Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
120 Reviews
1234.5755
Write A Review
July 31, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

July 31, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

My first experience with YMTC was "Jesus Christ Superstar" which was awesome and amazing. We just recently saw "West Side Story" which was also fabulous. The young adults were incredible performers, the sets were beautiful and fun, and the experience was delightful. We will not miss another show!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I am a former student and performer with YMTC - I now attend UCB and grew up in the Bay Area. I was part of two youth teen drama orgs while growing up. The YMTC is not what its cracked up to be. I'm NOT some former member who is upset that I was never cast as a lead. I in fact had a lead role in one of their poorly executed shows. My parents paid a high price to have me in the company. Then they were asked to pay for tickets to all the performances. The actors that were on scholarship the season I was with the company seemed to be the high end talent. My guess is that they were invited to be in the company to pad out the low end talent. The era I was with the program, one of the students was related to the owners of the group. I am not sure he paid since his mom was directing, but none the less that felt odd to us that summer. Final thoughts: I didn't gain much from my summer with the YMTC and my parents paid way too much, for a poorly run non profit.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unlikely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

July 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I along with others was overly encouraged to post on this site with some words about the YMTC. I am not sure what kind of award or honor the YMTC is gaming for, but they don't deserve it. I am ok with the fact the shows are just teen shows, and they are ok for young people. But in no way are they amazing performances. I also feel with the hefty ticket price to these shows - this non profit seems to be making a HUGE profit from the parents they milk from and the high cost to see their shows and to be in the their shows. This non profit group is not up to any honor or recognition. I hope this helps. (Jessica Meza)

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I was battered with emails to write about the YMTC so they could receive some sort of Honor for Berkeley Nonprofits. So I wanted to write this short note to express my displeasure with the YMTC with flooding my inbox to post a positive review. It seems they were very pushy in wanting this award or what ever they are campaigning for. I for one think the YMTC is not all up to par. I realize I may be a lone in this feeling, but none the less the YMTC just pays to have these parents post these positive reviews. I do hope more community folks post honest notes like I did. This place has something missing by the mere fact that their staff begs folks to post here. Thumbs down on the YMTC

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

What I have seen of this Teen Theater Company - has not impressed me. I am not a parent or related to the parents who have their kids audition and then pay to be in the YMTC shows. I don't like the fact that they allow some "ringer" students in the company, and then boast how talented their students are, when in fact some of the older students are polished community regional actors. I do not have much respect for the YMTC. I hope my post balances the board and allows the folks following these posts to get that the YMTC has some issues in the Berkeley Community.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unlikely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 31, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

July 31, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

At age 73 and lover of musicals, you can imagine how many West Side Stories I've seen, (I was even in one!) but this one presented by Youth Musical theater ranks a 5 star chills-down-the-spine winner. There are no 'kids' here, but rather incredible believable talented All-Stars. It''s a great show directed by Jennifer Boesing - we were teary, we were elated and thrilled, I vote 5 stars! Annie Hershey, El Sobrante, CA.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Our son was a YMTC member for the final years of high school. All of his and our interactions with the organization - teachers, administration and volunteers - were thoroughly positive. He came with some experience in acting, but singing and dancing were new to him. With the help of the YMTC directors he grew tremendously through his experience. if it had not been for the generous scholarship program, he would not have been able to participate. YMTC passes on a valuable sense of community, respect for the individual and the collective art of theater that we wholeheartedly support and commend.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

July 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Please take a serious look at YMTC. Its not what all these glowing reviews are sharing. Students have to pay to be on stage, and ranked by their parents income to get cast with this company. The shows over the years have been ok. Nothing to rave about - Please look at other youth theatre groups before honoring this company with any awards.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 31, 2012

more

July 31, 2012

I love everything about the good work of YMTC. I think they put on stellar musical productions and that they are a major part of the education and training for many young musicians in this part of California. They deserve all the accolades that a grateful community has given it over the last decade. Thank you Huffington for recognizing the achievements of Jennifer Boesing, Dave Moeshler & others in guiding Berkeley's Youth Musical Theater Company.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 31, 2012

more

July 31, 2012

My family's first exposure to YMTC was their production of Les Mis, and I still can't get over their polished and professional production. I've seen every performance since. My daughter took, and loved, YMTC workshops. She credits YMTC for her subsequent involvement in college chorus and a capella groups. Jennifer's talents as a teacher and director have been well stated by others. Yep, fantastic. I'd like to add that I have also been impressed by the awareness these young performers develop for the social context of the musicals they perform. I came away from Les Mis, for example, feeling these kids really grasped realities of that era. I also appreciate that the company stepped out of Broadway with"Mothers of Ludlow", a new production about the Ludlow miner's strike. I am looking forward to their next production.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers