those two worlds that consists of management, advertising, etc. I have had the luck to be part of all three of these worlds at one point or another in varying capacities ranging from actor to production team. People have commented that YMTC shows are filled with the underserving children of wealthy parents. Yes, many of the students who perform with YMTC were lucky enough to be born into providence, but not all of them, and the strong majority are most certainly deserving of their parts in the production. One person who posted previously said that kids leave YMTC with a sense of entitlement, and that roles can be bought- this is a grossly erroneous claim. Many of the actors that I have worked with have proven time and time again through timeliness, proper decorum, and an ability to receive feedback, that they fully understand what is expected of them as actors. The one person I do know who was part of the YMTC community and had a gross sense of entitlement, had this sense long before entering the community, and after graduating has yet maintain high standing with any group they work with. The process the actors are put through, while extremely condensed and not as well organized, bears a striking resemblance to the processes of professional and college companies I have also worked with. The product, which is more often than not slightly substandard, is one community theater, and should not be judged so harshly as one might judge a regional or commercial theater production. Ticket prices I cannot defend. However the things I learned by watching people work and getting involved myself during the rehearsal and technical processes has been invaluable to me and many others over the years, and I have YMTC to thank for that.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Try to improve over all organization at the rehearsal level- sometimes people would be waiting around for unnecessarily long periods of time during the early rehearsal process. As things become more specific, organization reaches a heightened level that should have been present earlier on.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Unsure

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Unsure

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

Payment for services. While I did approach the company as an alumni and asked if they needed help, it was frustrating to receive no compensation outside 4 comp tickets for over 250 hours of work, while musicians were paid upwards of $300.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I learned many new things and gained a heightened knowledge of what i want to pursue in my field.

August 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

YMTC produces three astonishing musicals every year. They audition kids from middle school through high school and then, over just a few weeks, blend those kids into an almost-professional troupe of actors, dancers, and singers. Every show is amazing. The director, choreographer, and costume designers put together shows that are a pleasure to behold. I have seen "Fiddler," "Jesus Christ Superstar," and most recently, "West Side Story" during the past few months. YMTC is a Community Treasure and should be regarded as such. We are unbelievably lucky to have them right here in our very own East Bay community. Long May They Perform!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

July 31, 2012

more

July 31, 2012

I have thought long and hard about whether to write a review for YMTC, obviously, I have decided that a review is worthy of my time. I am not a parent, relative, actor, or professional judging this company, I am a teenager who has done backstage work for YMTC going on three years now. At first, looking at all the glowing reviews from parents - I was a bit aggravated, YMTC is not perfect, there are many flaws in this program, and people suggesting that it's life changing and so incredible and professional - while valid, doesn't exactly ring completely true. However, I do not agree with the people on here saying that YMTC is a complete and utter waste, and should not be supported, yes, YMTC has its flaws, it isn't perfect, no company is, but to say that because they flooded your inbox they're a bad Youth Theatre company? I don't think so. For me, YMTC has been a good, if not great way to gain experience. Yes, many of the kids who study with YMTC have money, and yes the tuition is a lot, but whoever said that it's for rich kids must not have heard about Ragtime - over half the students were on tuition assistance. As for the quality of the YMTC shows, it's community theatre, not broadway. It isn't going to be as perfect or as polished. I personally have seen some incredible YMTC shows, Ragtime being among them. Now YMTC does have it's problems - communication being one of them. I have continually felt that I was given far too much responsibility and not enough credit for nearly every show I've worked on with YMTC. I have worked incredibly hard, only to be demoted time and time again. Now this is partly my fault - but I also feel that the people in charge of YMTC have so much on their plate that sometimes they let everything else slide. Still, I have gotten great experience working backstage on YMTC shows, and I am proud of the caliber of the productions i have worked on and helped to produce. Is YMTC perfect? No, absolutely not, but it's growing and changing, and to sell it short and not give it and the people who run it the benefit of the doubt would be a complete and utter travesty.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Unsure

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 31, 2012

more

July 31, 2012

I love everything about the good work of YMTC. I think they put on stellar musical productions and that they are a major part of the education and training for many young musicians in this part of California. They deserve all the accolades that a grateful community has given it over the last decade. Thank you Huffington for recognizing the achievements of Jennifer Boesing, Dave Moeshler & others in guiding Berkeley's Youth Musical Theater Company.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 31, 2012

more

July 31, 2012

YMTC is a Youth Musical Theater Company, with emphasize of “Youth.” Nevertheless, their productions are amazing! For example, last winter they preformed Ragtime. In my humble opinion, it was better than the original Broadway production. The director (Jennifer Boesing) and her stuff are doing wonderful job in bringing the young actors to perform at the highest level.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 31, 2012

more

July 31, 2012

This companychanged changed my life. I had been seeing shows of theirs for many years, but i never could have imagined that I would be in one. They gave me a chance, and now im headed towards my fourth show through them. YMTC has helped me become a greater, less self-conscious person, and has let me express myself through the stories of others.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 28, 2012

more

July 28, 2012

My first exposure to YMTC was in 2004, when my younger daughter performed in YMTC’s first production of ‘West Side Story.” She went on to perform in six shows over the next four years and went to on pursue a degree in theater, in part because of how inspired she was by working with YMTC. I have been volunteering in support of fund-raising for YMTC (usually by baking) since 2004, and believe strongly in their mission to make top-flight musical theater training broadly available to young people. I have always been impressed with the passion and professionalism that Jennifer Boesing, Pam Crane, Dave Moeschler, and all the other people who direct the work at YMTC bring to every production, and how, every time, the kids rise to the occasion with extraordinary performances. Even after my daughter went to college I maintained my connection to YMTC. It has been a real privilege to watch so many young performers grow up in the company, maturing both as people and as artists. Many of them go on to do exceptional work in college and beyond. YMTC has great production values, and its shows are nothing short of inspirational.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 22, 2012

more

July 22, 2012

Wow - what an incredible group of kids. I have provided props for YMTC for many many years and have always been empresses with the level of professionalism and pure joy that these kids get from their experiences. If I could give them more stars I would.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 20, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 20, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I was blown away by the quality of the productions and the training that the performers received.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers