Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
120 Reviews
1234.5755
| 1 2 3...12 |
Write A Review
July 31, 2012

more

July 31, 2012

I have thought long and hard about whether to write a review for YMTC, obviously, I have decided that a review is worthy of my time. I am not a parent, relative, actor, or professional judging this company, I am a teenager who has done backstage work for YMTC going on three years now. At first, looking at all the glowing reviews from parents - I was a bit aggravated, YMTC is not perfect, there are many flaws in this program, and people suggesting that it's life changing and so incredible and professional - while valid, doesn't exactly ring completely true. However, I do not agree with the people on here saying that YMTC is a complete and utter waste, and should not be supported, yes, YMTC has its flaws, it isn't perfect, no company is, but to say that because they flooded your inbox they're a bad Youth Theatre company? I don't think so. For me, YMTC has been a good, if not great way to gain experience. Yes, many of the kids who study with YMTC have money, and yes the tuition is a lot, but whoever said that it's for rich kids must not have heard about Ragtime - over half the students were on tuition assistance. As for the quality of the YMTC shows, it's community theatre, not broadway. It isn't going to be as perfect or as polished. I personally have seen some incredible YMTC shows, Ragtime being among them. Now YMTC does have it's problems - communication being one of them. I have continually felt that I was given far too much responsibility and not enough credit for nearly every show I've worked on with YMTC. I have worked incredibly hard, only to be demoted time and time again. Now this is partly my fault - but I also feel that the people in charge of YMTC have so much on their plate that sometimes they let everything else slide. Still, I have gotten great experience working backstage on YMTC shows, and I am proud of the caliber of the productions i have worked on and helped to produce. Is YMTC perfect? No, absolutely not, but it's growing and changing, and to sell it short and not give it and the people who run it the benefit of the doubt would be a complete and utter travesty.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Unsure

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

ZERO RATING FOR YMTC. After reading "Dana's" review I was inspired to leave some notes and thoughts about the YMTC. I would NOT want a sixth star for this company. I want to leave a negative -2 star for this Non Profit. I have been to various YMTC shows the past 5 or six seasons and I rarely stay through the second act. The talent on stage is ok - but not great as many here have posted. The kids are full of self confidence and no one ever has wits to tell the students the shows are off and not always good. (who could tell a kid the show was poor?) thats not an easy task. As non profits go, this team boasts way too much how great they are, and is currently at 100% spam rate to their mailing list telling us to write some notes on this site. Please don't support YMTC -

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 31, 2012

more

July 31, 2012

YMTC's West Side Story was spectacular! The dancing, the singing, the acting! It was better than the movie--which was fantastic--because it was a huge cast of young people who had so much talent, the audience was entranced! What a treat! I could have come back and seen them again the next night, but they were sold out!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 31, 2012

more

July 31, 2012

I've been thrilled to be a part of three YMTC shows (and plan on being in many many more). Never before in any aspect of my life have I been treated with as much respect as a professional despite my 15 years of age. Beyond this, I now have three distinct new families to rely on and grow with. Being in a YMTC show provides a perfect blend of meeting new people and quickly falling in love with them and a very real and very professional theater experience. Jennifer Boesing is, hands down, a genius in her unique interpretation and execution of all shows obsqure and well-loved; she provides Broadway quality musical theater with a fraction of a Broadway budget by inspiring and relying on the kids in her shows instead of doubting their ability on the basis of their age. It has been an absolute blessing to be a part of the YMTC community these past few years, and I am certain that the geniuses now running the company will continue to astonish bay area natives and kids alike as they work to create masterful theater.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 31, 2012

more

July 31, 2012

There should be a sixth star choice for YMTC! My wife and I have been to almost every show for the last five years. They just keep getting better and better. Everyone from the Director to the youngest and newest actor gives 110% at every show. With the new sound crew, sound being the bain of proformances, even sound is almost perfect. You NEED to see these shows. West Side Story just completed had 45 actors, actresses and a 31 piece orchestra. The best production ever!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 31, 2012

more

July 31, 2012

I began seeing YMTC shows because of a wonderful young man I new who was performing in them. I had no idea when I saw his first show that I was going to be attending the 'Theater'. It is easy to forget that the show is primarily young people. The talent, sets, direction, music, house management is all exceptional. This company is committed to offering scholarships to young people who would otherwise not be able to be involved... i could go on and on. This company is a gift to our community and I am proud to support them and recommend that you check out one of their shows- you are sure to be moved!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 31, 2012

more

July 31, 2012

My husband and I have been to three performances by YMTC, and they have been outstanding. These young people work hard and perform as if they were on Broadway. One of the many aspects of this organization that impresses us is the 'taking on' of challenging material. We are happy to pay admission and are also donors. We are looking forward to seeing many more YMTC shows.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 31, 2012

more

July 31, 2012

YMTC is afaabulous group of zvery talented young people who perform with professional polish and technique. Congratulations to Jennifer who inspires these young people to perform as young professionals.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 31, 2012

more

July 31, 2012

My child has been in two YMTC productions, one as a cast member and one as part of the production staff. Each production was its own new community; the way in which that community developed over the many weeks from audition to closing night was a lesson for me, and I hope for the kids, in how hard work and a shared goal can create a spectacular result. Speaking of which, this is not your average "kids, let's put on a show" youth theater company: the quality is outstanding. We went to the most recent production even though our child wasn't involved, and if that's not an endorsement, I don't know what is!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I was with YMTC when I was younger. Its a major event for wealthy East Bay parents who can afford to have their youth cast in a local play. I gained nothing from my 3 stage events with YMTC. I encourage parents considering their kids perform in this troope, to save their money and support on campus fine arts. This thing is for rich familys and students full of entitlement. The entitlement their parents are guilty of planting. Don't supprt YMTC. Thanks for reading. J

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers